NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
How can I, as a first year university student with a disability, learn to be an effective self-advocate with professors, tutors and other students at my school?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Projects

Access to Success: A Guide for Employers

BMO Financial Group: Attracting and Retaining Top Talent by Breaking Down Barriers

By Joanne Maver

Forging the link between strategy and people steers BMO – Bank of Montreal Financial Group’s human resources’ mandate. Forging the link means that BMO’s people strategies must clearly result in outcomes, which enable BMO to successfully execute its customer-focused business strategies.

BMO’s people strategies focus on the importance of talented, engaged and high performing employees. Developing an equitable and supportive workplace, which reflects the diversity of the communities in which BMO lives and does business, are objectives that are explicitly aligned with strategic initiatives from the top. “The correctness, in every sense, of an equitable workplace and a representative workforce has embedded itself in our corporate culture,” says BMO Chairman and CEO Tony Comper. “We believe in it, we’re committed to it, and we know how to make it happen.”

The commitment to becoming a leader in establishing and sustaining a diverse workforce and an equitable, supportive workplace was first articulated in 1989’s Corporate Strategic Plan which cemented the drive to achieve this goal. In 1992, BMO initiated a Task Force on Employment of People with Disabilities to clearly identify the barriers facing employees with disabilities. The report led to innovative action plans, which continue to provide direction and focus to BMO’s efforts in creating an equitable and supportive workplace.

Accessibility

A major goal identified by the Task Force was workplace accessibility. The report recommended that to create a positive work environment, BMO provide workplace modifications, alternative work tools and individual assistance, which would enable people with disabilities to contribute equitably and effectively to the business. Since the goal was articulated in 1992, BMO has made significant progress in workplace accessibility.

An example of this advancement is found in its innovative workplace accommodation policy created to ensure the provision of support to people with disabilities from recruitment to ongoing employment. The policy covers the cost of individual accommodations such as JAWS software, workplace modifications, technological support for the learning disabled, and ASL interpreters.

BMO’s dedication to workplace accessibility is also evidenced by leading-edge standards – set in 2002 - called “Beyond the Code.” These standards, which meet or exceed Canadian national and provincial building codes, guide BMO’s nationwide efforts to accommodate its customers and employees with physical disabilities in the workplace.

Diversity Councils and Affinity Groups – made up of employees at all levels, working in all of BMO’s lines of business – provide feedback to the enterprise on its success in creating an accessible workplace. These groups were created to raise awareness, foster dialogue, and model inclusive behaviour. They are actively involved in increasing awareness and advocating for diversity and workplace equity. Working in partnership with BMO’s leadership, these groups are fundamental to creating a fully inclusive environment.

The Diversity Councils have two fundamental roles: to bring the voice of the employee into goal-setting discussions and to act as grassroots champions of change. In doing so, they function as ambassadors for diversity and workplace equity—providing advice and support to the business unit’s executive team on issues related to the advancement of diversity and workplace equity. Councils meet regularly with employee groups to generate awareness.

Affinity Groups allow BMO employees who feel passionate about a specific issue or group to come together and not only discuss points of view, but also maintain and increase the level of employee engagement within BMO. Employee Affinity Groups are a catalyst for transforming BMO’s culture to a more inclusive and open environment. They provide resources for personal growth for participants as well as education and awareness for all employees.

BMO’s Diversity Councils and Affinity Groups (Deaf, Deafened, and Hard of Hearing; Blind and Visually Impaired; Step Ahead-People with Disabilities; Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgendered; Lion’s Pride —the first transnational Affinity Group; and two Aboriginal Sharing Circles) hold numerous events year round to celebrate diversity within BMO and to reach out to the communities in which they serve. Examples include:

  • Mayfest – Canada’s largest celebration of deaf culture;
  • Fashion Cares – Canada’s largest and most spectacular gala fundraiser in support of the AIDS Committee of Toronto (ACT);
  • PCG Lunch and Learns – Designed to allow BMO employees the opportunity to hear success stories and tips from top female executives within BMO, and allow them the opportunity to ask career-coaching questions in an open environment.

As an initiative of the Blind and Visually Impaired Affinity Group, BMO established a policy to ensure the provision of support to employees with disabilities: the Adaptive Technology Services group. This group’s mandate is to create a technically inclusive, barrier-free environment by establishing standards and implementing systemic technical solutions. In addition to coordinating specific assessments of adaptive technology for employees, the team provides the research and development, testing, and implementation of adaptive solutions. This support not only allows BMO employees to work at their most productive level, but also enables managers to actively source and hire top talent.

