NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
How can I, as a first year university student with a disability, learn to be an effective self-advocate with professors, tutors and other students at my school?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Projects

Faculty Awareness and Training in the Post-Secondary Community: An Annotated Bibliography

Dawson College

Montreal, Quebec

Teaching College Students with Disabilities: A Guide For Professors

Guide

The suggestions included in this 41-page manual are based primarily on the experiences of college and university professors who have taught disabled students. The main conclusion presented is that faculty awareness is most effective when professors share tips and advice with their colleagues on accommodating special needs. The purpose of this guide is to improve communication between professors and students.

The guide is the result of research compiled by a group of students, professors, service providers, consultants and administrators at Dawson College. This group investigated concerns and issues both of students who have disabilities and the professors who teach them. The publication focuses on faculty concerns and recommendations. The research team talked to 74 professors who have taught disabled students and 37 students with disabilities. 54 of the professors who participated in the study have been nominated by their students as being outstanding professors in the past with respect to accommodating and teaching disabled students. Professors and students consulted for this study made more than 500 recommendations. The recommendations in Teaching College Students With Disabilities: A Guide for Professors will help professors feel confident and comfortable when dealing with students with special needs.

A survey was developed for the research which asked question such as:

  • "What can professors do to make their courses more manageable for students with physical disabilities?"
  • "What can post-secondary educational institutions do to make academic life more manageable for physically disabled students and their professors?"
  • "What do outstanding professors do?"
  • "What should be done in problematic situations?"

This guide covers the following topics:

  • What to do when you find out that you have a student with a disability in your class.
  • What to do when a student with a disability is often absent.
  • How to use everyday words related to a student's disability such as "See", "Hear" and "Walk."
  • What to do when a student with a disability is failing a course.

Recommendations regarding teaching students with visual impairments, mobility and muscular impairments, hearing and speech impairments, learning disabilities and head injuries are then discussed.

There is a second book created from this research that discusses how students relate to their professors. It is a valuable resource that shows the student's responsibility for their own education and their relationship with professors. This book is called Students And Their Professors: A Guide For The College Student With a Disability.

The guides were developed with support from Fonds Pour la Formation de Chercheurs et l'Aide a la Recherche (FCAR). Both manuals are available in large print, on computer disk and in Braille versions. Contact Dr. Catherine Fichten to receive alternate formats. In 1989, both publications won an award from the American service provider organization the Association on Higher Education and Disability. This publication continues to be a popular reference source.

Contact:
Catherine S. Fichten
Psychologist
Dawson College
Psychology Department
3040 Sherbrooke St. West
Montreal, Quebec
H3Z 1A4
Phone: 514-931-8731 ext. 1546
TTY: Available on request
Fax: 514-340-7507
Email: Catherine.fichten@mcgill.ca
Web site: http://www.omega.dawsoncollege.qc.ca/cfichten


Top

All contents copyright , 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Si je choisis de poursuivre mes études à l’extérieur de ma province ou de mon territoire, est ce que le montant d’aide financière que je pourrai obtenir sera limité?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Projets

Sensibilisation et formation du corps professoral dans la communauté postsecondaire: Une bibliographie analytique

Dawson College

Montréal, Québec

Teaching College Students with Disabilities: A Guide For Professors

Guide

Les suggestions données dans ce guide de 41 pages sont surtout fondées sur les expériences des professeurs de collège et d'université qui ont enseigné à des étudiant- e- s handicapés. La principale conclusion présentée est que les efforts de sensibilisation du corps professoral sont plus efficaces lorsque les professeurs échangent trucs et conseils avec leurs collègues quant aux aménagements visant à répondre à des besoins spéciaux. Ce guide a pour objet d'améliorer la communication entre les professeurs et les étudiant- e- s.

Le guide est le résultat d'une recherche effectuée par un groupe d'étudiant- e- s, de professeurs, de dispensateurs de services, de conseillers et d'administrateurs au Dawson College. Ce groupe a porté ses recherches sur les préoccupations et les problèmes des étudiant- e- s handicapés et des professeurs qui leur enseignent. La publication se concentre sur les préoccupations et les recommandations du corps professoral. L'équipe de recherche s'est entretenue avec 74 professeurs qui ont enseigné à des étudiant- e- s handicapés et à 37 étudiant- e- s handicapés. Chez les professeurs qui ont participé à l'étude, 54 ont déjà reçu une mention d'excellence de leurs étudiant- e- s pour les aménagements qu'ils ont su leur offrir. Les professeurs et les étudiant- e- s consultés dans le cadre de cette étude ont présenté plus de 500 recommandations. Les recommandations contenues dans Teaching College Students With Disabilities: A Guide for Professors aideront les professeurs à gagner de l'assurance et à se sentir plus à l'aise dans leurs rapports avec les étudiant- e- s ayant des besoins spéciaux.

Dans le sondage élaboré aux fins de la recherche, on posait les questions suivantes :

  • " Que peuvent faire les professeurs pour rendre leurs cours plus accessibles aux étudiant- e- s ayant des handicaps physiques? "
  • " Que peuvent faire les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire pour rendre la vie scolaire plus facile aux étudiant- e- s ayant des handicaps physiques et à leurs professeurs ? "
  • " Que font les professeurs exceptionnels? "
  • " Que faudrait- il faire dans les situations problématiques? " Ce guide aborde les sujets suivants :
  • Que faire lorsque vous découvrez que vous avez dans votre classe un- e étudiant- e ayant une déficience.
  • Que faire lorsqu'un- e étudiant- e handicapé- e est souvent absent- e.
  • Comment utiliser les mots de tous les jours en présence d'un- e étudiant- e handicapé- e, comme " voir ", " entendre " et " marcher "
  • Que faire lorsqu'un- e étudiant- e handicapé- e échoue à un cours.

On discute ensuite des recommandations touchant l'enseignement à des étudiant- e- s ayant des déficiences visuelles, des handicaps moteurs et des déficiences musculaires, des déficiences auditives et des troubles de la parole, des troubles d'apprentissage et des traumatismes crâniens.

Un deuxième ouvrage résulte de la même recherche et porte lui sur les rapports des étudiant- e- s avec les professeurs. Il s'agit d'un ouvrage précieux qui montre à l'étudiant- e qu'il lui incombe de s'occuper de sa propre éducation et de ses rapports avec les professeurs. Cet ouvrage s'intitule : Students And Their Professors: A Guide For The College Student With a Disability.

La guide a été élaboré grâce au Fonds pour la formation de chercheurs et l'aide à la recherche (FCAR). Les deux guides sont disponibles en gros caractères, sur disquette et en braille. Veuillez communiquer avec Catherine Fichten, si vous désirez un format spécial. En 1989, ces deux publications ont reçu un prix du fournisseur de services américain qu'est l'Association on Higher Education and Disability. Cette publication continue d'être un ouvrage de référence populaire.

Personne-ressource :
Catherine S. Fichten
Psychologue
Dawson College
Psychology Department
3040, rue Sherbrooke ouest
Montréal, Québec H3Z 1A4
Téléphone : 514-931-8731 poste 1546
Téléscripteur : Disponible sur demande
Télécopieur : 514-340-7507
Courriel : Catherine.fichten@mcgill.ca
Site Web : www.omega.dawsoncollege.qc.ca/cfichten


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.