NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Where can I find information about financial assistance to support my post-secondary studies?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Projects

Faculty Awareness and Training in the Post-Secondary Community: An Annotated Bibliography

York University

Toronto, Ontario

Learning Disabilities: Information for Faculty Members

Newsletter

This four-page newsletter was prepared by Marc Wilchesky, Coordinator of York's learning disabilities program. It begins with a definition of learning disabilities, and outlines areas where students with learning disabilities might face difficulties. An emphasis is placed on the fact that learning disabilities are not a form of "mental retardation", emotional disturbance or laziness. The causes of learning disabilities are also briefly outlined, as is the 15-year history of York's learning disabilities program.

The document then discusses considerations for those teaching students with learning disabilities. It details factors that could indicate the presence of a learning disability. It is stressed that while the factors listed don't automatically point to a learning disability, students should be encouraged to explore support services offered for academic difficulties.

Finally, 10 accommodation tips are listed for faculty to consider, as well as some appropriate course materials to use with students with learning disabilities and suitable test and exam accommodations.

While this document does effectively introduce learning disabilities and possible accommodation methods, clearly more discussion is needed for faculty to properly understand the disability and how to best work with students.

Contact:
Dr. Marc Wilchesky
Counselling and Development Centre
Behavioural Sciences Building, Room l45
York University
4700 Keele Street
North York, Ontario
M3J lP3
Phone: 4l6-736-5297 ext. 3409
Email: mwilchesky@yorku.ca
Web site: www.yorku.ca/admin/sa/offdis/


York University

Toronto, Ontario

Faculty Resources and Awareness Guide: Teaching Students with Disabilities

Online Guidebook

This edition was published in January, 1999 by the Division of Student Affairs.

This extensive, well-written guidebook begins with a letter stating that "No single faculty member will ever need to know everything within these pages, but most faculty members will need to know something contained herein."

Following the introductory letter is information on both the Ontario Human Rights Code and York senate policy, relating to persons with disabilities. This section also provides information on some of the services and offices available to students at York, information that is expanded upon in the following sections.

A section of information from the university's Office for Persons with Disabilities begins with a note detailing some of the accommodations students with disabilities may need during their academic careers, from pre-university advising and orientation, to scribes, to exam adaptations. The section then goes on to offer general accommodation suggestions for faculty, noting that needs can vary for each student. Short lists of possible accommodations are given for mobility and visual impairments, and 'systemic' disabilities such as AIDS and Epilepsy. The part of this section dealing with hearing impairments is more extensive, providing general accommodation suggestions as well as additional tips on presenting to a class that includes students with hearing impairments, problems faced with written work, and detailed information on the duties and acceptable conduct of interpreters and note-takers.

A section on support services for persons with Traumatic Brain Injury briefly describes the problems faced by such students, and the need for instructors to make an effort to understand TBI.

Section six provides information on learning disabilities, and the learning disabilities program at York. A definition is given, as are some of the difficulties that may be faced by students with learning disabilities. A paragraph discusses some of the factors that may indicate the presence of a learning disability, and tells instructors to encourage students they feel may have a learning disability to meet with a counsellor. The section also lists tips on how to accommodate students with learning disabilities in class and on exams, and a student profile effectively illustrates how such accommodations can help students succeed.

The next section looks at the psychiatric disabilities program at York, and gives information on mental illness in students. Problems that can be faced, and the need for support and understanding, are emphasized. Some accommodations are briefly listed, and another student profile is included, showing how accommodations can help students with psychiatric disabilities.

A section about York's libraries provides a list of campus libraries and describes their levels of physical access. Finally, information on adaptive technology available at each library is listed. A section on organizations available on and off-campus provides additional resource information.

While this document is somewhat limited in disability-specific background information, it offers many good accommodation suggestions and additional academic-related disability information (especially with regard to hearing impairments). The material is presented with some interesting approaches, specifically the useful student profiles included in a couple of sections. The information on services available on and off-campus is invaluable to both instructors and students.

Contact:
Karen Swartz
Office For Students With Disabilities
York University
4700 Keele Street, 109 Central Square
North York, Ontario
M3J 1P3
Phone: 416-736-5140
TTY: 416-736-5263
Email: kswartz@yorku.ca
Web site: http://www.yorku.ca/admin/sa/offdis/


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Quelle sorte de financement est-ce que je peux obtenir du Programme canadien de prêts aux étudiants?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Projets

Sensibilisation et formation du corps professoral dans la communauté postsecondaire: Une bibliographie analytique

York University

Toronto, Ontario

Learning Disabilities: Information for Faculty Members

Bulletin

Ce bulletin de quatre pages a été rédigé par Marc Wilchesky, Coordonnateur du programme de troubles d'apprentissage de York. Il commence avec une définition des troubles d'apprentissage, et explique les secteurs dans lesquels les étudiant- e- s ayant des troubles d'apprentissage pourraient avoir des difficultés. On insiste sur le fait que les troubles d'apprentissage n'ont rien à voir avec l'" arriération mentale ", un trouble émotif ou la paresse. Les causes des troubles d'apprentissage sont également brièvement énoncées, ainsi que le programme de troubles d'apprentissage de York qui en est à sa quinzième année d'existence.

On aborde ensuite certaines considérations pour ceux qui enseignent à des étudiant- e- s ayant des troubles d'apprentissage. On explique les facteurs qui permettent de détecter la présence d'un trouble d'apprentissage. On signale que la présence de ces facteurs n'indique pas automatiquement qu'il y a trouble d'apprentissage, mais que l'on peut alors encourager les étudiant- e- s à explorer les services de soutien offerts pour les aider à régler leurs problèmes scolaires.

