NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Question MarkQuick Question:
What accommodations are usually in place for students with disabilities attending college and university?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

6 Things to Keep in Mind When Talking about Federal Accessibility Legislation

The federal Government plans to pass an accessibility act to make Canada more inclusive and, until March 2017, it will be consulting Canadians about the legislation through a survey and in-person consultations. 6 key points to emphasize at consultations are: 1. Use the act to implement the United Nation's Convention on the Rights of Persons With Disabilities (CRPD), 2. NOTHING ABOUT US WITHOUT US, 3. Name the Act: the National Accessibility and Inclusion Act, 4. Focus on federal issues, 5. An Act must have teeth to remedy barriers, so it must deliver more than voluntary standards and awareness raising activities, 6. Strong measures to support implementation.

1. Legislation is a way to implement the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD) which Canada ratified with support from all political parties and jurisdictions. CRPD Article 4, states countries shall "(a) … adopt all appropriate legislative, administrative and other measures for the implementation of the …Convention…"

2. The philosophy NOTHING ABOUT US WITHOUT US guided the CRPD's development and Canadians with disabilities expect the same approach during the drafting of our new Act.

3. The title of the Act should be the National Accessibility and Inclusion Act. Adding the concept of inclusion frames a "big tent" approach with the scope to address the broad range of issues affecting Canadians with various disabilities and Deaf and hard of hearing people. Inclusion effectively preserves and promotes respect for the inherent human dignity of persons with disabilities and Deaf and hard of hearing persons.

4. The new Act will address matters in federal jurisdiction. Focus the conversation on remedying barriers found in such areas as banking, broadcasting, Employment Insurance, federal investments in affordable housing, the National Building Code, the Canada Health Act, federal taxes, the post office, cross border passenger transportation (air, rail, marine, interprovincial bus), Aboriginal lands and rights, federal programs for women, criminal law, immigration, the national capital, official languages within the federal sphere, citizenship, voting in federal elections and control of drugs. Barriers in the aforementioned areas contribute to the poverty, isolation, discrimination, unemployment experienced by people with disabilities and Deaf and hard of hearing people, and sub-standard health care (For example, currently, some groups of people with disabilities have access to publicly funded habilitation/rehabilitation services and others do not. Increased use of individualized funding should be implemented to give people with disabilities choice in the rehabilitation/habilitation they receive.). Have conversations with provincial/territorial officials about barriers in restaurants, schools, hospitals, retail stores, taxis, social assistance.

5. To implement the CRPD, a National Accessibility and Inclusion Act has to go beyond voluntary guidelines and public awareness. It has to have teeth. Elements that would give the Act teeth:1

5.1 A Statement of Purpose to Guide Ongoing Implementation A robust declaration of purpose, including broad goals (i.e. inclusion, participation, dignity) and procedural goals (i.e. accountability [public reporting], barrier removal, political participation, universal design) and specifically address barrier removal for women and girls with disabilities, Deaf and hard of hearing people, First Nations, Aboriginal, Metis and Inuit persons with disabilities, both on and off reserve, and others facing multiple forms of discrimination.

5.2 No Undermining of Rights Afforded in any Existing and Future Legislation An interpretation section confirming the Act does not undermine the Charter of Rights and Freedoms and human rights protections and referencing the CRPD.

5.3 Undertake Immediate Legislative Reform Include amendments to existing statutes to remove known barriers, such as provisions in the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, which serve to exclude people with disabilities seeking to immigrate to Canada.

5.4 The Creation of New Mechanisms to Address Barriers The establishment of centres of excellence to monitor compliance and provide guidance to departments: a Commissioner of Accessibility and Inclusion (supplements existing accountability mechanisms, conducts independent assessment of disability programs, and reports directly to Parliament); an Accessibility Design and Communication Centre (supports federal departments and agencies, proactively advising them on standards, barrier removal, and access to information for Deaf and hard of hearing people (ASL and LSQ videos, captioning, etc.) and could have standard enforcement responsibilities), Full Inclusion Policy Centre (addresses disability-related barriers in practices of federal departments, commissions and agencies).

5.5 A Broad Scope The Act would apply to the entire federal jurisdiction - federal government departments, agencies and commissions, as well as federally regulated industries - enhancing regulatory regimes in transportation, banking and telecommunications and address the inter-jurisdictional barriers facing First Nations and Aboriginal persons with disabilities.

