NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
Which federal government office can I contact to obtain information on programs and services for disabled persons?

Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through!

Access to Academic Materials for Post-Secondary Students with Print Disabilities


This following section provides broad and general findings from the two surveys. We will address each survey separately, and then move on to a discussion of some of the issues in more detail, in particular the “dual questions”, from which much information has been gleaned.

The findings from the student survey can be summarized as follows:

Beyond the demographic data of the profile of our respondents, which is addressed in the questionnaire itself, the main points to emerge from the survey are that students do not receive their academic materials in a timely manner, and that they do not always have access to the full text. Also, 42 percent of student respondents report that they receive no financial aid for their alternate format materials. Of those who do receive funding, only 37% report this funding is sufficient.

Forty-six percent of students do not receive the full version of a textbook in alternate format. There is a gap in the provision of alternate format materials in terms of the availability of required and recommended readings in alternate formats. Nineteen percent state that all their required readings are available in alternate format, 50% some, 30% say none. When it comes to the availability of recommended materials in alternate format, 20% say all materials are provided in alternate format, 54% say some, and 25% indicate none are available.

In terms of students receiving their alternate format materials in a timely manner, again there remains a major lacuna, 39% say always, 50% sometimes, 11% never. The main barriers to timely delivery are equipment, staffing, funding, and instructors. Specifically, for instructors, the figures for timely response are 40% always, 43% sometimes, 7% never, 11% NA. Beyond the textbook, other things such as registration packs and newsletters must all be provided in alternate formats to ensure full participation in academic and campus life.

When students were asked about copyright knowledge, 65% indicated they were not aware of their rights, 16% said that they were not aware of responsibilities. Turning to the quality of alternate format academic materials received, 25% say excellent, 40% say good, but 26% say average, and 9% say it is poor.

The use of Kurzweil scanning software is praised, as are extra exam time and exam accommodation in general, and as is receiving materials on time for those who do. Questions regarding the receipt of materials in a format of choice and the availability and quality of adaptive technologies received positive responses. The disability service centre staff are also highly regarded by the students for their support.

When it comes to worst experiences, students indicated that delays in obtaining materials, poor quality of audio tapes, and instructors that are either a barrier to timely delivery of alternate format materials, or are not sympathetic to the needs of students with print disabilities, are the worst experiences and services.

When it comes to students’ ideas on how things can be improved the main themes that emerge are that instructors must respond on time, more facilities for production of texts in different formats on campus should be provided, better quality of photocopying, training of readers is needed, and that more computers, more support staff, more books on tape, and more conversion into alternate formats by publishers would be required. These are but some of the recommendations from the students with print disabilities who participated in our research.

A complete profile of our service provider respondents and their answers to the questions in the survey can be found in the previous section. The findings from the service provider survey can be summarized as follows: firstly, data from both the student survey and the service provider survey indicates that there are several areas where service provision could be improved. For instance more provision of Web resources in accessible formats, more training of staff and more information on the availability of alternate formats.

There was a widely expressed need for an orchestrated and efficient system to allow access to publishers’ files. There is also a need for more communication and education with regard to copyright responsibilities and rights. From the survey data it would appear, also, that it might be beneficial for those service providers whose institutions produce in-house materials to gain a better understanding of funding allocated for the production of alternate format materials and to provide recommendations for additional needed resources. Other areas of improvement are training, where more is needed, and perhaps standardized training procedures should be established. To address various alternate format needs, the full version of texts must be produced when required by students, and that can be through a provincial/regional service organization or on campus. It is also advisable that those working in the service provision industry be given more authority and resources to ensure the timely arrival of alternate format academic materials.

In this regard, the data has spoken to the problem areas in service provision, but many issues are mitigated by the commitment and successes of the service providers. What is perhaps of most interest in terms of a ‘critique’ of service provision is what the students have to say about it. In the following section, we address responses given to those questions that were asked of both students and service providers.

Select analysis of ‘crossover’ (dual) questions

Questions 15 in the student survey and question 16 in the service provider survey presented the same question: In which formats do students require academic materials most? Table 34 displays the relative percentages of the responses. The first column shows the percentages reported by service providers of the types of formats the students request most. The second column shows the responses that the students made when asked the same question. There is a notable difference in many areas. It should be borne in mind, however, that the students might not be basing their ‘required most’ format solely on a request made to the service provider. We should also note that for the purposes of this research we provided a detailed list of format types, but audio digital can include MP3 and DAISY books.

