NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Is there a national group that represents students with disabilities?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Projects

Access to Success: A Guide for Employers

Navigating the Waters: A National Employment Initiative of the Canadian Association of Independent Living Centres

By Susan Forster, National Project Manager, Navigating the Waters

Navigating the Waters is a national employment initiative coordinated by the Canadian Association of Independent Living Centres (CAILC)* with funding provided by the Opportunities Fund, Human Resources Development Canada. Anyone with any type of disability between the ages of 16 to 64 who is unemployed is eligible for individualized support through Navigating the Waters (NTW) to reach employment and employment-related goals.

Since 1997 Navigating the Waters has supported over 3550 persons with disabilities and 1108 (31%) of these participants subsequently became employed full-time or part-time, including a small number of individuals who chose self-employment. Each year our Centres also work directly with youth with disabilities who are often looking for their first job in the labour market. NTW is delivered locally in most of CAILC’s Member Centres. For a list of locations or to contact us, see the end of this article.

A Career Development Facilitator in each Centre taking part in NTW works one-on-one with each person with a disability to meet individual needs. Some participants require pre-employment supports and could be in the process of beginning the journey toward employment. Others are looking for a volunteer placement, a work experience program, or want to upgrade their skills through taking courses (such as literacy training), completing high school, or enrolling in college or university.

However, many participants are job ready. And many of our Career Development Facilitators work directly with employers and are very willing to provide qualified candidates for job postings. In recruiting post-secondary students and graduates with disabilities, the following tips may be helpful:

  • Clearly state in each job posting that you encourage qualified people with disabilities to apply;
  • Routinely place your ads with the Office for Students with Disabilities at your local college and/or university;
  • Make a practice of sending job postings to your nearest Independent Living Resource Centre and/or large disability service provider(s);
  • When setting up job interviews routinely ask candidates, who have self-identified as a person with a disability, if accommodation is needed during the interview;
  • Hire a summer student with a disability. Many disabled job seekers need that first job to get real work experience. You will be providing a wonderful opportunity for a young person with a disability and you may later be able to hire that student when he or she graduates;
  • Cultivate your contacts in the educational/disability community so that you can develop a file of résumés;
  • Ensure disability is a consideration in all recruitment and human resource functions.

Workplace accommodation is an area that many employers are not familiar with. Here are some tips:

  • Disabled job seekers vary in how much they know about accommodation in the workplace. However, through necessity many young people with disabilities have had to become their own “accommodation experts”;
  • Ask the prospective employee directly how best you can accommodate him or her in your workplace. You may discover a wealth of knowledge on workplace accommodation just by tapping into your new employee’s own expertise in this area;
  • If this is not the case, then you may wish to contact your nearest Independent Living Resource Centre or relevant disability service provider(s) for information and resources;
  • It is really crucial for the success of workplace accommodation, for all those involved in the process, to work as a team;
  • The employee with a disability needs to play as active a role in this process as he or she is able to in order for the workplace accommodation to be a real success.

Through Navigating the Waters and my own personal experience as a person with a disability, I have seen that once hired many people with disabilities do not receive the same opportunities for promotion as do their non-disabled colleagues. As an employer, it may be useful to view the employee with a disability as an individual first and as an employee with a disability second. Disability is one characteristic of that person. If you see the person first then you may be better able to see the potential of your new employee. These tips form the basis for developing an accessible and effective employment program.

Our successes with Navigating the Waters are varied. Here are some examples. One young participant now holds down two part-time jobs in retail. Another individual, who became disabled as an adult, re-trained to become a school bus driver. Other participants have been hired to work for the public service, started their own businesses, become Web site designers and published books. One participant become a dairy farmer, while another was appointed to the Ontario Human Rights Commission; yet another person was hired by one of our Independent Living Centres to work in its Peer Support Program.

We are very proud of the achievements of the Navigating the Waters initiative. One effective practice of NTW is that most of us who work on the program, including our Career Development Facilitators and myself as Manager, are also persons with disabilities. If you are an employer whose organization is large enough to have a Human Resource Department, consider hiring a young graduate who is a person with a disability as a Human Resources Consultant. Then you too would be putting into the workplace a person with valuable skills that come with lived experience.

If you would like more information on Navigating the Waters, here is a list of locations across Canada:

British Columbia: Duncan, Nanaimo, Richmond, Vernon, Victoria
Alberta: Calgary
Saskatchewan: Regina, Saskatoon
Manitoba: Winnipeg
Ontario: Collingwood, Kapuskasing, Kingston, Ottawa, Parry Sound;
St. Catharines, Thunder Bay
Quebec: Montreal, Trois-Pistoles, Val D’Or
New Brunswick: Shippagan
Nova Scotia: Halifax
Newfoundland & Labrador: St. John’s

For contact information on each location, email or call Susan Forster, National Project Manager, CAILC at projects@cailc.ca or (613) 563-2581 X14.

