NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
Is there funding available to pay for material production in alternate formats?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Financial Aid Directory

Employability Assistance for People with Disabilities (EAPD)

Many readers may be familiar with EAPD under its former name, the Vocational Rehabilitation for Disabled Persons (VRDP) Program, which was created in 1962. There have been fundamental changes in government policy and the approach to disability issues since then. So while it was recognized that VRDP had served people with disabilities well, it was also clear that changes were required. In fact, the Federal Taskforce on Disabilities (in 1997) actually had a very explicit recommendation that the federal government should work with the provinces to reform the VRDP program.

The VRDP reform has been undertaken in a larger context as a social policy renewal, which sees the federal and provincial governments working more closely together to look at Canada's social programs and see how they can make them work more efficiently.

At the June 1996, First Minister's meeting, Premiers and the Prime Minister, recognized that some services and benefits to people with disabilities should be one of the priorities in an overall social policy reform process. One of the first concrete actions undertaken was around VRDP reform. There were consultations with the disability community around those reforms and NEADS was a part of the consultation process. The new directions of the EAPD Program are outlined in a document called the Multilateral Framework on Employability Assistance for People with Disabilities. Based on this framework the Federal Government negotiated new bilateral agreements with the provinces/territories during 1997 and 1998.

The new objectives of the program reflect an increased focus on employability. The goal is to help people with disabilities prepare for, find, and keep jobs. To do this, the EAPD program seeks to help people with disabilities overcome the various obstacles they may face when trying to enter the work place.

EADP, like the VRDP before it, is a cost sharing arrangement between the Federal and Provincial/Territorial Governments, where the Federal Government contributes up to 50 percent of the cost of eligible programs and services, to a set maximum for each province. Total federal funding is $190 million annually, and in all cases it is at least matched, dollar for dollar, by the province/territory.

EADP interventions are intended to cover a broad range of programming, including such things as pre-employment support, short-term assistance and on-going active employment support. This could translate into employment counseling and assessment, pre-employment training and skill development and or wage subsidies.

Post-Secondary education support is eligible under the Multilateral Framework as well. Funds may be used to cover things like tuition, books, assistive devices and other items.

The provinces have a great deal of flexibility to design their own programs and services under EAPD. That is why the following section, which outlines provincial/territorial programs, lists EAPD separately for each jurisdiction.

While in most cases the EAPD bilateral agreements, signed between Ottawa and the provinces, do specifically refer to post-secondary education support, in some jurisdictions they are electing to fund post-secondary education through their regular student assistance programming, as will be made clear below.

Finally, it is important to note that the agreements allow for a three-year transition period, which began in most jurisdictions during the fiscal year 98/99. This was agreed upon because some provinces/territories will have to make significant changes to the programming in order to meet the new employability focus of EAPD.

At the beginning of the transition period many provinces/territories continue to deliver basically the same programs and services that they did under the old VRDP program. However, at this point it is still difficult to say for sure what the changes will be across the country. Many governments are still sorting out what their new program directions will be.

It is important to keep this in mind when looking at the following information, since during the transition period much can change. The information contained here was collected during the summer and fall of 1999, and it was correct at the time. However, students should contact provincial authorities to see what the current status of EAPD is before making plans to access it for financial support. For this reason contact details for each jurisdiction are contained in the following pages. It is hoped that this information is accurate, or at least it will be a place to start when you are tracking down possible avenues of support for your education.

Also, it should be noted that some jurisdictions had not signed EAPD agreements at the time of writing. In these cases information is presented for the VRDP program, which continues to function in the absence of a new EAPD agreement. Again, it is important to contact provincial officials in order to determine the exact situation when you are looking for financial assistance.

Also, for further information, or for copies of the multilateral framework document, you can contact:

