NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
How do I find out which colleges or universities have good physical access to classrooms and other facilities?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Media

CALL FOR PARTICIPATION: Psychological Health & Safety for Post-Secondary Students

CSA Group is currently recruiting expert volunteers to participate on a Technical Committee that will be accountable for developing the content of a new national standard on Psychological Health and Safety for Post-Secondary Students.

Background

The Mental Health Commission of Canada (MHCC) is championing the development of a standard for Psychological Health and Safety for Post-Secondary Students working collaboratively with CSA Group, as the standards development organization.

It is well recognized and understood that post-secondary students face a significantly increased risk of exposure to psychological stress.  Acute and chronic stressors affecting post-secondary students put them at risk for a wide range of mental health issues, including, but not limited to, acute stress disorder, depression, anxiety, anger, and burnout.  Such problems can lead to, or be coincident with, other negative outcomes such as substance misuse, relationship difficulties, absenteeism / drop-out, addictive behaviours, and suicide.

The intent in developing this proposed standard is to provide systematic support for Canadian post-secondary institutions that will enable them to develop and continuously improve psychologically safe and healthy environments for their students.

Scope of the Standard

The scope of the standard is currently planned to include the identification, assessment, and abatement of modifiable risks to mental health for post-secondary students. Development of this standard for the psychological health and safety for post‐secondary students is also intended to include guidance for universities and colleges on strategies, processes, policies, and shared responsibilities of various players throughout the tenure of a student’s post‐secondary institution career.

CSA Group Technical Committee

Members of the CSA Group Technical Committee (TC) for the Psychological Health and Safety for Post-Secondary Students will be accountable for the development of the technical content of the standard.  Individuals with appropriate technical expertise, who are able to represent various stakeholder interests associated with this proposed standard, will be invited to participate on the TC.  Stakeholder interest categories may include user interests associated with students and their families, organizational interests focused on all post-secondary oriented institutions, government agencies with mandates related to mental health and public safety, and service providers working both internally and externally to post-secondary environments.

Accomplishing the TC’s responsibilities will require establishing and maintaining supporting liaisons and additional consultations with affected stakeholders.  These activities will be conducted in compliance with CSA Policy and Directives, and respecting CSA Group commitments as an accredited standards development organization.

Call for Participation

CSA Group is seeking interested experts to actively participate and contribute to the development of this proposed standard.  Requirements and responsibilities of TC Members include:
•    knowledge and experience relevant to the psychological health and safety of post-secondary students;
•    ability to work in a multi-stakeholder environment, following the principles of consensus;
•    commitment to participate in committee work and content development, both remotely and in-person; and
•    commitment to collaborate and network with other stakeholders.

Candidates should have full support and sponsorship from their affiliate organization / employer to enable their active participation throughout the development of the standard. Where there is a demonstrated need, funding to provide for meeting oriented expenses may be available; relative to this standard, this may specifically apply to candidates directly representing the interests of students.  Accepted members may be assigned voting or non-voting responsibilities for this TC.  There are no dues associated with CSA membership.

If you are interested in participating as a CSA Group Technical Committee member, please submit your resume and a statement (maximum one page) outlining your interest and demonstrating your ability to contribute to the development of this important proposed standard.  If you know of a colleague who may interested in participating, feel free to share this call for participation with them. 

Please send required documents to Karyn Ferguson at: karyn.ferguson@csagroup.org.  Expressions of interest will be accepted until September 15, 2018.  CSA will review applications and notify all applicants on the outcome.

On Becoming a CSA Group Member
All accepted members will be required to review and sign an onboarding agreement that provides details on CSA Group’s privacy policy and the protection of personal information, a copyright assignment, and a description of committee member roles and responsibilities.

CSA Committee Members make a commitment to attend meetings consistently, read and respond to committee materials, return ballots promptly, and work constructively and collaboratively towards the committee’s goals. 

