NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Where can I go to locate textbooks in alternate formats?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Projects

Faculty Awareness and Training in the Post-Secondary Community: An Annotated Bibliography

University of Calgary

Calgary, Alberta

Students with Disabilities at the University of Calgary

Guidebook

This February, 2001 draft of a soon-to-be-released faculty awareness guidebook was produced by the university's Disability Resource Centre. The book includes information relevant to both students with disabilities and faculty.

The book's introduction begins with information from the 1991 Health and Activity Limitation Survey (HALS), which shows that approximately 7.4 per cent of Canadian post-secondary students have some type of disability. This figure reveals the growing need for academic accommodation.

An early section emphasizes putting the student before the disability, and that each student with a disability should be treated as an individual with unique abilities and accommodation requirements. Instructors are advised to "consider your students with disabilities as teachers in increasing your awareness of disabilities and non-traditional learning methods."

The disability-specific sections of the guide look at mobility, visual and hearing impairments, learning disabilities and some other disabilities. Each section examines the scope of impairments, some causes, and specific problems faced by students with such disabilities. Disability-specific accommodation suggestions are offered for both classroom and exam situations. Some of the most important considerations looked at are removing physical barriers, and adapting lessons and assignments where possible and helpful to the student. Some common technological accommodations are also briefly examined.

The section on other disabilities looks briefly at the problems faced by students with psychiatric conditions, allergies and environmental sensitivities, and epilepsy. Some accommodation suggestions are also explored here.

This guidebook is brief, at only 10 pages, but is clearly written in simple language. It provides a relatively good overview of information for faculty.

Contact:
Patricia Pardo
Director
Disability Resource Centre
University of Calgary
2500 University Drive N.W.
Calgary, Alberta
T2N 1N4
Phone: 403-220-8237
Fax: 403-210-1063
E-mail: echarchu@acs.ucalgary.ca
Web site: http://www.ucalgary.ca/UofC/Others/DRC/


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Où puis-je trouver des manuels en médias substituts?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Projets

Sensibilisation et formation du corps professoral dans la communauté postsecondaire: Une bibliographie analytique

University of Calgary

Calgary, Alberta

Students with Disabilities at the University of Calgary

Guide

Il s'agit de l'ébauche de février 2001 d'un guide visant à sensibiliser le corps professoral qui sera bientôt publié et a été produit par le Disability Resource Centre de l'université. Cet ouvrage s'adresse autant aux étudiant- e- s handicapés qu'au personnel enseignant.

L'introduction nous donne de l'information tirée de l'Enquête sur la santé et les limitations d'activités de 1991 (ESLA), qui démontre qu'environ 7,4 pour cent des étudiant- e- s de niveau postsecondaire au Canada ont une incapacité quelconque. Ce chiffre confirme que des aménagements sont de plus en plus nécessaires.

Une première section invite les gens à faire passer l'étudiant- e avant son handicap, chaque étudiant- e handicapé- e devant être traité comme une personne ayant des capacités et des besoins d'aménagement uniques. On conseille aux enseignant- e- s de " voir dans leurs étudiant- e- s handicapés des professeurs qui les sensibiliseront aux diverses déficiences et aux méthodes d'apprentissage non traditionnelles. "

Les sections du guide portant sur des handicaps particuliers abordent les handicaps moteurs, les déficiences visuelles et auditives, les troubles d'apprentissage et quelques autres handicaps. Chacune des sections discute de la portée des déficiences, certaines causes et les problèmes particuliers avec lesquels doivent composer les étudiant- e- s ayant de tels handicaps. On propose des aménagements adaptés aux handicaps tant pour la classe que pour les examens. Parmi les considérations importantes abordées, notons la suppression des obstacles physiques et l'adaptation des leçons et des travaux dans la mesure du possible, ainsi qu'une attitude d'aide face à l'étudiant- e. On parle brièvement de certains aménagements techniques courants.

La section sur les autres handicaps traite brièvement des problèmes vécus par les étudiant- e- s ayant des troubles du psychisme, souffrant d'allergies, d'intolérance au milieu et d'épilepsie. On propose certains aménagements ici également.

Ce guide est bref, ne comptant que 10 pages, mais il est clairement rédigé dans un langage simple. Il donne un assez bon aperçu de la situation pour le corps professoral.

Personne-ressource :
Patricia Pardo
Director
Disability Resource Centre
University of Calgary
2500 University Drive N. W.
Calgary, Alberta T2N 1N4
Téléphone : 403-220-8237
Télécopieur : 403-210-1063
Courriel : echarchu@acs.ucalgary.ca
Site Web : www.ucalgary.ca/UofC/Others/DRC


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.