*The Canadian Association of Independent Living Centres (CAILC) is a national umbrella organization with 24 member Independent Living Resources Centres across Canada. Centres are run by and for persons with disabilities. We coordinate Navigating the Waters and many other disability projects. To find out more about CAILC and the Independent Living philosophy that underlies all that we do we welcome you to visit our website at www.cailc.ca.


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Si je choisis de poursuivre mes études à l’extérieur de ma province ou de mon territoire, est ce que le montant d’aide financière que je pourrai obtenir sera limité?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Projets

Accès-Succès: Guide de l’employeur

Affronter la mer et arriver à bon port : Une initiative nationale d’emploi de l’Association canadienne des centres de vie autonome

Par Susan Forster, Gestionnaire de projets nationaux, Affronter la mer et arriver à bon port

Affronter la mer et arriver à bon port est une initiative nationale d’emploi coordonnée par l’Association canadienne des centres de vie autonome (ACCVA)1 avec le financement du Fonds d’intégration de Développement des ressources humaines Canada. Toute personne de 16 à 64 ans ayant n’importe quel type de déficience et qui est en chômage est admissible à du soutien individualisé par l’entremise du programme Affronter la mer et arriver à bon port (AMABP) afin d’atteindre ses objectifs d’emploi.

Affronter la mer et arriver à bon port a soutenu depuis 1997 plus de 3 550 personnes handicapées et 1 108 (31 %) de ces participant-e-s sont ensuite devenus employé-e-s à temps plein ou à temps partiel, y compris un petit nombre de personnes qui ont choisi le travail autonome. Nos Centres travaillent également directement chaque année avec des jeunes personnes handicapées qui sont souvent à la recherche de leur premier emploi sur le marché du travail.

Affontrer la mer et arriver à bon port est offert à l’échelle locale dans la plupart des Centres membres de l’ACCVA. Voir la fin du présent d’article pour la liste des endroits et les moyens de nous contacter.

Un facilitateur du perfectionnement professionnel dans chacun des Centres qui participent au programme AMABP travaille individuellement avec chacune des personnes handicapées pour répondre à ses besoins individuels. Certain-e-s participant-e-s ont besoin de soutien préalable à l’emploi et pourraient être en train d’entreprendre le voyage vers l’emploi. D’autres personnes sont à la recherche d’un stage bénévole, d’un programme d’expérience de travail, ou encore elles veulent perfectionner leurs compétences en suivant des cours (par exemple un programme d’alphabétisation), terminer leurs études secondaires, s’inscrire au collège ou à l’université.

Beaucoup de participants sont toutefois employables. Et un grand nombre de nos facilitateurs du perfectionnement professionnel travaillent directement avec les employeurs et désirent beaucoup présenter des candidat-e-s qualifiés pour les postes affichés.

Voici quelques conseils susceptibles d’être utiles pour recruter des étudiant-e-s et des diplômé-e-s de niveau postsecondaire handicapés :

  • Indiquez clairement sur chaque avis d’emploi vacant que vous encouragez les personnes compétentes handicapées à présenter leur candidature.
  • Prenez l’habitude de transmettre vos avis d’emploi vacant au Bureau des étudiant-e-s handicapés des collèges ou des universités de votre région.
  • Envoyez toujours vos avis d’emploi vacant au centre de vie autonome le plus près de chez vous, ou aux grands fournisseurs de services aux personnes handicapées, ou les deux.
  • Prenez l’habitude de demander aux personnes que vous convoquez à une entrevue d’emploi, et qui ont indiqué qu’elles ont une déficience, si elles ont besoin d’aménagement pour passer l’entrevue.
  • Engagez un-e étudiant-e d’été ayant une déficience. Un grand nombre de personnes handicapées à la recherche d’un emploi ont besoin d’obtenir un premier emploi pour acquérir de l’expérience réelle de travail. Vous pourrez offrir une merveilleuse opportunité à une jeune personne handicapée et vous pourriez même peut-être l’engager ensuite après l’obtention de son diplôme.
  • Cultivez vos contacts dans la collectivité de l’éducation et des personnes handicapées afin de pouvoir vous constituer une banque de curriculum vitae.
  • Assurez-vous que toutes les fonctions de recrutement et de ressources humaines prennent l’aspect déficience en considération.

