NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
How do I find out which colleges or universities have good physical access to classrooms and other facilities?

Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through!


Faculty Awareness and Training in the Post-Secondary Community: An Annotated Bibliography

Langara College

Vancouver, British Colombia

Letter from President to all Faculty Members

Langara Policy and Procedures Manual

In order for disability issues to be addressed seriously, administrators, professors, service providers, students and tutors need to start working together early in the school year. Each group has a part to play to provide disabled students with equality on campus and in their academic studies. Langara has an excellent approach to faculty awareness. The President of the college sends out a letter to all staff members in the fall reminding them of their legal duty to accommodate disabled students. Attached to the letter is the Langara College Policy and Procedures Manual that defines appropriate accommodations at Langara.

This is a good approach as it may serve to reduce confusion when professors are dealing with a disabled student in their classroom. Setting the standard early encourages effective and open communication. Communication is the key to successful faculty awareness and helps to create an environment that is conducive to learning.

The following is a copy of the letter that Langara sends to each faculty member:

Office of the President, Langara College
To: All Employees
From: Linda Holmes, President
Re: The Duty to Accommodate Students with Disabilities

Previously you have received a memorandum regarding our duty, as purveyors of public education, to accommodate the religious practices of students. The purpose of that outline was to alert you to your legal obligation to accommodate such requests "up to the point of undue hardship."

Today's memo pertains to a similar duty, shared by employers and those who provide public services and facilities, to reasonably accommodate the needs of persons with disabilities. The obligation to accommodate, which flows directly from the British Columbia Human Rights Act, requires educational institutions to do whatever is necessary to provide students with disabilities with equitable access to learning and educational opportunities in a safe, welcoming environment. In practical terms, this means providing the equipment required by the students (computers, tape recorders, taped books, enlarged texts, spell checkers, Brailed exams, etc.) as well as permitting the use of adaptive technology in the classroom.

Unlike the procedure outlined for the accommodation of the religious practices of students, requests for accommodation are not submitted to instructors. Some accommodations are complex and require more specialized knowledge, time and effort than can be expected of every faculty member within the College. Rather, Langara's Services Co-ordinator, Students with Disabilities, Wendy Keenlyside, is responsible for protecting the interests of instructors and students by evaluating requests and arranging for accommodations. Not only does this assure that appropriate and consistent accommodations are provided but also gives faculty an avenue for referral of unexpected requests for services. Should it happen that a student approaches you for accommodations for a disability and you have not previously been contacted by Wendy Keenlyside regarding that student, please direct them to her for assessment.

The Services Co-ordinator bases her decisions on the current (within three years) and appropriate documentation provided by the student. Only documentation of recognized professionals in the specialized field (registered educational psychologist, audiologist, etc.) is acceptable. The documentation outlines the functional limitation, the impact this limitation may have on post-secondary studies, necessary adaptive equipment and recommended service levels. With the written consent of the student, the Co-ordinator may consult with specialists to clarify the student's need for accommodation. The information in these reports is confidential and is not shared.

The nature of the disability may be evident to the instructor or it may be invisible (eg. mental health disability, learning disability or medical condition). In some situations, the Co-ordinator may notify the instructor of the specific nature of a student's disability. For example, if a student has a history of seizures, again with the permission of the student, she will notify the instructor and outline emergency procedures.

Frequently, service requests are straightforward but, from time to time, issues arise that render accommodations more challenging. A student with a learning disability or visual impairment may require recorded lectures in addition to the services of a note taker. Some instructors may feel uncomfortable having lectures taped and their concerns are heard with understanding. In this situation, however, the student's right to "reasonable accommodation" takes precedence. Our responsibility, as a public educational institution, is to offer reasonable accommodation "up to the point of undue hardship". To discharge this duty under the British Columbia Human Rights Act we are required to prove that the College did everything within its power to meet the needs of a student with a disability.

For your information, I have attached Policy - Accessibility for Students with a Disability, which is based on current legislation and clearly outlines the College's position and responsibilities.

Signed the president

Wendy Keenlyside
Disability Services Coordinator
Langara College
100 West 49th Avenue
Vancouver, British Columbia
V5Y 2Z6
Phone: 604-323-5635
TTY: 604-323-5635
Fax: 604-323-5555
Web site:


All contents copyright , 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
À quel bureau du gouvernement fédéral dois-je m’adresser pour obtenir de l’information sur les programmes et services à l’intention des personnes handicapées?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Projets

Sensibilisation et formation du corps professoral dans la communauté postsecondaire: Une bibliographie analytique

Langara College

Vancouver, Colombie- Britannique

Lettre du Président à tous les membres du corps professoral

Manuel des politiques et procédures de Langara

Pour que les questions liées aux déficiences soient traitées avec sérieux, les administrateurs, les professeurs, les dispensateurs de services, les étudiant- e- s et les professeurs particuliers doivent commencer à travailler ensemble dès le début de l'année scolaire. Chaque groupe a un rôle à jouer pour que soient traités en toute équité les étudiant- e- s handicapés sur le campus et dans leurs études. Langara a une excellente approche pour sensibiliser le corps professoral. À l'automne, le Président du collège envoie une lettre à tous les enseignant- e- s pour leur rappeler qu'ils sont tenus de prévoir des aménagements pour les étudiant- e- s handicapés. Le guide des politiques et procédures du Langara College qui définit les aménagements appropriés à Langara est joint à la lettre.

