NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
What accommodations are usually in place for students with disabilities attending college and university?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

NEADS and BMO Capital Markets Equity through Education Campus Group Awards: A call for Proposals

OTTAWA, September 20, 2007 - The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) is now accepting proposals for the NEADS Equity through Education Campus Group Awards Program. NEADS will award one Equity Through Education Award to a post-secondary campus group of students with disabilities or access committee addressing disability issues at a Canadian University or College with an outstanding application, in order to support innovative programs/initiatives that are intended to improve campus life for students with disabilities. The amount of this award will be determined by a selection committee based on the features and merits of the winning proposal, but will be up to a maximum of $5,000.

As a national disability rights organization, NEADS is dedicated to providing support for community development initiatives on campuses across the country. This is the first award of its kind in Canada. NEADS will be providing assistance to campus groups and committees through the annual Award for Campus Groups and by doing so help to increase accessibility and inclusion for post secondary students with disabilities nation wide.

"Our mission is to advocate for the full inclusion of students with disabilities in the post-secondary system," said Mahadeo Sukhai, NEADS President. "Extra- and co-curricular activities are a major part of student learning and development on campus today. We are pleased and proud to be able to offer this Campus Groups Award program, and hope that it will serve as an incentive for disabled students' groups and access committees to think big, and think outside the box, in creating programs and activities with true, long-lasting impact for students with disabilities. We're looking forward to a great competition, with many outstanding and innovative applications."

The funding for these awards is provided by BMO Capital Markets Equity through Education Program, a charitable initiative aimed at creating a more diverse workplace by offering educational opportunities to people who are most in need of support. In May, 2006 NEADS became one of four Canadian recipients of donations from the second Equity Through Education trading day. At that time NEADS announced the Equity Through Education Award for Campus Groups.

For more information on the program please contact the NEADS office: National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS), Rm. 426 Unicentre, Carleton University, Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6, tel. (613) 526-8008, NEADS Equity Through Education Scholarships & Awards - Application Materials

- 30 -

About Equity Through Education

The Equity Through Education charitable program was launched by BMO Capital Markets in 2005 to support the notion that gaining an education is a means of improving lives. Funds raised through Equity Through Education are donated to charitable organizations whose mission includes improving access to education and training for bright, deserving people who otherwise might not have the opportunity. To date, Equity Through Education has raised $3.2 million.

Contact: Julia Munk, Project Consultant, Equity Through Education: Phase II
julia.munk@neads.ca


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Comment puis je savoir quel collège ou quelle université offre un accès physique adéquat aux salles de cours et aux autres installations?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Media

NEADS et BMO Marchés des capitaux recherchent des candidatures pour le prix Action-Éducation à un groupe d’étudiants handicapés ou à un comité chargé des questions d’accès aux étudiants ayant une déficience

OTTAWA, 20 septembre 2007 - L’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) accepte maintenant les candidatures pour le prix décerné dans le cadre de son programme Action-Éducation visant à récompenser un groupe d’étudiants handicapés pour un projet d’amélioration de la vie étudiante sur le campus. NEADS décernera un prix Action-Éducation à un groupe d’étudiants handicapés ou au comité chargé des questions d’accès aux étudiants ayant une déficience d’une université ou d’un collège canadien dans le but d’appuyer un programme ou une initiative visant à améliorer leur qualité de vie. La somme d’argent associée à ce prix sera déterminée par un comité de sélection et dépendra des caractéristiques et du mérite de la proposition gagnante, mais elle pourrait atteindre 5000 $.

En tant qu’organisation de défense des droits des personnes handicapées, NEADS est soucieuse d’appuyer des initiatives de développement communautaire dans les campus du pays. Il s’agit du premier prix de ce type au Canada. En accordant son soutien aux groupes d’étudiants et aux comités par le biais de ce prix, NEADS veut favoriser l’accès et l’intégration des étudiants handicapés dans tous les centres d’études postsecondaires du Canada.

« Notre mission est de promouvoir l’intégration des étudiants ayant une déficience dans le système postsecondaire », affirme le président de NEADS, Mahadeo Sukhai. « Les activités parascolaires et parallèles au programme ont maintenant une très grande importance pour le développement et l’apprentissage dans les universités. Nous sommes heureux d’offrir ce prix et nous espérons qu’il représentera un stimulant pour le développement de projets de grande envergure et de longue durée, qu’il soit le fruit de l’initiative d’étudiants ou d’un comité. Nous espérons que de nombreux projets innovateurs nous seront soumis. »

L’organisation de ce concours est possible grâce au programme Action-Éducation de BMO Marchés des capitaux, une initiative ayant pour but de créer un environnement de travail plus diversifié en offrant une opportunité aux gens qui en ont le plus besoin. En mai 2006, NEADS a été l’un des bénéficiaires canadiens des dons réalisés au cours des deuxièmes journées boursières Action-Éducation. C’est suite à cette contribution que nous avons pu offrir un prix Action-Éducation à un groupe d’étudiants handicapés ou à un comité chargé des questions d’accès aux étudiants.

Pour obtenir plus d’information sur le programme, veuillez contacter le bureau de NEADS : L’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS), Rm. 426 Unicentre, Carleton University, Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6, tel. (613) 526-8008, L’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire lance un programme de prix

- 30 -

À propos du programme Action-Éducation

Action-Éducation est un programme de bienfaisance lancé par BMO Marché des capitaux en 2005, qui vise à appliquer concrètement le principe voulant que l’éducation contribue à une vie meilleure. Les fonds recueillis par Action-Éducation sont donnés à des organismes de bienfaisance dont la mission consiste notamment à favoriser l’accès à l’éducation et à la formation, au profit de candidats brillants et méritants qui autrement n’auraient peut-être pas cette chance. Jusqu’à présent, le programme Action-Éducation a recueilli 3,2 millions de dollars.

Contact: Julia Munk, Project Consultant, Equity Through Education: Phase II
julia.munk@neads.ca


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.