NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
What funding can I get from the Canada Student Loans Program?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Projects

Employment Connections: A Transition Tool Kit for Youth with Disabilities

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

  1. Iím a recent graduate with a disability, and Iím having difficulty finding employment opportunities. Where can I find jobs?

    There are many job search facilities for students to make use of: traditional avenues of job searching, such as newspaper classified ads and listings kept at community employment centres, are always a good place to start in your hunt. But these are by no means the only methods of finding work.

    The Internet provides endless potential for employment searching. Online job banks, such as the Human Resources Development Canada Job Bank (http://jb-ge.hrdc-drhc.gc.ca/), Workopolis.ca, Monster.ca and numerous others, list job openings both in Canada and abroad. Also, many companies highlight vacant positions on their own Web sites. Visit the sites of companies you might like to work for, and see if they have a job for you.

    Internships are another good way for students or recent graduates to gain a foothold in the workforce. If youíre still a student, visit the career centre on your campus to see what internship programs they know of. If youíve graduated, that doesnít mean you canít find an internship. Ability Edge (www.careeredge.ca) and various programs operating under the Federal Governmentís Youth Employment Strategy (YES) are other options to consider if youíre in the hunt for an internship opportunity. It might also be possible to set up an internship yourself with an organization youíre interested in working with. Contact companies in the field in which you want to work, and ask if they are willing to arrange something.

    Another way to establish yourself in the labour force is to start your own business. This is an involved and at times risky path. But for anyone with the determination to succeed, starting your own venture can be extremely rewarding. The chance to run your own business can quickly teach you employment skills you might never pick up as an employee of a larger company. Entrepreneurs with disabilities looking to start their own business can obtain loans and guidance from organizations such as the Canadian Association of Independent Living Centres (CAILC)ís Navigating the Waters program, and the Business Development Bank of Canada, both of which are described in the Transition and Employment Programs Across Canada section of this document. In addition, business loans can be obtained from your local bank branch, or from community organizations.



  2. Iím a person with a disability, interested in starting my own business. Where can I turn for help? Whatís involved in starting a business? What kind of business should I start?

    As mentioned above, starting a business is a great way for people with the right ideas and the right attitude to make their mark in the world of work. In addition to the organizations discussed in the previous question, help can also be obtained from post-secondary career centres, many disability resource centres and service providers, and your local Human Resources Centre for Students.

    Anyone thinking of starting a business should be aware of whatís involved. Most successful organizations start with an effective business plan, which will describe the product or service youíll offer, how youíll go about offering that product or service, the resources youíre going to need, and a rough estimate of costs involved in your venture. The programs mentioned in this booklet can give you advice and guidance on preparing a business plan. They can also provide you with loan money, which youíll need to secure to operate your business, unless youíre prepared to fund it yourself. Remember to keep in mind that any loan you negotiate will have to be paid back within a reasonable time. Youíll also need to determine things like where youíll operate (in an office space versus within a home office environment), the equipment and resources youíll need, and how many employees to hire, if any.

    As for the type of business to start, there are as many possibilities as there are companies in existence today. Often, companies that are successful offer a product or service not easily obtained anywhere else. This can be a completely new idea, or adapting an existing product or service to cater to a section of the population not currently served. That said, you donít necessarily have to offer anything out of the ordinary to succeed. A competitive business plan and a positive attitude can lead you to success.



  3. Iím afraid that when a company learns of my accommodation requirements because of my disability they wonít want to hire me. What should I do?

    First of all, itís important to remember that a companyís first priority when filling a position is to find the best person for the job. If the person who best fits the skill-set the company needs happens to have a disability, that organization would be remiss not to hire him or her.

    In most cases, honesty is the best policy. Just as with post-secondary professors, employers canít help you if theyíre not aware of your disability and accommodation requirements. Being up front about these things at the job interview can make things easier for you in the long run. When discussing your disability and proper accommodations, donít use a tone that suggests you consider yourself a burden to the company; speak with the confidence that you know youíre the best person for the job, and that these are just things that need to be considered for you to reach your utmost potential. It might also be beneficial if you come to the interview with contacts for organizations the company can work with to fill your accommodation needs. Your local Independent Living Centre or disability service provider can direct you to places that can provide your employer with advice, funding for adaptive technology, or lending of technology products.



