NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

General Physical Accessibility Resources

Included below are examples from PSE institutions across Canada that may be helpful in designing and providing a barrier free physical environment for students with disabilities in PSE.

College/University Resources

  • The University of Toronto offers an on-line map of the St. George Campus for detailed information on accessible entrances to every building. http://www.osm.utoronto.ca/osm/map_footpath.html
  • The University of Alberta provides an accessibility map which shows ground level access to university buildings as well as the DATS (Disability Transit System in Edmonton) pick-up / drop-off zones. http://www.uofaweb.ualberta.ca/ssds/pdfs/UoFaDATSMap.pdf
  • The University of Toronto Students’ Union Wheelchair Access Fund was established in 1990 to ensure University of Toronto facilities were made accessible. It is overseen by the University of Toronto Students' Union Wheelchair Access Committee. The role of the committee is to research, deliberate, propose and oversee wheelchair accessibility projects across the University of Toronto’s three campuses. For more information about its projects, contact UTSU at 416-978-4911 or by email at frontdesk@utsu.ca or visit their website http://www.utsu.ca/.
  • The University of Calgary Disability Resource Centre works closely with various departments on campus such as Maintenance and Operations, Planning & Design Services, Parking Services, Students' Union, etc. to ensure full access to all facilities http://www.ucalgary.ca/drc/node/57
  • The University of Prince Edward Island (UPEI) Access-Ability Committee reviewed the accessibility audit and formulated a number of recommendations outlined in the document Plan for Inclusion: A Response to the UPEI Accessibility Audit. To learn more on this document see http://news.upei.ca/node/4152.

External Resources

  • The Enabling Accessibility Fund (EAF) supports community-based projects across Canada that improve accessibility, remove barriers, and enable Canadians with disabilities to participate in and contribute to their communities. http://www.hrsdc.gc.ca/eng/disability_issues/eaf/cfp/



Back to Enhancing Accessibility Guide




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Améliorer l’accessibilité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire

Accessibilité générale

Vous trouverez ci après des exemples de programmes et de services offerts par des établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire de l’ensemble du Canada qui peuvent vous aider à aménager et à offrir un environnement physique sans obstacle aux étudiants handicapés dans le cadre de leurs études postsecondaires.

Ressources collégiales et universitaires

  • L’Université de Toronto offre, en ligne, une carte du campus St. George, qui comprend des renseignements détaillés sur les entrées accessibles de chaque édifice. http://www.osm.utoronto.ca/osm/map_footpath.html (en anglais seulement)
  • L’Université de l’Alberta offre une carte d’accessibilité qui précise l’accès de plain pied aux édifices universitaires, ainsi que les zones d’embarquement et de débarquement du DATS (service de transport en commun pour les adultes handicapés d’Edmonton). http://www.uofaweb.ualberta.ca/ssds/pdfs/UoFaDATSMap.pdf (en anglais seulement)
  • En 1990, on a créé le fonds d’accès pour les fauteuils roulants de l’association étudiante de l’Université de Toronto pour veiller à ce que les installations de l’Université de Toronto soient accessibles. Le fonds est géré par le Comité sur l’accès pour les fauteuils roulants de l’association étudiante de l’Université de Toronto. Le rôle du comité est de définir, de discuter, de proposer et de superviser des projets d’accessibilité pour les fauteuils roulants dans l’ensemble des trois campus de l’Université de Toronto. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur ces projets, communiquez avec l’association étudiante de l’Université de Toronto en composant le 416 978 4911, ou par courriel, à l’adresse suivante : frontdesk@utsu.ca. Vous pouvez aussi consulter leur site Web : http://www.utsu.ca/ (en anglais seulement).
  • Le Centre de ressources pour les personnes handicapées de l’Université de Calgary travaille en étroite collaboration avec divers services sur le campus, notamment l’entretien et les opérations, la planification et l’aménagement, le stationnement et l’association étudiante, entre autres, pour assurer l’accès complet à toutes les installations. http://www.ucalgary.ca/drc/node/57 (en anglais seulement)
  • Le Comité sur l’accessibilité de l’Université de l’Île du Prince Édouard a examiné le rapport de la vérification sur l’accessibilité et a formulé un certain nombre de recommandations, qui sont énoncées dans le document « Plan for Inclusion : A Response to the UPEI Accessibility Audit ». Pour en apprendre davantage sur ce document, consultez le site http://news.upei.ca/node/4152 (en anglais seulement).

Ressources externes



Améliorer l’accessibilité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.