NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Is there funding available to pay for material production in alternate formats?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Projects

Faculty Awareness and Training in the Post-Secondary Community: An Annotated Bibliography

Memorial University of Newfoundland

St. John's, Newfoundland

Equal Access: A resource book for students, faculty and staff (2nd Edition, 1992)

Guidebook

This 34-page book was released at the time of Memorial's opening of the Glenn Roy Blundon Centre for Students with Disabilities, and begins with a listing of resources available to students through the centre.

A section on visual impairments opens with a definition of legal blindness, and provides guidelines on guiding a blind person, and seating them as they enter an office. The paragraphs that follow provide information - which is similarly included in each subsequent disability-related section - on how the centre can help with accommodations, as well as emphasizing the students' responsibility to contact the centre and professors before the semester begins, to arrange for required accommodations. The Professors Responsibility section strongly suggests providing reading lists as early as possible before the semester, announcing at the start of the semester the intention to be available to help students with disabilities, and agreeing on test and assignment strategies with the student early in the semester. The section closes, as do the other sections, with a list of community resources available - in this case, the Canadian National Institute for the Blind (CNIB).

The section on hearing impairments provides a definition and states that about 1.5 million Canadians have some degree of hearing loss. Also pointed out is the fact that, while many can lip-read, there may still be up to 50 per cent non-comprehension of what is being said. As a result, visual cues are important, as is keeping one's hands clear of their face while speaking. Professors are encouraged to complement oral presentations with visuals such as overheads and handouts, provide copies of lecture notes, and outlines before lectures, to allow students with hearing loss to better participate.

The mobility impairments section points out that such impairments include more than just students in wheelchairs, and that consideration must be given to the needs of all students with mobility difficulties. Professors are asked to speak privately to students about their needs, where applicable, and to develop a strategy on assignments and exams.

The learning disabilities section provides a brief definition, and stresses that students may have just one learning disability, or several. Approximately 10 per cent of Canadians, it is stated here, have learning disabilities, and the presence of students with learning disabilities in universities is ever increasing. Professors are reminded that the needs of students with learning disabilities are unique to each individual. That said, certain common accommodations are listed in the text, such as early provision of reading lists to enable students to obtain taped texts where needed, allowing lecture taping, and being flexible with assignments and exams.

A section on chronic illnesses indicates that a wide range of ailments fall into this category, such as cancer, AIDS and Multiple Sclerosis. These illnesses may have various symptoms and effects from treatment, including fatigue and mobility difficulties, which need to be considered on a case-by-case basis.

The section write-ups here contain good explanations of each category of disability, as well as providing some context through statistical information. While only a small number of accommodation suggestions are given, they are a useful base for instructors to broaden their understanding of the needs of students with disabilities.

The "mini-index to campus services" at the end of the book is a valuable listing of some services that may be of use to the student population at large, as well as students with disabilities. The information at a glance is relevant to instructors' needs to help students with accommodations.

Contact:
Ruth North
The Glenn Roy Blundon Centre
Memorial University of Newfoundland
Thomson Student Centre
Elizabeth Avenue
St. John's, Newfoundland A1C 5S7
Phone/TTY: 709-737-2156
Email: Blundon@morgan.ucs.mun.ca
Web site: http://www.mun.ca/student/disabilities


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Si je choisis de poursuivre mes études à l’extérieur de ma province ou de mon territoire, est ce que le montant d’aide financière que je pourrai obtenir sera limité?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Projets

Sensibilisation et formation du corps professoral dans la communauté postsecondaire: Une bibliographie analytique

Memorial University of Newfoundland

St. John's, Terre-Neuve

Equal Access: A resource book for students, faculty and staff (2e édition, 1992)

Guide

Ce guide de 34 pages a été publié au moment où Memorial a ouvert les portes du Glenn Roy Blundon Centre for Students with Disabilities et commence par une liste des ressources que le centre met à la disposition des étudiant- e- s.

