NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube Twitter

Quick Question:
How do I find out if a group of students with disabilities exists on my campus?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Financial Aid Directory

Carol Thompson Memorial Fund Scholarship and the Doreen Kronick Scholarship

Two scholarships offered by the Learning Disabilities Association of Canada (LDAC) are the Doreen Kronick Scholarship and the Carol Thompson Memorial Fund Scholarship. Both are available to post-secondary students with learning disabilities who are enrolled in full-time or part-time study programs. The amount of these awards is $1,000.

Applicants to the Carol Thompson Memorial Fund Scholarship must submit with their application: a letter of acceptance from the university or college they will be attending; three letters of reference from non-relatives, relevant to the scholarship application; and a letter containing the following information: a description of the applicant's learning disability, an outline of those coping skills and strategies which have been developed to compensate for the learning disability, the individual's involvement in the community as a volunteer and the applicant's future goals.

The Doreen Kronick Scholarship (DKS) may be awarded to a person who is pursuing a program of graduate study in a university that will assist learning disabled students. Unlike the Carol Thomson Memorial Scholarship, the DKS applicants need not have a learning disability. Applications are reviewed according to the following criteria: the student's future educational program leading towards assisting persons with learning disabilities; the submission of a satisfactory academic record; the student's contribution to his or her community and to campus life.

To apply for both of these awards, you must be a Canadian citizen or landed immigrant. Recipients of these scholarships will not be eligible to reapply for three years.

The deadline for receipt of applications is May 15th each year. Applications are sent to: Learning Disabilities Association of Canada, 323 Chapel Street, Suite 200, Ottawa, Ontario, K1N 7Z2, Tel: (613) 238-5721, Fax: (613) 235-5391, Web site: http://www.ldac-taac.ca/.


Gloria Landis Memorial Bursary

The NEADS office has just become aware of a new bursary available to students with learning disabilities in Ontario. The Gloria Landis Memorial Bursary has been established by the Learning Disabilities Association of Ontario (LDAO) in memory of Gloria Landis "for her significant and sustaining contribution to and achievements within LDAO on behalf of individuals with learning disabilities."

One bursary will be awarded annually in the amount of $1,000 "to a mature individual with learning disabilities entering their first year in a postsecondary program or accredited vocational institute." The deadline for application is June 15th each year.

The following conditions have been placed on the bursary and applicants by the LDAO:

  • Candidates must have documentation of their learning disability.
  • Candidates must be at least 25 years old.
  • Candidates must not have attended school full-time for three or more years.
  • Candidates must be considered to be mature students by the institution of their choice.
  • Candidates must have been accepted for study by the institution, at the time of funding.
  • Previous recipients of the bursary are not eligible to apply again.
  • Candidates must be entering the first year of the program.
  • Candidates must be Ontario residents.

The bursary is administered by LDAO. The selection will be made by a committee comprised of an LDAO board member, a member of the Adult Advocacy Committee, a member of the Landis family or a designate, and an LDAO staff person.

The application form will be available on the LDAO web site: http://www.ldao.on.ca, or those interested can contact: (416) 929-4311, ext. 29, or e-mail: library@ldao.on.ca

For information on two scholarship programs that are available nationally for learning disabled students, contact the Learning Disabilities Association of Canada, http://www.ldac-taac.ca/. Tel. (613) 238-5721.


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube

QuestionQuestion:
Quels types d’aménagements prévoit-on habituellement pour les étudiantes et étudiants handicapés qui fréquentent un collège ou une université?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Répertoire d'aide financière

Bourse du fonds commémoratif Carol Thompson et Bourse d'études Doreen Kronick

La TAAC (Troubles d'apprentissage - Association canadienne) offre deux programmes de bourses : la Bourse d'études Doreen Kronick et la Bourse du fonds commémoratif Carol Thompson. Ces deux programmes sont accessibles aux étudiant-e-s de niveau postsecondaire qui ont des troubles d'apprentissage et qui sont inscrit-e-s à temps plein ou à temps partiel à un programme d'études. Le montant des bourses accordées est de 1000 $.

