NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
Can the guidance counsellor at my high school help me choose a college or university that will accommodate my disability and still have the quality of programs in the field I wish to pursue?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) seeks applicants for Saskatchewan, Quebec and Prince Edward Island Directors - due March 15 2018

Are you a Canadian post-secondary student or recent graduate living with a disability? Would you like to have the opportunity to affect change and make a difference in not only your local community but also in the national community? As a Director on the board of the National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) you will have opportunities to: connect with our vast network of partners; work with experts on a number of important, influential projects relating to students with disabilities; and help make strategic decisions that will allow the organization to continue its important work for years to come.

Our enthusiastic, inclusive and collaborative board is currently seeking applicants for the positions of Saskatchewan, Quebec and Prince Edward Island (PEI) Directors’ if you’re interested we encourage you to apply by completing our online form: 

http://www.neads.ca/en/about/events/conference2012/nomination.php or completing the questions below in a Word document and emailing it to the National Coordinator frank.smith@neads.ca by March 15th, 2018.

Section A: Candidate Information

Name: _________________________________________________
Email: _________________________________________________
Telephone: (_ _ _) _ _ _ - _ _ _ _
Primary Mailing Address: _________________________________
City: _________________________________________________
Province: _____________________________________________
Postal Code: _ _ _ _ _ _
Name of your School: ___________________________________
Year of Graduation: _ _ _ _
Degree Type:
o Arts & Science Bachelor’s Degree o Master’s Degree o Doctorate Degree o Professional Degree (medicine, engineering, law, social work, pharmacy, nursing, etc..) o Certificate    o Diploma

Section B: Referees – Two referees are required, who can speak to your skill sets, previous volunteer record and achievements

Referee #1
Name: _________________________________________________
Primary Mailing Address: __________________________________
City: _________________________________________________
Province: _____________________________________________
Postal Code: __________________________________________
Referee #2
Name: _________________________________________________
Primary Mailing Address: ___________________________________
City: ___________________________________________________
Province: _______________________________________________
Postal Code: ____________________________________________

Section C: Previous Volunteer/Leadership Experience and Personal Statements

Please tell us about your previous volunteer, extra-curricular and leadership experiences, and how they have prepared you for serving on the NEADS Board? (250 words or less)
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Based on what you know of NEADS, why do you want to join the Board of Directors? (250 words or less)
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
How do you plan to further NEADS’ mandate and mission (as outlined in the organizational value proposition statements) in your province, region or school? (250 words or less)
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
What specific area of the Association’s work do you believe that you can most influence?
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Why?
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Have questions? Contact our National coordinator Frank Smith by email at frank.smith@neads.ca or by phoning the office at 613-380-8065

About the NEADS Board

The NEADS Board of Directors is composed of ten provincial Directors (British Columbia Director, Alberta Director, Saskatchewan Director, Manitoba Director, Ontario Director, Quebec Director, Nova Scotia Director, Newfoundland and Labrador Director, Prince Edward Island Director, New Brunswick Director), one territorial Director. Currently we have Directors at Large on our board as well. Candidates for the positions of provincial/territorial Directors must be students or recent graduates with disabilities, residing in and/or attending a post-secondary institution in the geographic location they seek to represent.

As a NEADS Board members you would be expected to attend a minimum of twelve (12) Board teleconferences annually, as well as one to two in-person Board meetings per year.  As the Saskatchewan, Quebec or Prince Edward Island Director you would also be expected to represent that respective Province to the Board. This also means bringing the work of NEADS to your jurisdiction, as well as to bring local issues to the national table. Board members may participate in local, regional and provincial committees and activities, within the framework provided by NEADS mandate and mission.

Correspondence of the Board is primarily done by email and telephone. Consequently, members are expected to have access to at fairly regular frequency this equipment and is therefore responsible to keep up-to-date with any NEADS related correspondence.
Board members can and do come from a wide variety of backgrounds: for example community service, student leadership, provincial and regional committees, etc.; or may come from none of these backgrounds. Although specific skill sets are not required, prior experience in Board governance will be a strong asset. Interest in, and experience with, establishing regional and national projects, programs; grant funding and financial management would also be an asset.

 




Top

All contents copyright , 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce qu’il y a une organisation qui représente tous les Canadiens et les Canadiennes ayant des déficiences?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

NEADS recherche des candidat(e)s pour les postes de directeur(trice)s

Êtes-vous  un(e) étudiant(e) canadien(ne) au postsecondaire ou un(e) récent(e) diplômé(e) en situation de handicap? Aimeriez-vous avoir l’occasion d’influer sur le changement et de faire une différence non seulement dans votre communauté locale, mais aussi dans la communauté nationale? En tant que membre du Conseil d’administration de l’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS), vous aurez l’occasion d’établir des liens avec notre vaste réseau de partenaires, de travailler avec des experts sur plusieurs projets importants et influents concernant les étudiant(e)s en situation de handicap et d’aider à prendre des décisions stratégiques qui permettront à l’organisme de poursuivre son important travail pour les années à venir.

