NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Where can students with learning disabilities receive funding to help cover the cost of disability assessments?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Projects

Access to Success: A Guide for Employers

The Federal Government’s STARR (Science and Technology Abilities Recruitment and Retention) Initiative and Hiring within the Federal Public Service

STARR (Science and Technology Abilities Recruitment and Retention) is an innovative partnership among eight science-based departments and agencies to recruit and retain persons with disabilities into scientific and technical positions with the Federal Public Service. STARR was created to bring the representation of persons with disabilities to a fair and equitable level across departments and agencies through the active recruitment of students and new graduates. This initiative includes visible minority persons with disabilities, aboriginal persons with disabilities and women with disabilities.

The program is offered through the following departments and agencies:

  • Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada: www.agr.gc.ca
  • Canadian Space Agency: www.space.gc.ca
  • Environment Canada: www.ec.gc.ca
  • Fisheries and Oceans Canada: www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca
  • Health Canada: www.hc-sc.gc.ca
  • National Defence: www.drdc-rddc.gc.ca or www.forces.gc.ca
  • Natural Resources Canada: www.nrcan.gc.ca
  • National Research Council: www.nrc-cnrc.gc.ca/careers

The purpose of STARR is to provide a number of students with disabilities who are enrolled in science and technology programs at universities and colleges across Canada with job training through participation in various work experience programs offered by the partnering departments and agencies. It also supports the establishment of methods to encourage career development of persons with disabilities within the partnering departments and agencies. In order to be considered to participate in the program, an applicant must be a Canadian citizen, eligible to work for the Federal Government, self-identify as a person with a disability and be studying or have graduated in the field of science and technology, or, have relevant experience in science or technology fields. Students who are returning to full-time studies in the fall can apply through the Federal Student Work Experience Program. Graduates can apply through the Post-Secondary Recruitment program. Information on both of these programs is available at: www.jobs.gc.ca

The program was developed because the Federal science and technology departments and agencies recognized people with disabilities as a “community at risk” not sufficiently represented in government jobs. There is a substantial gap between the government’s stated commitment to be more inclusive, especially in the share of positions held by persons with disabilities and the number actually employed. The Science and Technology Ability Recruitment and Retention (STARR) Initiative supports the government’s strategies to achieve a more representative, inclusive workforce and to project the Public Service as an employer of choice, while addressing the future, specific science and technology needs of each partnering department and agency.

The STARR program complements two other federal employment initiatives: Co-operative Education Programs (Co-op) and the Federal Student Work Experience Program (FSWEP). There are 5,000 Co-op students hired from 150 universities and colleges across Canada, with the Public Service as the largest employer of Co-op students in the country. Applicants to this program must be pursuing full-time studies as defined by post-secondary institutions and registered in a co-operative education/internship program recognized by the Public Service Commission. Four month work terms begin in January, May or September. At the end of each Co-op placement, a written evaluation of the student’s performance is submitted to the educational institution for approval of credits. The FSWEP receives applications from 90,000 students nation-wide and about 10,000 are hired to work in the public service for the summer. To be eligible for FSWEP, applicants must be recognized as full-time in an accredited academic institution (part-time students with a disability are eligible to apply) and returning to full-time studies in the next academic term.

A Co-op student can return for another Co-op/Internship work term in the same or similar position within the Department if she/he has previously worked under the Co-operative Education/ Internship Program. If all parties agree (manager, student and educational institution), Co-op students can do back to back work terms, which are two consecutive Co-op work terms of four months each. FSWEP students can be re-employed for another work term in the same or a similar position within the Department if they have worked the previous year under the Program. Co-op students can be re-employed under FSWEP.

The Federal government’s Post-Secondary Recruitment Program (PSR) is a national initiative aimed at recruiting post-secondary graduates to fill entry-level positions in the Public Service. PSR is an excellent source of candidates for managers wishing to renew and rejuvenate the federal workforce and to meet Employment Equity objectives. There is an inventory of post-secondary graduates, which provides immediate access to qualified applicants. Jobs can be posted on the PSR Web site at any time during the year at: www.jobs.gc.ca

(This article was prepared from text on the STARR Web site: www.sciencetech.gc.ca/STARR/starr_e.shtml and notes from a presentation by Mario D’Arcy, National Recruitment Director, Health Canada at the NEADS Student Leadership and Employment Forum in Vancouver on March 14, 2003.)


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
À qui les étudiants ayant des troubles d’apprentissage peuvent-ils s’adresser afin de recevoir des fonds pour les aider à payer les frais d’évaluation de leur état?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Projets

Accès-Succès: Guide de l’employeur

L’initiative STARR du gouvernement fédéral (Science and Technology Abilities Recruitment and Retention) et le recrutement dans la fonction publique fédérale

STARR (pour recrutement et rétention des talents en sciences et en technologie) est un partenariat innovateur de huit ministères et organismes scientifiques pour recruter et conserver les services des personnes handicapées dans les postes scientifiques et techniques de la fonction publique fédérale. STARR a été créé pour hausser la représentation des personnes handicapées à un niveau juste et équitable dans les ministères et les organismes en recrutant activement des étudiant-e-s et des nouveaux diplômé-e-s. Cette initiative inclut les personnes handicapées des minorités visibles, les personnes autochtones handicapées et les femmes handicapées.

