NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
Where can students with learning disabilities receive funding to help cover the cost of disability assessments?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Access to Academic Materials for Post-Secondary Students with Print Disabilities

DISABILITY SERVICE ORGANIZATIONSí SUBMISSIONS

Assistive Technology BC

By Garth Findahl, Gladys Loewen and Vince Tomassetti (July 2004)

Background

As assistive technology consultants and trainers, staff at Assistive Technology-BC has extensive knowledge in the use and limitations of assistive technology within learning and working environments in British Columbia. We provide technology support services to adults with any disability, including persons with print disabilities. Services include technical aids assessment, consultation, loan or grant of assistive technology, training on the adaptive equipment, trouble shooting and repair support.

We provide these services through contracts with the Ministry of Human Resources and the Ministry of Advanced Education in order to ensure that adults with disabilities are able to do the following:

  • Communicate more effectively;
  • Write independently;
  • Read independently;
  • Conduct research and transmit information more efficiently;
  • Perform job duties effectively;
  • Make transitions between public school, post-secondary, and employment; and
  • Change jobs smoothly.

We currently provide services to approximately 1000 adults annually between the various contracts.

Access to Academic Materials

As the field of technology expands, so does the demand for adaptive technology, services, support and resources, as adaptive technology alone is never a seamless substitute for the abilities of the non-disabled population. There are usually accommodations and adjustments to be considered when integrating adults with a disability into a traditionally competitive environment. Strategies to accommodate students who use adaptive technology are constantly evolving as awareness and knowledge increases and technology becomes more commonplace yet more complex.

With the recent innovations in technology, the options for accessing print information have changed dramatically. The switch from analogue to digital technology provides various choices to print disabled students for reading materials. As well, the development of software programs targeted for specific disability groups or tasks opens up new methods of reading and writing. Some of these innovative developments include refreshable Braille technology, screen review and text to speech programs that read electronic text (E-text), digital hardware and software programs for reading E-text, talking dictionaries and thesaurus programs, and portable systems for example, Alpha Smart Dana, BrailleNote, CD and MP3 players, and CCTV (closed circuit television).

Companies are now designing optical character recognition (OCR) software programs that produce greater accuracy in translating the digital scanned image into text. These programs are now tailored for the specific needs of users who are low vision or blind, or have learning difficulties; both groups approach reading in different ways, so the software programs reflect that distinction.

Issues

BC is fortunate to have a provincial production service for colleges and institutes as well as a production unit at one of the universities. Institutions report that the provincial program has some difficulties preparing materials in a timely manner due to the bottleneck of requests for the fall semester, requests not being submitted with sufficient lead time, the time it takes to produce materials based on library standards, and review of the text to determine the appropriate production format for the textbook.

Despite this provincial resource, we have made the following observations that exist as pressure points in the post-secondary system:

  • Some schools are now choosing to scan textbooks for students in order to get the materials to the student in a timelier manner or because they want to standardize on one basic format. The informally produced E-text is generally not edited nor complete in that there is no description of the charts, graphs, sidebars, etc.
  • Institutional production staff may not be trained in techniques for proofing, editing, transcribing, and operating the hardware/software. As a result students may receive substandard textbooks from which to study in courses that depend on accuracy of information.
  • Some institutions are encouraging their print disabled students to scan and produce their own E-text. This means that students are using valuable study time to try to produce materials so that they can read the textbook. Students may not have the time or ability to edit or describe the graphic materials in the text, so they end up with an incomplete textbook that is substandard with possible inaccuracies.
  • Those using the provincial resource may end up with texts in more than one format, requiring several assistive technology products for example, portable CD or MP3 player, reading software for the computer, and 4-track tape player.
  • The informal productions (institutional or student produced) cannot be registered for a library service in that they are not produced in a professional format, following standard copyright procedures.
  • Post-secondary level textbooks have a relatively short shelf life with new editions being produced within a few years. Sometimes by the time a book is produced to library standards, the new edition is nearly ready for release, making the alternate format book obsolete.

So the dilemma becomes one of timeliness, quality of production, and type of production format. There is a trade-off between timeliness and quality of production, which has a significant impact on students and their academic success.

