NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Resource Guides

Transition guides for students with disabilities are a practical way to provide key information to a broad audience and can be provided to those who are unable to attend an in-person session. A guide could be complementary to the orientation session and would include many of the same key topics. The guide would serve as a reference point for students and provide contact information and links to key information both on and off campus. The following are some tips utilized by PSE institutions in creating useful transition guides.

  • Include in the guide a calendar for students with disabilities that highlights key dates, deadlines and milestones.
  • Provide an on-line copy of the guide for all students to access and/or print.
  • Provide hard copies of the guide in the student disability office and consider making the guide book available in other student areas such as the counselling office, health services, student union office, etc.
  • It is important that the guide book be made available in multiple formats.
  • It is also very important that students know that the guide book is available. Make reference to the guide and/or provide a link to the guide in places such as the general student orientation manual, student handbooks, new student acceptance packages, college/university promotional materials, etc.
  • As parents and caregivers often provide a strong supportive role for students transitioning to post-secondary education, it is helpful to have a section providing them with tips on how to assist students during this process.
  • It is important to keep the guide up to date and ensure that resources and links are current. Review and update the guide regularly.

Resources Resource Guide Resources

Back to Enhancing Accessibility Guide


All contents copyright , 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Améliorer l’accessibilité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire

Répertoires de ressources

Les guides d’aide à la transition destinés aux étudiants handicapés constituent un moyen pratique de transmettre des renseignements à un large public cible et ils peuvent être remis à ceux qui ne peuvent pas participer aux séances d’information. Ces guides peuvent servir de complément aux séances d’orientation, et couvrir plusieurs des principaux thèmes abordés pendant les séances. Ils servent de documents de référence aux étudiants, et leur fournissent des coordonnées utiles et des liens menant à des ressources et à des renseignements importants, tant sur le campus qu’à l’extérieur. Voici quelques conseils offerts par des établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire pour créer des guides d’aide à la transition utiles.

  • Y intégrer un calendrier où sont mis en relief les dates, dates limites et jalons les plus importants pour les étudiants handicapés.
  • Offrir le guide en ligne, de manière à ce que tous les étudiants puissent le consulter et l’imprimer.
  • Produire des copies papier du guide et les remettre au bureau des services aux étudiants handicapés. Envisager la possibilité de le distribuer dans d’autres endroits fréquentés par les étudiants, comme le bureau des services de counseling et des services de santé ou le bureau de l’association étudiante.
  • Fournir le guide en plusieurs formats.
  • Informer les étudiants de l’existence du guide. Il faut le mentionner ou fournir le lien y menant dans le manuel d’orientation général destiné aux étudiants, dans les guides pour les étudiants, dans les trousses d’acceptation remises aux nouveaux étudiants et dans les documents qui font la promotion ou la publicité du collège ou de l’université.
  • Comme les parents et les fournisseurs de soins apportent souvent un soutien important aux étudiants pendant la période de transition entre le secondaire et le collège ou l’université, il est judicieux d’intégrer au guide une section qui leur donne des conseils sur les différentes façons d’aider les étudiants pendant ce processus.
  • Tenir le guide à jour et s’assurer que les ressources et les liens sont toujours d’actualité. Faire régulièrement la révision et la mise à jour du guide.

Resources Ressources - Répertoires de ressources



Améliorer l’accessibilité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.