Notre Conseil d’administration enthousiaste, inclusif et coopératif est présentement à la recherche de candidat(e)s pour les postes de directeur(trice)s de la Saskatchewan, du Québec et de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard (Î. -P. -É.). Si vous êtes intéressés, nous vous encourageons à soumettre votre candidature en remplissant notre formulaire en ligne : http://www.neads.ca/fr/about/events/conference2012/nomination.php ou en remplissant les questions ci-dessous dans un document Word et en l’envoyant par courriel par le 15 mars au coordonnateur national frank.smith@neads.ca

Section A : Renseignements sur la/le candidat(e)

Nom : _________________________________________________
Courriel : _________________________________________________
Téléphone : (_ _ _) _ _ _ - _ _ _ _
Adresse postale principale : _________________________________
Ville : _________________________________________________
Province : _____________________________________________
Code postal : _ _ _ _ _ _
Nom de votre école : ___________________________________
Année d’obtention du diplôme : _ _ _ _
Type de diplôme :
o Baccalauréat en arts & science  o Maîtrise o Doctorat     o Diplôme professionnel (médecine, ingénierie, droit, travail social, pharmacie, soins infirmiers, etc..) o Certificat o DEC o DEP

Section B : Références – Deux références qui peuvent témoigner de vos compétences, de vos antécédents, de votre bénévolat et de vos réalisations sont requises.

Référence #1
Nom : _________________________________________________
Adresse postale principale : __________________________________
Ville : _________________________________________________
Province : _____________________________________________
Code postal : __________________________________________
Référence #2
Nom : _________________________________________________
Adresse postale principale : __________________________________
Ville : _________________________________________________
Province : _____________________________________________
Code postal : __________________________________________

Section C : Expérience en bénévolat/leadership et déclaration d’intentions

Parlez-nous de vos expériences en matière de bénévolat, d’activités parascolaires et de leadership, et de la façon dont elles vous ont préparé à siéger au Conseil d’administration de NEADS. (250 mots ou moins)
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Selon ce que vous savez de NEADS, pourquoi voulez-vous vous joindre au Conseil d’administration? (250 mots ou moins)
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Comment prévoyez-vous faire progresser le mandat et la mission de NEADS (tels que décrits dans ses énoncés sur sa proposition de valeur organisationnelle) dans votre province, région ou école? (250 mots ou moins)
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Quel aspect spécifique du travail de l’Association croyez-vous pouvoir le plus influer?
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Pourquoi?
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Avez-vous des questions? Contactez Frank Smith, notre coordonnateur national, par courriel frank.smith@neads.ca ou téléphonez au bureau au (613) 380-8065.

À propos du Conseil d’administration de NEADS

Le Conseil d’administration de NEADS est composé de dix directeurs provinciaux (directeurs de la Colombie-Britannique, de l’Alberta, de la Saskatchewan, du Manitoba, de l’Ontario, du Québec, de la Nouvelle-Écosse, de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et du Nouveau-Brunswick), ainsi que d’un directeur territorial. À l’heure actuelle, nous avons également des directeurs généraux qui siègent à notre Conseil d’administration. Les candidats aux postes de directeurs provinciaux et territoriaux doivent être des étudiants ou des diplômés récents en situation de handicap, résidant et/ou fréquentant un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire dans la province qu’ils désirent représenter.

On s’attend à ce que les membres du Conseil d’administration de NEADS assistent à au moins douze (12) téléconférences mensuelles par année, ainsi qu’à une ou deux réunions du Conseil d’administration en personne par année. En tant que directeur de la Saskatchewan, du Québec ou de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, vous devrez représenter cette province au Conseil d’administration. Cela signifie également faire connaître le travail de NEADS à votre juridiction et amener les enjeux locaux à la table nationale. Les membres du Conseil d’administration peuvent participer à des activités et à des comités locaux, régionaux et provinciaux, dans le cadre du mandat et de la mission de NEADS.

La correspondance du Conseil se fait principalement par courriel et par téléphone. Par conséquent, on s’attend à ce que les membres aient accès à cet équipement à une fréquence assez régulière et il leur incombe donc de se tenir au courant de toute la correspondance liée à NEADS.

Les membres du Conseil d’administration peuvent provenir (et proviennent) d’une grande variété de milieux : par exemple, le service communautaire, le leadership étudiant, les comités provinciaux et régionaux, etc. ou peuvent ne provenir d’aucun de ces milieux. Bien qu’il ne soit pas nécessaire de posséder des compétences particulières, une expérience préalable en gouvernance d’un Conseil d’administration constituera un atout important. Intérêt et expérience dans l’établissement de projets ou de programmes régionaux et nationaux; la recherche de subventions et la gestion financière sont également un atout.

 




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.