NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
Which federal government office can I contact to obtain information on programs and services for disabled persons?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

Exciting Additions and Changes to the team at NEADS!

(Ottawa, May 14, 2018) -

The National Educational Association of Disabled Students’ (NEADS) team has seen some exciting changes recently which will position us to move forward with our agenda in the next year. Roxana Jahani Aval has been appointed to the position of Acting Chair of the NEADS Executive Directors, adding to her duties as Ontario Director of NEADS and her seat at the national council table of the Council of Canadians With Disabilities. Tayler Glaspey, British Columbia Director of NEADS has been appointed to the Treasurer position on the NEADS Executive. Jewelles Smith has been appointed from her seat as Director at Large to join the NEADS team of Advisors to the Board. Jewelles is also Chair of the Council of Canadians With Disabilities. Alan Bridgeman continues to work on the communications and social media strategy and implementation as Chair of the NEADS Communications and Social Media Committee. He is a board member of the Manitoba League of Persons with Disabilities. Margaret (Maggie) Lyons-MacFarlane has been shifted in her board position from Nova Scotia Director to New Brunswick Director, as she now lives and works in Fredericton. Maggie continues in her role as Chair of the NEADS Fund Development Committee.

We also welcome new members of the NEADS Board of Directors to the fold who will ensure that we have great representation right across Canada: Jérôme Archambault, Brady Kroeker and Adam Retsinas. Jérôme Archambault is our new Quebec Director. Since 2013, Jérôme has been Chair of the Board of Directors of the Association québécoise pour l’équité et l’inclusion au postsecondaire (AQEIPS). AQEIPS is a Quebec association that works to help students with disabilities access an inclusive education and to foster the transition of these students into the workplace. Originally from Montreal, Jérôme is now completing a PhD in Labour Economics at the University of Ottawa.

Brady Kroeker becomes the Saskatchewan Director of NEADS. Brady is pursuing his Masters degree in Political Studies at the University of Saskatchewan, researching the barriers facing disabled people entering the workplace. He is an active participant in the University of Saskatchewan Debate Society and has been working on his campus to create a disability advocacy group through the university’s students union.

Adam Retsinas is the new Alberta Director of NEADS. He is pursuing a Bachelor’s degree at York University in Toronto, but will be moving to Alberta in June. Adam has been a very active volunteer on and off campus. He has volunteered for science events such as Bioblitz. And off campus, Adam has been a volunteer with Pride Toronto, Arts In The Parks and the Fringe Festival on Canada Day.

Roxana Jahani Aval, Acting Chair and Ontario Director of NEADS speaks enthusiastically about the changes and additions to the NEADS team:

“There are no words to express how overjoyed I am to introduce our new board members. Brady, Jérôme, and Adam are incredible additions to our team. Their diverse backgrounds and areas of expertise will provide new voices to on-going issues in the disability movement. Congratulations to our new board members.

In addition, Jewelles Smith, our Director at Large and previous British Columbia Director has stepped into a new role with NEADS after serving 12 years on our board throughout her education. Jewelles has been made Advisor to the Board, as she provides mentorship, team building, and ongoing aid to the board. As my mentor, I am sad to see her move on from the board, but as a friend, excited to see what her new role with NEADS will bring. All the best Jewelles!

To our community, I encourage everyone to contact our Board members at any point for information, additional help, or opportunities that may arise. We are more than happy to serve the post-secondary disability community.”

Roxana Jahani Aval
Acting Chair & Ontario Director
National Educational Association of Disabled Students
Roxana.jahani.aval@NEADS.ca

For further information, please contact the NEADS office:

Frank Smith, National Coordinator
National Educational Association of Disabled Students
Rm. 514, Unicentre
1125 Colonel By Drive
Carleton University
Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6 Canada
Tel. (613) 380-8065, ext. 201, frank.smith@neads.ca 






Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Comment puis je savoir quel collège ou quelle université offre un accès physique adéquat aux salles de cours et aux autres installations?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

Nouveaux membres et excitants changements

Nouveaux membres et excitants changements au sein de l’équipe de NEADS !