5.6 Focus on Areas of Most Need Areas requiring particular attention by an Act – transportation; telecommunications; banking; accessible democracy (accessible voting and accommodation of people with disabilities and Deaf people running in federal elections); access to information, including plain language, and information technology/websites (and standards for such accessibility); procurement and infrastructure; access to post-secondary education, training and employment of persons with disabilities and Deaf people (i.e. federal government becoming a model employer, to lead by example); affordable, accessible and visitable housing; violence prevention; disaster relief; Governor in Council appointments of people with disabilities to Commissions, boards, Crown Corporation, agencies and tribunals, and issues affecting girls and women with disabilities and First Nations and Aboriginal persons with disabilities.

5.7 Clear, Concise Definitions and Methods of Communication/Plain Language and a Recognition of Our National Sign Languages (ASL and LSQ)  The Act will establish the recognition of our national Sign Languages that will promote and protect our human rights to Deaf people's first languages in Canada – American Sign Language (ASL) and langue des signes quebecoise (LSQ). The recognition of ASL and LSQ will value the linguistic identity of Deaf Canadians and will promote civic participation within Canadian society including the elimination of barriers to promote accessibility, effective participation, and equality of opportunity for Deaf Canadians.  Language includes spoken and signed languages and other forms of non-spoken languages.  Communication includes spoken and signed languages such as ASL and LSQ videos and captioning and video accessibility, display of text and Braille, and tactile communication, large print, written, audio, accessible multimedia, plain language, human reader and augmentative and alternative modes, means and formats of communication, including accessible information and communication technology.

5.8 Inclusion of Strategies that will Ensure the Broadest Impact of a National Accessibility and Inclusion Act Strategies and tools An Act could include: an omnibus approach (to reform existing legislation that continues to discriminate), procurement policies (use of federal purchasing power to encourage development of accessible products and services), and representative advisory committees (an avenue of input to government, agencies and government programs).

6.0 Robust Implementation Strategy The Act needs to authorize effective regulations, compliance and enforcement measures and significant resource allocation for consistent implementation throughout Canada, so that tangible outcomes will result from this Act.

1. Source: Gordon, P. (1996). "A Federal Disability Act: Opportunities and Challenges". Retrieved 12 August 2015 from http://www.ccdonline.ca/en/socialpolicy/fda/1006.

 http://www.ccdonline.ca/en/socialpolicy/fda/6-things-to-keep-in-mind20Oct2016

Contact:

Council of Canadians with Disabilities (CCD) 909-294 Portage Avenue Winnipeg, MB R3C 0B9 Tel: 204-947-0303 Fax: 204-942-4625 Email: ccd@ccdonline.ca,

http://www.ccdonline.ca/en/




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Quelle sorte de financement est-ce que je peux obtenir du Programme canadien de prêts aux étudiants?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

6 POINTS À NE PAS OUBLIER QUAND VOUS PARLEZ DE LA LOI FÉDÉRALE SUR L'ACCESSIBILITÉ

Le gouvernement fédéral envisage d’adopter une loi sur l’accessibilité afin de rendre le Canada plus accessible et plus inclusif. Jusqu’en mars 2017, il consultera les Canadiens à ce sujet par sondage ou en personne. Voici cinq points cruciaux à ne pas oublier pendant ces consultations : 1. Utiliser la Loi pour appliquer la CDPH ; 2. RIEN POUR NOUS, SANS NOUS ; 3. Nommer la loi : Loi nationale sur l’accessibilité et l’inclusion. 4. Se concentrer sur les enjeux fédéraux; 5. Cette Loi doit avoir du mordant pour éliminer les obstacles et non pas se contenter de prévoir des normes volontaires et des activités de sensibilisation ; 6 vigoureuses mesures pour consolider la mise en vigueur.

1. Une mesure législative est un moyen d’appliquer la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits des personnes handicapées (CDPH), que le Canada a ratifiée avec l’appui de tous les partis politiques et de toutes les provinces et territoires. À l’article 4, la CDPH affirme que les pays doivent « (a) ….adopter toutes les mesures appropriées d’ordre législatif, administratif ou autre pour mettre en œuvre la…. présente Convention… »

2. La philosophie RIEN POUR NOUS SANS NOUS a guidé la mise au point de la CDPH et les Canadiens en situation de handicap s’attendent à ce que la même approche soit appliquée lors de l’élaboration de la nouvelle Loi.

