NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Housing Resources

Included below are examples from PSE institutions across Canada that may be helpful in designing and providing accessible housing options for students with disabilities.

College/University Resources

  • Trent University Housing Services has residence spaces available which accommodate students with disabilities. http://www.trentu.ca/housing/services/disabilityservices.php
  • At the University of Calgary accessible suites are available on campus. Applications for on-campus housing are available starting February/March of each year. Students can apply online at http://www.ucalgary.ca/residence.
  • At the University of Western Ontario, all residences, with the exception of Medway-Sydenham Hall, are accessible to persons with disabilities. Additionally, three of the residences, Essex Hall, Elgin Hall and Perth Hall have a number of barrier-free design features, including specially designed suites. For more information on the amenities available in these residences, please see the Residences at Western web page http://www.residenceatwestern.ca/spneeds.cfm
  • Carleton University offers attendant services to students with disabilities living in residence to assist them with daily activities and any special needs. http://www2.carleton.ca/pmc/attendant-services-program/



Back to Enhancing Accessibility Guide




Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

Enhancing Accessibility in Post-Secondary Education Institutions

Améliorer l’accessibilité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire

Logement

Vous trouverez ci après des exemples de ressources offertes par des établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire de l’ensemble du Canada qui peuvent vous aider à aménager et à offrir des logements accessibles pour étudiants handicapés.

Ressources collégiales et universitaires

  • Le service de logement de l’Université Trent offre des places en résidence aux étudiants handicapés. http://www.trentu.ca/housing/services/disabilityservices.php (en anglais seulement)
  • À l’Université de Calgary, des chambres accessibles sont disponibles sur le campus. Les demandes de logements sur le campus se font à compter de février ou de mars. Les étudiants peuvent faire une demande en ligne, en visitant le site Web suivant : www.ucalgary.ca/residence (en anglais seulement).
  • À l’Université de Western Ontario, toutes les résidences, à l’exception de Medway Sydenham Hall, sont accessibles aux personnes handicapées. De plus, trois des immeubles, soit Essex Hall, Elgin Hall et Perth Hall, comptent un certain nombre de caractéristiques d’aménagement sans obstacle, notamment des chambres spécialement aménagées. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les commodités offertes dans ces résidences, veuillez consulter la section sur les résidences du site Web de l’Université de Western Ontario : http://www.residenceatwestern.ca/spneeds.cfm (en anglais seulement).
  • L’Université Carleton offre des services auxiliaires aux étudiants handicapés qui vivent en résidence pour les aider dans leurs activités quotidiennes et pour répondre à leurs besoins spéciaux. http://www2.carleton.ca/pmc/attendant-services-program/ (en anglais seulement)



Améliorer l’accessibilité dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire




Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.