Recommendations

  1. At present universal guidelines and standards have not been implemented to govern the way in which electronic text materials are prepared. Examples of textual information that would benefit from such standards are italicized text, graphs, tables, charts, diagrams, and pictures. Currently each production facility administers their own rules for depicting these items.
  2. It is important that clear and concise copyright legislation is enacted, widely practiced and understood by every production facility. It is equally important for the copyright legislation to remove barriers that could prevent timely dissemination of electronic materials. Schools and post-secondary institutions constantly encounter copyright obstacles that often result in untimely delivery or prevent the electronic material from being produced.
  3. In order to ensure all documents in print are universally accessible in electronic text format, it is necessary to acknowledge and provide multiple means of technology hardware and software. Alternate format material is only useful when the recipient has the proper tools and skills to digest the information. If a student does not have the appropriate computer assistive technology or the skills to interpret the electronic material, sufficient access to print materials may not be achieved. For example, when materials such as mathematics, science, computer science, languages, and music are produced in alternate format in the form of electronic text, the reader may require more than one assistive output mode to gain full access. In these subject areas, the non-traditional display of text cannot be adequately interpreted by the aid of a computer equipped with a speech synthesizer and screen reader.
  4. As lending libraries become more proficient in the production of E-text, it is assumed that adults who are Braille readers will demand access to Brailled academic materials in order to make maximum use of their preferred reading style. Production services will need to consider access to Braille materials essential for some students, no matter what the cost.
  5. Access to refreshable Braille technology is critical for reading electronic information that contains numbers, equations, language, music notation, and scientific vocabulary. Since Braille technology is expensive, access to the equipment is very limited. Funding for appropriate access to a range of assistive technology is paramount.

Conclusion

To realize the maximum utility of alternate format materials, universal access is paramount. Universal access for persons with print disabilities includes:

  • Broad scale availability of materials in a timely manner;
  • Access to material in the preferred format or production style;
  • Access to several types of adaptive technology for example, computer, speech synthesizer, screen readers, large-print software, Braille displays, talking dictionaries including a thesaurus;
  • Proper training on the technology; and
  • Guaranteed access to accessible publishers file for the institution for all textbooks sold in the bookstore.

It is imperative to ensure that students with print disabilities have the ability to access materials that are so easily accessed by their non-print-disabled counterparts. All educational institutions have a duty to accommodate to ensure that all students have access to course materials. In order to facilitate this institutional responsibility and duty, legislation must be written with the broadest access possible to support post-secondary institutions and production agencies in making printed academic material available to students with print disabilities in preferred formats in a timely manner.

Respectfully Submitted on behalf of Assistive Technology-BC,

Garth Findahl, Learning Disability Technology Consultant
Gladys Loewen, Manager
Vince Tomassetti, Vision Technology Consultant

Table of Contents


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce que je devrai payer des frais d’utilisation de services spéciaux au niveau postsecondaire?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Accès aux documents scolaires pour les étudiant(e)s incapables de lire les imprimés

MÉMOIRES PRÉSENTÉS PAR DES DISPENSATEURS DE SERVICES

Assistive Technology BC

Par Garth Findahl, Gladys Loewen et Vince Tomassetti (juillet 2004)

Contexte

À titre de consultants et de moniteurs en technologie d’assistance, le personnel d’Assistive Technology-BC possède des connaissances approfondies dans l’utilisation et les limites de la technologie d’assistance, dans les environnements d’apprentissage et de travail en Colombie Britannique. Nous fournissons des services de soutien technologique aux adultes handicapés, y compris les personnes incapables de lire les imprimés. Nos services comprennent l’évaluation des aides techniques, la consultation, le prêt ou la location de technologies d’assistance, la formation pour l’équipement adapté, ainsi que les services de dépannage et de réparation.

Nous fournissons ces services dans le cadre de contrats conclus avec le ministère des Ressources humaines et le ministère de l’Éducation supérieure, afin que les adultes handicapés puissent :

  • communiquer plus efficacement;
  • écrire de façon indépendante;
  • lire de façon indépendante;
  • réaliser des recherches et transmettre l’information plus efficacement;
  • exécuter plus efficacement leurs tâches au travail;
  • faire la transition entre l’école publique, le postsecondaire et le marché de l’emploi;
  • changer d’emploi sans trop de difficulté.

Nous offrons actuellement nos services à environ 1 000 adultes par année, répartis selon les divers contrats.

