NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
How can I, as a first year university student with a disability, learn to be an effective self-advocate with professors, tutors and other students at my school?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Projects

Employment Connections: A Transition Tool Kit for Youth with Disabilities

Navigating the Waters

Navigating the Waters is a national employment project of the Canadian Association of Independent Living Centres (CAILC). The program is available in 22 Independent Living Centres across the country to anyone who is unemployed and has a disability. The purpose of Navigating the Waters is to promote the full integration of people with disabilities into the labour market within their own communities.

Participants are employed in public and private sector job opportunities, or are provided with assistance to start up their own business. The program helped 18 new businesses get off the ground last year alone. Participants work one-on-one with Career Development Facilitators, based in local Independent Living Centres, identifying barriers to labour market participation, and tailoring supports to suit their own employment goals.

Independent Living Centres are run by and for people with disabilities in communities across Canada. The Independent Living philosophy seeks to empower people with disabilities to have control over their own lives. Navigating the Waters began in 1997, and has since helped over 2000 people fulfill employment-related goals. For more information contact:

Susan Forster, National Project Manager
Canadian Association of Independent Living Centres
170 Laurier Ave. W., Suite 1104
Ottawa, ON
K1P 5V5

Transition and Employment Programs Across Canada
Tel: 613-563-2581 ext. 14
Fax: 613-563-3861
TTY: 613-563-4215
Email: projects@cailc.ca
Web site: www.cailc.ca


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce que j’aurai un accès approprié aux services médicaux si j’en ai besoin pendant mon année d’études?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Projets

Connexions Emploi : une trousse d’outils pour les jeunes ayant une déficience

Affronter la mer et arriver à bon port

L’initiative Affronter la mer et arriver à bon port est un programme d’emploi national de l’Association canadienne des centres de vie autonome (ACCVA). Ce programme est offert dans 22 centres de vie autonome de diverses régions du Canada aux personnes handicapées sans emploi. Le but du programme est de promouvoir la pleine intégration des personnes handicapées au marché du travail au sein de leur collectivité.

Les participant-e-s obtiennent un emploi du secteur privé ou public ou de l’aide pour démarrer leur propre entreprise. Le programme a offert de l’aide de démarrage à 18 nouvelles entreprises au cours de l’année dernière seulement. Les participant-e-s travaillent individuellement avec un ou une animatrice de perfectionnement professionnel, dans un centre local de vie autonome, afin d’identifier les barrières à leur participation sur le marché du travail et à modeler les soutiens pour répondre à leurs propres objectifs d’emploi.

Les centres de vie autonome sont gérés par et pour des personnes handicapées dans diverses collectivités du Canada. Leur philosophie est d’aider les personnes handicapées à gagner une pleine autonomie pour qu’elles puissent assumer entièrement leur vie. Affronter la mer et arriver à bon port a débuté en 1997, et a aidé depuis plus de 2 000 personnes à atteindre leurs objectifs d’emploi.

Pour plus d’information :
Susan Forster, coordonnatrice nationale
Association canadienne des centres de vie autonome
170, av. Laurier Ouest, bureau 1104
Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 5V5
Tél. : 613-563-2581, poste 14
Téléc. : 613-563-3861
ATS : 613-563-4215
Courriel : projects@cailc.ca
Site Web : www.cailc.ca


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.