NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Programs for High School Students Resources

The resources below are examples that may be helpful in developing transition materials targeted towards high school students with disabilities who are planning on attending PSE.

College/University Resources

  • The Transitions Program at Douglas College is a part-time, 16 week program for students with special needs and/or learning difficulties in Grade 12 or Grade 12+. The program is designed to assist students in making successful exits from secondary school into training or workplace settings. http://www.douglas.bc.ca/programs/basic-occupational-education/transitions.html
  • The Nova Scotia Community College (NSCC) has the Smart Steps Day program. Students will get the opportunity to learn about skills, tour the campus, try out some assistive technology, and meet some staff and students. http://www.disabilityservices.nscc.ca/en/home/exploreyouroptions/smartsteps/smartstepsday.aspx
  • The Blundon Centre at Memorial University implements academic (testing) accommodations for potential students while they are in high school/before they enter the University upon receipt of appropriate documentation. Staff members also regularly give presentations and set up a display at information nights that are arranged for high school students with disabilities and their parents. To find out more about both of these, contact the Blundon centre at (709) 864-2156 or by email at blundon@mun.ca



Back to Enhancing Accessibility Guide




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Améliorer l’accessibilité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire

Programmes destinés aux étudiants du secondaire

The resources below are examples that may be helpful in developing transition materials targeted towards high school students with disabilities who are planning on attending PSE.

Ressources des collèges et universités

  • Le Transitions Program (Programme de transition) au Collège Douglas est un programme à temps partiel de 16 semaines destiné aux étudiants ayant des besoins spéciaux ou des troubles d’apprentissage qui sont en 12e année ou 12e année +. Le programme vise à aider les étudiants à passer avec succès de l’école secondaire à un établissement de formation ou au milieu de travail. http://www.douglas.bc.ca/programs/basic-occupational-education/transitions.html
  • Le Collège communautaire de la Nouvelle-Écosse offre le programme de jour Smart Steps. Ce programme donne aux étudiants l’occasion d’acquérir des compétences, de visiter le campus, de faire l’essai de technologies adaptées et de rencontrer certains membres du personnel et des étudiants. http://www.disabilityservices.nscc.ca/en/home/exploreyouroptions/smartsteps/smartstepsday.aspx
  • Après avoir reçu les documents appropriés, le Centre Blundon de l’Université Memorial met en place des mesures d’adaptation scolaire (tests) pour les étudiants éventuels pendant qu’ils fréquentent l’école secondaire ou avant qu’ils entrent à l’Université. En outre, des membres du personnel font régulièrement des présentations et montent un kiosque lors des soirées d’information qui sont organisées pour les étudiants handicapés du secondaire et leurs parents. Pour en savoir plus long sur ces deux programmes, communiquez avec le Centre Blundon au 709 864 2156 ou envoyez un courriel à blundon@mun.ca.



Améliorer l’accessibilité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.