3. Cette Loi devrait être intitulée : La Loi nationale sur l’accessibilité et l’inclusion. L’ajout du concept d’inclusion structurera une stratégie « chapiteau » dont la vaste portée permettra de s’attaquer à la large gamme des questions touchant les Canadiens ayant différents types de déficiences, ainsi que les personnes Sourdes et malentendantes.

4. La nouvelle Loi visera les questions relevant de la compétence fédérale. Axez le dialogue sur l’élimination des obstacles prévalant dans le milieu bancaire, la radiotélédiffusion, l’assurance-emploi, les investissements fédéraux dans le logement abordable, le Code national du bâtiment, la Loi canadienne sur la santé, les impôts fédéraux, la poste, les transports de passagers transfrontaliers (aériens, ferroviaires, maritimes, par autobus interprovinciaux), les droits et les terres autochtones, les programmes fédéraux pour les femmes, le droit criminel, l’immigration, la capitale nationale, les langues officielles dans la sphère fédérale, la citoyenneté, le vote aux élections fédérales et le contrôle des drogues. Les obstacles prévalant dans les secteurs susmentionnés, renforcent la pauvreté, l’isolement, la discrimination, les soins de santé défectueux, (par exemple, certains groupes de personnes ayant des limitations fonctionnelles ont accès à des services publics d’autonomisation/réadaptation et d’autres non. Le financement individualisé devrait être élargi pour permettre aux personnes en situation de handicap de choisir leurs soins en autonomisation/réadaptation) et renforcent également les problèmes d’emploi subis par les personnes ayant des limitations fonctionnelles et les personnes Sourdes et malentendantes. Avec les agents provinciaux/territoriaux, discutez des obstacles dans les restaurants, les hôpitaux, les magasins de détail, les taxis, l’aide sociale.

5. Pour appliquer la CDPH, une Loi nationale sur l’accessibilité et l’inclusion doit avoir du mordant et aller au-delà des directives volontaires et la sensibilisation publique. Voici les facteurs qui donneront du mordant à cette Loi1 :

5.1 Une déclaration d’intention pour guider une application continue Un énoncé rigoureux de l’objet, incluant des buts à vaste portée (à savoir l’inclusion, la participation et la dignité) et des objectifs procéduraux (par ex l’imputabilité, [soumission de rapports publics], l’élimination des obstacles, la participation politique, conception universelle), ainsi qu’une stratégie particulière pour l’élimination des obstacles auxquels sont confrontés les femmes et jeunes filles en situation de handicap, les personnes Sourdes et malentendantes, et les personnes ayant des limitations fonctionnelles des Premières Nations, Autochtones, Métis et Inuit, sur et hors des réserves ainsi que de nombreux autres confrontés à des formes multiples de discrimination.

5.2 Aucune atteinte aux droits acquis dans la législation actuelle et future Une section interprétative confirmant que la LCSH ne porte nullement atteinte aux garanties de la Charte ni aux droits de la personne et se référant à la CRPD.

5.3 Entreprendre immédiatement une réforme législative Incluant des modifications aux textes législatifs pour éliminer les obstacles connus, notamment les dispositions de la Loi canadienne sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés, qui ne servent qu’à exclure les personnes en situation de handicap désirant émigrer au Canada.

5.4 La création de nouveaux mécanismes pour s’attaquer aux obstacles Création de centres d’excellence chargés de surveiller la conformité et de guider les ministères : un Commissaire à la condition et à l’inclusion des personnes en situation de handicap (consolider les mécanismes actuels d’imputabilité, entreprendre des évaluations indépendantes des programmes visant les personnes ayant des limitations fonctionnelles et en rapportera directement au Parlement), un Bureau de normalisation de l’accessibilité (qui appuiera les ministères fédéraux et les agences et les conseillera de manière proactive sur les normes et l’élimination des obstacles et de l’accès des personnes Sourdes et malentendantes aux informations( vidéos et sous-titrage en ASL et LSQ, etc…); il pourrait être responsable de l’application des normes), un Office des politiques d’inclusion (chargé d’éliminer les obstacles inhérents aux limitations fonctionnelles prévalant dans les politiques et les pratiques des ministères fédéraux, des commissions et des agences).

