NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
Is there an organization that represents all Canadians with disabilities?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Projects

Access to Success: A Guide for Employers

Photo of Jacob Fehr

“People with disabilities really add diversity to the workforce,” Fehr says. “It shows people with disabilities can have productive careers, and shows the company is an inclusive employer, that they don’t discriminate based on ability.”


Profile: Jacob Fehr

Software Developer

By Neil Faba

Jake Fehr’s business card may list his occupation as Software Developer, but appearances can be deceiving.

Fehr says that a typical workday in Shaw Communications’ Calgary office involves “a bit of everything”. In addition to performing development work on new software projects, he says his day usually also involves some support work on existing software, conducting bug fixes on the company’s Pay-Per-View technology, and performing product support, as well as other duties.

“The good thing about it is it’s not cookie-cutter,” says Fehr of his job. He says the fact there is only a small number of employees in his department has presented him with the opportunity to experience such a broad range of duties. “If we had a bigger staff, I would just be a software developer.”

Fehr, who has a visual impairment, says he found his current job thanks to an internship opportunity. He says being able to get a foot in the door through internship allowed him to gain knowledge and experience in an industry he had no previous background in outside of his studies.

An internship at Shaw, Fehr says, also allows young people the chance to work on projects that would normally be reserved for those who’ve been with the company for a number of years. This creates potential employees who possess a vast knowledge of the company once the internship has ended.

“Once our interns are done, they move on to a lot of responsibility,” he says. “They learn a lot in 8 to 12 months.”

Fehr says that it’s true that experience is important in many jobs, given the contacts and knowledge long-term players in an industry can bring to a company. But, he adds, employers should also realize that experience isn’t all that’s important. While students right out of school may not have years of employment in their chosen field, more often than not, they possess the key skills and attributes that make up a valuable employee.

One of the challenges many people with disabilities face when hunting for employment is the decision of whether to disclose their disability to a potential employer. Fehr says he always discloses, but chooses to wait until the end of a job interview before mentioning he has low vision. He says he simply explains the disability, and how it might effect how he conducts the duties of the job. “I think that way, the employer focuses on the interview, rather than the disability,” says Fehr.

Another workplace challenge, both for employees with disabilities and their employers, is the issue of accommodations. Fehr says that, overall, he has had good experiences in seeking accommodations from employers. Most of the time, he is able to get around his disability by simply moving closer to the information he is reading or viewing, but he says that his supervisors at Shaw further accommodated him, without his even asking, by giving him a 21-inch monitor to work with, early in his tenure with the company. He now has two large screens at his disposal.

He says employers should realize that accommodating employees with disabilities isn’t always an expensive or time-consuming venture. “There are less expensive alternatives in some cases,” he says, “you just have to look and do some research.” For example, Fehr says he found a video card that allowed him to zoom in on computer images, which was much cheaper than the ZoomText software that many people with visual impairments use.

Fehr says that both people with disabilities and employers need to work together to understand each other’s needs and abilities. People with disabilities need to focus on their own skills and abilities, rather than their disabilities, and need to build the confidence required to sell themselves to employers. Employers, in turn, need to be willing to put aside any preconceived notions, and be willing to take a risk on someone who may not fit the typical mould of a new employee.

Fehr says there are a few people with mobility or visual impairments at Shaw, which creates a positive environment within the company.

“People with disabilities really add diversity to the workforce,” he says. “It shows people with disabilities can have productive careers, and shows the company is an inclusive employer, that they don’t discriminate based on ability.”


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce que j’aurai un accès approprié aux services médicaux si j’en ai besoin pendant mon année d’études?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Projets

Accès-Succès: Guide de l’employeur

Photo de Jacob Fehr

« Les personnes handicapées ajoutent vraiment de la diversité à l’effectif, dit Jacob Fehr. Elles illustrent que les personnes handicapées peuvent avoir des carrières productives et démontrent que la compagnie est un employeur inclusif qui ne fait pas de discrimination fondée sur l’habileté. »


Profil: Jacob Fehr

Développeur de logiciel

Par Neil Faba

La carte d’affaires de Jacob Fehr indique qu’il est Développeur de logiciel, mais les apparences peuvent être trompeuses.

Sa journée de travail ordinaire au bureau de Calgary de Shaw Communication comporte « un peu de tout ». En plus de faire du travail de développement pour les projets de nouveaux logiciels, il fait habituellement aussi du soutien pour les logiciels existants, il règle les bogues de la technologie Pay-Per-View de la compagnie et fait du soutien de produit en plus d’autres tâches.

