NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
Is there a national group that represents students with disabilities?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Projects

Access to Success: A Guide for Employers

Recruitment of Students with Disabilities

By Miguel Aguayo, M.S.W., Diversity Recruiter, CIBC

College student and recent alumni represent the future because their training consists of the most recent development in any particular field. High performance companies recognize this fact and design recruitment strategies and programs that help them tap into this valuable talent pool. Large organizations, for example, have dedicated teams that engage in campus and graduate recruitment activities to keep the organization in a constant state of talent revitalization. This team is quite successful in generating a large pool of job applicants from colleges and universities for summer jobs, co-op placement, or direct entry into the workforce. Despite having an efficient campus strategy, my experience is that the conventional campus recruitment strategies are not easily applied when recruiting students with disabilities.

Traditional campus recruitment often involves registering an exhibit booth on the designated ‘career day’. This is successful in bringing the employer and a prospective job candidate together because it is convenient for the student. However, campus career days are not effective when trying to engage in a focused recruitment of a single segment of the population. This is because recruiters have no control over who approaches the booth. The population of students with disabilities ranges from visible to invisible, from mild to profound, from physical to sensorial, to medical to cognitive. Recruiters cannot always identify a person with a disability unless they are recognized because of mobility aids (e.g., wheelchair, white cane, etc.) or choose to self-identify and disclose the existence of a disability. This means that much time can be spent speaking with individuals who do not have disabilities and participation in these types of career fairs tends to yield low outcomes for recruiters trying to reach out to students with disabilities.

Focused recruitment campaigns can target candidates from a specific subsection of the student body because they target a program. The employer works with the campus career services office to hold information sessions that attract prospective job seekers from a specific academic program, such as MBA students. This approach is different as the recruiter can develop a communication strategy to draw in a motivated pool of candidates. This leads to success that can be measured in the number of resumés collected and the number of students interviewed, and, ultimately, hired.

The focused campaign approach, from my experience, is hard to execute when trying to recruit students with disabilities. The major difficulty in planning a targeted campaign is that this is an attempt to target a characteristic rather than an academic program. The administrators of any academic program (i.e., bachelor of business administration) are not allowed to share which and how many students with disabilities are enrolled — that is, if they know at all. At best, program administrators can provide a space and a generalized announcement. This gives recruiters a low level of access and little feedback to determine if this approach will be successful, which places the session at risk that few or no students will come.

Targeting the Disability Services Office seems like a logical access point as students with disabilities register at the centres. They also have capability to reach out to this group. However, that is easier said than done. This is because the disabilities services’ mandate is to provide access to the academic facilities and employees in these centres tend not to have the capacity to engage in career counselling. When a recruiter makes contact with the intention of offering employment opportunites to students with disabilities, they are, with a few exceptions, referred to the career services office. Once placed at the career services door, recruiters find themselves back to the starting point, which is a limited ability to reach out to a specific sub-group of their student body.

Despite the challenges that are described above, there are a few recruitment strategies I’ve found that offer success in attracting students with disabilities. They include making myself available for events that are initiated by the school (college or university) rather than attempting to stage something unique; drafting articles for the career services newsletters that discuss issues related to disclosure, the recruitment process, how employers assess for skills/attributes, etc.; and, finally, relying on the e-mail notification of available job opportunities that is forwarded to students with disabilities by the disability services and through special programs, such as the National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS). This combination of approaches tends to get the message out more effectively than any single approach I’ve encountered and it works because it is compatible with campus life, which is very fast-paced and constantly evolving in terms of the programs, calendars, and extracurricular activities.


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce que je devrai payer des frais d’utilisation de services spéciaux au niveau postsecondaire?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Projets

Accès-Succès: Guide de l’employeur

Recrutement d’étudiant-e-s handicapé-e-s

Par Miguel Aguayo, M.Serv.Soc. Recruteur - diversité, CIBC

Les étudiant-e-s de niveau collégial et les derniers diplômé-e-s représentent l’avenir parce que leur formation est à la fine pointe de leurs domaines. Les compagnies à haut rendement le reconnaissent et conçoivent des stratégies et des programmes qui les aident à puiser dans ce bassin de talent précieux. Les grandes organisations ont par exemple des équipes spéciales qui font des activités de recrutement sur les campus et auprès des étudiant-e-s diplômés afin de garder l’organisation en état constant de revitalisation du talent. Ces équipes réussissent très bien à générer un bassin important de candidat-e-s des collèges et des universités pour des emplois d’été, des stages Co-op ou pour entrer directement dans la population active. Malgré leur efficacité sur les campus, j’ai constaté que les stratégies conventionnelles de recrutement sur les campus ne sont pas faciles à appliquer au recrutement des étudiant-e-s handicapés.

