NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Where can I find information about financial assistance to support my post-secondary studies?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Projects

Faculty Awareness and Training in the Post-Secondary Community: An Annotated Bibliography

British Columbia Educational Association of Disabled Students

Guidelines for Teaching Students with Disabilities

Booklet

This guide begins with a brief introduction on the importance of accommodating students with disabilities. Following that is a page on institutional supports that may be available to faculty or students at a post-secondary school, divided into categories dealing with enrollment and registration assistance, testing, physical accessibility, and course adaptations. The next page deals with terms to use with and about people with disabilities, and emphasizes the importance of putting the person before the disability.

The guide then proceeds to discuss specific disabilities and ways for faculty to accommodate students. There are separate sections dealing with students with visual impairments, hearing impairments, students who use wheelchairs, hidden disabilities, learning disabilities, head injuries, neurological disabilities, mental health disabilities, and developmental disabilities.

Each section begins with some background into the disability. Then, there is a section on general points to consider when dealing with someone with the disability (i.e., how to talk with and offer help to people with the disability). Following that is a section on teaching considerations specific to the disability. Finally, there is a bibliography of sources used, which could be helpful for faculty looking for additional hints.

While the sections on certain disabilities (those discussing hearing impairments and learning disabilities) are more detailed than others, all offer good information on the disability and the ways an instructor might accommodate students inside and outside of the classroom.

The 32-page guide was produced in 1994, with funding from the Centre for Curriculum and Professional Development, and the Province of British Columbia's Ministry of Skills, Training and Labour. While the British Columbia Educational Association of Disabled Students is no longer an active group, the guide can be ordered from the Open Learning Agency.

Contact:
Curriculum Publications
Marketing Department
Open Learning Agency
4355 Mathissi Place
Burnaby, British Columbia V5G 4S8
Phone: 604-431-3210
1-800-663-1653 (Toll-free in BC)
Order # VA0147
ISBN# 0-7726-2054-7


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Quels sont mes droits en tant que personne handicapée voulant poursuivre des études postsecondaires?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Projets

Sensibilisation et formation du corps professoral dans la communauté postsecondaire: Une bibliographie analytique

British Columbia Educational Association of Disabled Students

Guidelines for Teaching Students with Disabilities

Brochure

La brève introduction du guide porte sur l'importance de répondre aux besoin des étudiant- e- s handicapés. Ensuite une page sur le soutien institutionnel offert aux membres du corps professoral ou aux étudiant- e- s d'une école postsecondaire, divisé en catégories comme l'aide à l'inscription, les tests, l'accessibilité physique et l'adaptation des cours. Puis une page sur la terminologie de l'incapacité, soulignant l'importance de penser à la personne avant l'incapacité.

Le Guide porte ensuite sur les incapacités particulières et les moyens à la disposition du corps professoral pour répondre aux besoin des étudiant- e- s. Les sections distinctes portent sur les étudiant- e- s handicapés visuels, auditifs, les étudiant- e- s en fauteuil roulant, les incapacités non- visibles, les troubles d'apprentissage, les traumatismes crâniens, les incapacités neurologiques, les incapacités reliées à la santé mentale et les troubles du développement.

Chacune des sections commence avec des renseignements généraux sur l'incapacité. Suivent des points généraux à envisager à l'égard d'une personne qui présente l'incapacité en question (comme la façon de lui parler et de lui offrir de l'aide). Puis une section sur des aspects de l'enseignement propre à cette incapacité. Finalement une bibliographie sur les sources utilisées, pour des conseils additionnels.

Certaines sections sont plus détaillées que d'autres, à savoir celles qui ont trait aux déficiences auditives et aux troubles d'apprentissage, mais elles présentent toutes les moyens qu'un instructeur peut prendre pour répondre aux besoins des étudiant- e- s en classe et à l'extérieur.

Le guide de 32 pages a été produit en 1994 avec le financement du Centre for Curriculum and Professional Development et du Ministry of Skills, Training and Labour de la Colombie- Britannique. La British Columbia Educational Association of Disabled Students n'est plus active, mais on peut commander le guide auprès de l'Open Learning Agency.

Personne-ressource :
Curriculum Publications Marketing Department
Open Learning Agency
4355 Mathissi Place
Burnaby, British Columbia V5G 4S8
Téléphone : 604-431-3210
1-800-663-1653 (Gratuit en Colombie-Britannique)
Order # VA0147
ISBN# 0-7726-2054-7


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.