Technical Committee Meetings (Planned)

Meetings may be attended in person and/or remotely via teleconference/webinar.  Details will be confirmed with accepted members.  Development of the proposed standard is expected to require 8 Technical Committee meetings, many of which will be two-days in duration.  Locations will include CSA Toronto Offices, as well as Montreal, Ottawa, and potentially a major city in Western Canada.  Tentative schedule for meetings:
Orientation:    Late September / early October 2018 , Toronto
Development:   November 2018 ,  Toronto
Development:    December 2018,    Montreal
Development/Outreach feedback:     February 2019,  Toronto
Development:   April 2019,  TBD
Development/Outreach feedback:   June 2019,  Ottawa
Public Review Comments:  November, 2019,  TBD
Approval and Publication:    First quarter 2020,  TBD

Thank you for your interest!  We look forward to the opportunity of working with you on this exciting initiative.

Contact:

Karyn Ferguson,  CSA Group,   email:  karyn.ferguson@csagroup.org 
Acting Project Manager, 178 Rexdale Blvd.   Tel:    416-747-4236, Member Services, Toronto, ON   M9W 1R3            
                                               




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Quels sont mes droits en tant que personne handicapée voulant poursuivre des études postsecondaires?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Média

APPEL À LA PARTICIPATION : Santé et sécurité psychologiques pour les étudiants de niveau postsecondaire

Le Groupe CSA recrute actuellement des experts bénévoles pour participer à un comité technique qui sera chargé de développer le contenu d’une nouvelle Norme nationale sur la santé et la sécurité psychologiques pour les étudiants du postsecondaire.

Contexte

La Commission de la santé mentale du Canada (CSMC) soutient la mise au point d’une norme sur la santé et la sécurité psychologiques pour les étudiants de niveau postsecondaire en collaborant avec le Groupe CSA, qui agit à titre d’organisme chargé de l’élaboration de normes.

Il est largement reconnu que les étudiants de niveau postsecondaire sont considérablement plus à risque que d’autres d’être exposés à des situations de stress psychologique. Les facteurs de stress aigu et chronique qui touchent les étudiants de niveau postsecondaire les mettent à risque d’éprouver de nombreux problèmes de santé mentale, incluant, mais sans s’y limiter, les troubles de stress aigu, la dépression, l’anxiété, la colère et l’épuisement. Ce sont des problèmes qui peuvent mener ou être associés à d’autres situations négatives, telles que l’abus de substances psychoactives, les difficultés relationnelles, l’absentéisme, le décrochage, les comportements de dépendance et le suicide.

L’objectif à l’origine de l’élaboration de cette nouvelle norme est de pouvoir offrir un soutien systématique aux établissements postsecondaires canadiens qui leur permettra de concevoir et de maintenir des environnements sains et sécuritaires du point de vue psychologique, pour leurs étudiants.

Portée de la norme

Actuellement, il est prévu que la portée de cette norme comprenne l’identification, l’évaluation et la réduction des risques modifiables entourant la santé mentale des étudiants de niveau postsecondaire. Dans le cadre du développement de cette norme en matière de santé et de sécurité psychologiques pour les étudiants de niveau postsecondaire, on prévoit aussi d’offrir de l’orientation aux universités et aux collèges en ce qui a trait aux stratégies, aux processus, aux politiques et aux responsabilités communes des différentes parties prenantes tout au long du parcours postsecondaire de l’étudiant.

Comité technique du Groupe CSA

Les membres du comité technique du Groupe CSA pour la santé et la sécurité psychologiques des étudiants de niveau postsecondaire seront chargés de l’élaboration du contenu technique de la norme. Les personnes qui possèdent une expertise technique appropriée, qui sont capables de représenter les intérêts de parties prenantes variées associées à cette nouvelle norme, seront invitées à participer au comité technique. Les catégories d’intérêt des parties prenantes peuvent inclure les intérêts des utilisateurs relativement aux étudiants et à leur famille, les intérêts des organisations en lien avec tout type d’établissement axé sur les études postsecondaires, les agences gouvernementales qui ont des mandats associés à la santé mentale et à la sécurité publique, et les fournisseurs de services qui travaillent tant à l’intérieur qu’à l’extérieur des environnements postsecondaires.

Pour mener à bien les responsabilités du comité technique, il faudra établir et maintenir des liens de soutien et des consultations additionnelles avec les parties prenantes concernées. Ces activités se dérouleront conformément à la politique et aux directives de la CSA et dans le respect des engagements du Groupe CSA à titre d’organisme d’élaboration de normes accrédité.