Required Most Require Prefer
% of Service Prov % of Student % of Student
Large Print12119
PDF Image562
PDF Text0134
Audio Analogue14149
Audio Digital9149
DAISY Books076
Tactile Graphic020
Descriptive Vid030

Table 36. Required & preferred alternate formats compared

However, there remains a very large discrepancy in percentages reported for two particular formats: E-text and Braille. Service providers report that E-text is requested most by 42% of those who responded. In the student question this percentage is much lower, at 16%. Likewise, there is a large discrepancy in the same crosstab scenario for those requesting Braille most. Service providers state that Braille requests make up 16% of those who request alternate formats; yet the students only report this figure in the area of 2%. It should be noted that a large percentage of our respondents are students with learning disabilities who do not require Braille texts. Students report that they “require” these formats most, but apparently they are not requested of the service providers in the same magnitude. However, for the other formats listed in this ‘dual’ question, the percentages are similar in terms of what are reported as required by both the students and the service providers.

Question 17 in the student survey might shed some light on this issue. In this question the students were asked to list their top three preferred alternate formats, we will examine the first choice. When set against the percentages above, the major differences between the two surveys are again witnessed primarily in E-text and Braille. The category “other”, contains a large number of responses such as Kurzweil, which is speech recognition software used to read books.

Another important message that emerges from this survey is that there are differences in knowledge regarding copyright issues and the area of academic accommodations. The same questions were asked in the student and service provider surveys (see Appendix), and it is interesting to examine the manner in which both groups respond to questions in this area.

Service Providers Students
Aware of Copyright Rights68.1%36.5%
Aware of Copyright Responsibility68.7%84.7%

Table 37. Copyright knowledge compared

The data in this table indicate that service providers are very consistent in the knowledge of rights and responsibilities. However, just about one-third of all service providers were unaware of their rights or responsibilities relating to the exceptions for persons with perceptual disabilities under the Canadian Copyright Act. This is a disturbing figure, one that calls out for a thorough re-analysis of current copyright legislation, and a re-appraisal of how barriers to both the student and service providers may be alleviated.

Question 26 in the service provider survey asked about barriers to effective and efficient delivery of aids and services. Question 22 in the student survey also asked about barriers.

BarriersService Provider %Student %

Table 38. Barriers compared

Those areas of overlap in the question are illuminating with regard to the similarities in the statistics for both funding and equipment. The only major difference is between the relative percentages of respondents who reported that ‘Staffing’ was a barrier. Thirteen percent of the service providers reported this as a barrier, whereas 23% of students did so. It is perhaps an appropriate comment that the students deal more frequently with staff and instructors and would therefore experience any delays or barriers more immediately than might the service providers.

One of the major issues to emerge from the surveys is that of the quality of alternate format materials. Service providers were asked (Question 10) to rate the quality of the production of ‘in-house’ alternate format academic materials. Students were asked to rate the quality of alternate format academic materials that they receive (Question 33). Thus the questions were not identical. However, 51 of the 67 service provider respondents produce in-house alternate formats, so the responses are germane.

Quality RatingStudent %Service Provider %

Table 39. Quality ratings of alternate format materials compared

From these statistics it is apparent that the students were more likely to choose ‘poor’ than were the service providers. Thirteen percent more service providers chose ‘average’ than students, but the percentages are similar when it comes to the category ‘good’. Finally, 25% of students thought that the quality of their received academic materials in alternate formats were of an ‘excellent’ quality, while 14% of the service providers state this to be the case.

In Question 31, the service providers were asked to choose from a list of other types of information available to students in alternate formats. The students were asked the same question (question 29).

InformationStudent ResponseService Provider Response
Registration packages27 (15%)25 (14%)
Course outlines38 (21%)31 (17%)
Guides to campus services27 (15%)28 (16%)
Course calendars33 (18%)31 (17%)
Timetables29 (16%)30 (16%)
Newsletters/Newspapers17 (9%)19 (10%)
Other10 (5%)14 (8%)

Table 40. Available information in alternate format

This table simply reveals that the service providers and students have very similar response rates to this question. Moreover, it would appear to be a good indication of the awareness amongst the student population of the different types of information that are, or can be made available, in alternate format.

Table of Contents


All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
À qui les étudiants ayant des troubles d’apprentissage peuvent-ils s’adresser afin de recevoir des fonds pour les aider à payer les frais d’évaluation de leur état?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Accès aux documents scolaires pour les étudiant(e)s incapables de lire les imprimés

Constatations et conclusions

Dans la section qui suit, nous présentons les principales constatations des deux enquêtes. Nous présentons chaque enquête séparément, et ensuite une discussion plus détaillée de certains facteurs, en particulier les « questions doubles » desquelles nous avons tiré passablement d'information.