En dernier lieu, on propose aux enseignant- e- s 10 trucs d'aménagements, ainsi que du matériel didactique approprié à utiliser avec les étudiant- e- s qui ont des troubles d'apprentissage et des aménagements adéquats pour les tests et les examens.

Même si ce document constitue une introduction intéressante sur les troubles d'apprentissage et les méthodes d'aménagement possibles, il est clair qu'une discussion plus approfondie s'impose pour que les membres du corps professoral comprennent bien les troubles d'apprentissage et apprennent à mieux travailler avec les étudiant- e- s touchés.

Personne-ressource :
Dr Marc Wilchesky
Counselling and Development Centre
Behavioural Sciences Building, Room l45
York University
4700 Keele Street
North York, Ontario M3J lP3
Téléphone : 4l6-736-5297 poste 3409
Courriel : mwilchesky@yorku.ca
Site Web : www.yorku.ca/admin/sa/offdis

York University

Toronto, Ontario

Faculty Resources and Awareness Guide: Teaching Students with Disabilities

Guide en ligne

Cette édition a été publiée en janvier 1999 par la Division of Student Affairs. Ce guide détaillé et bien rédigé commence par une lettre qui se lit comme suit : " Aucun professeur n'a besoin de toute l'information contenue dans ces pages, mais la plupart des professeurs sauront en tirer quelque chose d'utile pour eux. " [traduction]

Après la lettre d'introduction, on trouve de l'information sur le Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario et sur la politique du sénat de York, en ce qui concerne les personnes ayant des incapacités. Cette section donne également de l'information sur certains des services et bureaux disponibles pour les étudiant- e- s de York, information qui est plus détaillée dans chacune des sections qui suivent.

La section de renseignements sur le Office for Persons with Disabilities de l'université commence par une note expliquant certains des aménagements dont les étudiant- e- s handicapés auront besoin pendant leur carrière universitaire, qu'il s'agisse de conseils et d'orientation avant leur admission, des services de scribes ou des adaptations nécessaires pour les examens. On y offre également des suggestions sur les aménagements généraux pour les membres du corps professoral, en signalant que les besoins peuvent varier d'un- e étudiant- e à l'autre. On donne de courtes listes des aménagements possibles pour les cas de handicaps moteurs, de déficiences visuelles et d'incapacités " systémiques " comme le SIDA et l'épilepsie. La partie de cette section traitant des déficiences auditives est plus approfondie et comprend des suggestions d'aménagements généraux ainsi que des trucs supplémentaires pour les présentations devant une classe qui compte des étudiant- e- s ayant des déficiences auditives. On y parle des problèmes que posent les travaux écrits et on donne des renseignements détaillés sur les fonctions et la conduite acceptable des interprètes et des preneurs de notes.

Une section sur les services de soutien offerts aux personnes ayant subi des traumatismes cérébraux décrit brièvement les problèmes avec lesquels doivent composer les étudiant- e- s ainsi touchés ainsi que la nécessité pour les enseignant- e- s de faire un effort pour comprendre ce qu'est un traumatisme cérébral.

La section six donne de l'information sur les troubles d'apprentissage et sur le programme prévu pour les troubles d'apprentissage à York. On donne une définition et explique certaines des difficultés auxquelles sont confrontés les étudiant- e- s ayant des troubles d'apprentissage. Un paragraphe traite de certains des facteurs qui peuvent révéler la présence d'un trouble d'apprentissage. On invite les professeurs à encourager les étudiant- e- s susceptibles d'avoir un trouble d'apprentissage à rencontrer un conseiller. La section comprend aussi une liste de trucs pour faciliter les choses aux étudiant- e- s ayant des troubles d'apprentissage dans la salle de classe et aux examens, ainsi qu'un profil de l'étudiant- e qui illustre bien comment de tels aménagements peuvent aider les étudiant- e- s à réussir.

La section suivante porte sur le programme visant les déficiences psychiques à York et donne de l'information sur la maladie mentale chez les étudiant- e- s. On insiste sur les problèmes qui peuvent se présenter et sur la nécessité d'offrir soutien et compréhension. On donne une courte liste de certains aménagements ainsi qu'un autre profil de l'étudiant- e montrant comment les aménagements peuvent aider les étudiant- e- s qui ont des déficiences psychiques.

Une section porte sur les bibliothèques de York. On y donne la liste des bibliothèques qui se trouvent sur le campus et décrit dans quelle mesure celles- ci sont accessibles aux personnes handicapées. En dernier lieu, on donne la liste des techniques d'adaptation disponibles à chaque bibliothèque. Une section sur les organismes présents dans le campus et hors campus offre des renseignements supplémentaires sur les ressources disponibles.

Même si ce document est quelque peu limité pour ce qui est de l'information sur les handicaps en particulier, il propose plusieurs bonnes suggestions d'aménagements ainsi que des renseignements supplémentaires sur les handicaps en milieu d'études (surtout à l'égard des déficiences auditives). Le matériel est présenté avec certaines approches intéressantes, plus précisément les profils de l'étudiant- e fort utiles compris dans quelques sections. L'information sur les services disponibles dans le campus et hors campus est précieuse tant pour les enseignant- e- s que pour les étudiant- e- s.

Personne-ressource :
Karen Swartz
Office For Students With Disabilities
York University
4700 Keele Street,
109 Central Square
North York, Ontario M3J 1P3
Téléphone : 416-736-5140
Téléscripteur : 416-736-5263
Courriel : kswartz@yorku.ca
Site Web : www.yorku.ca/admin/sa/offdis/


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.