La section sur les déficiences visuelles commence par une définition de la cécité légale et comprend des directives sur la manière de guider une personne aveugle pour l'aider à s'asseoir lorsqu'elle entre dans un bureau. Les paragraphes qui suivent donnent de l'information (également comprise dans chaque section subséquente portant sur un handicap) sur la manière dont le centre peut aider pour les aménagements, en insistant sur le fait qu'il appartient aux étudiant- e- s de communiquer avec le centre et les professeurs avant le début de la session pour prendre les dispositions relatives aux aménagements nécessaires. La section qui porte sur la responsabilité des professeurs invite ceux- ci à fournir les listes d'ouvrages à lire le plus tôt possible avant le début de la session et à annoncer en début de session leur intention d'aider les étudiant- e- s handicapés et de convenir de stratégies pour les tests et les devoirs au début de la session. La section se termine, comme les autres, par une liste des ressources communautaires disponibles, dans ce cas, l'Institut national canadien pour les aveugles (INCA).

La section sur les déficiences auditives comprend une définition et précise qu'environ 1,5 million de Canadiens ont perdu une partie de leur acuité auditive. On souligne également que même si de nombreuses personnes peuvent lire sur les lèvres, elles perdent encore jusqu'à 50 pour cent de ce qui est dit. Par conséquent, des repères visuels sont importants. Il faut donc prendre garde de ne pas cacher son visage dans ses mains tout en parlant. On encourage les professeurs à ajouter à leurs présentations orales des compléments visuels comme des acétates, des documents, des notes de cours, des sommaires des leçons, afin de permettre aux étudiant- e- s ayant une déficience auditive de mieux participer.

Dans la section portant sur les handicaps moteurs, on précise qu'il ne s'agit pas seulement de s'occuper des étudiant- e- s en fauteuil roulant. Il faut répondre aux besoins de tou- te- s les étudiant- e- s qui ont des handicaps moteurs. On demande aux professeurs de s'enquérir en privé si possible des besoins des étudiant- e- s et de mettre au point une stratégie pour les travaux et les examens.

La section traitant des troubles d'apprentissage comprend une brève définition et insiste sur le fait que les étudiant- e- s peuvent avoir un ou plusieurs troubles d'apprentissage. Environ 10 pour cent des Canadiens ont des troubles d'apprentissage et le nombre d'étudiant- e- s ayant ce genre de problème va en augmentant dans les universités. On rappelle aux professeurs que les besoins des étudiant- e- s ayant des troubles d'apprentissage diffèrent d'une personne à l'autre. Ceci dit, certains aménagements courants sont présentés, par exemple l'enseignant- e peut remettre d'avance la liste des lectures de référence pour donner la chance aux étudiant- e- s d'obtenir ces textes sur bande audio au besoin, il peut également leur permettre d'enregistrer les cours et faire preuve de souplesse pour les travaux et les examens.

Dans la section sur les maladies chroniques, on précise que de nombreuses maladies entrent dans cette catégorie : le cancer, le SIDA et la sclérose en plaques. Ces maladies présentent divers symptômes et effets selon les traitements, dont la fatigue et des difficultés motrices qu'il faut évaluer sur une base individuelle.

Les comptes rendus ici contiennent de bonnes explications de chaque catégorie de handicap et donnent un certain contexte appuyé de statistiques. On ne donne que quelques suggestions d'aménagements, mais il s'agit d'une base utile qui aidera les professeurs à mieux comprendre les besoins des étudiant- e- s handicapés.

Le " mini-index des services du campus " à la fin du guide constitue une liste précieuse de certains services utiles pour la population étudiante en général ainsi que les étudiant- e- s handicapés. Ces renseignements faciles à consulter sauront aider les professeurs à offrir certains aménagements aux étudiant- e- s.

Personne-ressource :
Ruth North
The Glenn Roy Blundon Centre
Memorial University of Newfoundland
Thomson Student Centre
Elizabeth Avenue
St. John's, Newfoundland A1C 5S7
Téléphone/Téléscripteur : 709-737-2156
Courriel : Blundon@morgan.ucs.mun.ca
Site Web : www.mun.ca/student/disabilities


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.