Nous pouvons résumer comme suit les résultats de l'enquête auprès des étudiants :

Au delà des données démographiques sur le profil de nos répondants, établi à l'aide du questionnaire, les principaux points qui émergent de l'enquête sont que les étudiants ne reçoivent pas les documents scolaires dans des délais raisonnables, et qu'ils n'ont pas toujours accès à la version intégrale des ouvrages. En outre, 42 % des répondants indiquent qu'ils ne reçoivent aucune aide financière pour leurs documents scolaires en média substitut. Et pour ceux qui reçoivent un financement, seulement 37 % indiquent que ce financement est suffisant.

Quarante six pour cent des étudiants ne reçoivent pas la version intégrale des ouvrages en média substitut. Il existe une lacune dans la fourniture de documents scolaires en média substitut, en terme de disponibilité des documents requis et recommandés. Dix neuf pour cent indiquent que tous leurs documents sont disponibles en média substitut, 50 % indiquent qu'une partie des documents est disponible, et 30 % indiquent qu'aucun document n'est disponible. Pour ce qui est de la disponibilité des documents recommandés en média substitut, 20 % indiquent que tous les documents sont fournis en média substitut, 54 % indiquent qu'une partie est fournie, et 25 % indiquent qu'aucun n'est disponible.

Pour ce qui est des étudiants recevant dans des délais raisonnables leurs documents en média substitut, on constate de nouveau une lacune majeure, 39 % les recevant toujours dans des délais raisonnables, 50 % parfois et 11 % jamais.

Les principaux obstacles à l'obtention dans des délais raisonnables sont l'équipement, le personnel, les fonds et les professeurs. Pour ce qui est des professeurs, les données sur les délais raisonnables sont les suivantes : 40 % toujours, 43 % parfois, 7 % jamais, 11 % n.a. Outre les manuels et les ouvrages, d'autres documents doivent être fournis comme les trousses d'inscription, les bulletins et les journaux étudiants, qui devraient tous être fournis en média substitut si on veut que les étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s participent pleinement à la vie universitaire et académique.

Quand on demande aux étudiants s'ils connaissent la Loi sur le droit d'auteur, 65 % indiquent qu'ils ne connaissent pas leurs droits, 16 % indiquent qu'ils ne connaissent pas leurs responsabilités. Pour ce qui est de la qualité des documents scolaires en média substitut, 25 % des répondants la juge excellente, 40 % la jugent bonne, mais 26 % estiment qu'elle est moyenne et 9 % la trouvent faible.

L'utilisation du logiciel de numérisation Kurzweil est applaudie, tout comme le temps supplémentaire accordé pour les examens et les aménagements pour les examens en général, ainsi que l'obtention rapide des documents, du moins pour ceux qui les reçoivent. Les réponses ont été positives aux questions portant sur la réception des documents dans un média au choix de l'étudiant et sur la disponibilité et la qualité des technologies adaptées. Le personnel des centres de services aux étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s est également très apprécié par les étudiants, en raison du soutien qu'ils en reçoivent.

Pour ce qui est des expériences plus négatives, les pires pour les étudiants sont les retards dans l'obtention des documents, la piètre qualité des bandes audio et les professeurs qui constituent un obstacle à l'obtention à temps des documents scolaires en média substitut ou qui ne sont pas ouverts aux besoins des étudiants incapables de lire les imprimés.

Quant aux suggestions des étudiants afin d'améliorer la situation, les principaux thèmes qui ressortent sont les suivants : les professeurs doivent répondre dans des délais raisonnables, on devrait fournir plus d'installations pour la production de documents dans différents médias sur le campus même, on devrait améliorer la qualité de la photocopie, il faut fournir les lecteurs et il faudrait accroître le nombre d'ordinateurs, le personnel de soutien et le nombre de livres cassettes. En outre, les éditeurs devraient convertir davantage leurs ouvrages en média substitut. Ce ne sont que quelques unes des recommandations formulées par les étudiants incapables de lire les imprimés et qui ont participé à notre recherche.

On trouvera à la section précédente un profil complet des dispensateurs de services qui ont répondu à notre questionnaire, et leurs réponses aux questions. Nous pouvons résumer comme suit les constatations de l'enquête auprès des dispensateurs de services. Tout d'abord, les données obtenues les questionnaires aux étudiants et aux dispensateurs indiquent que l'on pourrait améliorer la prestation des services dans plusieurs domaines. Par exemple, en fournissant davantage de ressources Web en média substitut, en formant davantage de personnel ou en donnant plus d'information sur la disponibilité des médias substituts.

