NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Question MarkQuick Question:
Will going to school outside my province or territory limit my ability to access funding?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

NEADS receives grant funding from Employment and Social Development Canada for research into The Landscape of Accessibility and Accommodation for Students with Disabilities in Canadian Post-Secondary Education: 2016 – 2018

(Ottawa, December 6, 2016) -

The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) has received funds from the Government of Canada's Social Development Partnerships Program (SDPP-D), of just over $193,000 for an important new research project: The Landscape of Accessibility and Accommodation for Students with Disabilities in Canadian Post-Secondary Education: 2016 – 2018.

This project specifically addresses the SDPP-D Program objective to: "support the development and utilization of effective approaches to address social issues and challenges." Building on previous NEADS work, including the landmark report of the National Taskforce on the Experience of Graduate Students with Disabilities, Understanding Accessibility in Graduate Education For Students with Disabilities in Canada (2016); Enhancing Accessibility for Disabled Students - A Guide For Service Providers (2012); and, Working Towards a Coordinated National Approach to Services, Accommodations and Policies for Post-Secondary Students With Disabilities (1999), this 18 month project will undertake a thorough examination of the current landscape of accessibility, services, accommodations, technical equipment and supports for students with disabilities at publicly-funded post-secondary institutions across Canada.

“Students with disabilities deserve equal access and opportunity in their schools. In supporting activities that engage and consult students with disabilities, we can make informed decisions on how to make this happen. Ensuring accessibility in post-secondary institutions is a great example of how – together – we are changing the culture around disability and creating a more accessible Canada. ” – The Honourable Carla Qualtrough, Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities

The research will occur at the same time as, and is expected to inform, the Government of Canada's consultation on a new planned accessibility legislation, under the leadership of Minister Carla Qualtrough, Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities. The Government of Canada provides funding for post-secondary education through transfer payments to the provinces, and supports a national grants and loans program through the Canada Student Loans Program, which offers disability specific grants and repayment assistance. The Government of Canada also provides research funding through the three national granting councils to support research programs ongoing at Canadian colleges and universities, including providing stipendiary support to students and research trainees, some of whom have disabilities. Consultations and research on post-secondary access and services are timely and will contribute to the Government of Canada's emphasis on access to education and training for persons with disabilities, leading to their participation in the competitive labour market.

Emily Duffett, NEADS’ Chair and Nova Scotia Director applauded the federal government for funding the research: "Thank you to the Government of Canada and Minister Qualtrough for the opportunity to undertake this vital project. We know that with education and training persons with disabilities can become full participants in Canada’s competitive workforce. But for that to happen, our colleges and universities must be fully accessible and inclusive learning spaces. This initiative would not be possible without a dedicated team of collaborators. I look forward to seeing what comes from this project."

“This project gives us an unprecedented opportunity to bring together a national team of collaborators – a virtual network of excellence – who are interested in answering big, important questions in higher education policy, accessibility and universal design. We are excited to get started, and to learn about best practices from around the country,” commented Dr. Mahadeo Sukhai, NEADS’ Director of Research and the Principal Investigator for this project.

The objectives of this initiative will be met through a comprehensive literature review and environmental scan; a review of institutional accessibility and accommodations policies and best practices; delivery of bilingual, online surveys of the relevant stakeholder groups; and in-person consultations on campus and in appropriate conference settings.

We will leverage the network and success of the NEADS National Taskforce on the Experience of Graduate Students with Disabilities (2012-2016) to assemble an appropriate and in-scope network of students and professionals to guide the Project: an Advisory Group on Post-Secondary Accessibility and Accommodation). The National Educational Association of Disabled Students will also assemble a cross-Canada team of collaborators to execute the project in a timely manner.

- 30 –

For further information on this project contact:

Frank Smith, National Coordinator,  National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS), Rm. 514 Unicentre, Carleton University, Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6 tel. (613) 380-8065 ext. 201, www.neads.ca

"Supporting access to post-secondary education and employment for students with disabilities"




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Où puis-je trouver des manuels en médias substituts?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

NEADS reçoit une subvention d’Emploi et Développement social Canada pour une recherche sur l’accessibilité et les aménagements à l’intention des étudiants handicapés du niveau postsecondaire au Canada : 2016─2018

(Ottawa, 6 decembre 2016) -

L’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) a reçu un peu plus de 193 000 $ du Programme de partenariats pour le développement social (PPDS-PH) du gouvernement du Canada pour un nouveau projet de recherche important : Vue d’ensemble de l’accessibilité et des aménagements pour les étudiants handicapés du niveau postsecondaire au Canada : 2016–2018.

