NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
How can I, as a first year university student with a disability, learn to be an effective self-advocate with professors, tutors and other students at my school?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Projects

Faculty Awareness and Training in the Post-Secondary Community: An Annotated Bibliography

Georgian College

Barrie, Ontario

Faculty Intervention Strategies for Students With Learning Disabilities

White paper prepared for National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS)/Canadian Association of Disability Service Providers in Post-Secondary Education (CADSPPE)/Learning Disabilities Association of Canada (LDAC)

In 1998, the Ontario Ministry of Education and Training funded a pilot project through the Learning and Opportunities Task Force at Georgian College. The funding resulted in the formation of the Centre For Access and Learning Disabilities. In this 16-page paper, Trudy Bergere, Bob Marcessault and Janice Schulze discuss the different faculty intervention strategies that the centre has designed and implemented. One of the key strategies has been to assemble a Learning Innovation Facilitation Team (LIFT). This team consists of the three staff members mentioned above, who work directly with college faculty as a whole to initiate and accelerate the meeting of goals for learning disabled students.

LIFT's main goals are to help faculty become aware of issues with which they could use LIFT's help, to increase awareness training for part-time faculty and to design instruction and technology to help with learning disabled students' programming. LIFT also supports faculty members in creating a more hospitable learning environment for their students.

This paper describes the math and english help centres that are available for free on all Georgian College campuses to provide students with extra help on assignments. These centres provide a venue for the reference and identification of students with learning disabilities which is private and discreet.

Clearly this pilot project has been highly successful. LIFT meets its goals by using positive messages and encourages faculty and students to participate in the project.

Contact:
Trudy Bergere
Learning Innovation Facilitator - Centre for Access and Disability Services
Georgian College of Applied Arts and Technology
Georgian College Barrie
One Georgian Drive
Barrie, Ontario
L4M 3X9
Phone: 705-728-1968 ext 1764
Email: tbergere@georgianc.on.ca
Web site: http://www.georcoll.on.ca/c4a/


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce qu’il y a une association nationale générale d’étudiants et d’étudiantes du niveau postsecondaire? Est-ce qu’elle s’occupe de la défense des droits des personnes handicapées?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Projets

Sensibilisation et formation du corps professoral dans la communauté postsecondaire: Une bibliographie analytique

Georgian College

Barrie, Ontario

Faculty Intervention Strategies for Students With Learning Disabilities

Livre blanc préparé pour l'Association nationale des étudiant- e- s handicapés au niveau post- secondaire (NEADS)/ l'Association canadienne des dispensateurs de services aux étudiant- e- s handicapés de niveau postsecondaire (CADSPPE)/ Troubles d'apprentissage - Association canadienne (TAAC)

En 1998, le ministère ontarien de l'Éducation et de la Formation a financé un projet pilote au Georgian College par le biais du Learning and Opportunities Task Force. Ce financement a permis de créer le Centre For Access and Learning Disabilities. Dans ce document de 16 pages, Trudy Bergere, Bob Marcessault et Janice Schulze discutent des différentes stratégies d'intervention du corps professoral conçues et mises en oeuvre par le centre. L'une des stratégies importantes a consisté à former la Learning Innovation Facilitation Team (LIFT). Cette équipe composée des trois membres du personnel susmentionnés travaille directement avec les professeurs du collège à établir les objectifs pour les étudiant- e- s ayant des troubles d'apprentissage et à accélérer le processus.

Les principaux objectifs de LIFT sont d'aider les professeurs à identifier les problèmes pour lesquels ils pourraient recourir à l'aide de LIFT, de sensibiliser davantage les professeurs à temps partiel et de concevoir des modes d'enseignement et des techniques pour améliorer le programme pour les étudiant- e- s ayant des troubles d'apprentissage. LIFT aide également les membres du corps enseignant à créer un milieu d'apprentissage plus hospitalier pour leurs étudiant- e- s.

Ce document décrit les centres d'aide pour les mathématiques et l'anglais accessibles gratuitement dans tous les campus du Georgian College pour offrir une aide supplémentaire aux étudiant- e- s dans leurs travaux. Ces centres constituent un moyen privé et discret de référence et d'identification des étudiant- e- s qui ont des troubles d'apprentissage.

Ce projet pilote a remporté un vif succès. LIFT atteint ses objectifs en utilisant des messages positifs et encourage les enseignant- e- s comme les étudiant- e- s à participer au projet.

Personne-ressource :
Trudy Bergere
Learning Innovation Facilitator
Centre for Access and Disability Services
Georgian College of Applied Arts and Technology
Georgian College Barrie
One Georgian Drive
Barrie, Ontario L4M 3X9
Téléphone : 705-728-1968 poste 1764
Courriel : tbergere@georgianc.on.ca
Site Web : www.georcoll.on.ca/c4a/


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.