NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
Where can I go to locate textbooks in alternate formats?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

NEADS Announces Executive Directors and CCD Award Winner

OTTAWA, July 31, 2007 - Members of the National Educational Association of Disabled Students' (NEADS) board of directors selected its executive directors on Sunday, June 24th during a meeting in Ottawa. We are very pleased to report that the following outstanding representatives will serve on the executive until November, 2008:

  • Mahadeo Sukhai, President (Open Representative)
  • Tim McIsaac, Vice-President Internal (Manitoba Representative)
  • Margaret Shalma, Vice-President External (Ontario Representative)
  • Fraser MacPhee, Secretary/Treasurer (Prince Edward Island Representative)

Dr. Mahadeo Sukhai, President of NEADS, recently completed his doctoral thesis in the Department of Medical Biophysics at the University of Toronto, and is currently serving as a post-doctoral fellow in leukemia biology. Mahadeo was active in disability issues and University of Toronto governance throughout his time as a PhD student and remains committed to volunteering in governance, disability and education. Dr. Sukhai has represented NEADS at numerous conferences and meetings across Canada and has forged significant partnerships between our organization and other equity seeking non-governmental organizations and associations in the post-secondary community.

Tim McIsaac, Vice-President Internal of NEADS, is completing five years of Service with the St.James/Assinaboia Assiniboine South Community Health Advisory Council with the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority. He is involved with the board of the National Educational Association of Disabled Students as chair of its Proposal Development Committee. He has held the position of Career/Rehabilitation Counselor at the Canadian National Institute for the Blind and a Special Needs Council at Dakota Collegiate. Tim has been involved with the Manitoba League of Persons with Disabilities, City of Winnipeg Access Advisory Committee, Council of Canadians with Disabilities, Canadian Blind Sports Association and the Manitoba Sports and Recreation Association for the Blind. He has over 13 years experience in the banking industry as a Financial Officer and Customer Service Representative.

Margaret Shalma, Vice-President External of NEADS is completing an undergraduate degree majoring in women and equity studies at the University of Toronto. She intends to go on to complete a Masters in critical disability studies. Margaret is actively involved as a volunteer in a variety of organizations: chairperson for the Students' For Barrier Free Access, a University of Toronto student group run for and by students with disabilities. Her interests are in the areas of disability arts/culture and disability and sports.

Fraser MacPhee, Secretary Treasurer, a student at Holland College, is a member of the University of Prince Edward Island's Access-Ability Committee. He also works closely with faculty at Holland College on issues relating to access and accommodation for disabled students. Fraser represented NEADS at the Building an Inclusive and Accessible Canada national disability symposium in November 2006.

Kimberley Gerritsen

Rachael Ross, NEADS' Past-President, will act as an advisor to the board and executive for the next two years.

The NEADS recipient of the 2006 Council of Canadians With Disabilities (CCD) Award is Kimberley Gerritsen, former NEADS Alberta Representative and 2006 national conference Chair. Each year CCD recognizes leaders in the disability community from member groups for their "valued contribution to the disability rights movement in Canada." Kim was selected for this award by NEADS for her exceptional work in organizing the 2006 national conference "Creating Leaders For the Future: On Campus and Beyond."

Congratulations to members of our new executive and the CCD Award winner! For further information, contact: National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS), Rm. 426 Unicentre, Carleton University,Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6, tel. (613) 526-8008, www.neads.ca , info@neads.ca

- 30 -


Top

All contents copyright , 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Si je choisis de poursuivre mes études à l’extérieur de ma province ou de mon territoire, est ce que le montant d’aide financière que je pourrai obtenir sera limité?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Media

NEADS présente son nouveau Conseil exécutif et le récipiendaire du Prix du CCD

OTTAWA, 31 juillet 2007 – Durant la réunion du dimanche 24 juin 2007 à Ottawa, le Conseil d’administration de l’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) a choisi ses directeurs exécutifs. Il nous fait plaisir de vous annoncer que ces représentants exceptionnels siégeront au Conseil exécutif jusqu’en novembre 2008 :