Le programme est offert par l’entremise des ministères et organismes suivants :

  • Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada : www.agr.gc.ca
  • Agence spatiale canadienne : www.space.gc.ca
  • Environnement Canada : www.ec.gc.ca
  • Pêches et Océans Canada : www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca
  • Santé Canada : www.hc-sc.gc.ca
  • Défense nationale : www.drdc-rddc.gc.ca/ http://www.forces.gc.ca
  • Ressources naturelles Canada : www.nrcan.gc.ca
  • Conseil national de recherches : www.nrc-cnrc.gc.ca/careers

STARR a pour objectif de fournir à un certain nombre d’étudiant-e-s handicapés qui sont inscrits dans les programmes de sciences et de technologie des universités et des collèges du Canada de la formation en cours d’emploi par l’entremise de divers programmes d’expérience de travail offerts par les ministères et les organismes partenaires. L’initiative soutient également l’établissement de méthodes pour favoriser le perfectionnement professionnel des personnes handicapées dans les ministères et les organismes partenaires. Pour participer au programme, il faut détenir la citoyenneté canadienne, être admissible à travailler pour le gouvernement fédéral, s’auto-identifier comme une personne handicapée et étudier ou avoir obtenu un diplôme dans le domaine des sciences et de la technologie, ou posséder de l’expérience pertinente en sciences ou en technologie. Les étudiant-e-s qui reprennent les études à temps plein à l’automne peuvent présenter une demande par l’entremise du Programme fédéral d’expérience de travail étudiant. Les diplômé-e-s peuvent présenter une demande par l’entremise du Programme de recrutement postsecondaire.

Vous pouvez obtenir de l’information sur ces deux programmes à : http://www.jobs.gc.ca Le programme a été élaboré parce que les ministères et les organismes fédéraux de sciences et de technologie ont reconnu que les personnes handicapées constituaient une « collectivité à risque » qui n’était pas suffisamment représentée dans les emplois gouvernementaux. Il existe un écart considérable entre l’engagement énoncé par le gouvernement d’être plus inclusif, particulièrement dans la proportion des postes occupés par des personnes handicapées et en ce qui concerne le nombre réel de personnes handicapées employées. L’initiative STARR soutient les stratégies du gouvernement afin de rendre la population active plus représentative et inclusive et de positionner la fonction publique comme un employeur de choix, tout en tenant compte des besoins particuliers de sciences et de technologie de chacun des ministères et des organismes partenaires à l’avenir.

L’initiative STARR est le complément de deux autres initiatives fédérales d’emploi : Les Programmes d’enseignement coopératif (Coop) et le Programme fédéral d’expérience de travail étudiant (PFETE). Il y a 5 000 étudiant-e-s provenant de 150 universités et collèges du Canada qui travaillent dans la fonction publique, qui est le plus important employeur d’étudiant-e-s des programmes Coop du pays. Les candidat-e-s à ce programme doivent poursuivre des études à temps plein conformément aux établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire et doivent être inscrits dans un programme coopératif d’éducation et de stage reconnu par la Commission de la fonction publique. Les stages de travail de quatre mois commencent en janvier, en mai ou en septembre.

À la fin de chaque placement Coop, une évaluation écrite du rendement de l’étudiant-e est présentée à l’établissement d’enseignement pour l’approbation des crédits. Le PFETE reçoit des demandes de 90 000 étudiant-e-s de l’ensemble du pays et environ 10 000 sont engagés pour travailler dans la fonction publique au cours de l’été. Pour être admissibles au PFETE, les candidat-e-s doivent être reconnus comme des étudiant-e-s à temps plein dans un établissement d’enseignement accrédité (les étudiant-e-s à temps partiel handicapés sont admissibles) et reprendre les études à temps plein à la session suivante.

L’étudiant-e Coop peut faire un autre stage Coop dans le même poste ou dans un poste semblable au Ministère s’il ou elle a déjà travaillé en vertu du programme coopératif d’éducation et de stage. Si toutes les parties sont d’accord (gestionnaire, étudiant-e et établissement d’enseignement), les étudiant-e-s Coop peuvent faire deux stages de suite, qui sont deux stages Coop consécutifs de quatre mois chacun. Les étudiant-e-s du PFETE peuvent être réemployés pour un autre stage dans le même poste ou dans un poste semblable au Ministère s’ils ou elles ont travaillé en vertu du Programme l’année précédente. Les étudiant-e-s Coop peuvent être réemployés en vertu du PFETE.

Le Programme fédéral de recrutement postsecondaire est une initiative nationale de recrutement de diplômé-e-s du postsecondaire pour occuper des postes de premier échelon dans la fonction publique. Il s’agit d’une excellente source de candidat-e-s pour les gestionnaires qui veulent renouveler et rajeunir l’effectif fédéral et respecter leurs objectifs d’équité en matière d’emploi. Il existe un répertoire de diplômé-e-s du postsecondaire, qui donne l’accès immédiat à des candidat-e-s qualifiés. Les postes peuvent être affichés sur le site Web du Programme de recrutement postsecondaire à tout moment au cours de l’année à : www.jobs.gc.ca

(Cet article a été élaboré selon des textes qui se trouvent sur le site Web de STARR : http:// www.sciencetech.gc.ca/STARR/ starr_e.shtml et notes d’un exposé de Mario D’Arcy, Directeur du recrutement national, Santé Canada au forum de NEADS sur le leadership étudiant et l’emploi qui a eu lieu à Vancouver le 14 mars 2003.)


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.