Accès aux documents scolaires

La technologie en général évolue, et il en va de même pour la technologie adaptée, les services, le soutien et les ressources connexes, car la technologie adaptée ne peut à elle seule permettre aux personnes handicapées de faire tout ce qui est possible aux personnes non handicapées. On doit habituellement prévoir des aménagements et des ajustements quand on intègre les adultes handicapés dans un milieu compétitif traditionnel. Les stratégies d’aménagement des étudiants qui utilisent une technologie adaptée évoluent constamment, à mesure que la sensibilisation et les connaissances à ce sujet augmentent, et que la technologie se généralise mais devient également plus complexe.

Avec les progrès technologiques récents, les options d’accès à l’information imprimée ont changé de manière spectaculaire. Le passage de l’analogique au numérique offre divers modes de lecture aux étudiant(e)s incapables de lire les imprimés. En outre, le développement de logiciels s’adressant expressément aux personnes handicapées ou permettant d’effectuer des tâches spécifiques ouvre la voie à de nouvelles méthodes de lecture et d’écriture. Certains de ces développements novateurs comprennent la technologie braille rafraîchissable, les lecteurs d’écrans et les logiciels qui lisent les textes numériques par synthèse de la parole, le matériel et les logiciels de lecture de texte électronique, les dictionnaires et les thesaurus parlants, les systèmes portables comme Alpha Smart Dana, BrailleNote, les lecteurs CD et MP3 et la télévision en circuit fermé.

Des compagnies produisent maintenant des logiciels de reconnaissance optique des caractères (ROC) qui permettent de traduire fidèlement une image numérisée en texte. Ces programmes sont maintenant adaptés aux besoins spécifiques des utilisateurs aveugles ou visuellement handicapés, ou qui ont des difficultés d’apprentissage. Ces deux groupes de personnes abordent la lecture différemment, et les logiciels en tiennent compte.

Enjeux

La Colombie Britannique est chanceuse de pouvoir compter sur un service provincial de production pour les collèges et les instituts, et également sur une unité de production dans l’une de ses universités. Les établissements scolaires estiment que le programme provincial éprouve quelques difficultés à produire les documents dans les délais prescrits, à cause du grand nombre de demandes pour le semestre d’automne, des demandes présentées en retard, du temps requis pour produire des documents conformes aux normes bibliothéconomiques, et de la vérification des manuels afin de déterminer le média substitut approprié.

Malgré cette ressource provinciale, nous avons constaté par ailleurs certains problèmes dans le système postsecondaire :

  • Certaines écoles décident de numériser les manuels pour offrir rapidement les documents requis aux étudiants, ou parce qu’elles désirent utiliser un seul format normalisé. Les textes numériques produits de façon informelle ne sont habituellement pas vérifiés, ni complets, car il n’y a pas de description des graphiques, tableaux, notes en marge, etc.
  • Le personnel chargé de la production dans certains établissements n’a pas toujours la formation requise en lecture d’épreuve, édition, transcription et utilisation du matériel et des logiciels. Par conséquent, les étudiants peuvent recevoir des manuels en deçà des normes, alors qu’ils en ont besoin dans des cours qui exigent une information exacte.
  • Certains établissements encouragent leurs étudiant(e)s incapables de lire les imprimés à numériser et à produire leurs propres textes électroniques. En d’autres mots, les étudiants doivent utiliser leur temps précieux pour tenter de produire leurs propres documents en média substitut, afin de pouvoir lire les manuels. Les étudiants n’ont peut être ni le temps, ni les compétences pour éditer ou décrire les graphiques dans le texte, et ils peuvent se retrouver en bout de ligne avec un manuel incomplet, en deçà des normes et contenant peut être des inexactitudes.
  • Les personnes qui utilisent la ressource provinciale peuvent se retrouver en définitive avec des manuels en plusieurs formats, nécessitant plusieurs technologies d’assistance, par exemple des lecteurs CD ou MP3 portables, des logiciels de lecture pour ordinateur, ou encore un lecteur de cassettes quatre pistes.
  • Les productions non officielles (par l’établissement ou l’étudiant) ne peuvent pas être enregistrées auprès d’un service de bibliothèque, car elles ne sont pas produites dans un format professionnel, respectant les procédures standard en matière de droit d’auteur.
  • Les manuels au postsecondaire ont une durée de vie relativement courte, car de nouvelles éditions voient le jour à quelques années d’intervalle. Parfois, lorsqu’un manuel a finalement été produit selon les normes bibliothéconomiques, une nouvelle édition est déjà sur le point d’être publiée, ce qui rend déjà le manuel en média substitut périmé.