Recruitment of Top Talent

Another goal identified by the 1992 Task Force was to increase the number of qualified job applicants amongst people with disabilities.

BMO strongly believes that when preparing to enter the workforce, applicants must remain active throughout the recruiting process – starting before the interview to the orientation once hired. It has been BMO’s experience that successful candidates will have extensively researched the organization that they are applying to in order to better understand the business itself, the organization’s culture and its policies. This will enable the applicant to determine if there is a good “fit” with the organization. Once candidates have been notified that they have been selected for an interview, they should practice their interviewing skills prior to the actual event. This may entail role playing, and preparing for a variety of interview formats. Once the interview has begun, applicants should clarify not only what is expected of them by the organization, but also what they expect of the company. Most employees leave jobs because it is not what they expected it to be. Asking questions throughout the process will prevent this from occurring. Once an applicant reaches the orientation stage of the recruitment process, they should familiarize themselves with their surroundings and team members. The individuals who are most successful in this stage are those who remain flexible and responsive.

It should be noted that BMO encourages people to understand their own barriers around disclosure. It is important that accommodation needs be carefully articulated. It is also critical that applicants focus on their abilities, not their disability.

In order to recruit talented employees, BMO engages in specific outreach and recruitment activities to attract applicants with disabilities. BMO works in partnership with community agencies such as the CNIB, the Canadian Paraplegic Association, the Canadian Council on Rehabilitation and Work, and the Canadian Hearing Society.

In addition, BMO participates in job fairs and campus recruitment. It also sponsors and supports many organizations and events. In 2001, BMO was the Gold sponsor of the international conference “Inclusion by Design,” which was a first for a Canadian company. The movement is based on the concept that all products, environments and communications should be designed to accommodate the greatest possible number of users. In 2003, BMO was an official corporate sponsor of the Abilities Fair hosted by FACE. Other sponsorships include Mayfest – the annual event of the Ontario Association for the Deaf, NEADS, the Terry Fox Hall of Fame and People in Motion.

In partnership with Career Edge, BMO launched the Ability Edge Program to provide work experience to graduates with disabilities. After graduating from York University in Toronto with a degree in business and economics, Rachel Ho was having difficulty getting her career started. As a person with a disability, specifically dwarfism, Rachel found the career search daunting. “I had little work experience, it’s true,” says Ho. “However, I suspect that part of my trouble was due to my short stature. Unfortunately, some people equate ability with size.” Last year, Ho became an Ability Edge intern and subsequently joined BMO full-time as a national assistant administrator at BMO’s employee-run charitable foundation: the Fountain of Hope.

For those students who have recently graduated from high school, this program offers several tools to help ease the transition into the work world and allows the students to build a solid base for future careers. Students are able to forge relationships with a mentor who will be able to assist them throughout the program and after. Students also gain insight into proper job seeking strategies and learn the importance of networking in addition to receiving valuable work experience.

This program is seen as a “best practice”, with high permanent placement rates. The program facilitates the transition from high school, college and university to the workforce for people with disabilities, in a manner that is mutually beneficial to both employers and Ability Edge interns. In 2002, BMO received the Ability Edge Award for employing the largest number of interns in the program of any company in Canada.

BMO Financial Group is also involved in a program that was an initiative of the Canadian Council on Rehabilitation and Work (CCRW). It was launched in Nova Scotia and New Brunswick in collaboration with the other “Big Five” banks. The program is aimed at training people with disabilities and offering them employment once training has been completed. The 12-week training program involves courses in the classroom and job shadowing. The curriculum is personalized to each candidate, so they receive information on the specific products and services offered at their financial institution. Upon completion of the training program, candidates become full time BMO employees as Financial Services Managers. BMO’s ability to take the leadership role with this program is facilitated by the integrated support they are able to provide in accommodating individuals with disabilities in the workplace.

There have also been efforts to facilitate the hiring process for managers looking to recruit people with disabilities. In conjunction with BMO’s B.C. HR Division, the British Columbia Diversity Council created a Hiring Guide for use within the division which details awareness tips for interviewing candidates with disabilities and sources for further information regarding BMO’s Accommodation Policy and diversity initiatives.