5.5 Une vaste portée La Loi s’appliquera à tous les ressorts fédéraux - ministères, agences et commissions ainsi qu’aux industries relevant de la compétence fédérale, consolidant les régimes de règlementation dans les transports, le secteur bancaire et les télécommunications et traitant de sujets intergouvernementaux auxquels sont confrontées les personnes ayant des limitations fonctionnelles des Premières Nations et Autochtones.

5.6 Axée sur les besoins les plus criants Secteurs devant être particulièrement visés par une telle Loi : transports, télécommunications, banques, démocratie accessible (vote accessible et accommodements pour les candidats électoraux en situation de handicap ainsi que des candidats Sourds et malentendants), accès aux informations et technologies d’information/sites Web et normes pour une telle accessibilité), approvisionnement et infrastructures, accès à la formation et à l’éducation postsecondaire, emploi des personnes en situation de handicap, personnes Sourdes et malentendantes y compris, (par ex : le gouvernement devient un employeur modèle et prêche par l’exemple) ; logements abordables, accessibles et visitables ; prévention de la violence, opérations de secours en cas de catastrophes ; le Gouverneur en Conseil nomme des personnes ayant des limitations fonctionnelles à des Commissions, des Conseils, des agences, des tribunaux, des sociétés d’état et questions touchant les femmes et les jeunes filles en situation de handicap et les personnes ayant des limitations, Autochtones et des Premières Nations.

5.7 Définitions et méthodes de communication claires et concises/Langage clair et simple et reconnaissance de nos langues signées (ASL et LSQ)  La Loi prescrira la reconnaissance de nos langues signées nationales, facilitant et protégeant ainsi le droit des personnes Sourdes à leurs premières langues officielles (American SIgn Language (ASL) et Langue signée québécoise (LSQ). Cette reconnaissance valorisera l’identité linguistique des Canadiens Sourds et encouragera leur participation civique dans la société canadienne, incluant l’élimination des obstacles à l’accessibilité, la participation réelle et l’égalité des chances des Canadiennes et des Canadiens Sourds. • Langage - à savoir. les langues orales et les langues signées ainsi que toute autre forme de langage non-verbal. L’ASL/LSQ deviennent langues officielles au Canada). • Communications : à savoir les langues orales, les langues signées, notamment les vidéos et le sous-titrage en ASL et LSQ, l’accessibilité vidéo, l’affichage de textes et Braille, les communications tactiles, gros caractères, multimédia écrits, audio et accessibles, le langage clair et simple, des préposés à la lecture, la suppléance et les alternatives à la communication, les moyens et formats de communication, incluant les technologies accessibles d’information et de communications.

5.8 Inclusion de stratégies garantissant la plus vaste incidence de la Loi nationale sur l’accessibilité et l’inclusion Les stratégies et les outils d’une telle Loi pourraient inclure : une approche omnibus (pour réformer les lois qui continuent à exercer une distinction illicite), des politiques d’approvisionnement (utiliser le pouvoir d’achat fédéral pour encourager la création de produits et services accessibles), des comités consultatifs de représentants (voie de participation et de rétroaction aux gouvernements, agences et programmes). 6.0 Solide stratégie d’application La Loi devrait autoriser des règlements efficaces ainsi que prévoir l’allocation de mesures exécutoires et de mesures de conformité à travers le Canada et ce, afin qu’elle puisse enclencher de tangibles résultats.

1. Source : Gordon, P. (1996) « Une Loi canadienne pour les personnes handicapées : Possibilités et défis », extrait le 12 août 2015 du site http://www.ccdonline.ca/fr/socialpolicy/fda/1006

 http://www.ccdonline.ca/fr/socialpolicy/fda/6-things-to-keep-in-mind20Oct2016

Contact :

Council of Canadians with Disabilities (CCD) 909-294 Portage Avenue Winnipeg, MB R3C 0B9 Tel: 204-947-0303 Fax: 204-942-4625 Email: ccd@ccdonline.ca, http://www.ccdonline.ca/fr/




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.