NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Question MarkQuick Question:
How can I, as a first year university student with a disability, learn to be an effective self-advocate with professors, tutors and other students at my school?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Access to Academic Materials for Post-Secondary Students with Print Disabilities

ORGANIZATIONAL PROFILES

Provincial and Local Governmental and Non-Governmental Organizations

This section considers alternate format services available through both government and non-governmental organizations in various provinces across Canada. These organizations have a mandate to co-ordinate the production and provision of alternate format materials within their home province specifically.

As with the previous two sections, the information gathered here is summarized from the organizations’ websites.

British Columbia College and Institute Library Services (CILS)

Website: www.langara.bc.ca/cils

CILS is a library service available free to print-disabled students and staff at publicly funded colleges and institutes in British Columbia. CILS is supported by the provincial government through a contractual agreement with Langara College, and offers texts in alternate formats, support and research materials, and reference services upon request.

CILS houses a collection of materials in audiotape, Braille, large print, digital audio, electronic texts, tactile graphics, DAISY books and computer files. When the organization does not have a requested book in its own collection, it searches other collections of alternate format materials for texts available to borrow or purchase. CILS also produces texts when it is unable to find requested materials in existing collections.

The CILS collection is searchable online, and requests for materials can be made online by alternate formats co-ordinators at provincial colleges and institutes. A detailed submission by British Columbia College and Institute Library Services (CILS) is included in this report in the appendix.

Manitoba Department of Education

Citizenship and Youth – Special Materials Services
Website: www.edu.gov.mb.ca/ks4/blind/postsec.html

The Special Materials Services (SMS) program offers a collection of titles, comprised mostly of school texts. Texts that are requested but not available through the onsite collection are searched out and made available through inter-library loan sites across Canada and the United States. Books are loaned, free of charge, for the school year to any student attending school in Manitoba.

Students registered as being visually impaired or who have certifiable print disabilities, and who attend Manitoba colleges or universities, have access to Braille, large print and electronic format texts. Texts are borrowed for those who are visually impaired and print disabled, and production of texts for school is extended to students with visual impairments.

Students, special needs co-ordinators and post-secondary instructors work with the SMS program’s co-ordinator of post-secondary alternate format textbooks. All parties involved in a student’s education are asked to submit lists of required textbooks as far in advance as possible.

The SMS program website includes an online order form for required textbooks, as well as a searchable database of the onsite SMS collection.

W. Ross MacDonald School for the Blind

Brantford, ON
Website: www.wrossmacdonaldschool.on.ca

The school, which opened in 1872, serves Ontario students who are blind and deaf-blind. In 2002, more than 200 students attended the school.

The school also provides resources to help other students in the province who are blind and deaf-blind, as well as those with learning and physical disabilities who cannot read printed texts. It has co-ordinated the provision of alternate format texts for students with print disabilities in Ontario since 1983, offering a centralized transcription service.

Each school in Ontario is asked to assign a contact person, working either within the school library or the disability resource centre, to co-ordinate placing textbook orders for students.

Materials that can be transcribed into alternate formats include: course texts, articles, course packs or workbooks and chapters or parts of chapters of books, up to 120 pages. Course handouts and examinations cannot be transcribed by the service. Alternate formats available include audiocassette, E-text, Braille and large print.

The amount of time required to transcribe a text into Braille through W. Ross MacDonald is considerable (a 500-page text converted into Braille typically takes six to eight months). Therefore, requests for original texts in Braille are only considered for mathematics, statistics, and computer science and language texts. Braille is also the standard format provided for students who are deaf-blind.

The school asks that orders be placed at least one month before the start of a course, in order to facilitate an order being filled on time, and given the volume of requests received.

Table of Contents


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2017, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Si je choisis de poursuivre mes études à l’extérieur de ma province ou de mon territoire, est ce que le montant d’aide financière que je pourrai obtenir sera limité?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Accès aux documents scolaires pour les étudiant(e)s incapables de lire les imprimés

PROFILS DES ORGANISATIONS

Organisations gouvernementales provinciales et locales et non gouvernementales

Dans cette section, nous présentons les services en média substitut offerts par des organisations gouvernementales et non gouvernementales dans diverses provinces du Canada. Ces organisations ont le mandat de coordonner la production et la fourniture de documents en média substitut, dans leur province.

Comme pour les deux sections précédentes, l’information présentée ci dessous provient des sites Web de chaque organisation.