Il s'agit d'une bonne approche qui réduit la confusion lorsque les professeurs se rendent compte qu'il y a un- e étudiant- e handicapé- e dans leur classe. En faisant dès le départ le point sur la situation, on encourage les communications ouvertes et efficaces. La communication est la clé de la sensibilisation des enseignant- e- s et aide à créer un milieu propice à l'apprentissage.

Voici un exemplaire de la lettre que Langara envoie à tous ses professeurs :

Note de service
Bureau de la Présidente, Langara College

À : Tous les employés
De : Linda Holmes, Présidente
Date :
Objet : Le devoir d'offrir des aménagements aux étudiant- e- s handicapés

Vous avez déjà reçu une note de service portant sur notre devoir, en tant que vecteurs de l'éducation publique, de respecter les pratiques religieuses des étudiant- e- s. Le but de cette démarche était de vous aviser de votre obligation juridique d'accéder à des demandes d'aménagement du moment qu'elles n'imposent pas une " charge onéreuse ".

La note de service d'aujourd'hui porte sur un devoir similaire, que se partagent les employeurs et ceux qui offrent des services et des installations publiques, de prévoir des aménagements raisonnables pour répondre aux besoins des personnes ayant des déficiences. L'obligation d'offrir des aménagements, qui découle directement de la British Columbia Human Rights Act, exige des établissements d'enseignement qu'ils fassent tout en leur pouvoir pour offrir aux étudiant- e- s handicapés un accès équitable aux occasions d'apprentissage dans un milieu sûr et accueillant. En termes pratiques, cela veut dire qu'il faut fournir l'équipement nécessaire aux étudiant- e- s (ordinateurs, magnétophones, livres sur bande audio, textes à gros caractères, vérificateurs d'orthographe, examens en braille, etc.) ainsi que permettre l'utilisation de techniques adaptées aux besoins des personnes handicapées dans la classe.

Au contraire des demandes d'aménagements pour les pratiques religieuses des étudiant- e- s, les demandes d'aménagement relatives aux handicaps ne sont pas soumises aux enseignant- e- s. Certains aménagements sont complexes et demandent des connaissances plus spécialisées, plus de temps et d'effort que l'on est en droit de s'attendre d'un professeur du Collège. C'est la coordonnatrice des services aux étudiant- e- s handicapés de Langara, Wendy Keenlyside, qui est responsable de la protection des intérêts des professeurs et des étudiant- e- s, qui évalue les demandes et prend les dispositions nécessaires pour les aménagements. Non seulement des aménagements appropriés et uniformes sont- ils ainsi offerts mais les professeurs peuvent également s'adresser aux Services lorsqu'ils reçoivent des demandes inattendues de leurs étudiant- e- s. Si un étudiant vous demande un aménagement spécial et que vous n'avez pas été contacté au préalable par Wendy Keenlyside à cet égard, veuillez référer cet- te étudiant- e aux Services aux fins d'évaluation.

La coordonnatrice des Services fonde ses décisions sur la documentation à jour (des trois dernières années) et appropriée fournie par l'étudiant- e. Seuls les documents émanant de professionnels reconnus dans le domaine spécialisé (psychologue agréé du secteur de l'éducation, audiologiste, etc.) sont acceptables. La documentation fait état des limites fonctionnelles, de l'impact éventuel de ces limites sur les études postsecondaires, de l'équipement adapté nécessaire et des niveaux de services recommandés. Avec le consentement écrit de l'étudiant- e, la coordonnatrice pourra consulter les spécialistes afin d'obtenir des éclaircissements quant aux besoins d'aménagements spéciaux pour l'étudiant- e. L'information contenue dans ces rapports est confidentielle et non divulguée.

La nature de la déficience peut être évidente pour l'enseignant- e ou encore invisible (par ex. troubles du psychisme, troubles d'apprentissage ou troubles médicaux). Dans certaines situations, la coordonnatrice peut aviser l'enseignant- e du caractère spécifique de la déficience d'un- e étudiant- e. Par exemple, si un- e étudiant- e a déjà fait des crises d'épilepsie, une fois de plus avec la permission de l'étudiant- e, elle peut en aviser l'enseignant- e et lui faire part de la marche à suivre en situation d'urgence.

Souvent, les demandes de services sont simples, mais il arrive parfois que les situations présentent des défis particuliers. Un- e étudiant- e qui a un trouble d'apprentissage ou une déficience visuelle peut avoir besoin de documents sur bande audio et avoir également besoin des services d'un preneur de notes. Certains professeurs ne seront peut- être pas à l'aise avec l'idée de se faire enregistrer et nous sommes à l'écoute de leurs préoccupations. Cependant, dans une telle situation, le droit de l'étudiant à un " aménagement raisonnable " a préséance. Notre responsabilité, en qualité d'établissement d'enseignement public, est d'offrir un aménagement raisonnable du moment que cela n'impose pas une charge onéreuse. Pour nous acquitter de ce devoir aux termes de la British Columbia Human Rights Act, nous devons prouver que le Collège a fait tout en son pouvoir pour répondre aux besoins d'un- e étudiante ayant une déficience.

À titre informatif, j'ai joint la politique 1.1.1.4 - Accessibilité pour les étudiants handicapés, qui se fonde sur la loi en vigueur et explique clairement la position et les responsabilités du Collège.

Signée par la Présidente

Personne-ressource :
Wendy Keenlyside
Disability Services Coordinator
Langara College
100 West 49th Avenue
Vancouver, British Columbia V5Y 2Z6
Téléphone : 604-323-5635
Téléscripteur : 604-323-5635
Télécopieur : 604-323-5555
Courriel : wkeenlys@langara.bc.ca
Site Web : www.langara.bc.ca/disability


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.