  4. Many employment programs exist for people with disabilities, but similar programs specifically for individuals with learning disabilities arenít readily available. Where can I turn for learning disabilityrelated employment programs?

    Many organizations Ė Ability Edge and the Canadian Association of Independent Living Centresí (CAILC) Navigating the Waters initiative, to name just two Ė offer employment programs for a cross-disability clientele. Other employment training and placement programs, such as those offered through the Federal Governmentís Youth Employment Strategy (YES), as well as the Federal Student Work Experience Program (FSWEP), offer job opportunities to young people both with and without disabilities.

    The Learning Disabilities Association of Canada (LDAC) operates a program called Destination Employment. The initiative, funded through the HRDCís Opportunities Fund, was set up to integrate or reintegrate Canadians with learning disabilities into the workforce. The program offers successful applicants free assessments where needed, as well as job skills training. Additionally, participants and project coordinators will work together to identify and approach potential employers to arrange four to eight week job placements. The program is available through LDAC offices in cities across Canada. For more information, contact:

    Learning Disabilities Association of Canada
    323 Chapel St.
    Ottawa, ON
    K1N 7Z2
    Tel: 613-238-5721
    Fax: 613-235-5391
    Email: information@ldac-taac.ca
    Web site: www.ldac-taac.ca



  5. I have a hidden disability. How do I properly disclose to my employer?

    This is a tricky question, and one which all people with hidden disabilities must deal with every day. A good general rule was suggested by a panel member at the Victoria Student Leadership and Employment Forum. He said that the best time to identify a hidden disability is at the interview stage. Invariably in an interview the employer will offer a candidate the opportunity at the end of the time to ask questions or seek clarification of any thing that has gone before. At this stage, mentioning ones hidden disability, if it has any relevance to the job, or will require any accommodation, is important.

    As mentioned above this should be done in a positive and friendly manner. One should also have a clear understanding of their accommodation needs in the new work environment, and be able to provide the employer with a sense of how they can be met and any programs that are available to support the accommodations.



  6. Are there offices of Human Resources Development Canada that I can contact for further information on federal government programs and services for youth with disabilities?

    Yes, there are over 320 local and regional offices across Canada. Visit the Human Resources Development Canada Web site, www.hrdc-drhc.gc.ca and select Our Offices on the home page or contact the Youth Info Line at 1-800-935-5555.




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
À quel bureau du gouvernement fédéral dois-je m’adresser pour obtenir de l’information sur les programmes et services à l’intention des personnes handicapées?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Projets

Connexions Emploi : une trousse d’outils pour les jeunes ayant une déficience

Foire aux questions (FAQ)

  1. Je suis un récent diplômé ayant une déficience et j’ai de la difficulté à me trouver un emploi. Où puis-je chercher pour me trouver un emploi?

    Il y a un grand nombre de services de recherche d’emploi pour étudiant-e-s, soit les annonces classées dans les journaux et les listes des centres d’emploi de la localité qui demeurent un bon endroit pour commencer votre recherche. Ces services ne représentent pas les seules méthodes à votre portée pour dénicher un emploi. Internet présente des possibilités illimitées pour une telle recherche. Les guichets d’emploi en ligne, comme celui de Développement des ressources humaines Canada (http://jb-ge.hrdc-drhc.gc.ca), de Workopolis.ca, de Monster.ca et de nombreux autres, présentent des ouvertures d’emploi tant au Canada qu’à l’étranger. De nombreuses compagnies affichent également les postes vacants sur leur propre site Web. N’hésitez pas à visiter les sites des entreprises où vous aimeriez travailler pour savoir s’il y a un emploi pour vous.

    Les stages constituent également une autre bonne avenue pour les étudiant-e-s et les récents diplômé-e-s et permettent de se placer les pieds au sein du marché du travail. Si vous êtes encore étudiant, visitez le centre d’emploi de votre campus pour savoir si de tels programmes sont offerts. Si vous êtes diplômée, il est encore possible de participer à un stage. Avantage sans limites (www.avantage.org) et divers autres programmes offerts dans le cadre de la Stratégie emploi jeunesse (SEJ) du gouvernement fédéral sont deux endroits à consulter si vous cherchez des possibilités de stages. Il vous est même possible de mettre sur pied votre propre stage avec une organisation où vous aimeriez travailler. Communiquez avec des entreprises dans votre domaine de prédilection et demandez-leur si elles sont ouvertes à prendre des dispositions pour ce faire.