Changing the Corporate Landscape

Since 1989, BMO has come a long way in creating an equitable, supportive workplace. BMO’s strategies are informed by the belief that diversity initiatives will be more successful if they are sponsored and led from the highest levels of the organization. Despite its progress, BMO carefully monitors its success on a regular basis. “Our commitment to create a diverse workforce and equitable, supportive workplace is part of the fabric of our organization,” said Rose Patten, Executive Vice-President Human Resources and Head, Office of Strategic Management. “Basically,” she added, “we’re trying to be a leader in creating a new corporate landscape – a landscape that is equitable and accommodating to person with disabilities so that BMO can attract and retain top talent, at every opportunity. We insist on respect for everyone and encourage all to have a voice.”

As BMO builds on their reputation as an employer of choice – one committed to equity, diversity and fairness; the importance placed on these beliefs has become ingrained into BMO’s day-to-day culture. The company has developed Corporate Values, which represent BMO’s core beliefs. They stand as BMO’s collective commitment - to each other, to BMO’s customers, to BMO’s shareholders and the communities of which BMO is a part.

According to the Canadian Bankers Association, BMO Financial Group is leading all of its competition in the overall representation of people with disabilities. Since 1992, the percentage of BMO employees in Canada with disabilities has risen from 1.8 per cent to 3.2 per cent.

BMO continues to be acknowledged for its leadership in the advancement of people with disabilities. In recognition of demonstrated commitment to removing barriers for people with disabilities, BMO was the 2002 recipient of the annual Daimler Chrysler Corporate Award presented by the Canadian Foundation for the Physically Disabled. This award was initiated in 1991, to recognize Canadian corporations for their contributions toward assisting people with physical disabilities in the community, as well as special efforts in aiding integration into the work place.

BMO was recently found in compliance with all twelve of the statutory segments of the Employment Equity Act during their Audit conducted by the Canadian Human Rights Commission. This was accomplished during Phase One – the only bank to accomplish this to date. No additional undertakings were required of BMO, a testament to its leadership and success in creating a diverse workforce and an equitable, supportive workplace.


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce qu’une aide financière est offerte pour payer la production de documents en médias substituts?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Projets

Accès-Succès: Guide de l’employeur

Groupe Financier BMO : Attirer et conserver les talents les plus prometteurs en éliminant les obstacles

Par Joanne Maver

C’est l’établissement du lien entre la stratégie et les gens qui gouverne le mandat de ressources humaines de BMO – Banque de Montréal Groupe financier. Établir le lien signifie que les stratégies de ressources humaines de BMO doivent clairement produire des résultats, permettant à BMO de bien exécuter ses stratégies d’affaires axées sur le client.

Les stratégies de ressources humaines de BMO sont concentrées sur l’importance d’avoir des employés talentueux, dévoués et très productifs. L’établissement d’un lieu de travail équitable et aidant, qui reflète la diversité des collectivités dans lesquelles BMO vit et fait des affaires, est un objectif explicitement conforme aux initiatives stratégiques de la direction. « La justesse, dans tous les sens, d’un milieu de travail équitable et d’une main-d’oeuvre représentative s’est enchâssée dans notre culture d’entreprise, » dit le président et directeur général de BMO Tony Comper. « Nous y croyons, nous y sommes engagés et nous savons comment faire pour y arriver. »

L’engagement de devenir un leader de l’établissement et du maintien d’une main-d’oeuvre diversifiée et d’un milieu de travail équitable et aidant a été articulé pour la première fois dans le plan stratégique d’entreprise de 1989 qui posait le fondement de ce que nous allions faire pour atteindre cet objectif. En 1992, BMO a établi un groupe de travail sur l’emploi des personnes handicapées afin de déterminer clairement les obstacles que les employés handicapés doivent surmonter. Le rapport a donné lieu à des plans d’action innovateurs, qui continuent d’orienter et de focaliser les efforts de BMO afin de créer un milieu de travail équitable et aidant.

Accessibilité

L’un des objectifs majeurs établis par le groupe de travail était l’adaptation du milieu de travail. Le rapport recommandait que BMO crée un environnement de travail positif en aménageant le milieu de travail, en fournissant des outils de travail de rechange et de l’aide individuelle, ce qui permettrait aux personnes handicapées de contribuer de façon équitable et efficace à l’entreprise. Depuis que l’objectif a été articulé en 1992, BMO a fait des progrès considérables en matière d’accessibilité du milieu de travail.