On a abondamment mentionné la nécessité de mettre en place un système orchestré et efficace d’accès aux fichiers des éditeurs. On constate également le besoin d'accroître la communication et l'éducation pour ce qui est des responsabilités et des droits en matière de droit d'auteur. D'après les données de l'enquête, il semble également qu'il serait avantageux, pour les dispensateurs de services dont les établissements produisent à l'interne des documents scolaires, de mieux comprendre le mécanisme de financement alloué à la production de documents scolaires en média substitut, et de fournir des recommandations pour ce qui est des ressources additionnelles requises. Les autres domaines perfectibles sont la formation, où il faut faire davantage et probablement établir des procédures normalisées de formation. Afin de tenir compte des divers besoins en média substitut, la version intégrale des textes doit être fournie quand les étudiants en ont besoin, ce qui peut se faire par l'intermédiaire d'une organisation de services provinciale / régionale, ou sur le campus. Il est également souhaitable que les personnes qui travaillent dans le secteur de la prestation de services aient plus d'autorité et de ressources, afin d'assurer la livraison à temps des documents scolaires en média substitut.

À cet égard, les données indiquent les zones grises pour ce qui est de la prestation de services, mais de nombreux problèmes sont atténués par l'engagement et le succès des dispensateurs de services. Ce qui est probablement le plus intéressant en terme de « critique » de la prestation de services, c'est ce que les étudiants ont à dire à ce sujet. Dans la section suivante, nous présentons les réponses données aux questions qui ont été posées à la fois aux étudiants et aux dispensateurs de services.

Analyse sélective des questions « croisées » (en double)

La question 15 dans l'enquête auprès des étudiants et la question 16 dans l'enquête auprès des dispensateurs de services posent la même question : « Dans quel(s) format(s) doivent être vos documents scolaires? ». Le tableau 34 présente le pourcentage relatif des réponses. La première colonne présente les pourcentages indiqués par les dispensateurs de services pour les types de médias demandés le plus par les étudiants. La deuxième colonne indique les réponses des étudiants à cette même question. On constate une différence notable dans de nombreux points. Toutefois, on doit se rappeler, pour le média « le plus demandé », que les étudiants ne basent pas nécessairement leurs réponses sur les demandes faites à un dispensateur de services. Il faut noter également que, aux fins de cette recherche, nous avons présenté une liste détaillée de types de média, mais que l'audionumérique peut comprendre le MP3 et les livres DAISY.

Le plus demandéRequisPréféré
% (dispensateurs de services)% (étudiants)% (étudiants)
Texte électronique421622
Braille1123
Gros caractères12119
Image PDF562
Texte PDF0134
Audio analogue14149
Audionumérique9149
MP3873
Livres DAISY076
Graphiques tactiles020
Vidéo descriptive030
Autre0732

Tableau 1. Comparaison des médias substituts requis et préférés

Toutefois, on constate un très large écart dans le pourcentage indiqué pour deux types de format : texte électronique et Braille. Quarante deux pour cent des dispensateurs de services qui ont répondu indiquent que le texte électronique est le média le plus demandé. Pourtant, chez les étudiants, le pourcentage pour cette question est beaucoup plus faible : 16 %. De plus, on constate un écart important pour ce qui est de la demande de textes en Braille. Selon les dispensateurs de services, 16 % des étudiants qui demandent un média substitut demandent du Braille. Toutefois, seulement 2 % des étudiants indiquent qu'ils demandent des textes en Braille. Il y a lieu de noter, cependant, qu'un pourcentage important de nos répondants est constitué d’étudiants avec des troubles d’apprentissage qui n'ont pas besoin de textes en Braille. Les étudiants indiquent qu'ils ont « besoin » de ces médias le plus, mais apparemment ils ne les demandent pas autant aux dispensateurs de services. Toutefois, pour ce qui est des autres médias présentés dans cette question « en double », les pourcentages sont similaires par rapport à ce que les étudiants demandent et ce que les dispensateurs de services estiment qu'on leur demande.

La question 17 dans l'enquête auprès des étudiants permet de comprendre ce qui se passe. Dans cette question, on demande aux étudiants d'indiquer leurs trois principaux médias substituts préférés. Examinons leurs premiers choix. Quand on les compare aux pourcentages ci dessus, la seule différence notable entre les deux enquêtes est de nouveau pour les textes électroniques et le Braille. La catégorie « autre » contient un grand nombre de réponses, comme le logiciel Kurzweil, qui est un logiciel de reconnaissance de la voix utilisé pour la lecture des livres.