    Un autre moyen pour vous établir au sein du marché du travail est de démarrer votre propre entreprise. Cette avenue peut être une démarche exigeante et parfois risquée. Toutefois, si vous êtes déterminé à réussir, cela peut représenter une expérience très enrichissante. Mener sa propre entreprise peut vous donner l’opportunité d’acquérir rapidement les compétences professionnelles que vous ne pourriez obtenir comme employée d’une grande entreprise. Les entrepreneur-e-s ayant une déficience qui cherchent à démarrer leur propre affaire peuvent obtenir des prêts et des conseils d’organisations comme l’Association canadienne des centres de vie autonome (ACCVA) et son programme Affronter la mer et arriver à bon port, et la Banque de développement du Canada. Vous trouverez une description de ces deux organismes dans la section Programmes de transition et d’emploi au Canada du présent document. De plus, vous pouvez obtenir des prêts aux entreprises de votre succursale bancaire locale ou d’organisations communautaires.



  2. Je suis une personne ayant une déficience intéressée à démarrer ma propre entreprise. Où dois-je m’adresser pour obtenir de l’aide? En quoi consiste le démarrage d’une entreprise? Quel type d’entreprise devrais-je envisager?

    Comme il est mentionné plus haut, pour les personnes qui ont les bonnes idées et la bonne attitude, démarrer une entreprise constitue une excellente façon de faire leur marque dans le monde du travail. En plus des organisations décrites à la question précédente, on peut obtenir de l’aide auprès des centres d’emploi des campus, de nombre de centres de ressources et de services pour personnes handicapées, et votre centre local de ressources humaines pour étudiants.

    Pour ceux et celles qui envisagent de démarrer une entreprise, il faut tenir compte de tous les facteurs. La plupart des organisations qui ont réussi commencent leur entreprise avec un plan d’affaires efficace qui décrit le produit ou le service offert, le mode de prestation du produit ou du service, les ressources nécessaires et une estimation générale des coûts impartis. Les programmes décrits dans cette brochure peuvent vous donner des conseils sur la préparation d’un plan d’affaires. Ils peuvent également vous accorder un prêt dont vous aurez besoin pour le fonctionnement de votre entreprise, à moins que vous ne soyez prêt à financer votre projet vous-même. Il faut tenir compte que tous les prêts que vous négociez doivent être éventuellement remboursés dans un délai raisonnable. Vous aurez également à déterminer des facteurs comme l’emplacement de votre entreprise (dans un espace à bureau ou dans un bureau à votre domicile), l’équipement et les ressources nécessaires et le nombre d’employé-e-s à embaucher, le cas échéant.

    Pour le type d’entreprise, il existe autant de possibilités que de compagnies déjà existantes. Souvent, des compagnies réussissent à offrir un produit ou un service qu’on peut difficilement trouver. Ce peut être une idée complètement nouvelle ou une adaptation d’un produit ou d’un service déjà existant offert à un segment de la population qui n’est pas actuellement desservie. Cela étant dit, il n’est pas nécessaire d’offrir quelque chose qui sort de l’ordinaire pour réussir. Un plan d’affaires concurrentiel et une attitude positive peuvent contribuer au succès de votre entreprise.



  3. Je crains qu’en apprenant mes besoins d’aménagement pour mon emploi en raison de ma déficience, l’employeur ne veuille pas m’embaucher. Que devrais-je faire?

    Tout d’abord, il est important de se rappeler que la priorité d’une entreprise qui désire combler un poste est de trouver la meilleure personne pour l’emploi. Si une personne répondant à l’ensemble des qualifications dont l’entreprise a besoin est une personne handicapée, l’organisation ne ferait preuve que d’insouciance si elle ne l’embauchait pas.

