NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Where can students with learning disabilities receive funding to help cover the cost of disability assessments?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Projects

Access to Success: A Guide for Employers

Resources for Employers

The following pages detail some resources in print, online and in other forms, which can offer employers advice on hiring, accommodating, and effectively working with people with disabilities. In this section you will find resource materials from the Canadian and American governments, along with some organizations and individuals aiming to increase the representation of people with disabilities in the workforce.

Barrier-Free Employers: Practical Guide for Employment Accommodation for People with Disabilities, online resource (www.chrc-ccdp.ca/ee/bfe-eso.asp).

This online guide from the Canadian Human Rights Commission is designed to aid employers who have questions regarding hiring and accommodating people with disabilities in the workplace. Information on the duty to accommodate, as set out in the Canadian Human Rights Act, is included, as are links to the Employment Equity Act and a Framework for Compliance to the Act. Another section details how to ensure a workplace is accessible to people of all abilities, from the interview process, to making adjustments in an organization’s physical environment.

Brief descriptions are given for various types of disabilities, and a selection of common accommodation considerations is listed, giving employers an idea of the sorts of changes that might be required in order for an employee with a disability to effectively do his or her job. Finally the guide offers an FAQ section, discussing common questions employers have regarding accommodation, from the costs involved in accommodating, to how best to prepare other employees who will work with a person with a disability.

Succeeding Together: People with Disabilities in the Workplace, online resource (www.csun.edu/%7Esp20558/dis/emcontents.html). Goldstein, Terry, Christina Simonds, and Courtney Sanders.

An American publication, much of the legal information within this online publication is American in focus. However, the information included is extensive and of value to employers everywhere. A section details various disabilities and ways for employers to effectively interact with people with disabilities. There is also good information for employers looking to write a comprehensive job description, so that both employers and employment candidates are aware of a position’s duties. A section on interview techniques discusses how to ensure the interview is accessible, questions that should not be asked of a candidate, how to effectively test applicants with disabilities, and specific interview guidelines for candidates with specific disabilities. Finally, the document contains good information on average accommodation costs and types.

Preparing For and Conducting an Effective Job Interview, online resource (www.dol.gov/odep/pubs/ek99/jobinter.html)

This tip sheet, compiled by the U.S. Department of Labor, provides brief but informative ideas on effectively conducting a job interview with a person with a disability. The information, presented in point form, is listed under the headings Preparing for the Interview, and Conducting the Interview.

United States Office of Disability Employment Policy, Publications page (www.dol.gov/odep/pubs/publicat.htm)

This page offers links to a selection of documents put out by this U.S. government office, aimed at both employers looking to hire people with disabilities, and those persons with disabilities looking for employment. The material examines the importance of hiring people with disabilities, how to recruit the best candidates, effective ways to accommodate, how to prepare employees working with someone with a disability, and other key topics. Also, there is a variety of information on relevant American laws and regulations. Although much of the material is American-focused, it is comprehensive and relevant to employers in Canada and elsewhere.

Tap into Employability: An Employers Guide (Community Action Network, 2001)

This Canadian guide places an emphasis on how hiring and managing people with disabilities can be much the same as those without disabilities, with some exceptions. The book covers methods employers can use to ensure people with disabilities have an equal opportunity to apply for and obtain employment, and looks at how to effectively manage people with disabilities – covering topics such as accommodation and termination.

Tapping the Talents of People with Disabilities: A Guide for Employers (The Conference Board of Canada, 2001)

This guide emphasizes how hiring people with disabilities can improve a company’s image in society, and attract a new client base in those individuals with disabilities. It is suggested that employers work with employment agencies and organizations that assist people with disabilities, in order to recruit qualified candidates and create a more diverse workforce. Also of note, the guide discusses the value of working with post-secondary campus centres for people with disabilities, and of offering internships to locate and train skilled people.

Other valuable resources:

  • Creating a Welcoming Workplace for Employees with Disabilities, Treasury Board of Canada, 2000.
  • Disability, Job Accommodations and Their Costs, Roeher Institute, 2000.
  • Employ with Expertise: A Toolkit for Success in Hiring Individuals with a Disability, WORKink Alberta, 2002.
  • Hiring Someone with an Intellectual Disability: A Tool Kit for Employers, Canadian Association for Community Living.
  • A Way with Words: Guidelines and Appropriate Terminology for the Portrayal of Persons with Disabilities, Office for Disability Issues, Human Resources Development Canada, 1998.
  • Working Well: An Employer’s Guide to Hiring and Retaining People with Mental Illness, Agnes Vandergang, Canadian Mental Health Association, 2002.
  • Working with Hearing Loss: A Guide for Employees, Employers and Entrepreneurs, Canadian Hard of Hearing Association, 2000.



Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce que le conseiller d’orientation de mon école secondaire peut m’aider à choisir un collège ou une université qui pourra répondre aux besoins particuliers liés à ma déficience tout en offrant des programmes de la qualité requise dans le domaine de mon choix?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Projets

Accès-Succès: Guide de l’employeur

Ressources pour les employeurs

Les pages suivantes présentent des ressources en imprimé, en ligne et sous d’autres formes, qui peuvent offrir des conseils aux employeurs concernant le recrutement, l’aménagement et les façons efficaces de travailler avec les personnes handicapées. Vous y trouverez du matériel des gouvernements du Canada et des États-Unis, et également d’organisations et de particuliers, afin d’accroître la représentation des personnes handicapées dans la main-d’oeuvre.

Employeurs sans obstacles : Guide pratique des mesures d’adaptation au travail visant les personnes handicapées, ressource en ligne (www.chrc-ccdp.ca/ee/bfe-eso.asp).

