NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Personal Counselling Services Resources

Included below are examples from PSE institutions across Canada that can assist in providing supportive and successful personal counselling for students dealing with mental health issues.

College/University Resources

  • Memorial University offers a variety of options for students with mental health issues including psychiatric services with access to a staff psychiatrist, chaplaincy services and a wellness program to educate students about self-care and healthy lifestyles. For more information see: http://www.mun.ca/counselling/home/
  • Trent University counselling services will refer students in need of more long-term therapeutic counselling to a firm of psychologists in the community. The psychologists will take the students on a 24 hour turnaround. Whenever possible, Trent tries to find funding to pay for this counselling. The student health plan will help cover a percentage of visits. The Bursary for Students with Disabilities (BSWD) component of the Ontario student Assistance Program (OSAP) can also be used towards disability-related services such as counselling, therapy and psychological assessments. For more on counselling services at Trent University, visit. http://www.trentu.ca/counselling/overview.php

    For more on the Bursary for Students with Disabilities eligible services visit https://osap.gov.on.ca/OSAPPortal/en/A-ZListofAid/PRD003536.html

  • Counselling Services at the University of Northern British Columbia (UNBC) offers students access to a psychiatric clinic one afternoon per week. http://www.unbc.ca/counsel/counselling_services.html
  • Counselling Services at Wilfrid Laurier University has personal counselling available for all students, whatever the severity of the situation. http://waterloo.mylaurier.ca/counselling/info/personal.htm
  • Counselling and Disabilites Services at York University has confidential personal counselling readily available for all students. http://www.yorku.ca/cds/pcs/
  • Nipissing University offers confidential, individualized counselling support at no cost to all full-time, part-time, undergraduate and graduate students. Brief intervention is also available to all alumni and previously registered students. http://www.nipissingu.ca/studentaffairs/personal_counselling.asp
  • Simon Fraser University offers information on recognizing students in distress. In addition, they provide Suicide Prevention Training. For more information see http://students.sfu.ca/health/faculty/distress.html
  • The Simon Fraser University’s Health Promotion team within Health and Counselling Services offers audio casts and video casts on their website for those who may be unable to attend workshops or classes. For more information visit http://students.sfu.ca/health/healthpromotion/yourhealth-videoandaudio.html
  • Wilfrid Laurier University offers Performance Coaching, which is a unique program to address student’s performance skills for success. This includes individual consultation, pre-performance sessions, group workshops, presentations, and on-line materials designed to enhance performance in music, sports, exams, presentations, class participation and many other areas. Learn more at http://waterloo.mylaurier.ca/counselling/info/performance.htm
  • Counselling Services at the University of Victoria provides the following programs:
    • Individual and group counselling that attends to student challenges, transitions, and opportunities.
    • Consultative services to members of the University community that foster the intellectual, social and emotional development of students.
    • Training mentorship for staff, student leaders, practicum counsellors, peer helpers, and others in the University community.
    • Crisis intervention and emergency response through cooperative arrangements with other community resources.
    • Research and evaluation to improve the effectiveness of student success programs and initiatives.

    Visit their website to learn more. http://coun.uvic.ca/

  • Counselling Services at the University of Prince Edward Island offers confidential, short term help to students dealing with personal, relational or mental health concerns. For additional information visit http://www.upei.ca/studentservices/counselling/
  • Douglas College teaches a study skills course called STAC – Essential Skills for College success which is specifically targeted towards students with mental illness. http://www.douglas.bc.ca/calendar/courses/cstac.html
  • Memorial University provides psycho educational assessments on a fee-for-service basis for students seeking academic accommodations. For more information contact the Memorial University Counselling Services at (709) 864-8874, or email at counselc@mun.ca



Back to Enhancing Accessibility Guide




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Améliorer l’accessibilité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire

Consultation personnelle

Vous trouverez ci après des exemples de ressources offertes par des établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire de l’ensemble du Canada qui peuvent vous aider à offrir de services de consultation personnels et fructueux aux étudiants ayant des problèmes de santé mentale.

Ressources collégiales et universitaires

  • L’Université Memorial offre plusieurs options aux étudiants qui ont des problèmes de santé mentale, notamment des services psychiatriques dispensés par un psychiatre membre du personnel, des services d’aumônerie et un programme de bien être pour renseigner les étudiants sur les soins personnels et les modes de vie sains. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez le site http://www.mun.ca/counselling/home/ (en anglais seulement).
  • Les Services de consultation de l’Université Trent dirigeront les étudiants qui ont besoin de services de consultation thérapeutique à long terme vers un cabinet de psychologues de la collectivité. Les psychologues rencontreront les étudiants dans un délai de 24 heures. Lorsque c’est possible, l’Université Trent essaie de trouver les fonds nécessaires pour payer cette consultation. Le régime de soins médicaux des étudiants couvrira une partie de ces visites. La Bourse d’études pour personnes handicapées du régime d’aide financière aux étudiantes et étudiants de l’Ontario peut aussi servir à payer les frais de service encourus en raison d’un handicap, notamment la consultation, la thérapie et les évaluations psychologiques. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le service de consultation de l’Université Trent, consultez le site http://www.trentu.ca/counselling/overview.php (en anglais seulement).

