NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Is there an organization that represents all Canadians with disabilities?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Access to Academic Materials for Post-Secondary Students with Print Disabilities

APPENDIX 1: SUMMARY OF ORGANIZATIONAL SUBMISSIONS TO THE NEADS PROJECT

A common sentiment is found in many of the submissions sent in by Canadian post-secondary service provider organizations that are involved with alternate format production and provision. That is, students are becoming more vocal regarding their need for alternate format materials, while at the same time technology advances are making the production and provision of such materials easier. As is indicated in the paper submitted from Assistive Technology BC, “The switch from analogue to digital technology provides various choices to students with print disabilities for reading materials. As well, the development of software programs targeted for specific disability groups or tasks opens up new methods of reading and writing.”

Yet at the same time, several factors are also frequently cited as roadblocks toward the effective, timely provision of alternate format materials to print disabled students. The lack of an effective mechanism for centralized sharing of alternate format materials often means in-house production of such products at post-secondary campuses is the most effective option. In-house production, though, is often limited by a lack of easily accessible funding devoted to alternate format production. Issues related to copyright legislation, how the legislation is applied by publishers, and an absence of universally-accepted minimum standards for alternate format production, are just some of the other factors that stand in the way of an effective system.

Just as many of the organizations that submitted papers to the NEADS project are in agreement about the factors affecting alternate format production and provision in Canada, so too do these organizations seem to agree on certain recommended courses of action designed to improve the system in Canada.

Changes to Legislation

Changes to Canada’s copyright legislation, so that current laws are more inclusive toward the needs of print disabled Canadians, were widely cited in the submissions as a necessity. The legislation needs to be clearly written and widely understood by production facilities and service providers, while being rid of barriers to timely production and distribution of alternate format materials. The Canadian Association of Educational Resource Centres for Alternate Formats (CAER) paper suggests, “there should be a generic statement in the legislation to exempt all formats useable by people with perceptual disabilities.”

Some of the organizations contributing papers also explored the idea that legislation should be introduced requiring publishers to provide standardized, accessible E-text files of all textbooks they produce. This would allow those who produce alternate format materials timely access to text files that can be easily converted into various alternate formats, for student use. This step, it was mentioned, would ensure alternate format materials produced would be of better quality than is currently the case, and would also ensure that students are able to receive the materials they need closer to the start of classes. Similarly, the Canadian Association of Disability Service Providers in Post-Secondary Education (CADSPPE) paper suggests that electronic text files provided by publishers should be posted to a national clearinghouse for easy, universal access.

Universal Standards

Another recommendation put forward by more than one organization in their submission paper was the need for a universally agreed upon, and used, set of standards for each alternate format produced. Because the production of such materials is done by several organizations, and in-house on many campuses, the quality of one document produced by one organization is often not the same as another produced elsewhere. Universal minimum standards regarding alternate format production would ensure all students receive clear, accessible materials they can make use of.

Appropriate Funding

Funding for alternate format materials is also a key issue. Throughout the submissions from organizations it is expressed that campuses, which are often called upon to produce alternate format materials for students, usually lack the needed funding for staff, production costs and equipment. At the same time, students can be denied government funding available to cover alternate format costs. This not only means that those students denied funding must find a way to cover any costs of having alternate format materials produced, but also must somehow obtain necessary adaptive technology required to effectively use their alternate format materials. An appropriate fund, or funds, should be set aside by governments to ensure these costs can be covered as required across the country in an equitable way that best serves students with print disabilities.

Braille Needs

Braille demands must also continue to be addressed for those post-secondary students who require such materials. As the movement toward digital and more technologically-advanced alternate formats continues, governments and service providers must not forget that certain students will continue to be most comfortable and to prefer obtaining their academic materials in Braille. Post-secondary services – both on campus and through external agencies - need to be funded adequately to ensure Braille documents are available to students who require the medium. Many groups tell us that funding must be made available to cover the costs of Braille production. As well, appropriate Braille-reading technology must be funded and made available to all students who require it. Technology enhances the ability of students to use Braille. It also enhances production of materials in this format.

National Sharing Database

Many of the submissions put forth the idea that a national alternate format database and distribution system—or systems—should be organized and utilized by those involved in production and those involved in the provision of alternate format materials. Given that a number of alternate format academic materials are produced by formal organizations, such as the CNIB, and a number are informally produced on post-secondary campuses, such systems would allow all involved in the alternate format system in Canada to know where, and in which formats, materials are available for student use.