Ce projet porte précisément sur l’objectif du PPDS-PH, soit « appuyer l’élaboration et l’utilisation d’approches efficaces en vue d’aborder les problèmes et les défis d’ordre social ». Ce projet de 18 mois fait fond sur des travaux antérieurs de NEADS, dont le rapport historique de son Groupe de travail national sur l’expérience des étudiants aux cycles supérieurs, intitulé Understanding Accessibility in Graduate Education For Students with Disabilities in Canada (2016), et les rapports Améliorer l’accessibilité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire : Guide à l’intention des fournisseurs de services aux personnes handicapées (2012) et Pour une approche pancanadienne des services, des aménagements et des politiques destinés aux étudiant-e-s handicap-é-s de niveau postsecondaire (1999). Dans le cadre de ce projet, on entreprendra un examen approfondi de l’état actuel de l’accessibilité, des services, des aménagements, de l’équipement technique et des mesures de soutien dont bénéficient les étudiants handicapés fréquentant des établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire financés par le secteur public partout au Canada.

« Les étudiants ayant des déficiences méritent d’avoir un accès égal aux possibilités offertes dans leurs écoles. En appuyant les activités qui mobilisent et consultent les étudiants handicapés, nous pouvons prendre des décisions éclairées sur les moyens de leur assurer cette accessibilité. Les efforts en ce sens pour les étudiants du niveau postsecondaire sont un excellent exemple du travail que nous pouvons faire ensemble pour changer la culture liée à l’incapacité et créer un Canada plus accessible. » – L’honorable Carla Qualtrough, ministre des Sports et des Personnes handicapées

Mme Carla Qualtrough, ministre des Sports et des Personnes handicapées, assurera la direction de la consultation du gouvernement du Canada sur une nouvelle législation prévue sur l’accessibilité. La recherche se déroulera en même temps que cette consultation et on s’attend à ce qu’elle y contribue. Le gouvernement du Canada fournit des fonds pour l’éducation postsecondaire au moyen de paiements de transfert aux provinces et il soutient un programme national de subventions et de prêts, le Programme canadien de prêts aux étudiants, qui offre des subventions et une aide au remboursement spécifiquement pour les personnes handicapées. Le gouvernement du Canada verse aussi des fonds par l’intermédiaire des trois conseils subventionnaires nationaux pour soutenir les programmes de recherche permanents des universités et collèges canadiens, y compris une rémunération pour les étudiants et les stagiaires en recherche dont certains ont une incapacité. Les consultations et la recherche sur l’accès et les services au niveau postsecondaire tombent à point et contribueront à confirmer l’importance que le gouvernement accorde à l’accès à l’éducation et à la formation pour les personnes handicapées qui mèneront à leur participation au marché du travail concurrentiel.

Emily Duffett, présidente du Conseil d’administration de NEADS et administratrice représentant la Nouvelle-Écosse, a applaudi le gouvernement fédéral pour avoir financé cette recherche. « Merci au gouvernement du Canada et à la ministre Qualtrough de nous donner la possibilité d’entreprendre ce projet vital, a-t-elle dit. Nous savons que l’éducation et la formation peuvent permettre aux personnes handicapées de devenir des membres à part entière de la population active concurrentielle du Canada. Toutefois, pour que cela soit possible, il faut que nos universités et collèges soient des milieux d’apprentissage pleinement accessibles et inclusifs. Cette initiative serait impossible sans l’apport d’une équipe de collaborateurs dévoués. J’ai hâte de voir quels seront les résultats de ce projet. »

« Grâce à ce projet, nous aurons une occasion sans précédent de réunir une équipe nationale de collaborateurs — un réseau virtuel d’excellence — qui veulent trouver des réponses à de très importantes questions liées aux politiques, à l’accessibilité et à la conception universelle dans le milieu de l’enseignement supérieur. Nous avons très hâte de commencer notre travail et de découvrir les meilleures pratiques en place partout au pays », a commenté M. Mahadeo Sukhai, directeur de la recherche de NEADS et chercheur principal pour ce projet.

Les objectifs de cette initiative seront atteints au moyen d’une recherche documentaire et d’une analyse contextuelle exhaustives, d’un examen des politiques et pratiques exemplaires des établissements en matière d’accessibilité et de mesures d’adaptation, de la réalisation de sondages en ligne bilingues auprès de groupes pertinents de parties prenantes, ainsi que de consultations en personne sur les campus et lors de conférences appropriées. Nous allons tirer parti du réseau et du succès du Groupe de travail national sur l’expérience des étudiants aux cycles supérieurs (2012-2016) afin de constituer un réseau approprié d’étudiants et de professionnels spécialisés en la matière pour guider le projet : un Groupe consultatif sur l’accessibilité et les aménagements au niveau postsecondaire. L’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire réunira aussi une équipe de collaborateurs pancanadienne pour réaliser le projet en temps opportun.

- 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur ce projet, contactez : Frank Smith, coordonnateur national, Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) Pièce 514, Unicentre, Université Carleton Ottawa (Ontario) K1S 5B6 Tél. : 613-380-8065, poste 201, www.neads.ca 

« Nous encourageons l’accès à l’enseignement postsecondaire et au marché du travail pour les étudiants et les diplômés handicapés»




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.