NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Can the guidance counsellor at my high school help me choose a college or university that will accommodate my disability and still have the quality of programs in the field I wish to pursue?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Financial Aid Directory

Introduction

In order to fully participate in college and university study, disabled persons must have access to funding which recognizes that there are often extra costs involved when pursuing higher education. It can also take longer for a disabled student to complete an academic program because of a disability. These issues have been a primary focus of the Association's work for many years. In the 1993 NEADS report Study of Financial Assistance Available to Post-Secondary Students With Disabilities: Accommodating Individual Needs For the Future, 44% of the 384 respondents indicated that their total income from all sources (including financial assistance programs) was not sufficient to cover their education-related services and/or equipment costs considering their disability. In the 1996 NEADS study Employment Opportunities For Post-Secondary Students and Graduates With Disabilities, 59% of 424 respondents indicated that their student aid was not sufficient to cover the costs of their education.

During the most recent NEADS conference, held in Ottawa in November of 1998, 115 delegates from across Canada addressed this subject as a central aspect of the conference agenda. In a workshop called "Accessing Funding to Support Post-Secondary Study" delegates explored funding issues and concerns by focusing on familiar programs such as: Canada Student Loans and Canada Study Grants, provincial grants and loans, Employability Assistance for Persons With Disabilities (EAPD) and the Quebec Loans and Bursaries Program. Scholarships, awards and bursaries were also discussed, including the recently launched Millennium Fund Scholarship Program. In these discussions, students identified four key areas of concern:

  1. Financial assistance programs are often not adequate to meet educational costs, including disability-related costs of pursuing higher education.
  2. There is a lack of portability of funding from one part of the country to another, which limits academic options.
  3. There is confusion about how to obtain information on funding programs and which program's students are eligible to access.
  4. Application forms, information guides (i.e. Canada Student Loans Program: Full-time and Part-time Students Information Guide) and other promotional literature are not readily available to students, and what is available is found in many sources, from different offices.

The NEADS National Directory of Financial Assistance Programs for Post-Secondary Students with Disabilities addresses many of these concerns by providing a comprehensive source of information on financial assistance in one document, written in plain language. The directory includes descriptions of funding programs, mailing addresses, telephone and fax numbers and e-mail addresses of contacts for further information. It also lists relevant web sites. Topics covered in different sections of the directory include:

  • The Canada Student Loans Program.
  • Employability Assistance for Persons With Disabilities.
  • Provincial student assistance programs.
  • National and regional scholarships, awards and bursaries.
  • Campus-based scholarships, awards and bursaries.

NEADS would like to thank Human Resources Development Canada, which provided the funding for this project through its Social Development Partnerships Program. The Association hopes that this directory will assist post-secondary students in locating adequate funding for their education costs.

Joby Fleming
President, NEADS



Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
Si je choisis de poursuivre mes études à l’extérieur de ma province ou de mon territoire, est ce que le montant d’aide financière que je pourrai obtenir sera limité?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Répertoire d'aide financière

Introduction

Afin de pouvoir pleinement participer aux études collégiales et universitaires, les personnes handicapées doivent avoir accès à une aide financière qui tienne compte des coûts exceptionnels engagés pour poursuivre des études postsecondaires. Pour les étudiant-e-s handicapés, l'achèvement d'un programme d'études peut s'avérer de plus longue durée en raison de leur déficience. Depuis de nombreuses années, ces questions ont été au centre du travail de l'Association. En 1993, dans le rapport de NEADS, Étude des programmes d'aide financière destinés aux étudiant-e-s handicapés de niveau postsecondaire : afin de mieux répondre aux besoins de chacun, 44 % des 384 répondant-e-s avaient indiqué que leur revenu total provenant de diverses sources (dont les régimes d'aide financière) ne suffisait pas à couvrir leurs dépenses d'études reliées aux services ou équipements nécessaires en raison de leur déficience. En 1996, dans une autre étude de NEADS, Possibilités d'emplois pour les étudiant-e-s et diplômé-e-s handicapés de niveau postsecondaire, 59 % des 424 répondant-e-s considéraient que l'aide financière aux études obtenue était insuffisante pour couvrir leurs frais d'études.

Au cours de la plus récente conférence de NEADS, tenue à Ottawa en novembre 1998, 115 délégué-e-s de toutes les régions du pays se sont penchés sur ce dossier qui constituait le principal thème de la conférence. Dans un atelier sur l'accès à l'aide financière pour les études postsecondaires, les délégué-e-s ont examiné les questions et préoccupations reliées à l'aide financière, principalement les programmes connus comme le Programme canadien de prêts aux étudiants (PCPE), les Subventions canadiennes pour études, les régimes de prêts et bourses provinciaux, le programme Aide à l'employabilité des personnes handicapées (AEPH) et le Régime de prêts et bourses du Québec. On a également discuté des bourses et des prix d'études, dont le Programme des bourses du millénaire récemment mis en oeuvre. De ces discussions, les étudiant-e-s ont identifié les quatre secteurs de préoccupation suivants :

  1. Les sommes accordées par les programmes d'aide financière ne suffisent à couvrir les coûts liés à la poursuite des études, dont les frais d'études engagés en raison de la déficience.
  2. La non-transférabilité de l'aide financière d'une province à une autre limite le choix du domaine d'études.
  3. La confusion relativement à l'accès à l'information sur les divers programmes de financement et les programmes auxquels les étudiant-e-s sont admissibles.
  4. Le fait que les formulaires de demande, les guides (comme le Guide d'information pour les étudiants à temps plein et à temps partiel du Programme canadien de prêts aux étudiants) et autres documents d'information ne sont pas facilement accessibles et que l'information disponible se trouve dispersée dans différents bureaux.

Le Répertoire national sur les programmes d'aide financière pour les étudiant-e-s handicapés de niveau postsecondaire de NEADS répond à nombre de ces préoccupations en offrant une source détaillée d'information sur l'aide financière réunie en un seul document rédigé en langage clair. Le répertoire décrit les divers programmes de financement et leurs coordonnées : adresse postale, numéro de téléphone, de télécopieur et de courriel afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements. Il fournit également une liste de sites Web pertinents. Les différentes sections du répertoire ont trait aux programmes suivants :

  • Le Programme canadien de prêts aux étudiants.
  • Le programme Aide à l'employabilité des personnes handicapées.
  • Les régimes provinciaux d'aide financière aux étudiant-e-s.
  • Les bourses d'études accordées à l'échelle nationale et régionale.
  • Les bourses d'études accordées par divers campus.

NEADS tient à remercier le ministère du Développement des ressources humaines Canada qui a financé ce projet par le biais de son programme de Partenariats en développement social. L'Association espère que ce répertoire pourra aider les étudiant-e-s handicapés à facilement repérer les sources appropriées d'aide financière pour financer leurs frais d'études.


Joby Fleming
Président, NEADS


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.