Un exemple de ce progrès est illustré par la politique innovatrice d’aménagement en milieu de travail créée pour assurer la prestation du soutien aux personnes handicapées à partir de l’étape du recrutement jusqu’à l’emploi continu. La politique couvre le coût des adaptations individuelles comme le logiciel JAWS, les modifications du milieu de travail, le soutien technologique pour les personnes en difficulté d’apprentissage et les interprètes du langage ASL.

La volonté de BMO d’adapter le milieu de travail ressort également de ses normes de pointe établies en 2002, pour aller encore plus loin que le Code. Ces normes, égales ou supérieures à celles des codes national et provinciaux du bâtiment du Canada, orientent les efforts de BMO à l’échelle du pays afin d’adapter le milieu de travail pour les clients et les employés handicapés de l’entreprise.

Des conseils de la diversité et des groupes d’affinité, composés d’employés de tous les niveaux, travaillant dans tous les secteurs d’activités de BMO, fournissent leurs réactions à l’entreprise quant à la réussite de sa création d’un milieu de travail accessible. Ces groupes ont été créés pour accroître la sensibilisation, favoriser le dialogue et façonner le comportement englobant. Ils s’occupent activement d’accroître la sensibilisation et de favoriser la diversité et l’équité en milieu de travail. Travaillant en partenariat avec le leadership de BMO, ces groupes sont à la base de la création d’un environnement entièrement inclusif.

Les conseils de la diversité ont deux rôles essentiels : faire entendre la voix de l’employé-e dans les discussions d’établissement des buts et se faire les champions du changement à la base. Ils font ainsi office d’ambassadeurs de la diversité et de l’équité en milieu de travail, en donnant des conseils et en soutenant l’équipe de direction de l’unité fonctionnelle en ce qui a trait à l’avancement de la diversité et de l’équité en milieu de travail. Les conseils rencontrent régulièrement des groupes d’employés pour créer de la sensibilisation.

Les groupes d’affinité permettent aux employés de BMO avides d’une question ou d’un groupe en particulier de se réunir et non seulement de discuter, mais également de maintenir et d’accroître le niveau d’engagement des employés chez BMO. Les groupes d’affinité des employés sont des catalyseurs qui permettent de transformer la culture de BMO en environnement plus inclusif et ouvert. Ils fournissent des ressources de croissance personnelle aux participant-e-s et font de l’éducation et de la sensibilisation à l’intention de tous les employés.

Les conseils de la diversité de BMO et les groupes d’affinité (personnes sourdes, devenues sourdes, malentendantes; les personnes aveugles et ayant une déficience visuelle; les personnes du programme « step ahead » ayant une déficience; les gais, les lesbiennes, les bisexuel-le-s et les transgenderistes; « Lion’s Pride » – le premier groupe d’affinité transnational; et deux cercles de partage autochtones qui organisent divers événements au cours de l’année pour célébrer la diversité à l’intérieur de BMO et pour rejoindre les collectivités qui bénéficient de leurs services. Voici quelques exemples :

  • Mayfest – la plus importante célébration de la culture sourde au Canada
  • Fashion Cares – le gala de levée de fonds le plus important et le plus spectaculaire du Canada pour soutenir le Comité du SIDA de Toronto (ACT)
  • Les déjeuners d’apprentissage PCG sont conçus pour donner l’occasion aux employés de BMO d’entendre des histoires de réussite et de profiter des conseils des meilleurs cadres supérieurs de BMO, en leur permettant également de poser des questions sur la carrière et l’assistance professionnelle dans un environnement ouvert.

À l’initiative du groupe d’affinité des personnes aveugles et ayant une déficience visuelle, BMO a établi une politique pour assurer la prestation de soutien aux employés ayant une déficience : le groupe des services de technologie adaptée. Ce groupe a pour mandat de créer un environnement techniquement inclusif et sans obstacle en élaborant des normes et en mettant en oeuvre des solutions techniques systémiques. En plus de coordonner les évaluations précises de la technologie adaptée pour les employés, l’équipe assure la recherche et le développement, la mise à l’essai et la mise en oeuvre des solutions d’adaptation. Ce soutien qui permet non seulement aux employés de BMO de travailler à leur niveau le plus productif permet également aux gestionnaires de rechercher activement et d’engager des talents supérieurs.

Recrutement de talent supérieur

Le groupe de travail de 1992 a également établi comme objectif d’accroître le nombre de candidat-e-s qualifiés parmi les personnes handicapées.

