NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
Will going to school outside my province or territory limit my ability to access funding?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Projects

Faculty Awareness and Training in the Post-Secondary Community: An Annotated Bibliography

Learning Disabilities Association of Canada/Mount Allison University

Ottawa, Ontario

Introducing Learning Disabilities to Post-Secondary Educators (1996)

An in-service training program

This 56-page resource book is an in-service training program that has been developed to benefit instructors and counselors at post-secondary institutions who may have students with learning disabilities in their classrooms. It is a series of pre-planned workshops that discuss the nature and characteristics of learning disabilities, learning problems, specific academic deficits, social/emotional deficits, career-related effects, learning styles and classroom climate. Each workshop is broken up into the following sections: philosophy and objective, materials needed, time required, key terms and possible discussions; and activities in which faculty can participate that will give them greater insight into the life of a person with a learning disability. The book stresses the importance of teaching using more than one instructional method (auditory, visual, tactile, etc.). One of the strongest features of the program is the overheads and handouts that are concise, clearly laid out and easy to read. They make effective use of charts and graphs. The publications are available in both French and English.

The Meighen Centre for Learning Assistance and Research at Mount Allison University produced this excellent publication in partnership with the Learning Disabilities Association of Canada. The project was funded by Human Resources Development Canada.

Learning Disabilities in the Classroom (1996)

Handbook for Post-Secondary Instructors

This handbook was created as a guide for instructors at the post-secondary level who have students with learning disabilities in their classrooms. This book creates awareness of learning disabilities and shows how specific strategies and tools can help the student work effectively.

A student forum was held in Sackville. New Brunswick, during which students shared their experiences and expertise on living with a learning disability. The students suggested that the book should be set up in a way that was user friendly for students with a learning disabilities. It should also show faculty different methods that are helpful for all learning styles (i.e. use of bullets, maps, charts, different fonts, materials presented in small, clear chunks, Q&A sections, along with personal case histories of students with a LD).

This book reviews the nature and characteristics of a student with learning disabilities and attempts to create awareness of their LDs in the classroom. Disclosure, confidentiality, self-advocacy, assessments and the right to education are discussed. This book demonstrates strategies that will help with time orientation, organization, teaching, learning, and evaluation. The largest section focuses on teaching strategies and tools. There is also a reference section of resources on the Internet, disability association contact information, videos and books. A glossary of terms and a bibliography of other relevant publications are assets to the reader.

The Meighen Centre for Learning Assistance and Research at Mount Allison University produced this excellent publication in partnership with the Learning Disabilities Association of Canada. The project was funded by Human Resources Development Canada.

"Together for Success: A Road Map For Post-Secondary Students With Learning Disabilities"

Guidebook

This sixty-page guidebook was prepared in 1994 by the Learning Disabilities Association of Canada's Post-Secondary Students' Ad Hoc Committee. Seven young adults with learning disabilities from across Canada met to advise LDAC on what was required for success at post-secondary institutions.

The result is a "how to" book which includes chapters on: Self-Disclosure; Self-Advocacy and Accommodations; Support Services; Focus Groups; Dealing with Stress, Anger and Frustrations; Transitional Planning for High School Students; and, Students' Rights and Responsibilities.

The book can be purchased alone or with an audio cassette. It is a handy resource for high school guidance counsellors, and special needs counsellors of universities and colleges. It is also a "must have" for students with learning disabilities about how to enter college or university.

Both the book and the cassette are also available in French.

Information Fact Sheets

A series of information fact sheets are available through LDAC for post-secondary students and their families. Topics include: checklist for comparing LD services at post-secondary institutions; your campus visit; preparation and accommodations; and "LD and You at University." An information fact sheet is also available for post-secondary professors. All fact sheets are available in French and English.

Contact
Learning Disabilities Association of Canada
323 Chapel Street
Suite 200
Ottawa, Ontario
K1N 7Z2
Phone: 613-238-5721
Fax: 613-235-5391
Email: information@ldac-taac.ca
Web site: http://www.ldac-taac.ca


Top

All contents copyright , 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Quelle sorte de financement est-ce que je peux obtenir du Programme canadien de prêts aux étudiants?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Projets

Sensibilisation et formation du corps professoral dans la communauté postsecondaire: Une bibliographie analytique

Troubles d'apprentissage - Association canadienne/ Mount Allison University

Sackville, Nouveau- Brunswick

Introduction aux troubles d'apprentissage à l'intention des éducateurs du postsecondaire : Un guide de l'animateur (1996)

Un programme de formation sur place

Cet ouvrage de 56 pages est un programme de formation sur place destiné aux professeurs et aux conseillers des établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire qui peuvent avoir des étudiant- e- s handicapés dans leur classe. Il s'agit d'une série d'ateliers préplanifiés portant sur la nature et les caractéristiques des troubles d'apprentissage, des problèmes d'apprentissage, des problèmes scolaires particuliers, des problèmes socio- émotifs, des effets liés à la carrière, des styles d'apprentissage et du climat dans la classe. Chaque atelier comprend les sections suivantes : philosophie et objectif, documents nécessaires, temps nécessaire, termes clés et discussions possibles, et activités qui favoriseront chez les enseignant- e- s une meilleure compréhension de la vie d'une personne ayant un trouble d'apprentissage. Dans cet ouvrage, on insiste sur l'importance d'utiliser plus d'un moyen didactique pour enseigner (moyens auditifs, visuels, tactiles, etc.). Les acétates et les documents sont concis, clairement disposés et faciles à lire, ce qui rend ce programme vraiment intéressant. On fait une utilisation efficace des tableaux et des graphiques. Les publications sont disponibles en français et en anglais.