    Pour en apprendre davantage sur les services couverts par la Bourse d’études pour personnes handicapées, consultez le site https://osap.gov.on.ca/OSAPPortal/fr/A-ZListofAid/PRD003577.html.

  • Les Services de consultation de l’University of Northern British Columbia offrent aux étudiants la possibilité de consulter un psychiatre dans une clinique psychiatrique un après midi par semaine. http://www.unbc.ca/counsel/counselling_services.html (en anglais seulement)
  • Grâce aux Services de consultation de l’Université Wilfrid Laurier, tous les étudiants peuvent rencontrer un conseiller personnel, peu importe la gravité de leur problème. http://waterloo.mylaurier.ca/counselling/info/personal.htm (en anglais seulement)
  • Les Services de consultation et les services pour les personnes handicapées de l’Université York offrent des séances de consultation personnelles et confidentielles à tous les étudiants. http://www.yorku.ca/cds/pcs/index.html (en anglais seulement)
  • L’Université Nipissing offre un service de consultation confidentiel et personnalisé sans frais à tous les étudiants de premier cycle à temps plein et à temps partiel, ainsi qu’aux diplômés. Une brève consultation est aussi offerte à tous les anciens élèves et aux étudiants qui étaient inscrits. http://www.nipissingu.ca/studentaffairs/personal_counselling.asp (en anglais seulement)
  • L’Université Simon Fraser offre de l’information sur la manière de reconnaître les étudiants en détresse. Elle offre de plus une formation sur la prévention du suicide. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez le site http://students.sfu.ca/health/faculty/distress.html (en anglais seulement).
  • L’équipe chargée de la promotion de la santé à l’Université Simon Fraser, qui fait partie des Services de santé et de consultation, offre des diffusions audio et vidéo sur son site Web pour les personnes qui ne peuvent pas assister aux ateliers ou aux cours. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez le site http://students.sfu.ca/health/healthpromotion/yourhealth-videoandaudio.html (en anglais seulement).
  • L’Université Wilfrid Laurier offre un programme d’encadrement du rendement, un programme unique pour évaluer les compétences des étudiants en vue de leur réussite. Ce programme comprend une consultation personnelle, des séances préalables au rendement, des ateliers de groupe, des présentations et des documents en ligne conçus pour améliorer le rendement des étudiants en ce qui concerne les domaines de la musique et du sport, les examens, les présentations, la participation en classe et dans bon nombre d’autres domaines. Pour en apprendre davantage, consultez le site http://waterloo.mylaurier.ca/counselling/info/performance.htm (en anglais seulement).
  • Les Services de consultation de l’Université de Victoria offrent les programmes suivants :
    • consultations personnalisées et en groupe qui portent sur les problèmes des étudiants, les transitions et les possibilités qui leur sont offertes;
    • services de consultation aux membres du milieu universitaire, qui favorisent le développement intellectuel, social et affectif des étudiants;
    • formation et mentorat pour le personnel, les chefs de file étudiants, les responsables de stage, les pairs aidants et les autres membres du milieu universitaire;
    • intervention en situation de crise et intervention en cas d’urgence grâce à des ententes de collaboration avec d’autres ressources communautaires;
    • recherche et évaluation pour améliorer l’efficacité des programmes et initiatives de réussite scolaire des étudiants.

    Pour en apprendre davantage, consultez leur site Web http://coun.uvic.ca/index.html (en anglais seulement).

  • Les Services de consultation de l’Université de l’Île du Prince Édouard offrent de l’aide confidentielle à court terme aux étudiants qui ont des problèmes personnels, relationnels ou de santé mentale. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez le site http://www.upei.ca/studentservices/counselling/ (en anglais seulement).
  • Le Douglas College donne un cours de technique d’étude intitulé « STAC – Essential Skills for College Success », qui vise particulièrement les étudiants ayant des problèmes de santé mentale. http://www.douglas.bc.ca/calendar/courses/cstac.html (en anglais seulement)
  • L’Université Memorial offre, selon le principe de la rémunération des services, des évaluations psychopédagogiques aux étudiants qui demandent des services scolaires adaptés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, communiquez avec les Services de consultation de l’Université Memorial, en composant le 709 864 8874, ou par courriel, à l’adresse suivante : counselc@mun.ca.



Améliorer l’accessibilité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.