Le dilemme en est donc un de rapidité, de qualité de production et de type de média substitut. Un compromis s’impose alors entre qualité et rapidité de production, ce qui a un impact important sur les étudiants et leur succès scolaire.

Recommendations

  1. À l’heure actuelle, aucune directive ou norme universelle n’a été adoptée pour régir la préparation des documents électroniques. Ces normes permettraient de mieux décrire plusieurs éléments textuels et non textuels, dont le texte en italiques, les graphiques, les tableaux, les diagrammes et les images. Actuellement, chaque producteur utilise ses propres règles pour décrire ces éléments.
  2. Il est important qu’une loi claire et concise sur le droit d’auteur soit adoptée, largement appliquée et comprise par chaque producteur. Il est tout aussi important que la loi sur le droit d’auteur élimine les obstacles qui pourraient empêcher la diffusion rapide des documents électroniques. Les écoles et les établissements postsecondaires se heurtent constamment aux obstacles associés au droit d’auteur, ce qui retarde souvent la diffusion des documents, ou même en empêche tout simplement leur production.
  3. Afin que tous les documents imprimés soient universellement accessibles en format de texte électronique, il faut reconnaître et fournir de nombreux types de matériel et de logiciels. Un document en média substitut est utile uniquement si le destinataire possède les outils appropriés et les compétences pour assimiler l’information. Si un étudiant n’a pas la bonne technologie d’assistance informatisée, ni les compétences pour interpréter le document électronique, son accès aux documents imprimés s’en trouve limité. Par exemple, pour un document traitant d’un sujet comme les mathématiques, les sciences, l’informatique, les langues et la musique et qui a été converti en un média substitut sous forme de texte électronique, le lecteur peut avoir besoin de plusieurs technologies d’assistance pour y accéder complètement. Dans ces matières, un ordinateur équipé d’un synthétiseur de parole et d’un lecteur d’écran n’est pas toujours capable de bien interpréter les éléments non textuels, comme les graphiques, les symboles, etc.
  4. Même si les bibliothèques acquièrent de l’expérience avec la production de texte numérique, on présume que les adultes qui lisent en braille continueront à demander des documents scolaires en braille, car pour eux c’est l’outil de lecture optimal. Les services de production doivent assurer l’accès aux documents en braille pour ces étudiants, peu importe le coût.
  5. L’accès à la technologie braille rafraîchissable est crucial pour lire l’information électronique qui contient des nombres, des équations, des mots étrangers, de la notation musicale et du vocabulaire scientifique. Comme la technologie braille est coûteuse, l’accès à cet équipement est très restreint. Il est donc crucial de financer un accès approprié à une grande plage de technologies d’assistance.

Conclusion

Afin de maximiser l’utilité des documents en média substitut, l’universalité de l’accès est de première importance. Par accès universel pour les personnes incapables de lire les imprimés, nous entendons :

  • une grande disponibilité de documents, dans des délais raisonnables;
  • l’accès aux documents dans le format ou le style de production préféré de l’utilisateur;
  • l’accès à plusieurs types de technologies d’assistance, par exemple ordinateur, synthétiseur de parole, lecteurs d’écran, logiciels de gros caractères, affichages en braille, dictionnaires parlants avec thesaurus;
  • formation appropriée au sujet de la technologie;
  • accès garanti de l’établissement aux fichiers des éditeurs, pour tous les manuels vendus à la librairie.

Il est impératif que les étudiant(e)s incapables de lire les imprimés puissent accéder aux documents auxquels ont facilement accès leurs collègues qui n’ont pas d’handicap. Il incombe aux établissements d’éducation d’offrir les aménagements requis afin que tous les étudiants aient accès aux documents scolaires. Pour permettre aux établissements d’assumer leur responsabilité, on devrait adopter une loi offrant le plus large accès possible, afin que les établissements postsecondaires et les producteurs puissent produire des documents scolaires imprimés pour les étudiant(e)s incapables de lire les imprimés, et ce, dans leur format préféré et dans des délais raisonnables.

Le tout respectueusement soumis au nom d’Assistive Technology-BC.

Garth Findahl, consultant en technologies pour personnes ayant des troubles d’apprentissage
Gladys Loewen, gestionnaire
Vince Tomassetti, consultant en technologies de vision adaptée

Table des matières


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.