Le Meighen Centre for Learning Assistance and Research de Mount Allison University a produit cette excellente publication en partenariat avec l'association Troubles d'apprentissage - Association canadienne. Le projet a été financé par Développement des ressources humaines Canada.

Learning Disabilities in the Classroom (1996)

Manuel destiné aux professeurs des établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire

Ce manuel se veut un guide pour les professeurs de niveau postsecondaire qui ont des étudiant- e- s handicapés dans leurs classes. Il vise à sensibiliser les enseignant- e- s aux troubles d'apprentissage et démontre comment des stratégies et des outils donnés peuvent aider l'étudiant- e à travailler de manière efficace.

On a tenu un forum étudiant à Sackville, Nouveau- Brunswick, au cours duquel les étudiant- e- s ont partagé leurs expériences de vie en tant que personnes ayant des troubles d'apprentissage. Les étudiant- e- s ont suggéré que le manuel soit conçu de manière à être facile à consulter pour les étudiant- e- s ayant des troubles d'apprentissage. Il doit également proposer aux enseignant- e- s différentes méthodes utiles pour tous les styles d'apprentissage (soit un style télégraphique, des cartes, des tableaux, des polices différentes, des documents présentés en petites tranches claires, des sections Q & R; ainsi que des histoires vécues par des étudiant- e- s ayant des TA).

Cet ouvrage parle de la nature et des caractéristiques d'un- e étudiant- e ayant des troubles d'apprentissage et vise à amener les professeurs à repérer les personnes ayant des TA dans la classe. On y discute de la divulgation, de la confidentialité, de l'autonomie sociale, des évaluations et du droit à l'éducation. Cet ouvrage présente des stratégies qui aideront pour la synchronisation, l'organisation, l'enseignement, l'apprentissage et l'évaluation. La plus grosse section porte sur les stratégies et les outils d'enseignement. Il y a également un chapitre de référence proposant des ressources sur l'Internet, des renseignements sur les associations de troubles d'apprentissage, des bandes vidéo et des livres. Le lecteur trouvera particulièrement utiles le glossaire de termes et la bibliographie d'autres publications pertinentes.

Le Meighen Centre for Learning Assistance and Research de Mount Allison University a produit cette excellente publication en partenariat avec l'association Troubles d'apprentissage - Association canadienne. Le projet a été financé par Développement des ressources humaines Canada.

" Collaboration et Réussite : Une carte routière pour les étudiants atteints de troubles d'apprentissage de niveau postsecondaire "

Guide

Ce guide de soixante pages a été préparé en 1994 par le Comité spécial sur les étudiants de niveau postsecondaire de Troubles d'apprentissage : Association canadienne. Sept jeunes adultes ayant des troubles d'apprentissage des quatre coins du Canada se sont réunis pour conseiller TAAC sur les choses à faire pour garantir la réussite dans les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire.

Le résultat est cette " marche à suivre " qui comprend des chapitres sur les sujets suivants : Auto- divulgation; Autonomie sociale et aménagements; Services de soutien; Groupes cibles; Composition avec le stress, la colère et les frustrations; Planification transitoire pour les étudiant- e- s du niveau secondaire; et Droits et responsabilités des étudiant- e- s.

On peut acheter le guide seul ou accompagné d'une cassette audio. C'est un outil pratique pour les conseillers du secondaire et les conseillers en besoins spéciaux des universités et des collèges. C'est un " must " pour les étudiant- e- s qui ont des troubles d'apprentissage sur la manière d'entrer au collège ou à l'université.

Le livre et la cassette sont disponibles en anglais et en français.

Feuillets d'information


Une série de feuillets d'information sont disponibles à TAAC pour les étudiant- e- s de niveau postsecondaire et leur famille. Voici les sujets abordés : liste à cocher pour comparer les services offerts pour les TA dans les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire; votre visite du campus; préparation et aménagements; et Les troubles d'apprentissage et vous à l'université. Un feuillet d'information est également disponible pour les professeurs des établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire. Tous ces feuillets sont disponibles en anglais et en français.

Personne-ressource :
Troubles d'apprentissage - Association canadienne
323, rue Chapel
Bureau 200
Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7Z2
Téléphone : 613-238-5721
Télécopieur : 613-235-5391
Courriel : information@ldac-taac.ca
Site Web : www.ldac-taac.ca


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.