NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Inclusive Education Resources

This section provides examples and resources on the practice of inclusive education within PSE institutions and the different ways that colleges and universities are providing meaningful education opportunities for students with developmental disabilities.

College/University Resources

  • The Inclusive Post-Secondary Education program at Lethbridge College offers people with developmental disabilities the opportunity to attend college by taking classes for audit. A student who has no high school diploma or a modified high school diploma can enter Lethbridge College through Inclusive Post-Secondary Education. Facilitators modify assignments, homework and tests in order to meet studentsí individual learning styles and needs. Facilitators work one on one with students to assist them in completing homework, participating in extracurricular activities and finding meaningful employment. Students are supported year round, including the summer months. http://www.lethbridgecollege.ca/students-staff/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1221&Itemid=466
  • Mount Royal University offers an inclusive post-secondary education program which provides support to students with developmental disabilities. The University recognizes the value of a post-secondary experience in the process of becoming an adult. http://www.mtroyal.ca/AcademicSupport/ResourcesServices/InclusivePost-SecondaryEducation/
  • Inclusive Post-Secondary Education is operated by The Integrated Post Secondary Education Society of Alberta. It supports students with developmental disabilities to attend classes of their choice at St. Mary's University College.

    Students choose a variety of courses in a range of areas including English, Drama, Biology and Psychology. In addition to auditing classes, students are supported to live the life of a student by accessing facilities, joining clubs and expanding their social networks and relationships. http://www.stmu.ab.ca/programscourses/inclusivepostsecondaryeducation.htm

  • Humber College runs a program for students with developmental disabilities entitled Community Integration through Co-Operative Education (CICE). For more information on CICE visit http://www.humber.ca/program/community-integration-through-co-operative-education-cice
  • Lakeland College began providing Inclusive post secondary education in January 2008. The initiative is for students with developmental disabilities who are included in regular programs of study. http://www.lakelandcollege.ca/resources/inclusive.aspx
  • The College of the North Atlantic has developed a four stage service delivery model to address the diverse needs of students, including students with disabilities. This includes:
    • Regular College Curriculum, Programs and Courses
    • Regular College Curriculum, Programs, and Courses with Supports
    • Modified College Curriculum, Programs and Courses
    • Alternate College Service

    To learn more contact the Distributed Learning Service at 709.466.6961 or by email at dlshelp@cna.nl.ca

  • Douglas College offers the following Adult Special Education (ASE) programs for people with special needs, or barriers to employment:
    • Basic occupational education
    • Career and employment preparation
    • Customer service and cashier training
    • Light warehouse training
    • Consumer and job preparation

    http://www.douglas.bc.ca/programs/basic-occupational-education.html

International Programs

  • In the United States, there is a Database of Postsecondary Education Programs for Students with Intellectual Disabilities which identifies existing programs across the country. http://thinkcollege.net/programs/
  • One unique example of inclusive education from the United States is a collaboration between Onondaga Community Living and Syracuse University for the ACCESS program. The ACCESS program admits seven students with significant intellectual disabilities. The local school district provides a certified special education teacher who coordinates the program while providing curricular modifications for students and supporting a staff of six paraprofessionals. http://uc.syr.edu/Community/ACCESS/

External Resources

  • The Alberta Association for Community Living (AACL) has been the primary developer of inclusive post-secondary education opportunities in Alberta. Today Alberta offers more inclusive post-secondary options for adults with developmental disabilities than anywhere else in the world.

    In addition, AACL sponsors an Inclusive Post-Secondary Education Network which represents all of the inclusive post-secondary education initiatives in Alberta. Through the network they offer ongoing staff development activities and retreats for parents, students and staff. http://www.aacl.org/InclusiveEducation/PostSecondaryEducation/tabid/94/

  • STEPS Forward BC Initiative for Inclusive Post-Secondary Education has agreements with several Universities and Colleges to support students with special needs to attend as auditing students.

    STEPS Forward supports adults with developmental disabilities to go to their local college or university regardless of their level of ability or designation label. These students are enrolled as auditing students who participate fully, to their level of ability, in courses, assignments, student employment and campus activities of their choice over a period of 4-5 years. Upon completion, students participate in the convocation ceremony and receive a certificate of completion. http://www.steps-forward.org/



Back to Enhancing Accessibility Guide




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Améliorer l’accessibilité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire

Inclusion scolaire – Ressources

Dans la présente section, vous trouverez des exemples et des ressources sur la pratique de l’inclusion scolaire au sein des établissements d’études postsecondaires et sur les différentes façons dont les collèges et les universités offrent des possibilités concrètes d’éducation aux étudiants ayant une incapacité liée au développement.

Ressources collégiales et universitaires

  • Le programme d’études postsecondaires inclusives au Lethbridge College offre aux personnes ayant une incapacité liée au développement la possibilité de fréquenter le collège en suivant des cours en tant qu’auditeurs libres. Un étudiant ne possédant pas de diplôme d’études secondaires ou possédant un diplôme d’études secondaires modifié peut fréquenter le Lethbridge College en faisant partie du programme d’études postsecondaires inclusives. Les enseignants modifient les travaux, les devoirs et les tests afin de répondre aux styles et aux besoins d’apprentissage des étudiants. Les enseignants travaillent avec chaque étudiant individuellement pour l’aider à faire ses devoirs, à participer à des activités extrascolaires et à trouver un emploi intéressant. Les étudiants bénéficient d’un soutien à l’année, même pendant l’été. http://www.lethbridgecollege.ca/students-staff/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1221&Itemid=466 (en anglais seulement)
  • L’Université Mount Royal offre un programme d’études postsecondaires inclusives qui fournit un soutien aux étudiants ayant une incapacité liée au développement. L’université reconnaît la valeur d’une expérience postsecondaire dans le cheminement vers la vie adulte. http://www.mtroyal.ca/AcademicSupport/ResourcesServices/InclusivePost-SecondaryEducation/ (en anglais seulement)
  • La Société d’éducation postsecondaire intégrée de l’Alberta (The Integrated Post Secondary Education Society of Alberta) offre un programme d’études postsecondaires inclusives. La Société appuie les étudiants ayant une incapacité liée au développement afin qu’ils assistent aux cours de leur choix au St. Mary’s University College.

