NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Where can I find information about financial assistance to support my post-secondary studies?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

Mohamed Behi joins the NEADS Board of Directors

Ottawa, July 26, 2018 -

The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) – board and staff – welcomes Mohamed Behi to our team. Mohamed, who is a student at the University of Winnipeg, has been appointed as a new Director at Large on the NEADS board of directors.

Mohamed brings a wealth of experience to NEADS. He has an extensive record of volunteering and leadership in serving the disabled students’ community on his campus and in the province of Manitoba. Mohamed is the Accessibility Director on the University of Winnipeg Students’ Union. It was through Mohamed’s initiative, working with students with disabilities and the students’ union, that the Access Lounge was created at the university: “UWSAccess is a new student group working to bring together, advocate for and support students with disabilities/disabled students/mad students/students who are mentally ill/ neuro-divergent students.” http://theuwsa.ca/access-lounge/    Mohamed also co-founded the University of Winnipeg Student Access group (UWSAccess).

Not only is Mohamed an advocate at the University of Winnipeg, he has also been involved – along with Alan Bridgeman, NEADS’ Manitoba Director/Secretary – in developing Accessibility Directors Association of Manitoba (ADAM) – that Mohamed describes as “an intra-provincial network that aspires to create a well-connected and supported community of accessibility student representatives throughout Manitoba’s universities and colleges.” An interest in stimulating discussion and providing an open-market place for ideas on campus, led Mohamed to organize TED talks at the university for TEDx University of Winnipeg 2017.

Roxana Jahani Aval, NEADS’ Acting Chair/Ontario Director and Secretary of the Council of Canadians With Disabilities welcomes Mohamed to our board of directors: "We're very excited to have Mohamed on our board! His knowledge, experience, and network will bring a wealth of insight into our movement. Our community should expect great things from him."

Alan Bridgeman says of Mohamed: "Having worked with Mohamed on numerous occasions, on a diverse set of initiatives here in Manitoba, I've found his insights, tenaciousness of the importance of accessibility and ingenuity in creating accessibility related solutions invaluable. I'm so glad that someone so talented has agreed to be a part of our board and look forward to the great amount of value Mohamed can bring to NEADS."

For further information contact the NEADS office:
National Educational Association of Disabled Students
Rm. 514, Unicentre
1125 Colonel By Drive
Carleton University
Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6, Canada, www.neads.ca  tel: (613) 380-8065, ext. 201




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Quels sont mes droits en tant que personne handicapée voulant poursuivre des études postsecondaires?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

Mohamed Behi se joint au Conseil d’administration de NEADS

Ottawa, le 26 juillet 2018 -

Le Conseil d’administration et les employés de l’Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) souhaitent la bienvenue à Mohamed Behi au sein de son équipe. Mohamed, qui est étudiant à l’Université de Winnipeg, a été nommé nouveau directeur non désigné sur le Conseil d’administration de NEADS.

Mohamed apporte sa riche expérience à NEADS. Il a une longue expérience de bénévolat et de leadership au service de la communauté des étudiants en situation de handicap sur son campus et dans la province du Manitoba. Mohamed est le directeur de l’accessibilité à l’association étudiante de l’Université de Winnipeg. C’est grâce à l’initiative de Mohamed, en collaboration avec les étudiants handicapés et l’association étudiante, que le salon d’accès a été créé à l’université : « UWSAccess est un nouveau groupe d’étudiants qui travaille à rassembler, défendre et soutenir les étudiants en situation de handicap/étudiants handicapés/étudiants qui s’identifient à la Mad Pride/étudiants atteints de maladies mentales/étudiants neuro-divergents ». http://theuwsa.ca/access-lounge/  Mohamed a également cofondé le groupe d’accès étudiant de l’Université de Winnipeg (UWSAccess).

Non seulement Mohamed est un militant à l’Université de Winnipeg, mais il a aussi participé — avec Alan Bridgeman, directeur/secrétaire de NEADS au Manitoba — au développement de l’Accessibility Directors Association of Manitoba (ADAM) — que Mohamed décrit comme « un réseau intraprovincial qui aspire à créer une communauté bien reliée et soutenue de représentants étudiants pour l’accessibilité dans toutes les universités et collèges du Manitoba ». Le désir de stimuler la discussion et d’offrir un marché ouvert pour l’échange d’idées sur le campus a amené Mohamed à organiser des conférences TED à l’université pour TEDx University of Winnipeg 2017.

Roxana Jahani Aval, présidente intérimaire/directrice de NEADS en Ontario et secrétaire du Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences, souhaite la bienvenue à Mohamed au sein de notre Conseil d’administration : « Nous sommes très excités d’avoir Mohamed sur notre Conseil d’administration ! Son savoir, son expérience et son réseau apporteront une mine de connaissances à notre mouvement. Notre communauté devrait s’attendre à de grandes choses de sa part. »

Alan Bridgeman dit de Mohamed : « Ayant travaillé avec Mohamed à de nombreuses occasions, sur un ensemble diversifié d’initiatives ici au Manitoba, j’ai trouvé sa perspicacité, sa ténacité au sujet de l’importance de l’accessibilité et son ingéniosité dans la création de solutions liées à cette dernière inestimables. Je suis si heureux que quelqu’un d’aussi talentueux ait accepté de faire partie de notre Conseil d’administration et j’ai hâte de voir la grande valeur que Mohamed peut apporter à NEADS. »

Pour de plus amples renseignements, communiquez avec le bureau de NEADS :
Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire
Local 514, Unicentre
1125, promenade du Colonel-By
Université Carleton
Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 5B6, Canada, www.neads.ca tél : 613-380-8065, poste 201







Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.