Ce guide en ligne de la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne est conçu pour aider les employeurs qui ont des questions sur le recrutement des personnes handicapées et sur les adaptations du milieu de travail. Il contient de l’information sur l’obligation de prendre des mesures d’adaptation, conformément à la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne, et des liens vers la Loi sur l’équité en matière d’emploi et vers le Document cadre : Vérifications de la conformité à la loi sur l’équité en matière d’emploi. Une autre section explique comment rendre un milieu de travail accessible à toutes les personnes, à compter du processus d’entrevue, et concernant les adaptations dans l’environnement physique d’une organisation.

Le guide contient de brèves descriptions de divers types d’incapacités et présente une sélection des aspects communs de l’adaptation, afin de donner aux employeurs une idée des types de changements susceptibles d’être requis pour qu’une personne handicapée puisse faire son travail efficacement.

Finalement, le guide contient une section des questions posées le plus souvent, par exemple des questions communes des employeurs en matière d’adaptations, notamment les coûts des adaptations et la meilleure façon de préparer les autres employés qui travailleront avec une personne ayant une déficience.

Succeeding Together: People with Disabilities in the Workplace, ressource en ligne (www.csun.edu/%7Esp20558/dis/emcontents.html). Goldstein, Terry, Christina Simonds, et Courtney Sanders.

Il s’agit d’une publication américaine en ligne qui offre en grande partie de l’information juridique de nature américaine. Elle présente toutefois considérablement d’information utile pour les employeurs de partout. Une des sections de la publication explique divers types de déficiences et les façons pour les employeurs d’interagir efficacement avec les personnes handicapées. Elle offre également de l’information utile aux employeurs qui veulent élaborer une description de fonctions complète afin que les employeurs et les candidat-e-s soient au courant des tâches du poste. Une section sur les techniques d’entrevue examine comment assurer que l’entrevue est accessible, présente des questions qu’il ne faut pas poser à un-e candidat-e, explique comment mettre efficacement à l’épreuve les candidat-e-s ayant une déficience et contient des lignes directrices d’entrevue expressément pour les candidat-e-s ayant des déficiences particulières. Finalement, le document contient de l’information utile sur les coûts et sur les types moyens d’adaptations.

Preparing For and Conducting an Effective Job Interview, ressource en ligne (www.dol.gov/odep/pubs/ek99/jobinter.html)

Cette feuille de suggestions élaborée par le U.S. Department of Labor offre des idées brèves mais instructives sur la façon de faire une entrevue d’emploi efficace avec une personne handicapée. L’information, présentée en style télégraphique, se trouve sous les rubriques traitant de l’élaboration de l’entrevue et de sa conduite.

United States Office of Disability Employment Policy, Publications page (www.dol.gov/odep/pubs/publicat.htm)

Cette page offre des liens vers une sélection de documents publiés par ce bureau du gouvernement des États-Unis, s’adressant à la fois aux employeurs qui désirent engager des personnes handicapées et aux personnes handicapées qui cherchent un emploi. Le matériel examine l’importance d’engager des personnes handicapées, comment recruter les meilleur-e-s candidat-e-s, les meilleures façons de faire des adaptations, comment préparer les employés qui travaillent avec une personne handicapée et d’autres sujets clés. On y trouve aussi une vaste gamme d’informations sur les lois et sur les règlements américains pertinents. Si la majorité du matériel est de nature américaine, il est complet et pertinent pour les employeurs du Canada et d’ailleurs.

Tap into Employability: An Employers Guide (Community Action Network, 2001)

Ce guide canadien met en valeur comment le recrutement et la gestion des personnes handicapées peuvent être très semblables à ce qui concerne les personnes non handicapées, à quelques exceptions près. Il couvre les méthodes à la disposition des employeurs pour assurer que les personnes handicapées ont une chance égale de demander de l’emploi et d’en obtenir, et il examine aussi comment gérer efficacement les personnes handicapées, en couvrant des sujets comme les adaptations et la cessation d’emploi.

Tapping the Talents of People with Disabilities: Guide de l’employeur (The Conference Board of Canada, 2001)

Ce guide souligne comment le fait d’engager des personnes handicapées peut améliorer l’image d’une compagnie dans la société et attirer une nouvelle clientèle de personnes handicapées. Il propose que les employeurs travaillent avec les agences et les organismes d’emploi qui aident les personnes handicapées, afin de recruter des candidat-e-s qualifiés et de créer une main-d’oeuvre plus diversifiée. Notons aussi que le guide se penche sur la valeur de travailler avec des Centres communautaires postseondaires pour les personnes handicapées, et d’offrir des stages afin de trouver et de former des personnes qualifiées.

Autres ressources utiles:

  • Établir un milieu de travail accueillant pour les employés handicapés, Conseil du Trésor du Canada, 2000.
  • Disability, Job Accommodations and Their Costs, Roeher Institute, 2000.
  • Employ with Expertise: A Toolkit for Success in Hiring Individuals with a Disability, WORKink Alberta, 2002.
  • Hiring Someone with an Intellectual Disability: Une trousse d’outils pour les employeurs, Association canadienne pour l’intégration communautaire.
  • Le pouvoir des mots : Conseils généraux et guide terminologique pour une représentation adéquate des personnes ayant une déficience, Office des affaires des personnes handicapées, Développement des ressources humaines Canada, 1998.
  • Working Well: An Employer’s Guide to Hiring and Retaining People with Mental Illness, Agnes Vandergang, Association canadienne pour la santé mentale, 2002.
  • Working with Hearing Loss: A Guide for Employees, Employers and Entrepreneurs, Société canadienne de l’ouïe, 2000.



Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.