NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
What funding can I get from the Canada Student Loans Program?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

Ontario’s Lieutenant Governor to Speak at NEADS Conference

Photo of David C. Onley

Ottawa, October 16, 2008 – The Honourable David C. Onley, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, will deliver a keynote speech at the National Educational Association of Disabled Students’ (NEADS) conference, “Learning Today, Leading Tomorrow” on Saturday, November 15th.

The Honourable David Onley was appointed Ontario’s 28th Lieutenant Governor following a distinguished career as a broadcaster. He is renowned for championing disability issues.

In his role as Lieutenant Governor, he has adopted two causes: the first is to promote accessibility, as that which enables people to achieve their full potential. The second is to continue the Aboriginal Youth Literacy Programs implemented by his predecessor and to twin-track the programs to include a computer literacy initiative.

He is also a best-selling author, holds three honorary degrees, was inducted into the Terry Fox Hall of Fame and is the recipient of a number of awards including The Rick Hansen Award and The Courage to Come Back Award.

“We are very much looking forward to the Lieutenant Governor’s inspiring remarks at ‘Learning Today, Leading Tomorrow’,” said Dr. Mahadeo Sukhai, NEADS’ President. “Leadership by example is very important in our community, and together, we will discuss and define important directions and solutions to challenges faced by students with disabilities in post-secondary education.”

"Learning Today, Leading Tomorrow,” will take place at the Delta Ottawa Hotel and Suites from November 14-16, 2008. NEADS’ 2008 conference will also include other distinguished guest speakers: Steven Fletcher, Member of Parliament and Sandi Bell, Canadian Human Rights Commissioner. This exciting national conference will focus on solutions to drive change. It is an opportunity for students, consumer advocates, service providers, and employers to explore and create solutions to critical issues of equal access to post-secondary education and employment for students and graduates with disabilities.

For more information on the conference go to: www.neads.ca/conference2008

- 30 -

About NEADS

The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) is a consumer-controlled, registered charitable organization with a mandate to encourage the self-empowerment of post-secondary students and graduates with disabilities in Canada. NEADS advocates for increased accessibility at all levels so that students with disabilities may gain equal access to a college or university education, which is the right of everyone. The Association also supports the successful transition of students and graduates with disabilities into employment within their chosen field.


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Quelle sorte de financement est-ce que je peux obtenir du Programme canadien de prêts aux étudiants?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Media

Le lieutenant-gouverneur de l’Ontario conférencier invité à la Conférence de NEADS

Photo de David C. Onley

Ottawa, le 16 octobre 2008 – L’honorable David C. Onley, lieutenant-gouverneur de l’Ontario, prononcera un discours liminaire lors de la Conférence de l’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) « Apprendre aujourd’hui - Diriger demain » qui aura lieu le samedi 15 novembre.

L’honorable David Onley est devenu le 28e lieutenant-gouverneur de l’Ontario à la suite d’une carrière remarquable à la télévision. Il est réputé pour défendre les droits des personnes handicapées.

En tant que lieutenant-gouverneur, il a adopté deux causes. La première consiste à promouvoir l’accessibilité comme moyen permettant aux gens de réaliser pleinement leur potentiel. La deuxième est de continuer à appuyer les programmes d’alphabétisation des jeunes Autochtones mis en place par son prédécesseur et d’ajouter à ces programmes un volet informatique.

Il est l’auteur d’un ouvrage à succès, il est titulaire de trois grades honorifiques, il a été admis au Temple de la renommée Terry Fox et il s’est vu décerner de nombreux prix, dont le prix Rick Hansen et le prix Courage to Come Back.

« Nous nous réjouissons à l’idée d’entendre les propos inspirants du lieutenant-gouverneur lors de la conférence ‘Apprendre aujourd’hui – Diriger demain‘», a déclaré le Dr Mahadeo Sukhai, président de NEADS. « Le leadership par l’exemple a une importance déterminante dans notre communauté et ensemble, nous définirons les principales orientations et les solutions aux obstacles que doivent surmonter les étudiants handicapés au niveau postsecondaire. »

La Conférence « Apprendre aujourd’hui – Diriger demain » aura lieu à l’Hôtel et Suites Delta Ottawa, du 14 au 16 novembre 2008. D’autres éminents conférenciers invités seront présents : Steven Fletcher, député, et Sandi Bell, commissaire à la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne. Cette conférence nationale sera axée sur les solutions visant à susciter le changement. Elle permettra aux étudiants, aux groupes de protection des utilisateurs, aux fournisseurs de services et aux employeurs d’explorer et de trouver des solutions aux principaux enjeux de l’accès équitable à l’éducation postsecondaire et aux possibilités d’emploi pour les étudiants et diplômés handicapés.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la conférence, visitez notre site à l’adresse suivante : www.neads.ca/conference2008

- 30 -

Au sujet de NEADS

L’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) est une organisation dirigée par les consommateurs et un organisme de bienfaisance reconnu ayant pour mandat d’encourager la prise en charge de soi des étudiants au niveau postsecondaire et des nouveaux diplômés handicapés au Canada. NEADS préconise une plus grande accessibilité des étudiants handicapés à tous les niveaux, afin qu’ils aient accès en toute équité à une éducation collégiale ou universitaire, ce qui est le droit de tous les individus. L’Association appuie également la transition des étudiants et des nouveaux diplômés handicapés vers l’emploi dans leur domaine de spécialité.


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.