    Les étudiants peuvent choisir parmi une multitude de cours dans divers domaines comprenant l’anglais, le théâtre, la biologie et la psychologie. En plus de suivre des cours comme auditeur libre, les étudiants reçoivent un soutien afin de vivre la vie d’un étudiant en ayant accès aux installations, en faisant partie de clubs et en élargissant leurs réseaux sociaux et en diversifiant leurs relations. http://www.stmu.ab.ca/programscourses/inclusivepostsecondaryeducation.htm (en anglais seulement)

  • Le Humber College offre un programme pour les étudiants ayant une incapacité liée au développement axé sur l’intégration communautaire par l’enseignement coopératif. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur ce programme, consultez le site Web suivant : http://www.humber.ca/program/community-integration-through-co-operative-education-cice (en anglais seulement).
  • Le Lakeland College a commencé à offrir un programme d’études postsecondaires inclusives en janvier 2008. L’initiative vise les étudiants ayant une incapacité liée au développement et qui sont intégrés aux programmes d’études réguliers. http://www.lakelandcollege.ca/resources/inclusive.aspx (en anglais seulement)
  • Le College of the North Atlantic a élaboré un modèle de prestation de services en quatre étapes pour répondre aux besoins diversifiés des étudiants, notamment les étudiants handicapés. Ce modèle comprend :
    • Cursus, programmes et cours collégiaux réguliers
    • Cursus, programmes et cours collégiaux réguliers avec mesures de soutien
    • Cursus, programmes et cours collégiaux modifiés
    • Service collégial alternatif

    Pour en apprendre davantage à ce sujet, communiquez avec le Service d’apprentissage à distance au 709 466 6961 ou par courriel à l’adresse dlshelp@cna.nl.ca.

  • Le Douglas College offre les programmes suivants d’éducation spéciale pour les adultes aux personnes ayant des besoins spéciaux ou confrontés à des obstacles à l’emploi :
    • Éducation professionnelle de base
    • Préparation à la carrière et à l’emploi
    • Formation en service à la clientèle et comme caissier
    • Formation simple dans un entrepôt
    • Préparation à l’emploi et au service à la clientèle

    http://www.douglas.bc.ca/programs/basic-occupational-education.html (en anglais seulement)

Programmes internationaux

  • Aux États Unis, il existe une base de données de programmes d’études postsecondaires pour les étudiants ayant une déficience intellectuelle; cette base de données permet de déterminer les programmes en place d’un bout à l’autre du pays. http://thinkcollege.net/programs/index.php (en anglais seulement)
  • Un exemple unique de programme d’études inclusives aux États Unis est la collaboration entre l’organisme Onondaga Community Living et la Syracuse University dans le cadre du programme ACCESS. Ce programme admet sept étudiants ayant une déficience intellectuelle importante. Le district scolaire local fournit les services d’un enseignant accrédité en éducation spécialisée qui coordonne le programme tout en modifiant le cursus pour les étudiants et en appuyant un effectif de six adjoints d’enseignement. http://uc.syr.edu/Community/ACCESS/index.html (en anglais seulement)

Ressources externes

  • L’Alberta Association for Community Living (AACL) est le principal promoteur de programmes d’études postsecondaires inclusives en Alberta. Aujourd’hui, l’Alberta offre plus d’options d’études postsecondaires inclusives aux adultes que partout ailleurs dans le monde.

    De plus, l’AACL parraine un réseau d’études postsecondaires inclusives qui représente toutes les initiatives d’études postsecondaires inclusives en Alberta. Grâce à ce réseau, l’AACL offre des activités continues de perfectionnement du personnel et des journées de réflexion aux parents, aux étudiants et au personnel. http://www.aacl.org/InclusiveEducation/PostSecondaryEducation/tabid/94/Default.aspx (en anglais seulement)

  • STEPS Forward, l’initiative de la C. B. en matière d’études postsecondaires inclusives, a conclu des ententes avec plusieurs universités et collèges pour appuyer les étudiants ayant des besoins spéciaux afin qu’ils assistent aux cours comme auditeurs libres.

    L’initiative STEPS Forward soutient les adultes ayant une incapacité liée au développement afin qu’ils fréquentent leur université ou collège local peu importe leurs capacités. Ces étudiants sont inscrits en tant qu’auditeurs libres qui participent pleinement, selon leurs capacités, aux cours, aux devoirs, à l’emploi étudiant et aux activités sur le campus de leur choix, sur une période de quatre à cinq ans. Lorsqu’ils ont terminé le programme, les étudiants prennent part à la cérémonie de remise des diplômes et reçoivent un certificat de participation. http://www.steps-forward.org/ (en anglais seulement)



Améliorer l’accessibilité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.