Le recrutement traditionnel sur les campus consiste souvent à installer un kiosque à l’occasion de la traditionnelle « journée d’orientation ». Cela réussit bien à mettre les employeurs et les candidat-e-s en puissance en rapport, parce que c’est pratique pour les étudiant-e-s. Mais les journées d’orientation sur les campus ne sont pas efficaces pour essayer de s’engager dans le recrutement focalisé d’un segment particulier de la population. C’est parce que les recruteur-trice-s n’ont pas de contrôle sur ceux et celles qui viennent au kiosque. La population des étudiant-e-s handicapés peut être visible, invisible, atteinte légèrement ou profondément, être handicapée physique ou sensorielle, médicale ou cognitive. Les recruteur-trice-s ne peuvent pas toujours déterminer qu’une personne est handicapée à moins qu’elle utilise un moyen de déplacement comme un fauteuil roulant ou une canne blanche, où qu’elle choisisse de s’auto-identifier et de révéler l’existence d’une déficience. Cela signifie qu’il faut consacrer beaucoup de temps à parler à des personnes qui ne sont pas handicapées et la participation à ces types de salons de l’emploi a tendance à donner de faibles résultats pour les recruteur-trice-s qui essaient de rejoindre des étudiant-e-s handicapés.

Les campagnes de recrutement focalisées peuvent cibler les candidat-e-s d’une sous-section particulière de la population étudiante parce qu’elles ciblent un programme. L’employeur travaille avec le bureau des services de la carrière pour offrir des séances d’information qui attirent des candidat-e-s d’un programme universitaire particulier, comme les étudiant-e-s à la maîtrise. Cette démarche est différente en ce sens que les recruteur-trice-s peuvent élaborer une stratégie de communication pour attirer un groupe de candidat-e-s motivés. Cela donne des résultats fructueux et mesurables selon le nombre de curriculum vitae collectés et le nombre d’étudiant-e-s interviewés et, en bout de ligne, embauchés.

J’ai constaté que la démarche de campagne focalisée est difficile à exécuter pour essayer de recruter des étudiant-e-s handicapés. Le principal problème de planification d’une campagne focalisée est qu’on tente de cibler une caractéristique plutôt qu’un programme universitaire. Les administrateur-trices-s d’un programme universitaire (par exemple un baccalauréat en administration des affaires) n’ont pas la permission de partager combien d’étudiant-e-s handicapés sont inscrits, ni qui ils et elles sont, si bien entendu ces informations leur sont connues. Les administrateur-trice-s peuvent au mieux offrir un lieu et une annonce de portée générale. Cela fournit peu d’accessibilité aux recruteur-trice-s et peu de rétroaction pour déterminer si la démarche réussira, d’où le risque de voir peu ou pas d’étudiant-e-s se présenter.

Cibler le bureau des services aux personnes handicapées semble un point d’accès logique puisque les étudiant-e-s s’inscrivent aux centres. Ils et elles ont également la capacité de rejoindre ce groupe. Cela est toutefois plus facile à dire qu’à faire. C’est parce que les services aux personnes handicapées ont pour mandat de fournir l’accès aux installations universitaires et les employés de ces centres ont tendance à ne pas avoir la capacité de faire de l’orientation professionnelle. Quand les recruteur-trice-s entrent en contact pour offrir des possibilités d’emploi aux étudiant-e-s handicapés, ils sont, à quelques exceptions près, présentés au bureau des services d’orientation professionnelle. Face aux services d’orientation professionnelle, ils se retrouvent au point de départ, celui d’une capacité limitée de rejoindre un sous-groupe particulier de leur population étudiante.

Malgré les défis que je viens de décrire, j’ai trouvé quelques stratégies de recrutement qui réussissent à attirer des étudiant-e-s handicapés. Pour ce faire, je me présente aux événements organisés par l’école – au collège ou à l’université – plutôt que d’essayer de monter quelque chose d’unique, je rédige des articles pour les bulletins des services d’orientation professionnelle, et j’ai finalement recours au courriel, par l’entremise des services aux personnes handicapées et de programmes spéciaux comme NEADS, pour aviser les étudiant-e-s handicapés des postes offerts. Cette combinaison de démarches a tendance à livrer le message plus efficacement que les autres démarches particulières que j’ai rencontrées et cela fonctionne parce que c’est compatible avec la vie de campus.


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.