    Dans la plupart des cas, l’honnêteté demeure la meilleure politique. Tout comme avec des professeur-e-s, les employeur-e-s ne peuvent vous aider s’ils ne sont pas au courant de votre déficience et de vos besoins d’aménagement. En étant honnête au cours de l’entrevue, cela peut vous faciliter les choses à long terme. Lorsque vous parlez de votre déficience et des aménagements nécessaires, évitez de prendre un ton qui laisse croire que vous pouvez représenter un poids pour la compagnie; exprimezvous en étant confiant que vous êtes la meilleure personne pour l’emploi et qu’il faut tenir compte de ces aspects pour que vous puissiez atteindre votre plein potentiel. Il serait également avantageux si vous vous présentiez à votre entrevue avec les coordonnées et l’information d’organisations avec lesquelles l’entreprise peut travailler pour répondre à vos besoins d’aménagement. Le centre local de vie autonome ou un conseiller de services pour personnes handicapées peut vous diriger aux endroits qui fourniront à votre employeur les conseils, le financement ou le prêt d’équipement technologique.



  4. Il existe de nombreux programmes d’emploi pour les personnes handicapées, mais les programmes adressés aux personnes ayant des troubles d’apprentissage ne sont pas facilement accessibles. Où puis-je trouver des programmes spécifiquement adressés aux personnes ayant des troubles d’apprentissage et accessibles?

    Nombre d’organisations — Avantage sans limites et l’initiative Affronter la mer et arriver à bon port de l’Association canadienne des centres de vie autonome (ACCVA), pour n’en nommer que deux – offrent des programmes d’emploi à la clientèle de tout type de déficience. D’autres programmes de formation à l’emploi et de placement, comme ceux offerts par la Stratégie emploi jeunesse (SEJ) du gouvernement fédéral, ainsi que le Programme fédéral d’expérience de travail étudiant (PFETE) offrent des possibilités d’emploi aux personnes avec ou sans déficience.

    L’association Troubles d’apprentissage — Association canadienne (TAAC) offre un programme intitulé Cap sur l’emploi. Cette initiative, financée par le Fonds d’intégration de DRHC, a été mise en œuvre pour réintégrer les Canadien-ne-s ayant des troubles d’apprentissage au sein de la population active. Le programme offre gratuitement aux candidat-e-s choisis des évaluations, lorsque nécessaire, et de la formation à l’emploi. De plus, les participant-e-s et les coordonnatrices de projet travaillent ensemble pour identifier et approcher des employeur-e-s éventuels afin d’organiser des placements d’emploi de quatre à huit semaines. Le programme est offert par les bureaux de TAAC d’un bout à l’autre du Canada.

    Pour plus d’information :
    Troubles d’apprentissage — Association canadienne
    323, rue Chapel
    Ottawa (Ontario) K1N 7Z2
    Tél. : 613-238-5721
    Téléc. : 613-235-5391
    Courriel : information@ldac-taac.ca
    Site Web : www.ldac-taac.ca



  5. J’ai une déficience non visible. Comment puis-je en informer adéquatement mon employeur?

    Voilà une question complexe et un problème que toute personne ayant une déficience non visible doit aborder quotidiennement. Un membre d’un groupe de discussion du Forum de leadership étudiant et de l’emploi de Victoria en est arrivé à une règle générale astucieuse. Il a suggéré que le meilleur moment pour parler d’une déficience non visible est lors de l’entrevue pour un stage. Invariablement, à la fin de l’entrevue, l’employeur permet au ou à la candidate de poser des questions ou de demander des éclaircissements sur certains points de l’entrevue. À ce moment-là, il est important de mentionner sa déficience non visible, si elle est doit avoir une incidence sur l’emploi ou nécessite des aménagements.

    Comme nous l’avons déjà mentionné, la divulgation de cette information doit être faite avec une attitude positive et amicale. Il faut clairement faire comprendre à son employeur ses besoins en aménagement dans le nouveau lieu de travail et lui donner une idée des moyens pour y arriver, et de tout programme offert pour financer ces aménagements.



  6. Y a-t-il un bureau de Développement des ressources humaines Canada où je pourrais obtenir de l’information sur les programmes et les services du gouvernement fédéral destinés aux personnes handicapées?

    Oui, il existe plus de 320 bureaux locaux et régionaux répartis dans l’ensemble du Canada. Visitez le site Web de Développement des ressources humaines www.hrdc-drhc.gc.ca et sélectionnez le lien Nos bureaux à partir de la page d’accueil ou encore composez la Ligne Info-jeunesse : 1-800-935-5555.




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.