British Columbia College and Institute Library Services (CILS)

Site Web : www.langara.bc.ca/cils

Le CILS est un service bibliothécaire offert gratuitement aux étudiants et au personnel incapable de lire les imprimés, dans les collèges et instituts publics de la Colombie Britannique. Le CILS est soutenu par le gouvernement provincial dans le cadre d’une entente contractuelle avec le Langara College, et il offre des textes en média substitut, des documents d’appui et de recherche ainsi que des services de référence, sur demande.

Le CILS possède une collection de documents en bandes audio, en braille, en gros caractères, en audionumérique, sous forme de textes électroniques, de graphiques tactiles, de livres DAISY et de fichiers informatiques. Si le CILS ne trouve pas dans sa propre collection l’ouvrage demandé, il fera une recherche dans les autres collections de documents en média substitut, afin de l’emprunter ou de l’acheter. Le CILS produit également ses propres textes, quand il est incapable de trouver les ouvrages demandés dans les collections existantes.

La collection CILS est consultable en ligne, et les coordonnateurs des services en média substitut dans les collèges et instituts provinciaux peuvent demander les documents en ligne. Nous présentons, en annexe du présent rapport, un mémoire détaillé soumis par le British Columbia College and Institute Library Services (CILS).

Ministère de l’Éducation du Manitoba

Citoyenneté et Jeunesse – Service du matériel spécial
Site Web : www.edu.gov.mb.ca/ks4/blind/postsec.html

Le Service du matériel spécial (SMS) offre une collection de titres, composée essentiellement d’ouvrages scolaires. Les textes demandés qui ne sont pas dans la collection font l’objet d’une recherche, et le Service les obtient par des prêts inter bibliothèques au Canada et aux États Unis. Les livres sont prêtés, sans frais, pour l’année scolaire à tout étudiant qui fréquente une école au Manitoba.

Les personnes inscrites comme étudiant(e)s visuellement handicapé(e)s ou reconnues incapables de lires les imprimés, et qui fréquentent un collège ou une université du Manitoba, ont accès à des documents en braille, en gros caractères et en format électronique. Les documents peuvent être empruntés pour ces étudiants, et des textes scolaires peuvent être produits pour les étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s visuellement.

Les étudiants, les coordonnateurs des besoins spéciaux et les enseignants du postsecondaire collaborent avec le coordonnateur du programme SMS chargé de fournir des ouvrages de niveau postsecondaire en média substitut. Toutes les personnes participant à l’éducation de l’étudiant sont priées de présenter les listes d'ouvrages requis le plus tôt possible.

Sur le site Web du programme SMS, on peut commander en ligne les ouvrages requis, et faire des recherches en ligne dans la collection du SMS.

W. Ross MacDonald School for the Blind

Brantford (ON)
Site Web : www.wrossmacdonaldschool.on.ca

L’école, qui a ouvert ses portes en 1872, dessert les étudiants aveugles et sourds aveugles de l’Ontario. En 2002, plus de 200 étudiants l’ont fréquenté.

L’école offre également des ressources afin d’aider les autres étudiants de la province qui sont aveugles et sourds aveugles, ainsi que les étudiants qui ont des handicaps physiques et d’apprentissage et qui ne peuvent lire les textes imprimés. L’école coordonne depuis 1983 la distribution de documents en média substitut pour les étudiant(e)s incapables de lire les imprimés en Ontario, et elle offre un service centralisé de transcription.

Chaque école ontarienne est priée de désigner une personne-ressource, qui travaille soit dans la bibliothèque de l’école ou dans le Centre de ressources pour les personnes handicapées, afin de coordonner les commandes de textes pour les étudiants.

Plusieurs types de documents peuvent être transcrits en média substitut, mentionnons : manuels, articles, documents de cours ou cahiers d’exercice, et chapitres ou parties de chapitres de livres, jusqu’à 120 pages maximum. Le service ne fait pas la transcription des notes de cours et des examens. Parmi les médias disponibles, mentionnons les cassettes audio, les textes électroniques, le braille et les gros caractères.

Le temps requis pour transcrire un texte en braille, par l’intermédiaire de l’école W. Ross MacDonald, est considérable : il faut habituellement de six à huit mois pour transcrire en braille un texte de 500 pages. Par conséquent, seuls les textes en mathématiques, en statistique, en informatique et en apprentissage des langues sont acceptés pour leur conversion en braille. De plus, le braille est le format standard offert aux étudiants sourds aveugles.

L’école demande que les commandes soient présentées au moins un mois avant le début d’un cours, afin d’assurer que la commande sera remplie à temps, compte tenu du grand nombre de demandes reçues.

Table des matières


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.