(Ottawa, 14 mai 2018) -

L’équipe de l’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) a récemment vécu d’excitants changements qui lui permettront d’aller de l’avant avec son agenda de l’année. Roxana Jahani Aval a été nommée au poste de présidente intérimaire des directeurs généraux de NEADS, ajoutant des responsabilités à son poste de directrice de l’Ontario pour NEADS et à son poste sur le Conseil national de la table du Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences. Tayler Glaspey, le directeur de la Colombie-Britannique pour NEADS a été nommé au poste de secrétaire sur le conseil d’administration de NEADS. Jewelles Smith quitte son poste de directrice non désignée pour se joindre à l’équipe des conseillers sur le conseil d’administration de NEADS. Jewelles siège aussi au Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences. Alan Bridgeman continue de travailler sur la mise en œuvre de la stratégie des communications et des médias sociaux en tant que président du comité des communications et des médias sociaux. Il est sur le conseil du Manitoba League of Persons With Disabilities. Margaret (Maggie) Lyons-MacFarlane est passée de son poste de directrice pour la Nouvelle-Écosse à directrice du Nouveau-Brunswick, car elle vit et travaille désormais à Fredericton. Maggie poursuit son rôle de présidente du comité de développement du financement de NEADS.

Nous souhaitons également la bienvenue à de nouveaux membres sur le conseil d’administration de NEADS qui nous assureront une excellente représentation à travers le Canada : Jérôme Archambault, Brady Kroeker et Adam Retsinas. Jérôme Archambault est notre nouveau directeur du Québec. Depuis 2013, Jérôme occupe la présidence du conseil d’administration de l’Association québécoise pour l’équité et l’inclusion au postsecondaire (AQEIPS). L’AQEIPS aide les étudiants en situation de handicap à avoir accès à une éducation inclusive et à faciliter la transition de ces étudiants vers le marché du travail. Originaire de Montréal, Jérôme complète actuellement un doctorat en économie du travail à l’Université d’Ottawa.  

Brady Kroeker devient le directeur de la Saskatchewan pour NEADS. Brady est étudiant à la maîtrise en études politiques à l’Université de la Saskatchewan où il fait de la recherche au sujet des barrières auxquelles sont confrontées les personnes en situation de handicap lorsqu’elles tentent d’intégrer le marché du travail. Il est un participant actif du Debate Society (club de débat) de l’Université de la Saskatchewan et il travaille sur son campus avec l’association étudiante de l’université pour créer un groupe de défense des droits des étudiants en situation de handicap. 

Adam Retsinas est le nouveau directeur de l’Alberta pour NEADS. Il complète un baccalauréat à l’Université York de Toronto, mais il déménagera en Alberta en juin. Adam a été un bénévole très engagé tant sur et à l’extérieur du campus. Il a été bénévole pour des événements scientifiques comme Bioblitz. À l’extérieur du campus, Adam a été bénévole pour Pride Toronto, Arts In The Parks et le Fringe Festival à la fête du Canada.

Roxana Jahani Aval, présidente par intérim et directrice de l’Ontario pour NEADS parle avec enthousiasme des changements et des nouveaux venus dans l’équipe de NEADS : « Les mots ne suffisent pas pour exprimer à quel point je suis ravie de vous présenter les nouveaux membres de notre conseil d’administration. Brady, Jérôme et Adam sont des ajouts incroyables sur notre équipe. Leurs parcours et champs d’expertise diversifiés amèneront de nouvelles voix pour défendre des enjeux actuels dans le mouvement du handicap. Félicitations à nos nouveaux membres. De plus, Jewelles Smith, notre directrice non désignée et ancienne directrice pour la Colombie-Britannique s’est engagée dans un nouveau rôle avec NEADS après avoir siégé à notre conseil pendant 12 ans au courant de ses études. Jewelles a été nommée conseillère pour le conseil, étant donné qu’elle offre du mentorat, une consolidation d’équipe et une aide continue au conseil. Elle est mon mentor et je suis triste de la voir quitter le conseil, mais en tant qu’amie, je suis excitée de voir ce que son nouveau rôle avec NEADS lui réserve. Meilleurs vœux, Jewelles !

J’encourage tout le monde dans notre communauté à contacter les membres de notre conseil à tout moment pour obtenir de l’information, de l’aide ou pour rester à l’affut des occasions qui pourraient se présenter. Nous sommes plus qu’heureux d’être au service de la communauté des étudiants en situation de handicap au postsecondaire. »

Roxana Jahani Aval
Directrice par intérim & Directrice de l’Ontario
Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire Roxana.jahani.aval@NEADS.ca

Pour plus d’information, contactez le bureau de NEADS :

Frank Smith, coordonnateur national
Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire
Local 514, Unicentre
1125, Colonel By Drive
Université Carleton
Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6 Canada
Tél. (613) 380-8065, poste 201, frank.smith@neads.ca 









Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.