NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
What accommodations are usually in place for students with disabilities attending college and university?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Projects

Faculty Awareness and Training in the Post-Secondary Community: An Annotated Bibliography

University of New Brunswick

Fredericton, New Brunswick

Student-Faculty Handbook for Accommodating Students with Disabilities

Guidebook

This 34-page guide begins with a discussion of the importance of keeping an open mind when working with people with disabilities, and of accommodating students with disabilities. It also stresses the need to put the person before the disability.

Following that is a page on appropriate terminology to use in conversations with and about people with disabilities. Two columns show both the words to use, and those to avoid using. Next is a brief general overview of best teaching practices and effective lesson planning techniques, which are beneficial for those working with students with or without disabilities.

The section on accommodations looks at a number of specific disabilities (ADHD, vision impairments, hearing impairments, learning disabilities, mobility impairments, invisible disabilities, psychological, and psychiatric disabilities) separately. Short blurbs discuss the disability and how it might affect an individual. Recommendations on disability-appropriate classroom and exam accommodations follow. Roughly two pages are devoted to each disability.

A seven-page glossary then lists some 60 disabilities, briefly defining each. Finally, there is an appendix on Epilepsy, outlining what to do if someone has a seizure.

The document falls short in discussing invisible, psychological and psychiatric disabilities. No disability under these categories is discussed in detail, and only three general accommodations are outlined in each category. But ultimately, the book does an effective job outlining specific disabilities and appropriate accommodation methods for each.

The faculty handbook was prepared by the UNB Coordinator of Services to Students with Disabilities in September 1999.

Contact:
Sandra Latchford
Faculty of Education
University of New Brunswick
Fredericton, New Brunswick
E3B 6E3
Phone: 506-452-6021 or 506-453-3515
Email: sandral@unb.ca
Web site: http://www.unb.ca/home/units/Student_Services/swd.html


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Qu’est-ce que je dois faire pour obtenir des livres en braille, sur audiocassette ou sur disquette?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Projets

Sensibilisation et formation du corps professoral dans la communauté postsecondaire: Une bibliographie analytique

University of New Brunswick

Fredericton, Nouveau- Brunswick

Student-Faculty Handbook for Accommodating Students with Disabilities

Guide

Ce guide de 34 pages commence par une discussion sur l'importance de garder un esprit ouvert lorsqu'on travaille avec des personnes ayant des incapacités, et de bien accueillir ces étudiant- e- s. On dit également qu'il est important de faire passer la personne avant son handicap.

Ensuite, une page propose la terminologie à utiliser dans les conversations avec des personnes handicapées ou au sujet de celles- ci. La page se présente sur deux colonnes, dans la première les mots à utiliser et dans la deuxième les mots à éviter. Puis il y a un bref aperçu général des meilleures pratiques d'enseignement et des techniques efficaces de planification des leçons, utiles pour ceux qui travaillent avec des étudiant- e- s, qu'ils soient handicapés ou non.

La section sur les aménagements porte sur un certain nombre de déficiences particulières (THADA, déficiences visuelles et auditives, troubles d'apprentissage, handicaps moteurs, déficiences invisibles, déficiences psychologiques et psychiques) séparément. De courtes notices portent sur la déficience et sur la manière dont la personne peut être affectée. On présente des recommandations sur l'aménagement des classes en fonction du handicap et sur les aménagements particuliers pour les examens. Environ deux pages sont consacrées à chacun des handicaps.

Un glossaire de sept pages comprend une liste d'environ 60 déficiences, toutes accompagnées d'une brève description. En dernier lieu, il y a une annexe sur l'épilepsie et sur la manière d'intervenir en cas de crise.

Le document présente des lacunes pour ce qui est des déficiences invisibles, psychologiques et psychiques. Aucune de ces déficiences n'est examinée en détail, et seuls trois aménagements généraux sont donnés pour chacune de ces catégories. On peut quand même dire que ce guide est efficace car il explique des déficiences particulières et des méthodes d'aménagement appropriées pour chacune.

Le guide du corps professoral a été préparé par la coordonnatrice des Services to Students with Disabilities de l'UNB en septembre 1999.

Personne-ressource :
Sandra Latchford
Faculty of Education
University of New Brunswick
Fredericton, New Brunswick E3B 6E3
Téléphone : 506-452-6021 ou 506-453-3515
Courriel : sandral@unb.ca
Site Web : http://www.unb.ca/home/units/Student_Services/swd.html


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.