NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
Is there a national general post-secondary students association? Does it do any disability-related advocacy work?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Projects

Faculty Awareness and Training in the Post-Secondary Community: An Annotated Bibliography

Reach - Equality and Justice For People with Disabilities

Ottawa, Ontario

A Framework For Action - Law Schools, Educational Equity and Students with Disabilities: Working Towards Equitable Access to Legal Education

Guidebook

This 105-page guidebook, released in 1998, is the product of two years of research into accessibility in Canadian law schools. Sandra A. Goundry and Yvonne Peters led a team of researchers and wrote the final document.

The guidebook's preface sets out the rationale for the project; namely that, although people with disabilities comprise some 17.8 per cent of the general population, they are consistently underrepresented in the legal community. Accordingly, the project aims to set out "a national framework for law faculties developing disability-related policies."

This aim is further explained in the Introduction and Overview section. While recognizing that issues of education equality and disability accommodations are a concern of schools across the country, it is also pointed out that Canadian law schools are in various stages of implementing accessibility policies. The project team hopes this document will serve as a guideline for schools to measure their efforts against, and can lead policy writers in everything from admission, to program modification, to student placement and future employment. The research phase is also outlined here. Findings from interviews with law school representatives were combined with a review of legal and other literature, and of human rights and charter case law.

Part two looks at the statistical makeup and trends involving people with disabilities. For example, it is pointed out that the number of students with learning disabilities enrolling in legal education is on the rise. A statistical breakdown of people with disabilities is given with regard to both the general population and the Canadian post-secondary population. Finally, the section emphasizes systemic barriers faced by people with disabilities in education and other aspects of society.

Part three, entitled Analytical and Legal Framework, provides definitions of accommodation and discrimination, as well as outlining rights legislation relevant to people with disabilities, internationally, federally and within each province and territory. Interspersed throughout this section is information on cases which have looked at the scope and implementation of this body of legislation.

Part four examines disability issues in Canadian law schools, such as recruitment, admission procedures, student self-identification, physical accommodations and teaching strategies. Problems faced by law schools in each area are discussed, and concrete examples are given to illustrate how certain schools have dealt with the issues. Strategies schools can use to alleviate accommodation problems in these areas are also discussed.

Part five, a Practical Guide for Developing Policies and Procedures, articulates the value and need for formal accommodation policies at Canadian law schools. Components that should be included in a policy (ie; a description of what is meant by accommodation), and procedures for implementing policies (by educating students and faculty, for example) are examined. At the end of the section, examples of student disclosure forms and accessibility plans, outlining students' disabilities and the specific accommodations needed, are given.

In the final section conclusions are drawn from the project research, and some recommendations for further areas of discussion and study are offered.

An extensive bibliography lists sources consulted, both legal and general. The first two appendices list the law schools and representatives consulted in the interview phase, as well as the policy and accommodation documents provided by law schools. Appendix C provides the checklist consulted during interviews.

Appendix D is a list of various groups of disabilities, and of point-form examples of accommodations that can be offered in the classroom, on exams and in support services.

Finally, appendix E looks at key American disability rights legislation, and relevant case law.

This is an extensive guidebook with background, examinations of legislation and legal precedent, and concrete recommendations for student accommodation. While the material is extensive and broad in scope, the sections also all end with a summary of the key points explored, for a quick overview.

The focus of the guide is toward Canadian law schools, and the language and much of the content is of a legal nature. But ultimately, many of the issues explored and the recommendations given can be applied to many programs and institutions across the country. This is a valuable source of information for both faculty and students.

More recently, REACH published Navigating Law School and Beyond: A Practical Guide for Students Who Have Disabilities (June, 2000). This publication serves as an excellent companion piece to the 1998 research.

Contact:
Reach
810-151 Slater St.
Ottawa, Ontario
K1P 5H3
Phone: 613-236-6636
Fax: 613-236-6605
Email: reach@magi.com
Web site: http://www.reach.ca


Top

All contents copyright , 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Où puis-je trouver des manuels en médias substituts?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Projets

Sensibilisation et formation du corps professoral dans la communauté postsecondaire: Une bibliographie analytique

Reach - Equality and Justice For People with Disabilities

Ottawa, Ontario

A Framework For Action - Law Schools, Educational Equity and Students with Disabilities: Working Towards Equitable Access to Legal Education

Guide

Ce guide de 105 pages publié en 1998 est le produit de deux ans de recherche sur l'accessibilité des facultés de droit du Canada. Sandra A. Goundry et Yvonne Peters ont mené les travaux d'une équipe de chercheurs et rédigé le document final.

