NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Is there a national group that represents students with disabilities?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

Canada's New Government Supports Library and Archives Canada's Initiative for Equitable Library Access

OTTAWA, October 2, 2007 - The Honourable Josée Verner, Minister of Canadian Heritage, Status of Women and Official Languages, today announced funding for Library and Archives Canada (LAC) to support access by Canadians with print disabilities to library collections.

Funding of $3 million will support the Initiative for Equitable Library Access (IELA) to assist Canadians who are unable to read standard printed material.

"Through this initiative, Canada's New Government will encourage the full participation of all Canadians in today's highly competitive knowledge economy," said Minister Verner. "Less than five percent of published materials are currently available in multiple formats. This project will help raise this percentage."

IELA will coordinate activities, develop a national strategy and assess the costs involved, and provide equitable library services. The initiative will be carried out in partnership with Canadian libraries, people with print disabilities, publishers, producers of multiple formats, and other stakeholders, including the CNIB and the education sector. With the cooperation it is receiving nationwide, the Government of Canada will be able to offer equitable library services to meet the information needs of people with visual, perceptual, and physical disabilities.

"Canada's library community has asked us to take the lead as a national, coordinating body to ensure that all Canadians have consistent library access to information wherever they live and whatever their means" said Ian Wilson, Librarian and Archivist of Canada. "I am delighted to respond with an initiative that will allow many more Canadians to take advantage of information resources by providing it in a format they can use."

Library and Archives Canada is an innovative knowledge institution responsible for acquiring and preserving Canada's documentary heritage in all its forms and for providing Canadians with easy, one-stop access to the texts, photographs, and other documents that reflect the country's cultural, social, and political development

- 30 -

Information:

Richard Walker
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage,
Status of Women and Official Languages
819 997-5978

Donald Boulanger
A/Chief, Media Relations
Canadian Heritage
819 994-9101

Council on Access to Information for Print Disabled Canadians:
http://www.collectionscanada.ca/accessinfo/005003-3000-10-2007-e.html


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Où puis-je trouver des manuels en médias substituts?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Media

Le nouveau gouvernement du Canada appuie l'Initiative de services de bibliothèque équitables de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

OTTAWA, le 2 octobre 2007 - L'honorable Josée Verner, ministre du Patrimoine canadien, de la Condition féminine et des Langues officielles, a annoncé aujourd'hui un appui financier à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada afin de faciliter l'accès aux collections des bibliothèques pour les Canadiens incapables de lire les imprimés.

Cet appui de 3 millions de dollars sera consacré à l'Initiative de services de bibliothèque équitables afin de venir en aide aux Canadiens qui ne sont pas en mesure de lire les documents imprimés traditionnels.

« Grâce à ce projet, le nouveau gouvernement du Canada favorisera la pleine participation de tous les citoyens canadiens à l'économie hautement concurrentielle du savoir, a déclaré la ministre Verner. Moins de 5 p. 100 de tous les documents publiés sont actuellement disponibles en médias substituts. Ce projet se traduira par une augmentation de ce pourcentage. »

L'Initiative de services de bibliothèque équitables permettra de coordonner les activités, d'élaborer une stratégie nationale et d'en évaluer les coûts, ainsi que de fournir des services de bibliothèque équitables. Elle sera réalisée en partenariat avec les bibliothèques canadiennes, les personnes incapables de lire les imprimés, les éditeurs, les producteurs de médias substituts et d'autres intervenants, notamment l'INCA et le milieu de l'éducation. Fort de cette collaboration nationale, le gouvernement du Canada sera à même d'offrir un accès équitable aux bibliothèques pour combler les besoins en information des personnes ayant une déficience visuelle, perceptuelle ou physique.

« La communauté des bibliothèques du Canada nous a demandé de prendre la tête du projet, en tant qu'organisme de coordination national, pour assurer à tous les citoyens un accès à la même information disponible en bibliothèque, où qu'ils vivent et quelles que soient leurs ressources, a expliqué M. Ian Wilson, bibliothécaire et archiviste du Canada. Je suis ravi de lancer ce projet qui permettra à davantage de personnes au Canada de profiter des ressources d'information offertes dans un format adapté à leurs besoins. »

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada est responsable d'acquérir et de préserver le patrimoine documentaire du Canada dans ses multiples expressions et de fournir aux Canadiens un point d'accès unique et facile aux textes, photographies et autres documents qui sont le reflet de leur développement culturel, social et politique.

- 30 -

Renseignements :

Richard Walker
Attaché de presse
Cabinet de la ministre du Patrimoine canadien, de la Condition féminine et des Langues officielles
819 994-5978

Donald Boulanger
Chef p.i., Relations avec les médias
Patrimoine canadien
819 994-9101

Le Conseil sur l'accès à l'information pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens incapables de lire les imprimés
http://www.collectionscanada.ca/accessinfo/005003-3000-10-2007-f.html


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.