« Ce que j’aime, c’est que ce n’est pas toujours pareil, » dit Fehr de son travail. Il croit que c’est parce que son service ne comptait pas beaucoup d’employés qu’il a eu l’occasion de s’atteler à des tâches si différentes. « Si nous avions plus de personnel, je serais juste un développeur de logiciel. »

Atteint d’une déficience visuelle, il a trouvé son emploi actuel grâce à un stage. Cela lui a permis de mettre un pied dans la porte et de connaître et d’acquérir des connaissances et de l’expérience dans une industrie dont il ne connaissait rien en dehors de ses études.

Il dit qu’un stage chez Shaw donne également la chance aux jeunes de travailler sur des projets qui seraient normalement réservés aux employés qui font partie de la compagnie depuis quelques années. Cela crée des employés en puissance qui possèdent beaucoup de connaissances de la compagnie à la fin de leur stage.

« Après leurs séjours chez nous, les stagiaires passent à un niveau supérieur de responsabilité, dit-il. Ils apprennent beaucoup en 8 à 12 mois. »

Selon Jacob Fehr, il est vrai que l’expérience est importante dans beaucoup d’emplois, considérant les contacts et les connaissances que les joueurs longtemps dans l’industrie peuvent apporter à une compagnie. Mais il ajoute que les employeurs devraient également réaliser que l’expérience n’est pas si importante. Si les étudiant-e-s qui sortent de l’école n’ont pas des années d’emploi dans le domaine qu’ils et elles ont choisi, ils et elles possèdent plus souvent qu’autrement les compétences et les attributs qui rendent un employé précieux.

L’un des défis de beaucoup de personnes handicapées qui se cherchent un emploi est la décision de divulguer ou non leur déficience à un employeur en puissance. Jacob Fehr dit qu’il le révèle toujours, mais qu’il choisit d’attendre à la fin de l’entrevue d’emploi avant de mentionner que sa vision est faible. Il explique simplement la déficience et comment elle pourrait affecter la façon dont il s’y prend pour exécuter les tâches de l’emploi. « De cette façon, l’employeur se concentre sur l’entrevue, plutôt que sur la déficience, » dit Fehr.

La question des adaptations constitue un autre défi du milieu de travail, à la fois pour les employé-e-s ayant une déficience et pour leurs employeurs. Jacob Fehr dit que, dans l’ensemble, il a eu de bonnes expériences en demandant des adaptations aux employeurs. Il réussit la plupart du temps à venir à bout de sa déficience simplement en se rapprochant de l’information qu’il lit ou qu’il regarde, mais il dit que ses employeurs chez Shaw en ont fait encore plus pour l’aider à s’adapter en lui donnant, sans même qu’il l’ait demandé, un écran de 21 pouces pour son travail peu de temps après son arrivée dans la compagnie. Il a maintenant deux grands écrans à sa disposition.

Il dit que les employeurs devraient réaliser que les adaptations pour les employé-e-s handicapés ne sont pas toujours des entreprises longues ou coûteuses. « Il existe des solutions de remplacement moins coûteuses, dans certains cas, dit-il. Il suffit de regarder et de faire un peu de recherche. » M. Fehr dit par exemple qu’il a trouvé une carte vidéo qui lui permettait de zoomer sur des images informatisées, ce qui coûtait beaucoup moins cher que le logiciel ZoomText qu’utilisent beaucoup de personnes ayant une déficience visuelle.

Il dit que les personnes handicapées et les employeurs doivent travailler ensemble pour comprendre leurs habiletés et leurs besoins respectifs. Les personnes handicapées doivent focaliser sur leurs propres compétences et habiletés, plutôt que sur leurs déficiences, et elles doivent être le plus sûres d’elles possible pour se vendre aux employeurs. Les employeurs doivent être prêts de leur côté à mettre les idées préconçues au rancart et à prendre un risque avec une personne qui n’entre peut-être pas dans le moule habituel du nouvel employé.

Jacob Fehr dit qu’il y a quelques personnes ayant une mobilité réduite ou une déficience visuelle chez Shaw et que cela crée un environnement positif dans la compagnie.

« Les personnes handicapées ajoutent vraiment de la diversité à l’effectif, dit-il. Elles illustrent que les personnes handicapées peuvent avoir des carrières productives et démontrent que la compagnie est un employeur inclusif qui ne fait pas de discrimination fondée sur l’habileté. »


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.