La préface du guide pose la raison d'être du projet, à savoir que même si les personnes handicapées constituent environ 17,8 % de la population, elles sont toujours sous- représentées dans la communauté juridique. Le projet a donc pour objectif d'établir un cadre national d'élaboration de politiques relatives aux personnes handicapées dans les facultés de droit.

Le projet est précisé dans l'introduction et l'aperçu. Tout en reconnaissant que les questions d'aménagements (éducation, égalité et handicaps) intéressent les facultés de droit du pays, on souligne aussi que ces facultés sont à diverses étapes de la mise en oeuvre de leurs politiques d'accessibilité. L'équipe du projet espère que le document sera un point de comparaison des efforts entrepris par les facultés de droit et qu'il incitera les responsables à modifier les politiques d'admission, des programmes, du placement d'étudiants et d'emploi. La phase de recherche y est aussi énoncée. Les résultats d'entrevues avec des représentants des facultés de droit ont été combinés à un examen de la documentation juridique et autre, concernant notamment les droits de la personne et les causes fondées sur la charte.

La deuxième partie se penche sur les statistiques et les tendances touchant les personnes handicapées. On souligne par exemple que le nombre d'étudiant- e- s ayant des troubles d'apprentissage qui s'inscrivent en droit augmente. On présente une ventilation statistique des personnes handicapées par rapport à la population en général et à la population post- secondaire du Canada. Finalement, la section souligne les obstacles systémiques qui se dressent devant les personnes handicapées dans le domaine de l'éducation et ailleurs dans la société.

La troisième partie, un cadre analytique et légal, offre des définitions de l'aménagement et de la discrimination, exposant en outre les mesures législatives sur les droits relatifs aux personnes handicapées, à l'échelle internationale, fédérale et dans les provinces et les territoires. Il y a de l'information sur les cas qui ont porté sur le cadre et la mise en oeuvre de ces mesures législatives.

La quatrième partie examine la question des personnes handicapées dans les facultés de droit du Canada, comme le recrutement, les procédures d'admission, l'auto- identification des étudiant- e- s, les aménagements physiques et les stratégies d'enseignement. On examine les problèmes des facultés de droit dans chaque domaine et on présente des exemples concrets afin d'illustrer comment certaines écoles ont réagi. On discute aussi des stratégies que les écoles peuvent utiliser pour redresser les problèmes dans ces domaines.

La cinquième partie est un guide pratique d'élaboration des politiques et des marches à suivre, articulant la valeur et la nécessité de politiques officielles d'aménagement dans les facultés de droit du Canada. On examine les composantes à inclure dans une politique (comme une description de ce que l'on entend par aménagement) et les marches à suivre de la mise en oeuvre des politiques (en éduquant par exemple les étudiant- e- s et les membres du corps professoral). On présente à la fin de la section des exemples de formules de divulgation des étudiant- e- s et de plans d'accessibilité, indiquant les incapacités des étudiant- e- s et les aménagements particuliers requis.

La dernière section tire des conclusions du projet de recherche et présente certaines recommandations quant à ce qu'il y a lieu d'examiner et d'étudier.

Une grande bibliographie indique les sources consultées, légales et générales. Les deux premières annexes donnent la liste des facultés de droit et des représentants consultés dans la phase d'entrevue, en plus des documents sur les politiques et les aménagements fournis par les facultés de droit. L'annexe C présente la liste consultée dans les entrevues.

L'annexe D est une liste de groupes de handicaps et des exemples en abrégé d'aménagements qu'il est possible d'offrir en classe, concernant aussi les examens et les services de soutien.

Finalement, l'annexe E porte sur les aspects clés de la loi américaine sur les droits des personnes handicapées et sur les cas de jurisprudence.

Il s'agit d'un guide important avec des renseignements généraux, l'examen de mesures législatives et de précédents juridiques, et des recommandations concrètes pour les aménagements à l'intention des étudiant- e- s. Le matériel est important et volumineux, mais les sections se terminent également toutes avec un résumé des principaux points explorés, pour un aperçu rapide.

Le guide est axé sur les facultés de droit du Canada. La terminologie et une grande partie du contenu sont de nature juridique. Mais en fin de compte, une grande partie des questions examinées et des recommandations présentées peut s'appliquer à de nombreux programmes et établissements du pays. Il s'agit d'une source précieuse d'information pour les membres du corps professoral et les étudiant- e- s.

REACH vient de publier " Navigating Law School and Beyond: A Practical Guide for Students Who Have Disabilities " (Juin 2000). Cette publication complète bien la recherche de 1998.

Personne-ressource :
Reach
810- 151 Slater St.
Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5H3
Téléphone : 613-236-6636
Télécopieur : 613-236-6605
Courriel : reach@magi.com
Site Web : www.reach.ca


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.