BMO croit fortement qu’en se préparant à entrer dans la main-d’oeuvre, les candidat-e-s doivent demeurer actifs au cours du processus de recrutement – depuis la préparation de l’entrevue jusqu’à l’orientation après leur embauche. BMO a constaté que les candidat-e-s choisis auront bien étudié l’organisation à qui ils et elles présentent une demande afin de mieux comprendre les activités, la culture de l’organisation et ses politiques. Cela permettra aux candidat-e-s de déterminer si l’organisation convient. Les personnes sélectionnées pour une entrevue doivent exercer leurs compétences d’entrevue avant de s’y présenter. On peut faire des jeux de rôle et préparer une gamme de formats d’entrevue. Après le début de l’entrevue, les candidat-e-s doivent éclaircir non seulement ce que l’organisation attend d’eux, mais également ce qu’ils et elles attendent de la compagnie. La plupart des employé-e-s quittent leur emploi parce que ce n’est pas ce qu’ils et elles croyaient. Poser des questions tout au long du processus évite que cela se produise. Lorsque les candidat-e-s atteignent la phase d’orientation du processus de recrutement, ils et elles doivent se familiariser avec leur environnement et les membres de l’équipe. Les personnes qui réussissent le mieux à cette étape sont celles qui demeurent flexibles et réceptives.

Il faut noter que BMO encourage les gens à comprendre leurs propres obstacles concernant la divulgation. Il est important de bien articuler les besoins d’adaptation. Il est également essentiel que les candidat-e-s focalisent sur leurs habiletés et non sur leur déficience. Afin de recruter des employés talentueux, BMO met en oeuvre des activités précises d’extension et de recrutement pour attirer des candidat-e-s ayant une déficience. BMO travaille avec ses partenaires organismes communautaires comme l’Institut national canadien pour les aveugles, l’Association canadienne des paraplégiques, le Conseil canadien de la réadaptation et du travail et la Société canadienne de l’ouïe.

BMO participe en outre à des salons de l’emploi et fait du recrutement sur les campus. L’entreprise parraine et soutient beaucoup d’organisations et d’événements. BMO était en 2001 le grand parrain de la conférence internationale « Une société inclusive », une première pour une compagnie canadienne. Le mouvement est fondé sur le concept que tous les produits, les environnements et les communications doivent être conçus pour répondre aux besoins du plus grand nombre possible d’usagers. BMO était en 2003 commanditaire officiel de la foire aux capacités organisée par FACE. Les autres commandites incluent Mayfest – l’événement annuel du Ontario Association for the Deaf, NEADS, le Terry Fox Hall of Fame et People in Motion.

Partenaire d’Avantage Carrière, BMO a lancé le programme Avantage Sans Limites pour fournir de l’expérience de travail aux diplômé-e-s ayant une déficience. Diplômée en affaires et en économie de l’Université York à Toronto, Rachel Ho avait de la difficulté à lancer sa carrière. Rachel est une personne ayant une déficience, dans son cas c’est le nanisme, et elle était intimidée par les aléas du début de carrière. « J’avais peu d’expérience de travail, c’est vrai, dit Rachel. Je soupçonne toutefois qu’une partie de mon problème venait de ma petite taille. Malheureusement, certaines personnes assimilent les compétences à la taille. » Rachel est devenu l’an dernier stagiaire du programme Avantage Sans Limites et est ensuite entrée à BMO à temps plein à titre d’ajointe administrative nationale de l’oeuvre de bienfaisance des employés de BMO : La Fontaine d’espoir.

Pour les étudiant-e-s diplômés depuis peu du secondaire, ce programme offre divers outils destinés à faciliter la transition vers le monde du travail et à permettre aux étudiant-e-s de construire une base solide pour leur carrière. Les étudiant-e-s sont en mesure d’établir des rapports avec un mentor qui sera capable de les aider au cours du programme et par la suite. Les étudiant-e-s voient également des stratégies convenables de recherche d’emploi et apprennent l’importance du réseautage en plus d’acquérir de l’expérience de travail précieuse.

Ce programme est considéré comme une « pratique exemplaire » et ses taux de placement permanent sont élevés. Il facilite la transition de l’école secondaire, du collège et de l’université vers la main-d’oeuvre pour les personnes ayant une déficience, d’une façon bonne à la fois pour les employeurs et pour les stagiaires du programme Avantage Sans Limites. BMO a reçu en 2002 le prix Avantage Sans Limites pour avoir employé le plus grand nombre de stagiaires du programme parmi toutes les compagnies du Canada.