These ideas, and several other important insights and recommendations, are explored more in depth in the following appendix containing the full text of all submissions received. Just as the results and analysis of the survey research conducted for this NEADS project are vital pieces of information, so too are the submitted papers presented here worthy of review and consideration. Indeed the findings of our research often complements the recommendations from the stakeholder groups and alternate format producers.

The following organizations provided the submissions included in this document:

  • Assistive Technology BC
  • Disability Service Providers in Post-Secondary Education in Alberta
  • Canadian Association of Disability Service Providers in Post-Secondary Education (CADSPPE)
  • Ontario Ministry of Education, Steering Committee on Transcription Services
  • W. Ross MacDonald School
  • College Committee on Disability Issues (Ontario)
  • Canadian Association of Educational Resource Centres for Alternate Formats (CAER)
  • British Columbia College and Institute Library Services (CILS)

Table of Contents


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
À qui les étudiants ayant des troubles d’apprentissage peuvent-ils s’adresser afin de recevoir des fonds pour les aider à payer les frais d’évaluation de leur état?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Accès aux documents scolaires pour les étudiant(e)s incapables de lire les imprimés

ANNEXE 1 : RÉSUMÉ DES MÉMOIRES PRÉSENTÉS AU PROJET NEADS

Un sentiment commun ressort des nombreux mémoires présentés par les dispensateurs de services qui produisent et fournissent des documents en média substitut dans les établissements postsecondaires au Canada : d’une part les étudiants font de plus en plus connaître leurs besoins en la matière, et d’autre part les progrès technologiques facilitent la production et la distribution de tels documents. Comme l’indique le mémoire présenté par Assistive Technology BC, « Le passage de l’analogique au numérique offre divers modes de lecture aux étudiant(e)s incapables de lire les imprimés. En outre, le développement de logiciels s’adressant expressément aux personnes handicapées ou permettant d’effectuer des tâches spécifiques ouvre la voie à de nouvelles méthodes de lecture et d’écriture. »

Par ailleurs, on cite plusieurs facteurs qui constituent des obstacles à la diffusion efficace et rapide des documents en média substitut aux étudiants handicapés. Comme il n’existe pas de mécanisme efficace pour le partage centralisé de ces documents, cela signifie que l’option la plus efficace consiste souvent à produire à l’interne ces documents, sur les campus. Cependant, la production à l’interne est souvent limitée par l’absence de fonds aisément disponibles et expressément alloués à la production de documents en média substitut. Plusieurs autres obstacles nuisent à la mise en place d’un système efficace, notamment la Loi sur le droit d’auteur, l’application de la loi par les éditeurs, et l’absence de normes universelles et minimales en matière de production de documents en média substitut.

Plusieurs organisations qui ont présenté un mémoire au projet NEADS sont d’accord sur les obstacles qui entravent la production et la distribution de documents en média substitut au Canada, et elles sont d’accord également sur certaines mesures qu’il faudrait prendre pour améliorer le système au Canada.

Changements législatifs

Dans les mémoires, on a maintes fois mentionné qu’il fallait modifier la loi canadienne sur le droit d’auteur, afin qu’elle soit plus inclusive et qu’elle tienne compte des besoins des Canadiens et Canadiennes incapables de lire les imprimés. La loi doit être rédigée clairement et être bien comprise par les producteurs de documents et les dispensateurs de services, tout en levant les obstacles qui empêchent la production et la distribution rapides des documents en média substitut. Dans son mémoire, la Canadian Association of Educational Resource Centres for Alternate Formats (CAER) suggère que : « la loi devrait contenir une déclaration générique qui exempte tous les médias utilisables par les personnes ayant des déficiences perceptuelles».

Certaines organisations qui ont présenté un mémoire ont également envisagé l’adoption d’une loi, afin d’exiger des éditeurs qu’ils fournissent une version numérique normalisée et accessible de tous les manuels qu’ils produisent. Ainsi, les producteurs de documents en média substitut pourraient recevoir rapidement les fichiers textes et les convertir facilement dans divers médias substituts, à l’intention des étudiants qui en ont besoin. Cette étape, comme on l’a mentionné, ferait en sorte que les documents produits en média substitut seraient de bien meilleure qualité qu’actuellement, et que les étudiants pourraient recevoir leurs documents plus près du début des classes. Dans la même veine, l’Association canadienne des conseillers en services aux étudiants handicapés au postsecondaire (ACCSEHP) suggère que les fichiers textes électroniques fournis par les éditeurs devraient être affichés dans un dépôt national, pour un accès aisé et universel.

