NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
Is there a national group that represents students with disabilities?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

NEADS and BMO Capital Markets Equity through Education Student Awards: A call for Applications

OTTAWA, September 20, 2007 - The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) is now accepting applications for the NEADS Equity through Education Student Awards Program. These awards are being offered to encourage full access to post-secondary education for persons with disabilities enrolled in undergraduate, graduate or professional degree programs at recognized Canadian universities, or in certified diploma programs at a Canadian college. Four outstanding applicants, who meet the criteria of the program, will be receiving an award in the amount of $3,000 to support the costs of their tuition and student fees.

Funding for these awards is provided by BMO Capital Markets’ Equity Through Education Program, a charitable initiative aimed at creating a more diverse workplace by offering educational opportunities to people who are most in need of support. In May 2006 NEADS became one of four Canadian recipients of donations from the second Equity Through Education trading day. At that time, NEADS announced the Equity Through Education Student Awards program.

"This award program is the first of its kind in Canada, created to celebrate overall excellence among students with disabilities in all aspects of post-secondary education. We are particularly proud of our first group of award recipients, as we feel they embody the very best qualities of academic and community involvement. We look forward to another group of outstanding applicants in this year’s competition" said Mahadeo Sukhai, NEADS President.

For more information on the program please contact the NEADS office: National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS), Rm. 426 Unicentre, Carleton University, Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6, tel. (613) 526-8008, NEADS Equity Through Education Scholarships & Awards - Application Materials

- 30 -

About Equity Through Education

The Equity Through Education charitable program was launched by BMO Capital Markets in 2005 to support the notion that gaining an education is a means of improving lives. Funds raised through Equity Through Education are donated to charitable organizations whose mission includes improving access to education and training for bright, deserving people who otherwise might not have the opportunity. To date, Equity Through Education has raised $3.2 million.

Contact: Julia Munk, Project Consultant, Equity Through Education: Phase II
julia.munk@neads.ca


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
À quel bureau du gouvernement fédéral dois-je m’adresser pour obtenir de l’information sur les programmes et services à l’intention des personnes handicapées?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Media

NEADS et BMO Marchés des capitaux lancent leur programme de bourses d’études Action-Éducation pour les étudiants handicapés du postsecondaire

OTTAWA, 20 septembre 2007 - L’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) accepte maintenant les candidatures pour son programme de bourses d’études Action-Éducation pour les étudiants handicapés du postsecondaire. Ces bourses sont offertes aux étudiants ayant une déficience afin de favoriser leur accès aux études postsecondaires, et ce, en les aidant à poursuivre leur formation au niveau du certificat, du baccalauréat, des études supérieures ou professionnelles dans une université canadienne reconnue. Quatre candidats méritants qui respectent les critères du programme recevront une bourse de 3 000 $ afin de les aider à défrayer les coûts d’inscription et de scolarité.

L’organisation de ce concours est possible grâce au programme Action-Éducation de BMO Marchés des capitaux, une initiative ayant pour but de créer un environnement de travail plus diversifié en offrant une opportunité aux gens qui en ont le plus besoin. En mai 2006, NEADS a été l’un des bénéficiaires canadiens des dons réalisés au cours des deuxièmes journées boursières Action-Éducation. C’est suite à cette contribution que nous avons pu offrir des bourses d’études Action-Éducation aux étudiants handicapés du postsecondaire.

« Ce programme de bourses est le premier du genre au Canada. Il a été créé afin de célébrer l’excellence académique parmi les étudiants handicapés poursuivant des études postsecondaires. Nous sommes particulièrement fiers des premiers récipiendaires et nous croyons qu’ils incarnent tant le succès académique que l’engagement communautaire. Nous espérons recevoir de solides candidatures pour le concours de cette année », a dit le président de NEADS, Mahadeo Sukhai.

Pour obtenir plus d’information sur le programme, veuillez contacter le bureau de NEADS : L’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS), Rm. 426 Unicentre, Carleton University, Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6, tel. (613) 526-8008, L’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire lance un programme de prix

- 30 -

À propos du programme Action-Éducation

Action-Éducation est un programme de bienfaisance lancé par BMO Marché des capitaux en 2005, qui vise à appliquer concrètement le principe voulant que l’éducation contribue à une vie meilleure. Les fonds recueillis par Action-Éducation sont donnés à des organismes de bienfaisance dont la mission consiste notamment à favoriser l’accès à l’éducation et à la formation, au profit de candidats brillants et méritants qui autrement n’auraient peut-être pas cette chance. Jusqu’à présent, le programme Action-Éducation a recueilli 3,2 millions de dollars.

Contact: Julia Munk, Project Consultant, Equity Through Education: Phase II
julia.munk@neads.ca


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.