NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Will going to school outside my province or territory limit my ability to access funding?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Press Release

BMO Nesbitt Burns and Harris Nesbitt Raise $1.6 Million for Charities that Support Education and Diversity

NEADS Board & Reps from BMO Nesbitt Burns

TORONTO, May 12, 2005 – BMO Nesbitt Burns and Harris Nesbitt are proud to announce they have raised a total of $1.6 million (US$1.28 million) yesterday in institutional equity trading commissions for charities that support and promote education and diversity.

This is the first year that parent BMO Financial Group (TSX, NYSE: BMO), through its brokerage subsidiaries, BMO Nesbitt Burns and Harris Nesbitt, launched Equity through Education, a charitable program focused on helping people realize their educational and career goals.

“This is an absolutely tremendous outcome. I want to thank our clients and all of our supporters for making this happen,” said Eric Tripp, Vice Chair, BMO Nesbitt Burns and Campaign Chair of the special trading day. “Equity through Education represents a partnership with our clients and our communities. It is a way for all of us to demonstrate our commitment to diversity as well as our ability to make a real difference.”

The proceeds of Equity through Education will be shared between seven charities – four based in Canada and three in the United States.

Canada:

  • Canadian Merit Scholarship Foundation – Works to identify and support talented students who show promise of leadership and a strong commitment to service in the community. CMSF funds these citizens to study on Canadian campuses, to the benefit of their future.
  • Foundation for the Advancement of Aboriginal Youth – Is a scholarship and bursary program dedicated to developing the next generation of aboriginal leaders.
  • The National Educational Association of Disabled Students – Focuses on access to colleges and universities in Canada so that students with disabilities can participate in all college and university programs, including all aspects of campus life.
  • The Pathways to Education Program – The mission of The Pathways to Education Program is to reduce poverty and its effects by supporting the development of youth from economically disadvantaged communities and promoting their individual health and the health of the community by addressing the two principal social determinants of health: education and income.

United States:

  • The Jackie Robinson Foundation – Provides education and leadership development opportunities for students of color with strong capabilities, but limited financial resources.
  • The Financial Women’s Association – A prominent non-profit organization shaping leaders in business and finance with a special emphasis on the role and development of women.
  • YAI/National Institute for People with Disabilities Network - Mission is to build brighter futures for people with developmental and learning disabilities and their families.

"Education is the key to success in our society," said Dr. Philip Levy, President and COO of YAI/National Institute for People with Disabilities. "We applaud Harris Nesbitt and BMO Nesbitt Burns for creating this program that will enable so many individuals to achieve their fullest potential."

“With the generous contribution from BMO, we will support talented young women so that they may positively impact tomorrow’s Canada,” said Executive Director, Franca Gucciardi, herself an alumna chosen in the first class of the Canadian Merit Scholarship Foundation.

BMO Financial Group has a proud tradition of supporting community reinvestment and corporate and social responsibility to the communities it serves. In 2004, BMO Financial Group contributed more than $37 million in corporate donations, sponsorships and events, supporting communities, charities and not-for-profit organizations in Canada and the United States.


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Quels types d’aménagements prévoit-on habituellement pour les étudiantes et étudiants handicapés qui fréquentent un collège ou une université?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Communiqué

BMO Nesbitt Burns et Harris Nesbitt amassent 1,6 million de dollars pour des organismes caritatifs qui soutiennent l'éducation et la diversité

NEADS Board & Reps from BMO Nesbitt Burns

TORONTO, le 13 mai /CNW/ - BMO Nesbitt Burns et Harris Nesbitt sont fières d'annoncer qu'elles ont réussi à amasser un total de 1,6 million de dollars CAN (soit 1,28 million US) durant la journée d'hier, au cours de laquelle elles ont remis toutes les commissions réalisées sur les opérations sur actions des clients institutionnels à des organismes caritatifs qui soutiennent et favorisent l'éducation et la diversité.