BMO Groupe financier participe également à un programme qui était une initiative du Conseil canadien de la réadaptation et du travail. ll a été lancé en Nouvelle-Écosse et au Nouveau- Brunswick en collaboration avec les autres banques du groupe des cinq. Le programme a pour objet de former des personnes ayant une déficience et de leur offrir de l’emploi après leur formation. Le programme de formation d’une durée de 12 semaines comprend des cours en classe et du jumelage. Le programme d’études est personnalisé pour chaque candidat-e, qui reçoit donc de l’information sur les produits et les services particuliers offerts par son établissement financier. À la fin du programme de formation, les candidat-e-s deviennent des employé-e-s à temps plein de BMO à titre de gestionnaires des Services financiers. La capacité de BMO d’assumer le leadership de ce programme est facilitée par le soutien intégré que l’entreprise est en mesure de fournir pour adapter le milieu de travail aux besoins des personnes ayant une déficience.

On a également fait des efforts pour faciliter le processus de recrutement pour les gestionnaires qui cherchent à recruter des personnes ayant une déficience. Conjointement avec la division des ressources humaines de BMO B.C., le conseil de la diversité de la Colombie-Britannique a créé un Guide d’embauche destiné à être utilisé dans la division, qui présente des éléments de sensibilisation pour les entrevues avec les candidat-e-s ayant une déficience et des sources additionnelles d’information concernant la politique d’adaptation de BMO et les initiatives en matière de diversité.

Changer le paysage d’entreprise

BMO a fait beaucoup de progrès depuis 1989 afin de créer un milieu de travail équitable et qui offre du soutien. Les stratégies de BMO sont éclairées par la croyance que les initiatives en matière de diversité seront plus fructueuses si elles sont commanditées et menées par les niveaux les plus élevés de l’organisation. Malgré ses progrès, BMO surveille attentivement sa réussite sur une base régulière. « Notre engagement de créer une main-d’oeuvre diversifiée et un milieu de travail équitable et qui offre du soutien fait partie du tissu de notre organisation, » dit Rose Patten, viceprésidente exécutive des Ressources humaines et chef du bureau de la gestion stratégique. « Fondamentalement, ajoute-t-elle, nous essayons d’être un leader afin de créer un nouveau paysage d’entreprise – un paysage équitable et qui s’adapte aux besoins des personnes handicapées pour que BMO puisse attirer et conserver le talent supérieur chaque fois que l’occasion se présente. Nous insistons sur le respect de tout le monde et nous encourageons tous et toutes à se faire entendre. »

BMO est un employeur de choix qui cherche toujours à en faire encore plus pour assurer l’équité, la diversité et l’impartialité; l’importance accordée à ces principes s’est enracinée dans la culture quotidienne de BMO. La compagnie a élaboré des valeurs d’entreprise qui représentent les grands principes de BMO. Ils représentent l’engagement collectif de BMO, envers les uns et les autres, les clients de BMO, les actionnaires de BMO et les collectivités dont BMO fait partie.

Selon l’Association des Banquiers canadiens, BMO Groupe financier devance tous ses concurrents en matière de représentation globale des personnes handicapées. Depuis 1992, le pourcentage des employés de BMO au Canada ayant une déficience a augmenté de 1,8 % à 3,2 %.

BMO continue d’être reconnu pour son leadership en matière de progrès pour les personnes handicapées. En reconnaissance de l’engagement démontré de faire disparaître les obstacles pour les personnes handicapées, BMO a reçu en 2002 le prix annuel Daimler Chrysler pour les entreprises présenté par le Canadian Foundation for the Physically Disabled. Le prix décerné depuis 1991 reconnaît la contribution des sociétés canadiennes pour aider les personnes de la collectivité ayant une déficience physique, et les efforts spéciaux accomplis pour faciliter l’intégration dans le milieu de travail.

La dernière vérification de la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne a démontré que BMO se conforme aux douze exigences de la Loi sur l’équité en matière d’emploi. Cela a été accompli au cours de la Phase un, et nous sommes la seule banque à l’avoir fait jusqu’ici. BMO n’a pas eu à prendre d’autres mesures, ce qui illustre bien son leadership et sa réussite pour créer une main-d’oeuvre diversifiée et un milieu de travail équitable qui offre du soutien.


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.