Appel à la participation

Le Groupe CSA est à la recherche d’experts désirant participer et contribuer de façon active à l’élaboration de cette nouvelle norme. Les exigences et les responsabilités relatives aux membres du comité technique comprennent ce qui suit :
•    connaissance et expérience pertinentes en ce qui a trait à la santé et à la sécurité psychologiques des étudiants de niveau postsecondaire;
•    capacité à travailler dans un environnement où l’on retrouve de multiples parties prenantes, en respectant les principes de consensus;
•    engagement à travailler en comité et à élaborer du contenu, tant à distance qu’en personne;
•    engagement à collaborer et à réseauter avec d’autres parties prenantes.

Les candidats doivent obtenir le soutien et le parrainage complets de leur organisme/employeur affilié afin de pouvoir participer activement au développement de la norme tout au long du projet. Si le besoin est démontré, des fonds pourraient être offerts afin de couvrir les dépenses relatives aux rencontres. En ce qui a trait à la norme, cela peut s’appliquer spécifiquement aux candidats qui représentent directement les intérêts des étudiants. Les membres admis peuvent se voir assigner des responsabilités avec droits de vote ou non pour ce comité technique. Aucuns frais ne sont exigés pour l’adhésion au Groupe CSA.

Si vous souhaitez devenir membre du comité technique du Groupe CSA, veuillez faire parvenir votre C.V. ainsi qu’une lettre de présentation (une page maximum) exposant votre intérêt et démontrant votre capacité à contribuer à l’élaboration de l’importante norme qui est proposée. Si vous connaissez un(e) collègue qui pourrait vouloir participer au projet, n’hésitez pas à lui faire part de cet appel à la participation.

Veuillez acheminer les documents requis à Karyn Ferguson, à l’adresse suivante : karyn.ferguson@csagroup.org. Vous avez jusqu’au 15 septembre 2018 pour manifester votre intérêt. Le Groupe CSA évaluera les candidatures et communiquera avec tous les candidats pour leur faire part de la suite.

Ce qu’implique de devenir membre du Groupe CSA
Tous les membres acceptés devront lire et signer une entente d’adhésion – qui contient des renseignements au sujet de la politique de confidentialité du Groupe CSA et de la protection des renseignements personnels – une cession de droit d’auteur ainsi qu’une description des rôles et des responsabilités des membres du comité.

Les membres du comité du Groupe CSA s’engagent à participer aux réunions de façon constante, à lire et à donner suite au matériel relatif au comité, à retourner les bulletins de vote promptement, et à travailler de façon constructive et collaborative à l’atteinte des objectifs du comité.

Réunions du comité technique (planifiées)

La participation aux réunions peut se faire en personne ou à distance par téléconférence/webinaire. Les détails à ce sujet seront confirmés avec les membres admis. Il est prévu que l’élaboration de la norme qui est proposée nécessite huit réunions du comité technique, dont plusieurs s’échelonneront sur deux jours. Parmi les emplacements prévus, il y a les bureaux du Groupe CSA à Toronto, à Montréal et à Ottawa et probablement une grande ville dans l’Ouest canadien. Horaire provisoire pour les réunions :
Orientation  :       Fin septembre / début octobre 2018    Toronto
Développement  :    Novembre 2018            Toronto
Développement :      Décembre 2018            Montréal
Rétroaction au sujet du développement et du faire-savoir         Février 2019            Toronto
Développement  :     Avril 2019      À déterminer
Rétroaction au sujet du développement et du faire-savoir:   Juin 2019    Ottawa
Commentaires relatifs à l’examen public  :     Novembre 2019,     À déterminer
Approbation et publication   :    Premier trimestre de 2020,      À déterminer

Merci de votre intérêt! Nous avons hâte d’avoir la chance de travailler avec vous sur cette palpitante initiative.

Personne-ressource :

Karyn Ferguson,  Groupe CSA,  Courriel : karyn.ferguson@csagroup.org
Gestionnaire de projet intérimaire, 178, boul. Rexdale  Tél. : 416 747-4236
Services aux membres, Toronto (Ontario)  M9W 1R3
Août 2018




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.