NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
Will there be any fees that come with the use of special services at the post-secondary level?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Projects

Faculty Awareness and Training in the Post-Secondary Community: An Annotated Bibliography

Centennial College

Scarborough, Ontario

Student Profiles

Faculty Guides

Centennial College has created an innovative and effective way to address faculty awareness. The Centre for Students with Disabilities produces a student profile for every student registered with the centre. The students' personal strengths, weaknesses and suggested academic accommodations are included in the profiles which give professors greater insight into particular needs and challenges. It is a very specific approach that respects the student's individuality and demonstrates how diverse and personal each disability is to the person.

The Centre for Students with Disabilities also attaches a faculty guide on each disability type to the student profiles. This gives faculty members more information on the specific disabilities and appropriate accommodations.

Disabilities that are addressed in the faculty guides are:

  • Blind and Low Vision
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Deaf and Hard of Hearing
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Gifted Students
  • Schizophrenia
  • Mood Disorders
  • Anxiety Disorder

The format of the Faculty Guides is concise. Each guide is on one double-sided sheet. The guides are on different coloured paper and set up in a way that is easy to read and interpret. The use of point form and groupings of important information clarifies the document. Each guide discusses popular myths of a specific disability, along with a general definition of the disability. It then goes into specific classifications and levels of the disability. Adaptive equipment relevant to that particular disability, along with possible classroom accommodations and interventions are outlined. The guide also lists the rooms where adaptive technology labs are located on campus.

Future plans

Irene Volinets Coordinator, Centre for Students with Disabilities submitted the following description of future plans at Centennial College, in a letter dated December 14th, 2000.

The provincial College Committee on Disability Issues, chaired by Irene Volinets, is working on a "Handbook for Success." This is a province wide user-friendly faculty handbook. The intent of this handbook is to provide an overview, a definition, educational implications, instructional strategies and accommodations as well as other resources related to a variety of disabilities. The College Committee on Disability Issues is planning to include the following categories of disabilities: learning disabilities, deaf and hard of hearing, mobility impairments, blind, low vision, medical disabilities, attention deficit disorders, acquired brain injuries, and a category identified as other. They have hopes of completing this project by April 2001.

Contact:
Irene Volinets
Coordinator, Centre for Students with Disabilities
Centennial College
P.O. Box 631
Station A
Scarborough, Ontario
M1K 5E9
Phone: 416-289-5000 ext 3386
Fax: 416-289-5347
Email: ivolinets@lmail.cencol.on.ca
Web site: http://www.cencol.on.ca/csd/


Top

All contents copyright , 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce que je devrai payer des frais d’utilisation de services spéciaux au niveau postsecondaire?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Projets

Sensibilisation et formation du corps professoral dans la communauté postsecondaire: Une bibliographie analytique

Centennial College

Scarborough, Ontario

Student Profiles

Guides pour les enseignants

Le Centennial College a créé un moyen innovateur et efficace de sensibiliser les enseignant- e- s. Le Centre for Students with Disabilities produit un profil pour chaque étudiant- e inscrit- e au centre. Les points forts et les points faibles de l'étudiant- e, les aménagements suggérés sont autant de renseignements qui permettent au professeur de mieux comprendre les besoins et les défis particuliers. Il s'agit d'une approche très spécifique qui respecte l'individualité de l'étudiant- e et démontre bien comment une déficience est différente selon la personne.

Le Centre for Students with Disabilities joint également aux profils des étudiant- e- s un guide pour les enseignant- e- s sur chaque type de déficience. Les enseignant- e- s disposent ainsi de plus d'information sur les déficiences particulières et sur les aménagements appropriés.

Les déficiences dont on parle dans les guides destinés aux enseignant- e- s sont les suivantes :

  • Cécité et déficience visuelle
  • Handicaps physiques
  • Surdité et déficience auditive
  • Troubles d'apprentissage
  • Douance
  • Schizophrénie
  • Troubles de l'humeur
  • Trouble d'anxiéte

Ces guides sont concis et tiennent sur une seule page recto- verso. Les guides sont imprimés sur des feuilles de couleurs différentes et présentées d'une manière facile à lire et à interpréter. Les renseignements importants sont regroupés et le style est télégraphique, ce qui ajoute à la clarté du document. Chacun des guides traite des mythes populaires entourant une déficience en particulier, ainsi qu'une définition générale de la déficience en question. On passe ensuite aux divers types et niveaux de la déficience. On parle de l'équipement adapté pour ce handicap, ainsi que des aménagements et des interventions possibles dans la salle de classe. Le guide dresse également la liste des laboratoires pourvus d'équipement adapté dans le campus.

Plans à venir

Irene Volinets, coordonnatrice au Centre for Students with Disabilities a présenté la description suivante des plans à venir pour le Centennial College, dans une lettre datée du 14 décembre 2000.

Le comité provincial des collèges sur les questions de déficience, présidé par Irene Volinets, travaille à l'élaboration d'un " Handbook for Success " [Guide de la réussite]. Il s'agit d'un guide provincial convivial destiné au corps professoral. Ce guide a pour objet de donner à l'égard de toute une gamme de handicaps un aperçu, une définition, les répercussions scolaires, les stratégies d'enseignement, les aménagements ainsi que d'autres ressources. Le Comité a l'intention de couvrir les catégories de déficiences suivantes : troubles d'apprentissage, surdité et déficience auditive, handicaps moteurs, cécité et déficience visuelle, troubles médicaux, troubles déficitaires de l'attention, lésions cérébrales acquises et une catégorie ayant pour titre "Autre". Il compte terminer ce projet pour avril 2001.

Personne-ressource :
Irene Volinets
Coordinator,
Centre for Students with Disabilities
Centennial College
P. O. Box
631 Station A
Scarborough, On