Les étudiant-e-s intéressé-e-s à obtenir une bourse du fonds commémoratif Carol Thompson doivent accompagner leur demande d'une lettre d'admission de l'université ou du collège qu'ils fréquenteront; de trois lettres de référence de personnes avec lesquelles ils ou elles n'ont aucun lien de parenté, se rapportant à la demande de bourse; et d'une lettre contenant les renseignements suivants : une description du trouble d'apprentissage, une description des compétences et des stratégies mises au point pour compenser pour le trouble d'apprentissage en question, une description de leur contribution bénévole au sein de la communauté et leurs objectifs.

La bourse d'études Doreen Kronick (DKS) peut être accordée à une personne qui suit un programme d'études supérieures dans une université qui aidera les étudiants ayant des troubles d'apprentissage. Au contraire du programme de Bourses d'études commémoratives Carol Thomson, les candidat-e-s n'ont pas à avoir des troubles d'apprentissage pour être admissibles. Les demandes sont examinées en fonction des critères suivants : un programme d'études axé sur l'aide aux personnes ayant des troubles d'apprentissage ; la présentation d'un dossier scolaire satisfaisant ; la contribution de l'étudiant-e à la communauté et à la vie collégiale ou universitaire.

Pour être admissible à ces deux bourses, vous devez être citoyen-ne canadien-ne ou résident-e permanent-e. Les candidat-e-s reçu-e-s doivent attendre trois ans avant de présenter une nouvelle demande de bourse.

Les demandes doivent parvenir à TAAC avant le 15 mai de chaque année. Veuillez les faire parvenir à : TAAC (Troubles d'apprentissage - Association canadienne), 323, rue Chapel, Bureau 200, Ottawa, Ontario, K1N 7Z2,
Tél. : (613) 238-5721, Téléc. : (613) 235-5391, Site Web : http://www.ldac-taac.ca/


Bourse commémorative Gloria Landis

Le bureau de NEADS a récemment été informé de la création d'une nouvelle bourse offerte aux étudiant-e-s ayant des troubles d'apprentissage dans la province de l'Ontario. La Bourse commémorative Gloria Landis a été établie par la Learning Disabilities Association of Ontario (LDAO) à la mémoire de Gloria Landis " pour sa contribution et ses réalisations significatives et soutenues au sein de la LDAO au nom des personnes ayant des troubles d'apprentissage ".

Une bourse, d'une valeur de 1000 $, est attribuée annuellement " à un ou une adulte ayant des troubles d'apprentissage en première année d'études dans un programme de niveau postsecondaire ou d'un institut professionnel accrédité ". La date limite de réception des demandes est le 15 juin chaque année.

La LDAO a établi les conditions suivantes pour l'obtention de la bourse :

  • Les postulant-e-s doivent présenter des pièces justificatives de leur trouble d'apprentissage.
  • Les postulant-e-s doivent avoir au moins 25 ans.
  • Les postulant-e-s ne doivent pas avoir fréquenté les études à temps plein pendant trois ans ou plus.
  • Les postulant-e-s doivent obtenir un statut d'étudiant adulte par l'établissement de leur choix.
  • Les postulant-e-s doivent avoir été acceptés aux études dans un établissement au moment de l'obtention de l'aide financière.
  • Les postulant-e-s qui ont déjà bénéficié de la bourse ne sont pas admissibles.
  • Les postulant-e-s doivent débuter leur première année d'un programme d'études.
  • Les postulant-e-s doivent être résident-e-s de l'Ontario.

Cette bourse est administrée par la LDAO. La sélection est effectuée par un comité composé d'un membre du conseil d'administration de la LDAO, d'un membre du Adult Advocacy Committee, d'un membre de la famille Landis ou son désigné, et d'un membre du personnel de la LDAO.

On peut se procurer le formulaire de demande sur le site Web de la LDAO : http://www.ldao.on.ca, ou en communiquant par téléphone au : (416) 929-4311, poste 29, ou par courriel : library@ldao.on.ca

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les deux programmes de bourses d'échelle nationale, visitez le site Web de l'organisme Troubles d'apprentissage -- Association canadienne au http://www.ldac-taac.ca. ou téléphonez au : (613) 238-5721.


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.