NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Online Training Resources

The resources below are examples that may be helpful in providing online training options for students with disabilities who are transitioning to PSE from high school.

College/University Resources

  • Nova Scotia Community College (NSCC) offers an online training course for students with disabilities called a Test Drive. This includes a variety of videos where NSCC students and graduates introduce potential students to a sample of programs. There is also the Full Test Drive where prospective students meet with current students and faculty to learn what it’s really like to be a College Student. http://www.disabilityservices.nscc.ca/en/home/exploreyouroptions/testdrive/
  • For students who cannot attend the Orientation for Students with Learning Disabilities or would like access to the information, York University has developed a PowerPoint presentation as well as an auditory overview of Learning Disability Services. The PowerPoint is available online for download http://www.yorku.ca/cds/lds/newstudents.html
  • College of the North Atlantic has a Transitioning to College section on their website which offers information on what students should know before beginning school. This includes things such as human rights, college and student responsibilities, self advocacy and distance learning. http://www.cna.nl.ca/disability-services/transition-to-college/
  • Trent University has an Online Transition Program which is aimed at self-advocacy and skills development for students with learning disabilities/ADHD. To find out more please contact Trent Disability Services at disabilityservices@trentu.ca
  • Trent University offers a special online section for parents/guardians of students with disabilities. The idea is that parents/guardians have a changing role when their child goes to college/university; from an advocate to a coach. The website includes information for parents including a parent handbook. http://www.trentu.ca/disabilityservices/justforparents.php

    There is also the ‘Parent Path’ website which contains tips for parents of a student with a disability as well as a calendar describing the “normal routine” of students by term week. The aim is to help parents understand what is happening in their kids’ lives and provide advice on how they can encourage and support them. http://www.trentu.ca/disabilityservices/justforparents_parentpath.php

External Resources

  • Youth2youth program has a section entitled Getting Ready which provides information for students with disabilities making the transition to post-secondary education. It includes sections such as the differences between high school and post secondary, a college/university readiness checklist, access to disability centres, funding sources, etc. http://www.youth2youth.ca/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=48



Back to Enhancing Accessibility Guide




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Améliorer l’accessibilité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire

Formation en ligne

Les ressources ci-dessous sont des exemples qui pourraient être utiles à ceux qui veulent offrir des choix de formation en ligne aux étudiants handicapés préparant leur transition du secondaire aux études postsecondaires.

Ressources des collèges et universités

  • Le Collège communautaire de la Nouvelle-Écosse offre un cours de formation en ligne pour les étudiants handicapés, appelé Test Drive (essai sur route). Il comprend plusieurs vidéos dans lesquelles des étudiants et des diplômés présentent un échantillon de programmes aux étudiants potentiels. Il y a aussi le Full Test Drive qui permet aux éventuels étudiants de rencontrer des étudiants et professeurs actuels pour savoir ce que c’est vraiment que d’être un étudiant au niveau collégial. http://www.disabilityservices.nscc.ca/en/home/exploreyouroptions/testdrive/
  • L’Université York a créé une présentation PowerPoint ainsi qu’un aperçu audio des Learning Disability Services (Services pour les étudiants ayant des troubles d’apprentissage) à l’intention des étudiants qui ne peuvent pas assister à la séance d’orientation pour les étudiants ayant des troubles d’apprentissage ou de ceux qui aimeraient avoir de l’information à ce sujet. On peut télécharger la présentation PowerPoint à partir du site http://www.yorku.ca/cds/lds/newstudents.html
  • Une section du site Web du Collège de l’Atlantique Nord porte sur la transition au Collège. On y trouve de l’information sur ce que les étudiants devraient savoir avant de commencer l’année scolaire. Les sujets abordés comprennent les droits de la personne, les responsabilités du Collège et des étudiants, la défense personnelle de ses droits et intérêts et l’apprentissage à distance. http://www.cna.nl.ca/disability-services/transition-to-college
  • L’Université Trent offre un programme de transition en ligne destiné à aider les étudiants ayant des troubles d’apprentissage/THADA à acquérir des aptitudes et à défendre eux-mêmes leurs droits et intérêts. Pour en savoir plus long, veuillez communiquer avec les Trent Disability Services (Services de l’Université Trent pour les étudiants handicapés) à disabilityservices@trentu.ca .
  • Le site Web de l’Université Trent comporte une section particulière pour les parents et les tuteurs d’étudiants handicapés. Elle porte sur le rôle des parents et des tuteurs, qui change lorsque leur enfant entre au collège ou à l’université : ils ne sont plus les intervenants, ils deviennent des « guides ». Le site Web comprend des renseignements destinés aux parents, notamment un guide à leur intention. http://www.trentu.ca/disabilityservices/justforparents.php (en anglais seulement)

    Il y a aussi le site Web « Parent Path », où l’on retrouve des conseils pour les parents d’étudiants handicapés et un calendrier qui décrit, pour chaque semaine, la « routine normale » des étudiants. Ce site vise à aider les parents à comprendre ce qui se passe dans la vie de leur enfant et à leur donner des conseils sur la manière d’encourager et de soutenir leur enfant. http://www.trentu.ca/disabilityservices/justforparents_parentpath.php (en anglais seulement)

Ressources externes

  • Le site Web du programme « jeuneàjeune » comprend une section intitulée « Préparatifs » qui fournit des renseignements aux étudiants handicapés faisant la transition vers des études postsecondaires. Le site comprend différentes sections, notamment « Différences entre l’école secondaire et le collège ou l’université », « Liste de vérification de ta préparation au collège ou à l’université », « Centres de services aux personnes handicapées » et « Sources de financement », entre autres. http://www.youth2youth.ca/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=48&lang=fr



Améliorer l’accessibilité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.