  • Newfoundland
    Division of Labour Market Services
    Department of Human Resources and Employment
    PO Box 8700
    St John's, Newfoundland AlB 4J6
    Telephone: (709) 729-3118
  • Nova Scotia
    Employment Support Services
    Department of Community Services
    Government of Nova Scotia
    PO Box 696
    Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2T7
    Telephone: (902) 424-4329
  • New Brunswick
    Planning and Evaluation Division
    Department of Human Resources Development
    Government of New Brunswick
    PO Box 6000
    Fredericton, New Brunswick E3B 5HI
    Telephone: (506) 453-2460
  • Prince Edward Island
    Child, Family and Community Services Division
    Department of Health and Social Services
    Government of Prince Edward Island
    PO Box 2000
    16 Garfield Street
    Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 7N8
    Telephone: (902) 368-6519
  • Ontario
    Client Information & Support Services
    Ministry of Community and Social Services
    151 Floor, MacDonald Block, Room 56
    900 Bay Street, Toronto, Ontario M7A IE9
    Telephone: (416) 325-5666 or (888) 789-4199 (toll free)
  • Manitoba
    Community Living Division
    Department of Family Services
    Government of Manitoba
    Room 119, 114 Garry Street
    Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 4V4
    Telephone: (204) 945-4974
  • Saskatchewan
    Corporate Policy Unit
    Department of Social Services
    Government of Saskatchewan
    12th floor, 1920 Broad Street
    Regina, Saskatchewan S4P 3V6
    Telephone: (306) 787-3619
  • Alberta
    Services to Persons with disabilities
    Department of Family and Social Services
    Government of Alberta
    12th floor, 10030-107th Street
    Edmonton, Alberta T5J 3E4
    Telephone: (403) 422-0305
  • British Columbia
    Skills Development Division
    Ministry of Advanced Education, Training and Technology
    Government of British Columbia
    PO Box 9871, Station Provincial Government
    4th floor, 835 Humboldt Street
    Victoria, British Columbia V8W 9T6
    Telephone: (250) 387-1070
  • Northwest Territories
    Career Development Division
    Department of Education, Culture and Employment
    Government of the Northwest Territories
    PO Box 1320
    Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2L9
    Telephone: (867) 873-7243
  • Yukon
    Services to Persons with Disabilities
    Social Services Branch
    Department of Health and Social Services
    Government of the Yukon
    PO Box 2703
    Whitehorse, Yukon YIA 2C6
    Telephone: (867) 667-5669



Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
À qui les étudiants ayant des troubles d’apprentissage peuvent-ils s’adresser afin de recevoir des fonds pour les aider à payer les frais d’évaluation de leur état?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Répertoire d'aide financière

Aide à l'employabilité des personnes handicapées (AEPH)

De nombreux lecteurs et lectrices connaissent fort probablement l'AEPH sous son appellation précédante, soit le Programme de réadaptation professionnelle des personnes handicapées (RPPH) qui a été créé en 1962. Depuis sa création, des modifications importantes ont été apportées à la politique gouvernementale et à la manière d'envisager les questions touchant les personnes handicapées. Ainsi, alors qu'il a été reconnu que le RPPH avait adéquatement desservi les personnes handicapées, il a été clairement démontré que des modifications étaient nécessaires. En fait, le Groupe de travail fédéral concernant les personnes handicapées (1997) a explicitement recommandé que le gouvernement fédéral voit à la refonte du programme RPPH, de concert avec les provinces.

La refonte du RPPH a été entreprise en fonction d'un contexte plus large de réforme de la politique sociale. Cette réforme prévoit que les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux doivent travailler plus étroitement ensemble pour revoir les programmes sociaux du Canada et veiller à qu'ils fonctionnent de façon plus efficace.

À la conférence des premiers ministres provinciaux de juin 1996, le premier ministre fédéral de concert avec ceux des provinces, ont reconnu que certains services et indemnités accordés aux personnes handicapées devaient être une des priorités dans le cadre d'une réforme générale de la politique sociale. C'est dans ce contexte que l'une des premières mesures concrètes entreprises a été la réforme du programme RPPH. La collectivité des personnes handicapées et NEADS ont participé au processus de consultation. Les nouvelles orientations du programme AEPH sont décrites dans un document intitulé Cadre multilatéral pour l'aide à l'employabilité des personnes handicapées. En vertu de ce cadre, le gouvernement fédéral a négocié des ententes bilatérales avec les provinces et territoires au cours de 1997 et 1998.

Les nouveaux objectifs du programme reflètent un accent plus marqué sur l'employabilité pour aider les personnes handicapées à la préparation, à la recherche et à l'occupation d'un emploi. Pour ce faire, le programme AEPH vise à aider les personnes handicapées à surmonter les divers obstacles auxquels elles peuvent être confrontées lorsqu'elles tentent d'entrer sur le marché du travail.

L'AEPH, tout comme le programme RPPH, constitue une entente financière de partage des coûts entre le gouvernement fédéral et les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux. En vertu de cette entente, le gouvernement fédéral assume 50 pour cent des coûts des programmes et services admissibles, jusqu'à un montant maximal établi pour chacune des provinces. Le financement fédéral total s'élève à 190 million $ annuellement et dans tous les cas, les provinces et territoires versent des sommes, à tout le moins, équivalentes.

Les mesures entreprises par l'AEPH visent à couvrir une grande variété de programmes, dont le soutien aux premières démarches pour obtenir un emploi, l'aide financière à court terme, l'appui soutenu au travail et au maintien en poste. Cela pourrait se traduire par des services d'orientation professionnelle et d'évaluation à l'emploi, de formation préalable à l'emploi et de formation des compétences ou de subventions salariales.

Le soutien à l'éducation postsecondaire est également admissible en vertu du Cadre multilatéral. Des fonds peuvent être utiliser pour couvrir notamment les frais de scolarité, les manuels scolaires, les appareils et accessoires fonctionnels et d'autres éléments.

Les provinces jouissent d'une grande souplesse dans la conception de leurs propres programmes et services dans le cadre de l'AEPH. C'est pourquoi la section suivante, qui décrit les programmes provinciaux et territoriaux, énumère les divers programmes AEPH de chacune des instances.