Un autre message important qui ressort de cette enquête est que l'on constate des différences dans la connaissance qu'on a des questions de droit d'auteur et des aménagements spéciaux. Les mêmes questions ont été posées aux étudiants et aux dispensateurs de services (voir l'annexe), et il est intéressant d'examiner la façon dont les deux groupes ont répondu aux questions dans ce domaine.

Dispensateurs de servicesÉtudiants
Connaissent leurs droits en matière de droit d'auteur68,1 %36,5 %
Connaissent leurs responsabilités en matière de droit d'auteur68,7 % 84,7 %

Tableau 2. Comparaison de la connaissance de la Loi sur le droit d'auteur

Les données de ce tableau indiquent que les dispensateurs de services connaissent autant leurs droits que leurs responsabilités en matière de droit d'auteur. Toutefois, un peu plus du tiers de tous les dispensateurs de services ne connaissent pas leurs droits ou leurs responsabilités, pour ce qui est des exceptions prévues dans la Loi canadienne sur le droit d'auteur pour les personnes ayant des déficiences de perception. C'est un chiffre troublant, qui demande une analyse approfondie de la loi actuelle sur le droit d'auteur et une réévaluation de la façon dont on pourrait lever les obstacles, tant pour les étudiants que pour les dispensateurs de services.

La question 26 dans l'enquête auprès des dispensateurs de servies porte sur les barrières à la livraison efficace et efficiente des aides et des services. La question 22, dans l'enquête auprès des étudiants, portait sur le même thème.

BarrièresDispensateur de services
%Étudiant %
Personnel13 %23 %
Financement20 %24 %
Équipement17 %19 %

Tableau 3. Comparaison des barrières

Les réponses à ces questions sont éclairantes, les statistiques étant similaires pour le financement et l'équipement. La seule différence importante est le pourcentage relatif des répondants qui ont indiqué que le « personnel » constitue une barrière. Treize pour cent des dispensateurs de services estiment qu'il s'agit d'une barrière, tandis que 23 % des étudiants pensent la même chose. Il est probable que les étudiants ont plus fréquemment à faire avec le personnel et les professeurs, et donc sont davantage confrontés à des retards ou des obstacles, que les dispensateurs de services.

Un des faits saillants des enquêtes est la qualité des documents scolaires en média substitut. On a demandé aux dispensateurs de services (question 10) d'évaluer la qualité de la production « à l'interne » des documents scolaires en média substitut. On a également demandé aux étudiants d'évaluer la qualité des documents scolaires en média substitut qu'ils reçoivent (question 33). Les questions ne sont donc pas identiques. Toutefois, 51 des 67 dispensateurs de services qui ont répondu produisent des médias substituts à l'interne, et donc les réponses sont fort intéressantes.

Évaluation de la qualitéÉtudiants %Dispensateur de services %
Faible8,9 %2 %
Moyenne26 %39 %
Bonne40 %45 %
Excellente25 %14 %

Tableau 4. Comparaison de l'évaluation de la qualité des documents scolaires en média substitut

Il ressort de ces statistiques que les étudiants sont plus aptes à trouver les documents de « faible » qualité, que les dispensateurs de services. Treize pour cent de plus de dispensateurs de services estiment que la qualité est « moyenne », par rapport aux étudiants, mais les pourcentages sont similaires pour ce qui est de la catégorie « bonne ». Enfin, 25 % des étudiants estiment que la qualité des documents scolaires qu'ils reçoivent en média substitut est de qualité « excellente », ce pourcentage étant de seulement 14 % pour les dispensateurs de services.

À la question 31, on demandait aux dispensateurs de services de choisir dans une liste les autres types d'information auxiliaire offerts aux étudiants en média substitut. On a posé la même question aux étudiants (question 29).

InformationRéponses des étudiantsRéponses des dispensateurs de services
Trousses d'inscription27 (15 %)25 (14 %)
Descriptions de cours38 (21 %)31 (17 %)
Guides des services sur le campus27 (15 %)28 (16 %)
Annuaires de cours33 (18 %)31 (17 %)
Horaires29 (16 %)30 (16 %)
Bulletins / journaux17 (9 %)19 (10 %)
Autres10 (5 %)14 (8 %)

Tableau 5. Comparaison de l'information auxiliaire disponible en média substitut

Ce tableau indique manifestement que les dispensateurs de services et les étudiants ont des réponses très similaires à cette question. De plus, cela semble être une bonne indication que la population étudiante connaît assez bien les différents types d'information qui existent ou qui peuvent être mis à leur disposition en média substitut.

Table des matières


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.