NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
How do I find out which colleges or universities have good physical access to classrooms and other facilities?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Financial Aid Directory

Government Funding Programs in Nova Scotia

Employability Assistance for People with Disabilities

The Employability Assistance Program for People with Disabilities (EAPD), through the Nova Scotia Department of Education, in partnership with the Department of Community Services and Department of Health, provides a support system for educational related equipment and services, including post-secondary programs. Other eligible goods and services are technical aids, tutors, interpreters, tuition, books and training allowances that could assist a person with a disability to access post-secondary training.

Department of Education and Culture
Rehabilitation Programs and Services
Trade Mart, 4th Floor
2021 Brunswick Street
P.O. Box 578
Halifax, NS B3J 2S9
Tel: 902-424-6737
Fax: 902 424-4843
E-mail: digiosma@gov.ns.ca

Student Loans Program

The Nova Scotia Student Assistance Program is a loan program designed to assist students in financing their post-secondary education. The student loan is meant to supplement your resources, not replace them.

In order to apply for financial assistance with the province of Nova Scotia, you must meet the following four criteria:

  • First and foremost, you must be either considered a Canadian citizen or a landed immigrant.
  • You must be considered a Nova Scotia resident as dictated by the Nova Scotia Student Assistance Program. Please note that residency requirements in Nova Scotia are different from those suggested by Revenue Canada.
  • You must be a fulltime student attending an approved post-secondary institution. An approved school is one that has been certified by the Department of Education and has been approved for Student Assistance funding. A full-time student is someone attending for at least 12 weeks and is enrolled in at least 60% of a full course load. For disabled students full-time is considered at least 40% of a full course load.
  • Lastly, you must establish a need for Student Assistance. This involves an assessment of your financial situation.

When determining if a student qualifies for a student loan, the Student Assistance Office assesses a student's financial situation. The costs a student incurs are offset by other resources, which they have available to them.

When an assessment is finalized the student will receive an Explanation of Assessment in the mail. This assessment outlines anticipated costs, resources, and your calculated need. If your calculated need is high enough, you will receive 60% of it as a first disbursement. This first disbursement will consist of both Canada Student Loan and Nova Scotia Student Loan. The actual breakdown is 60% Canada Student Loan and 40% Nova Scotia Student Loan.

The maximum student loan you can receive depends on the number of weeks in your academic year. The maximum Canada Student Loan is $165/wk and the maximum Nova Scotia Student Loan is $150/wk. For a student attending university from September to April the maximum is typically $10,710.

Keep in mind that you only receive 60% of your calculated need for the beginning of your school year. To receive additional student loan funding for the remainder of the school year, the student must submit a Pre-study report as soon as classes start. If the information on your Pre-study report differs from your application, you may not be eligible for additional funding. This is why it is best to estimate costs as accurately as possible on the original application.

Nova Scotia Student Assistance Office
Tel.: 902-424-8420
Toll-free: 1-800-565-8420 (within Canada)
TTY: 902-424-2058
www.studentloans.ednet.ns.ca


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Est-ce qu’il y a une association nationale générale d’étudiants et d’étudiantes du niveau postsecondaire? Est-ce qu’elle s’occupe de la défense des droits des personnes handicapées?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Répertoire d'aide financière

Programmes provinciaux et territoriaux - Nouvelle-Écosse

Aide à l'employabilité des personnes handicapées

Le programme Aide à l'employabilité des personnes handicapées (AEPH) du ministère provincial de l'éducation, en partenariat avec le ministère provincial des services communautaires et du ministère de la santé, fournit un système d'aide financière pour les services et équipements reliés aux études, y compris les programmes des cycles postsecondaires. D'autres biens et services sont admissibles, tels les aides techniques, les tuteurs, les interprètes, les allocations pour les manuels scolaires et la formation qui pourraient venir en aide aux personnes handicapées à accéder aux études postsecondaires.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, contactez :

Department of Education and Culture
Rehabilitation Programs and Services
Trade Mart, 4th Floor
2021 Brunswick Street
P.O. Box 578
Halifax, NS B3J 2S9

Tél. : 902-424-6737
Téléc. : 902-424-4843
Courriel : digiosma@gov.ns.ca

Programme de prêts d'études

Le régime d'aide financière provincial, le Nova Scotia Student Assistance Program, est un programme de prêts destiné à aider les étudiant-e-s à financer leurs études postsecondaires. Le prêt d'études vise à compléter les ressources financières des étudiant-e-s et non à les remplacer.

Afin d'être admissible à une aide financière en Nouvelle-Écosse, vous devez satisfaire les quatre critères suivants :

  • Vous devez tout d'abord être citoyen-ne canadien ou immigrant-e reçu.
  • Vous devez être résident-e de la Nouvelle-Écosse conformément à la définition du programme d'aide financière. Prenez note que les critères de résidence en Nouvelle-Écosse diffèrent de ceux proposés par Revenu Canada.
  • Vous devez être inscrit-e aux études à temps plein dans un établissement d'éducation postsecondaire approuvé. Un établissement approuvé est un établissement qui a été agréé par le ministère provincial de l'éducation pour le financement de l'aide financière. Un-e étudiant-e à temps plein doit avoir fréquenté un établissement pendant au moins 12 semaines et être inscrit à au moins 60 % des cours d'un programme d'études. Les étudiant-e-s handicapés à temps plein doivent être inscrits à un minimum de 40 % de cours d'un programme d'études à temps plein.
  • En dernier lieu, vous devez prouver que vous avez besoin d'une aide financière. Cela comprend une évaluation de votre situation financière.

Afin de déterminer si un-e étudiant-e est admissible à un prêt d'études, le bureau de l'aide financière aux étudiant-e-s procède à l'évaluation de sa situation financière. Les frais engagés par une étudiant-e sont réduits par les autres ressources financières auxquelles l'étudiant-e a accès.

Lorsque l'évaluation est finalisée, on envoit par la poste à l'étudiant-e un document expliquant les résultats de l'évaluation. Cette évaluation décrit les coûts anticipés, les ressources et le calcul des besoins. Si vos besoins évalués sont suffisamment élevés, vous aurez droit à un premier versement correspondant à 60 % de ce montant. Ce premier versement sera constitué d'un prêt d'études canadien et d'un prêt du régime provincial. La répartition réelle est de 60 % en prêt canadien et 40 % en prêt provincial.

Le montant maximal de prêt d'études auquel vous aurez droit dépend du nombre de semaines de votre année d'études. Le prêt maximal du programme canadien est de 165 $ par semaine et celui du régime provincial est de 150 $ par semaine. Pour un-e étudiant-e poursuivant des études universitaires de septembre à avril, le montant maximal est habituellement de 10 710 $.

Notons que vous ne recevrez que 60 % du montant des besoins évalués au début de l'année d'études. Pour obtenir l'autre partie de l'aide financière pour le reste de l'année scolaire, il faut soumettre une déclaration aussitôt que les cours débutent. Si les renseignements de votre déclaration diffèrent de ceux figurant dans votre demande initiale, il est fort possible que vous n'ayez plus droit à d'autre aide financière. C'est pourquoi, il est mieux d'estimer les coûts le plus exactement possible lorsque vous remplissez votre demande initiale.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, contactez :

Student Assistance Office
Tél. : 902-424-8420
Ligne sans frais : 1-800-565-8420 (au Canada)
ATS : 902-424-2058
www.studentloans.ednet.ns.ca


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.