L’aménagement en milieu de travail est un domaine avec lequel peu d’employeurs sont familiers. Voici quelques suggestions :

  • Les personnes handicapées à la recherche d’un emploi sont différentes dans ce qu’elles connaissent de l’aménagement en milieu de travail. Mais beaucoup de jeunes personnes handicapées n’ont pas eu d’autre choix que d’apprendre à se débrouiller et sont devenues ainsi leurs propres « spécialistes de l’aménagement ».
  • Demandez directement à l’employé-e en puissance comment aménager votre milieu de travail pour faciliter sa tâche. Vous pourrez découvrir un puits de connaissances sur l’aménagement du milieu de travail juste en profitant du propre savoir-faire de votre nouvel employé dans ce domaine.
  • Si ce n’est pas le cas, vous pouvez vous adresser au centre de vie autonome le plus près de chez vous, ou aux fournisseurs pertinents de services aux personnes handicapées pour obtenir de l’information et des ressources.
  • Il est vraiment essentiel pour la réussite de l’aménagement du milieu de travail que tous ceux et celles qui participent au processus travaillent en équipe.
  • La personne handicapée qui commence à travailler chez vous doit jouer le rôle le plus actif possible dans ce processus pour que l’aménagement du milieu de travail soit une vraie réussite.

Le programme Affronter la mer et arriver à bon port et mon expérience personnelle de personne handicapée m’ont démontré qu’après avoir été engagées, beaucoup de personnes handicapées n’ont pas les mêmes possibilités de promotion que leurs collègues non handicapé-e-s. Il pourrait vous être utile, à titre d’employeur, de considérer d’abord la personne handicapée comme une personne, et ensuite comme un-e employé-e handicapé. La déficience est une caractéristique de cette personne. Si vous voyez d’abord la personne, cela vous permettra peut-être de mieux voir le potentiel de votre nouvel employé-e. Ces suggestions sont la base d’élaboration d’un programme d’emploi accessible et efficace.

Nous avons bien réussi de diverses façons avec Affronter la mer et arriver à bon port. Voici quelques exemples. Parmi les jeunes personnes qui ont participé à notre programme, il y en a une qui occupe maintenant deux emplois à temps partiel dans le commerce de détail. Une autre personne, devenue handicapée à l’âge adulte, a appris un nouveau métier et est devenue chauffeur d’autobus scolaire. D’autres personnes ont été engagées par la fonction publique, ont lancé leur propre entreprise, sont devenues des spécialistes de la conception de sites Web et ont publié des livres. Une personne s’est lancée dans l’exploitation d’une ferme laitière, une autre a été nommée à la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne; une autre encore a été engagée par un de nos centres de vie autonome pour travailler dans son programme de soutien par les pairs.

Nous sommes très fiers des réalisations du programme Affronter la mer et arriver à bon port. L’un des beaux aspects du programme est que la plupart de nous qui travaillons au programme, y compris nos facilitateur-trice-s du perfectionnement professionnel et moi-même à titre de gestionnaire, sommes également des personnes handicapées. Si vous êtes un employeur dont l’organisation est assez importante pour avoir un service des ressources humaines, songez à engager comme expert-e-conseil en ressources humaines une jeune personne diplômée handicapée. Ce serait alors à votre tour d’intégrer au milieu de travail une personne dotée de compétences précieuses acquises avec l’expérience.

Si vous voulez plus d’information sur le programme Affronter la mer et arriver à bon port, voici une liste d’endroits d’un bout à l’autre du Canada :

Colombie-Britannique : Duncan, Nanaimo, Richmond, Vernon, Victoria
Alberta : Calgary
Saskatchewan : Regina, Saskatoon
Manitoba : Winnipeg
Ontario : Collingwood, Kapuskasing, Kingston, Ottawa, Parry Sound, St. Catharines, Thunder Bay
Québec : Montréal, Trois-Pistoles, Val D’Or
Nouveau-Brunswick : Shippagan
Nouvelle-Écosse : Halifax
Terre-Neuve et Labrador : St. John’s

Pour plus d’information sur chacun de ces endroits, vous pouvez contacter Susan Forster, Gestionnaire des projets nationaux, ACCVA, par courriel à projects@cailc.ca ou par téléphone au (613) 563-2581, poste 14.

*L’Association canadienne des centres de vie autonome (ACCVA) est un organisme cadre national qui compte 24 centres de vie autonome d’un bout à l’autre du Canada. Ces centres sont dirigés par et pour des personnes handicapées. Nous coordonnons le programme Affronter la mer et arriver à bon port et beaucoup d’autres projets pour les personnes handicapées. Pour en savoir plus sur l’ACCVA et sur la philosophie de la vie autonome qui sous-tend tout ce que nous faisons, nous vous invitons à visiter notre site Web à www.cailc.ca.


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.