NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
Will going to school outside my province or territory limit my ability to access funding?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Access to Academic Materials for Post-Secondary Students with Print Disabilities

Student Survey

Student Profiles

The student survey, included in the appendix of this report, contained 34 questions. It was divided into four sections: Demographic, Disability, Accessibility, and General. We received completed surveys from 130 students. Males accounted for 49 (38.28%) responses, women for 78 (61.72%). Two students did not report their gender. The average of the student respondents was 27.74 years of age. The youngest respondent age was 18, and the oldest, 75. The majority of respondents came from Ontario, Alberta, Quebec and British Columbia.

Students were asked to state the nature of their disability, and they could provide more than one response. 171 responses (from 130 students) were received, and of these 81 (47.36% of 171) reported a learning disability, 36 (21.05%) were blind or visually impaired, 14 (8.19%) had a mental health disability, 10 (5.85%) a neurological disability, nine (5.26%) were mobility impaired, and nine reported a medical disability. Two (1.17%) students were deaf or hard of hearing, and finally, 10 (5.85%) students answered “other”.

By province, the number of students with disabilities (reported in question three of the service provider survey) ranges from a high of 8806 in Ontario, to a low of 15 in Newfoundland and Labrador. By province, the number of students with print disabilities ranges from a high of 1086 in Alberta, to a low of five in Newfoundland & Labrador.

Among these 130 respondents for the student survey, 73 (56.58%) attend a university, 35 (27.13%) attend community college, and for CEGEPs and technical/vocational institutions the numbers are the same, eight (6.2%). Finally, five (3.87%) student responses were received from students attending other institutions - primarily university colleges in BC. University colleges are colleges with limited degree granted ability, generally in conjunction with a university.

The two most common types of qualification sought were Bachelor of Arts, with 59 (46.09%) respondents indicating such a course of study, and certificate/diploma, which fifty-two respondents (40.62%) were pursuing. Eight students were pursuing a Masters of Arts (6.25%), and nine students (7.03%) sought a variety of other qualifications such as electrical journeyman, academic upgrading, or certification at a technical college. Ninety-seven (74.62%) were registered as full-time, 30 (23.08%) as part-time, and three (2.31%) as “other”. Seventy-four (57.18%) students received financial aid, whereas 54 (42.19%) did not. Twenty-nine (37.66%) state that this funding is sufficient to support access to academic materials in an acceptable alternate format, while the number of students who report this funding is either ‘partially’ sufficient, is ‘not’ sufficient, or who ‘do not know’ are equal – 16 (20.78%). Those who reported their funding was either ‘sufficient’ or ‘partially’ sufficient indicated that their funding supported computer technology or software, adaptive technologies in general, tutors, or specific alternate formats such as Braille or books on tape.

The most reported aids and services used were academic accommodations, adaptive technology, alternate formats, and tutors. The most common types of formats required for academic materials were E-text, audio-analogue, audio digital, MP3 and large print. The most common preferred were E-text, audio-analogue, audio digital, large print, and books on tape. The most common provided formats were E-text, audio-analogue, audio digital, PDF-text, Braille and large print. Many students mentioned Kurzweil software as a method of scanning printed materials for reading.

It should be noted here that we provided a detailed, specific list of format choices for respondents. Digital audio is an umbrella term for MP3, DAISY and other digital audio formats. Please see page 51 for definitions. The most common type of disability reported by students was a learning disability (47.36%). Of these respondents, the most common aids and services used were academic accommodations, adaptive technologies, alternate formats, and a tutor. For the second most frequent type of disability, blind or visually Impaired (21.05%), the most common aids and services were in the same order; academic accommodations, adaptive technologies, alternate formats, and a tutor. These are some of the highlights from the student survey; we turn next to the responses.

Table of Contents


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce qu’une aide financière est offerte pour payer la production de documents en médias substituts?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Accès aux documents scolaires pour les étudiant(e)s incapables de lire les imprimés

ENQUÊTE AUPRÈS DES ÉTUDIANTS

Profil des étudiants

Le questionnaire destiné aux étudiants, qui se trouve en annexe du présent rapport, contenait 34 questions. Il était divisé en quatre grandes sections : Données démographiques, Formation relative à la déficience, Accessibilité aux documents scolaires, Questions d’ordre général. Nous avons reçu des questionnaires remplis de 130 étudiants. De ce nombre, 49 provenaient d’étudiants (38,28 %) et 78 d’étudiantes (61,72 %). Deux étudiants n’ont pas indiqué leur sexe. L’âge moyen des répondants étudiants était de 27,74 ans. Le plus jeune répondant avait 18 ans, et le plus vieux 75. La majeure partie des répondants provenait de l’Ontario, de l’Alberta, du Québec et de la Colombie-Britannique.