  • Mahadeo Sukhai, président (représentant flottant)
  • Tim McIsaac, vice-président interne (représentant du Manitoba)
  • Margaret Shalma, vice-présidente externe (représentante de l’Ontario)
  • Fraser MacPhee, secrétaire/trésorier (représentant de l’île-du-Prince-Édouard)

Dr Mahadeo Sukhai, président de NEADS, a récemment terminé sa thèse doctorale au département de biophysique médicale de l’Université de Toronto, et détient une bourse de perfectionnement post-doctoral en biologie de la leucémie. Tout au long de ses études de doctorat, Mahadeo s’est activement impliqué dans les questions relatives aux personnes handicapées et dans la gouvernance de l’Université de Toronto. Il se consacre toujours au bénévolat dans les domaines de la gouvernance, des déficiences et de l’éducation. Dr Sukhai a représenté NEADS lors de nombreuses conférences et rencontres partout au Canada et a permis à l’Association de créer des partenariats solides avec d’autres organismes non-gouvernementaux militant pour l’égalité des personnes handicapées et associations du milieu postsecondaire.

Tim McIsaac, vice-président interne de NEADS, termine son mandat de cinq ans avec le Conseil consultatif de santé communautaire de St.James/Assinaboia Assiniboine Sud de l’Office régional de la santé de Winnipeg. Il siège actuellement au Conseil d’administration de l’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire comme président du Comité d’élaboration des propositions. Il a également occupé les postes de conseiller en réhabilitation et en orientation professionnelle à l’Institut national canadien pour les aveugles et de conseiller auprès de clients ayant des besoins spéciaux au Dakota Collegiate. Tim est membre de la Manitoba League of Persons with Disabilities, du City of Winnipeg Access Advisory Committee, du Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences, de l’Association canadienne des sports pour aveugles et de la Manitoba Sports and Recreation Association for the Blind. Il possède plus de 13 années d’expérience dans le secteur bancaire comme agent financier et représentant au service à la clientèle.

Margaret Shalma, vice-présidente externe de NEADS, termine actuellement son diplôme de premier cycle spécialisé en études sur l’égalité des femmes à l’Université de Toronto, et a l’intention d’obtenir une maîtrise en études sur les déficiences critiques. Bénévole active au sein de diverses organisations, Margaret est également présidente du Students' For Barrier Free Access, un groupe d’étudiants de l’Université de Toronto géré pour et par des étudiants handicapés. Ses intérêts incluent les arts, la culture et les sports pour les personnes handicapées.

Fraser MacPhee, secrétaire-trésorier et étudiant au Holland College, est membre du Access-Ability Committee de l’Université de l’île-du-Prince-Édouard, en plus de collaborer étroitement avec la faculté du Holland College sur des questions d’accès et d’aménagement spéciaux pour les étudiants handicapés. Fraser a représenté NEADS au symposium national des personnes handicapées « Créer un Canada accessible et inclusif » qui a eu lieu en novembre 2006.

Kimberley Gerritsen

Rachael Ross, présidente sortante de NEADS, agira comme conseillère du Conseil d’administration et du Conseil exécutif pour les deux prochaines années.

La récipiendaire du Prix du Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences (CDD) de NEADS pour 2006 est Kimberley Gerritsen, ancienne représentante de NEADS pour l’Alberta et présidente de la conférence nationale de 2006. Chaque année, le CCD reconnaît les leaders du milieu des personnes handicapées pour leur « contribution exceptionnelle au mouvement de défense des droits des personnes handicapées au Canada ». Kim a été choisie par NEADS pour recevoir ce prix en reconnaissance de son travail exceptionnel dans l’organisation de la conférence nationale de 2006 « Créer des leaders pour demain : sur les campus et au-delà ».

Félicitations aux membres de notre nouveau Conseil exécutif et à la récipiendaire du Prix du CCD! Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez nous écrire à : l’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS), local 426 Unicentre, Université Carleton, Ottawa (Ontario) K1S 5B6. Vous pouvez également nous joindre au (613) 526-8008 ou par courriel à www.neads.ca , info@neads.ca.

- 30 -


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.