Normes universelles

Une autre recommandation présentée par plusieurs organisations dans leurs mémoires est l’établissement d’un ensemble universel de normes, pour chaque média substitut utilisé. Comme plusieurs organisations produisent de tels documents à l’interne sur de nombreux campus, la qualité de ces documents varie grandement d’une organisation à l’autre. Des normes minimales universelles pour la production de documents en média substitut feraient en sorte que tous les étudiants recevraient des documents clairs, accessibles et utilisables.

Financement approprié

Le financement des documents en média substitut est également un autre problème important. Dans les mémoires des organisations, on estime que les établissements, à qui on demande souvent de produire les documents en média substitut pour les étudiants, ne disposent pas habituellement des fonds requis pour le personnel, la production et l’équipement. Par ailleurs, les étudiants ne reçoivent pas nécessairement de fonds gouvernementaux pour couvrir le coût des documents en média substitut. Non seulement les étudiants doivent ils trouver un moyen pour payer leurs documents en média substitut, mais ils doivent également obtenir la technologie adaptée requise pour utiliser efficacement ces documents. On devrait constituer un ou plusieurs fonds appropriés pour couvrir ces coûts dans tout le pays, de façon équitable et efficace, afin de desservir les étudiant(e)s incapables de lire les imprimés.

Besoin de documents en braille

On doit également répondre aux demandes de documents en braille, présentées par les étudiants du postsecondaire qui en ont besoin. Avec les progrès du numérique et des médias substituts à grande composante technologique, les gouvernements et les dispensateurs de services ne doivent pas oublier que certains étudiants préféreront obtenir leurs documents scolaires en braille, technique avec laquelle ils sont le plus à l’aise. Les services postsecondaires – offerts tant par les campus que les agences externes – doivent recevoir des fonds adéquats pour offrir aux étudiants qui en ont besoin des documents en braille. De nombreux groupes nous ont dit qu’ils ont besoin de fonds pour couvrir les coûts de la production des manuels en braille. De plus, la technologie de lecture des documents en braille doit être financée et offerte aux étudiants qui en ont besoin. La technologie accroît la capacité des étudiants d’utiliser le braille, et elle améliore la production des documents en braille.

Base de données nationale pour le partage des documents

Plusieurs mémoires ont proposé la création d’une base de données nationale de documents en média substitut, et la mise en place d’un ou plusieurs systèmes de distribution, qui seraient utilisables par les organisations qui produisent et distribuent ces documents. Comme bon nombre de documents scolaires en média substitut sont déjà produits par des organisations bien implantées, comme l’INCA, et que d’autres le sont de façon informelle sur les campus postsecondaires, ces systèmes permettraient à toutes les parties intéressées au Canada de savoir où et dans quels formats les documents sont disponibles pour les étudiants.

Ces idées, et plusieurs autres constatations et recommandations importantes, sont décrites plus en détail dans l’annexe suivante, qui contient le texte intégral de tous les mémoires reçus. Les résultats de l’enquête réalisée pour le projet NEADS et leur analyse subséquente constituent une mine d’informations précieuses, et il en va de même pour les mémoires qui suivent et qui méritent qu’on s’y attarde. D’ailleurs, les constats de notre recherche recoupent souvent les recommandations des groupes d’intervenants et des producteurs de documents en média substitut.

Les organisations suivantes ont présenté les mémoires qui figurent en annexe :

  • Assistive Technology BC
  • Disability Service Providers in Post-Secondary Education in Alberta
  • Association canadienne des conseillers en services aux étudiants handicapés au postsecondaire (ACCSEHP)
  • Ministère de l’Éducation de l’Ontario, Steering Committee on Transcription Services
  • École W. Ross MacDonald
  • College Committee on Disability Issues (Ontario)
  • Canadian Association of Educational Resource Centres for Alternate Formats (CAER)
  • British Columbia College and Institute Library Services (CILS)

Table des matières


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.