Les étudiants étaient invités à indiquer la nature de leur déficience, et ils pouvaient fournir plus d’une réponse. À cette question, 171 réponses (sur 130 étudiants) ont été reçues, et de ce nombre, 81 (47,36 %) mentionnaient un trouble d’apprentissage, 36 (21,05 %) étaient aveugles ou mal voyants, 14 (8,19 %) avaient une déficience mentale, 10 (5,85 %) une déficience neurologique, 9 (5,26 %) une déficience motrice et 9 une déficience médicale. Deux (1,17 %) étudiants étaient sourds ou malentendants, et enfin 10 (5,85 %) étudiants ont répondu « autre ».

Par province, le nombre d’étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s (selon la réponse à la question 3 du questionnaire destiné aux dispensateurs de services) était compris entre 8 806 en Ontario, et aussi peu que 15 à Terre-Neuve et au Labrador. Par province, le nombre d’étudiant(e)s incapables de lire les imprimés était compris entre 1 086 en Alberta, et aussi peu que cinq à Terre-Neuve et au Labrador.

Parmi les 130 répondants à l’enquête destinée aux étudiants, 73 (56,58 %) fréquentaient l’université, 35 (27,13 %) un collège communautaire. Pour les cégeps et les établissements techniques / professionnels, les nombres étaient identiques, soit 8 (6,2 %). Enfin, 5 réponses (3,87 %) provenaient d’étudiants fréquentant d’autres établissements, principalement des collèges universitaires en Colombie-Britannique. Les collèges universitaires sont des collèges offrant un nombre limité de diplômes, généralement en association avec une université de plus grande taille.

Les deux types de qualification les plus recherchés parmi les étudiants répondants étaient le baccalauréat en arts, 59 (46,09 %) répondants indiquant suivre un tel programme, et un certificat / diplôme, 52 répondants (40,62 %) indiquant suivre un tel programme. Huit étudiants étaient inscrits à une maîtrise en arts (6,25 %) et 9 (7,03 %) étaient inscrits à divers autres programmes, par exemple, cours de compagnon électricien, recyclage scolaire, certification dans un collège technique. Sur les 130 répondants, 97 (74,62 %) étaient inscrits à plein temps, 30 (23,08 %) à temps partiel et 3 (2,31 %) selon un « autre » type de programme. Du nombre total, 74 (57,18 %) étudiants recevaient une aide financière, tandis que 54 (42,19 %) n’en recevaient pas. Enfin, 29 (37,66 %) étudiants indiquaient que cette aide financière était suffisante pour leur permettre d’accéder aux documents scolaires dans un média substitut acceptable, tandis qu’un nombre égal – 16 (20,78 %) – d’étudiants ont indiqué que ce financement était « partiellement » suffisant ou « insuffisant » ou « ne savaient pas ». Parmi les répondants qui ont indiqué que l’aide financière reçue était « suffisante » ou « partiellement » suffisante, ils ont mentionné que cette aide leur permettait d’obtenir du matériel informatique ou des logiciels, des technologies adaptées en général, des services de tuteur ou encore à des médias substituts spécifiques, comme des textes en Braille, ou des livres-cassettes.

Les services et les aides les plus souvent mentionnés étaient les aménagements spéciaux, les technologies adaptées, les médias substituts et les tuteurs. Les types le plus courant de média requis pour les documents scolaires sont le texte numérique, l’audio analogue, l’audio numérique, le MP3 et les gros caractères. Les médias préférés étaient, selon les réponses, le texte numérique, l’audio analogue, l’audio numérique, les gros caractères et les livres-cassettes. Les médias les plus souvent fournis étaient le texte numérique, l’audio analogue, l’audio numérique, les textes en PDF, les textes en Braille et les textes en gros caractères. De nombreux étudiants ont mentionné le logiciel Kurzweil comme méthode de numérisation des documents imprimés, pour la lecture.

Il y a lieu de noter que nous avons fourni une liste détaillée spécifique de médias parmi lesquels les répondants pourraient choisir. L’audio numérique est un terme général qui recouvre le MP3, les livres DAISY et les autres médias audio numériques. Veuillez vous reporter à la page 58 pour les définitions. Le type de déficience le plus couramment mentionné par les étudiants était un trouble d’apprentissage (47,36 %). Parmi les répondants qui ont donné cette réponse, les aides et services les plus couramment utilisés étaient les aménagements spéciaux, les technologies adaptées, les médias substituts, et les tuteurs. Pour le type de déficience le plus souvent mentionné au deuxième rang, soit la cécité ou la malvoyance (21,05 %), les aides et services les plus couramment utilisés étaient du même ordre : aménagements spéciaux, technologies adaptées, médias substituts et tuteurs. Nous terminons ici ce résumé des principaux résultats du questionnaire destiné aux étudiants. Nous examinons maintenant les réponses à chaque question.

Table des matières


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.