C'est la première année que la société mère BMO Groupe financier (TSX, NYSE : BMO), par l'intermédiaire de ses filiales de courtage, BMO Nesbitt Burns et Harris Nesbitt, met en place le programme Action-Education, un programme caritatif visant à aider les gens à atteindre leurs objectifs en matière d'études et de carrière.

"Il s'agit d'un résultat absolument fabuleux ! Je souhaite remercier nos clients ainsi que tous ceux qui nous ont soutenus pour nous avoir aidés à réaliser cet exploit", a déclaré Eric Tripp, vice-président du conseil, BMO Nesbitt Burns et président de la campagne organisée dans le cadre de cette journée spéciale. "Le programme Action-Education constitue un véritable partenariat avec nos clients et nos collectivités. Il représente une façon pour nous de démontrer notre engagement envers la question de la diversité ainsi que notre capacité de faire une réelle différence."

L'argent amassé lors de la journée Action-Education sera réparti entre sept organismes caritatifs, dont quatre sont établis au Canada, et trois aux Etats-Unis.

Canada :

  • La Fondation canadienne des bourses de mérite (FCBM) - S'efforce d'identifier et de soutenir des étudiants talentueux qui font preuve d'une grande aptitude au leadership et d'un engagement solide envers les services aux collectivités. La FCBM vient en aide financièrement à ces citoyens afin qu'ils puissent étudier dans des universités canadiennes, au profit de leur avenir.
  • La Fondation pour l'avancement des jeunes autochtones (FAJA) - Un programme de bourses destiné à développer la prochaine générations de dirigeants autochtones.
  • L'Association nationale des étudiant(e)s handicapé(e)s au niveau postsecondaire (NEADS) - Met l'accent sur l'accessibilité aux collèges et aux universités du Canada, afin que les étudiants handicapés puissent s'inscrire à tous les programmes donnés au niveau collégial et universitaire, et participer pleinement à tous les aspects de la vie sur le campus.
  • Le programme Pathways to Education - La mission du programme Pathways to Education consiste à réduire la pauvreté et ses répercussions, en soutenant le développement de jeunes issus de communautés désavantagées sur le plan économique, et en faisant la promotion de leur santé individuelle et de la santé de leur communauté en s'occupant des deux principaux déterminants en matière de santé : l'éducation et le revenue.

Etats-Unis :

  • La Jackie Robinson Foundation - Offre des occasions d'apprentissage et de développement des aptitudes au leadership à des étudiants de couleur qui sont particulièrement doués pour les études, mais qui éprouvent des difficultés financières.
  • La Financial Women's Association - Important organisme à but non lucratif dont le but est de former des dirigeants dans le domaine des affaires et de la finance, en mettant plus spécifiquement l'accent sur le rôle et le développement des femmes.
  • Le YAI/National Institute for People with Disabilities Network - Sa mission consiste à favoriser un avenir plus radieux pour les personnes ayant des retards du développement et des difficultés d'apprentissage, ainsi que pour leurs familles.

"L'éducation est la clé du succès dans notre société", a déclaré le Dr Philip Levy, président et directeur de l'exploitation du YAI/National Institute for People with Disabilities. "Nous félicitons chaleureusement Harris Nesbitt et BMO Nesbitt Burns pour avoir mis en place ce programme, qui aidera un grand nombre de personnes à atteindre leur plein potentiel."

"Grâce à la généreuse contribution de BMO, nous pourrons soutenir des jeunes femmes pleines de talent afin qu'elles puissent exercer une influence positive sur le Canada de demain", a pour sa part déclaré Franca Gucciardi, directrice générale de la Fondation canadienne des bourses de mérite, elle-même une étudiante sélectionnée lors de la première année de la FCBM.

BMO Groupe financier entretient une fière tradition de soutien financier des collectivités et de responsabilité sociale et éthique d'entreprise à l'égard des collectivités qu'elle dessert. En 2004, BMO Groupe financier a versé plus de 37 millions de dollars en dons, commandites et financement d'événements, apportant ainsi son appui à des milliers d'organismes caritatifs et sans but lucratif du Canada et des Etats-Unis


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.