Dans la plupart des cas, les ententes bilatérales AEPH signées entre Ottawa et les provinces font précisément référence au soutien à l'éducation postsecondaire. Or, certaines provinces choisissent plutôt de financer l'éducation postsecondaire par le biais des programmes réguliers d'aide financière aux étudiant-e-s, comme nous l'expliquerons en détail plus loin.

En dernier lieu, il est important de souligner que les ententes prévoient une période de transition de trois ans, qui a débuté dans la plupart des instances au cours de l'exercice de 1998-1999. Cette période a été prévue du fait que certaines provinces ou certains territoires auront à apporter des changements significatifs à leurs programmes afin d'atteindre les nouveaux objectifs d'employabilité de l'AEPH.

Au début de la période de transition, plusieurs provinces/territoires continueront d'offrir les mêmes programmes et services qu'en vertu de l'ancien programme RPPH. Cependant, jusqu'à maintenant, il est difficile d'affirmer quels seront les changements dans l'ensemble du pays. Nombre de gouvernements doivent encore se pencher sur la nouvelle orientation de leurs programmes.

Il est important de tenir compte du fait que l'information recueillie peut avoir quelque changé en raison de la période de transition. Les renseignements contenus dans la présente ont été recueillis au cours de l'été et de l'automne 1999 et constituaient l'information en vigueur à ce moment. Les étudiant-e-s devraient tout de même communiquer avec les autorités provinciales compétentes pour connaître la situation actuelle de l'AEPH avant de demander une aide financière. Pour cette raison, nous avons inséré les coordonnées des personnes-contacts de chacune des autorités compétentes dans les pages suivantes. Nous espérons que ces renseignements seront exacts, ou à tout le moins, qu'ils vous donneront une piste de départ lorsque vous tenterez de repérer des avenues possibles d'aide financière pour vos études.

Soulignons de plus que certaines autorités n'avaient pas signé d'entente AEPH au moment de la rédaction du présent document. Dans ces cas, nous vous avons présenté l'information concernant le programme RPPH qui continue d'être en vigueur en l'absence d'une nouvelle entente AEPH. Rappelons qu'il est important de communiquer avec les représentant-e-s provinciaux afin de déterminer la situation exacte lorsque vous envisagez une demande d'aide financière.

Aussi, pour de plus amples renseignements, ou pour obtenir un exemplaire du document portant sur le cadre multilatéral, vous pouvez communiquer aux adresses suivantes :

Terre-Neuve
Division of Labour Market Services
Department of Human Resources and Employment
PO Box 8700
St John's, Newfoundland AlB 4J6
Téléphone : (709) 729-3118

Nouvelle-Écosse
Employment Support Services
Department of Community Services
Government of Nova Scotia
PO Box 696
Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2T7
Téléphone : (902) 424-4329

Nouveau-Brunswick
Division de la planification et de l'évaluation
Ministère du Développement des ressources humaines
Gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick
Case Postale 6000
Fredericton (Nouveau-Brunswick), E3B 5HI
Téléphone : (506) 453-2460

Île-du-Prince-Édouard
Child, Family and Community Services Division
Department of Health and Social Services
Government of Prince Edward Island
PO Box 2000
16 Garfield Street
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 7N8
Téléphone : (902) 368-6519

Ontario
Services d'information et d'appui au client
Ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires
1er étage, Édifice MacDonald, Pièce 56
900 rue Bay
Toronto, ON M7A 1E9
Téléphone: (416) 325-5666 ou 1(888) 789-4199 (sans frais)

Manitoba
Division de la vie en société
Ministère des Services à la famille
Gouvernement du Manitoba
Pièce 119, 114 rue Garry
Winnipeg (Manitoba), R3C 4V4
Téléphone : (204) 945-4974

Saskatchewan
Corporate Policy Unit
Department of Social Services
Government of Saskatchewan
12th floor, 1920 Broad Street
Regina, Saskatchewan S4P 3V6
Téléphone : (306) 787-3619

Alberta
Services to Persons with disabilities
Department of Family and Social Services
Government of Alberta
12th floor, 10030-107th Street
Edmonton, Alberta T5J 3E4
Téléphone : (403) 422-0305

Colombie-Britannique
Skills Development Division
Ministry of Advanced Education, Training and Technology
Government of British Columbia
PO Box 9871, Station Provincial Government
4th floor, 835 Humboldt Street
Victoria, British Columbia V8W 9T6
Téléphone : (250) 387-1070

Territoires du Nord-Ouest
Career Development Division
Department of Education, Culture and Employment
Government of the Northwest Territories
PO Box 1320
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2L9
Téléphone : (867) 873-7243

Yukon
Services to Persons with Disabilities
Social Services Branch
Department of Health and Social Services
Government of the Yukon
PO Box 2703
Whitehorse, Yukon YIA 2C6
Téléphone : (867) 667-5669


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.