NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Is there an organization that represents all Canadians with disabilities?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Projects

Faculty Awareness and Training in the Post-Secondary Community: An Annotated Bibliography

Saint Mary's University

Halifax, Nova Scotia

Accommodating Students with Disabilities: A Faculty Handbook

Guidebook

This 16-page guide was prepared in September, 2000 by the Atlantic Centre Of Support for Students with Disabilities. It begins with a description of the centre's mandate, which is to help post-secondary schools in Nova Scotia provide students with disabilities with accessible education. The introductory section also stresses the importance of effective faculty support, given that "professors are the people who have the most direct contact with the students." Finally, a list of contact information for centre staff is included.

The About Us section expands further on accessibility at St. Mary's University, from the 1968 opening of an accessible residence to the 1985 opening of the centre. It also provides an overview of services offered at the school.

Two to three pages of information are provided for each of the disabilities discussed in the guide, including hearing impairments, vision impairments, mobility impairments, and learning disabilities. Each section introduces the scope of the disability and discusses situations in the classroom that affect disabled students (i.e., different rooms affecting hearing impairments).

A section on support services gives fairly detailed descriptions of the various support services available to students, and discusses other ways faculty can offer support to students with disabilities, such as through exam accommodations.

The guidebook then describes some recommended instructional strategies, and methods of accommodation in class, on assignments, and outside of the classroom environment. The responsibility of students to inform faculty of their needs, and the responsibility of faculty to be willing to offer assistance where possible, are stressed.

Brief sections on exam accommodations and note-taking services offered by the centre follow, emphasizing the need for students to keep in touch with the centre and for faculty to be aware of these accommodation methods.

This guidebook offers good information on accommodation strategies, in clear language. It also provides valuable overviews on much of the technology available to help accommodate students with disabilities in the classroom and on tests and assignments.

Contact:
Dr. David Leitch, Director
Atlantic Centre of Research, Access and Support for Students with Disabilities
3rd Floor, Student Union Building
Saint Mary's University
Halifax, Nova Scotia
B3H 3C3
Phone: 902-420-5452
Fax: 902-496-8122
TTY: 902-425-1257
Email: david.leitch@stmarys.ca
Web site: http://www.stmarys.ca/administration/studentservices/atlcentr/atlantic.html


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Quels sont mes droits en tant que personne handicapée voulant poursuivre des études postsecondaires?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Projets

Sensibilisation et formation du corps professoral dans la communauté postsecondaire: Une bibliographie analytique

Saint Mary's University

Halifax, Nouvelle- Écosse

Accommodating Students with Disabilities: A Faculty Handbook

Guide

Ce guide de 16 pages a été préparé en septembre 2000 par le Atlantic Centre Of Support for Students with Disabilities. Il débute par une description du mandat du centre, qui est d'aider les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire de la Nouvelle- Écosse à permettre aux étudiant- e- s handicapés l'accès à l'éducation. Dans l'introduction, on insiste sur l'importance d'un soutien efficace de la part du corps professoral, étant donné que " les professeurs sont les personnes qui ont le contact le plus direct avec les étudiant- e- s. " [traduction] En dernier lieu, le document comprend la liste des personnes- ressources au centre.

Dans la section intitulée " About Us ", on explique ce qui se fait pour l'accessibilité à St. Mary's University, depuis l'ouverture en 1968 d'une résidence accessible aux personnes handicapées à l'ouverture en 1985 du centre. On y donne également un aperçu des services offerts à l'université.

On consacre de deux à trois pages à chacun des handicaps abordés dans le guide, qu'il s'agisse de déficience auditive, de déficience visuelle, de handicaps moteurs ou de troubles d'apprentissage. Chaque section parle de la portée du handicap et discute des situations qui peuvent avoir des répercussions sur le handicap (par ex., des salles différentes affectant les déficiences auditives).

Une section sur les services de soutien contient des descriptions assez détaillées des divers services de soutien offerts aux étudiant- e- s. On y discute des autres moyens dont disposent les professeurs pour offrir un soutien particulier aux étudiant- e- s handicapés, en prévoyant par exemple des aménagements pour les examens.

Le guide décrit ensuite certaines des stratégies d'enseignement recommandées et des méthodes d'aménagement en classe, pour les travaux et à l'extérieur de la classe. On insiste sur le fait qu'il incombe aux étudiant- e- s d'informer les enseignant- e- s de leurs besoins mais qu'il faut aussi compter sur la volonté des enseignant- e- s à offrir de l'aide dans la mesure du possible.

D'autres courtes sections portent sur les aménagements pour les examens et sur les services de prise de notes offerts par le centre. On insiste sur le fait que les étudiants doivent demeurer en contact avec le centre et que les professeurs doivent être au courant de l'existence de ces méthodes d'aménagement.

Ce guide contient de bonnes informations sur les stratégies d'aménagement, énoncées dans un langage clair. Il donne également un bon aperçu des moyens techniques disponibles pour aider les étudiant- e- s handicapés dans la classe ainsi que pour les tests et les travaux.

Personne-ressource :
Dr. David Leitch,
Director
Atlantic Centre of Research,
Access and Support for Students with Disabilities
3rd Floor, Student Union Building
Saint Mary's University
Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3C3
Téléphone : 902-420-5452
Télécopieur : 902-496-8122
Téléscripteur : 902-425-1257
Courriel : david.leitch@stmarys.ca
Site Web : http://www.stmarys.ca/administration/studentservices/atlcentr/atlantic.html


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.