NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
How do I find out if a group of students with disabilities exists on my campus?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Financial Aid Directory

University of British Columbia - Vancouver, BC

Burrard Charitable Foundation Bursary For The Visually Impaired

A bursary is available through the Burrard Charitable Foundation. The award is to be made to a visually impaired student in consultation with the Crane Library.
Value: $750

Harriet Sarah Byrne Scholarship

A scholarship has been made available in memory of Harriet Sarah Byrne. The award is intended to encourage a disabled student or a student demonstrating an interest and ability in addressing the issues of people with disabilities. In making the award, preference will be given to a woman undertaking studies in the health sciences.
Value: $1000

Marion Copp Bursary

A bursary has been established by family and friends of Marion Copp who for many years resided in northern B.C. and the Yukon. The award is made to students from rural areas with preference given to visually impaired and/or physically disabled students. Candidates for the award will be selected from applicants for affiliation awards for visually impaired and/ or physically disabled students.
Value: $515

Delta Gamma Bursary For The Blind

A bursary given to the Delta Gamma Fraternity, will be awarded to a blind student requiring financial assistance to enable him or her to enter the university or to proceed to further studies. The award is to be made on the recommendation of the Crane Library Awards Committee.
Value: $250

Delta Kappa Gamma Society, Alpha Province Bursary

A bursary is available through the Delta Kappa Gamma Society International (Alpha Province, British Columbia), and the Honour Society of Women Educators. The award is intended to assist visually impaired students and will be made on recommendation of the Head of the Crane Library. Preference will be given to a student from British Columbia.
Value: $1325

Robert C. Gibson Memorial Bursary

One or more bursaries have been provided in memory of Robert C. Gibson. The award is to assist disabled students at the University of British Columbia.
Value: $1850

Graduating Class of 1970 Bursary

This bursary established and endowed by the Graduating Class of 1970, will be awarded annually to a student or students in any year and faculty. Special consideration is given to students who have physical disabilities.
Value: $850

Rick Hansen "Man In Motion" Fellowship

Two fellowships, which are equivalent in value to a University Graduate Fellowship, are offered annually to a University of British Columbia student with a physical disability who is enrolled in a full-time graduate program. The award is made in honour of the achievements of Rick Hansen, a graduate of UBC. The winners of this fellowship are selected by the Faculty of Graduate Studies from among nominations received from the Department of the University.

Rick Hansen Special Needs Bursary

One or more bursaries, are offered in Rick Hansen's name. The awards are available to students who have a physical disability. Funds for the Rick Hansen Special Needs Bursary were raised at a celebrity auction and concert held in March of 1987. Matching funds came from the UBC Alma Mater Society.
Value: $2100

Steve House Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded in memory of Steve House a UBC Commerce student who died in the fall of 1981 while attempting to complete the requirement of the chartered accountants course. The award is presented to a student in the Faculty of Commerce, with preference given to a disabled student. Faculty recommendation determines the recipient of the award.
Value: $650

Douglas T. Kenny Bursary For Disabled Students

One or more bursaries are awarded annually to disabled students to provide financial aid. The funds are intended for students with physical disabilities who require wheelchairs or other assistive aids to carry out their studies at the university.
Value: $1700

Patricia Ann Macdonald Memorial Scholarship

A scholarship may be awarded either in total or in part to a blind or physically disabled student attending the University of British Columbia. The recipient must be in a program leading to a degree, with a high grade average and definite goals. The scholarship is in memory of Patricia Ann Palmer MacDonald, who studied at UBC and was an accomplished musician, singer, performer and teacher. Applications must be made by November 1st in writing to the Head of the Crane Library. The Head of the Crane Library makes a recommendation and grants the award.
Value: $2400

Isabel G. McMillan Bursary

A bursary is available from a fund established by Isabel G. McMillan who was a member of the first graduating class at the University of British Columbia. It is available on an annual basis to one or more students who have visual impairments and are students at the University of British Columbia.
Value: $1400

Cheryl McKay Bursary For the Visually Impaired

Bursaries are available from a fund set up by Cheryl McKay. Funding is set aside to assist visually impaired students.
Value: $1400

P.E.O. Sisterhood Chapter B. Bursary For The Blind

A bursary is available from the Sisterhood to a blind woman student who is registered at the University of British Columbia and is beginning or continuing her studies towards a degree. Consideration for this award is based on financial need and academic standing. The Crane Library Awards Committee selects the recipients of the bursary.
Value: $500

Vancouver Fire Fighters' Union Local No. 18 Bursary

The Vancouver Fire Fighters' Union Local No. 18 provides a bursary to a student who is beginning or continuing studies at the University of British Columbia. The award is to be given to a physically disabled student who needs financial assistance.
Value: $700

University Women's Club of Vancouver Bursaries For Blind and Minimally Sighted Students

A bursary is available from the University Women's Club of Vancouver to a student with a visual impairment. The award is given on the recommendation of the Librarian and Head of the Crane Library. Financial need and academic standing of the candidate are considered.
Value: $1312

Steven Volrich Memorial Bursary

In memory of classmate Steven Volrich, the members of the Law Class of 1984 established a bursary to be awarded to a student of the Law program with a medical or physical disability.
Value: $190

Leslie Anne Whitcutt Memorial Fund

This award will be made on the recommendation of the Head of the Crane Library to a blind student. The funding will be used to provide assistance to such students who require special equipment related to their studies.
Value: $800

Contact

Janet Mee
Director, Access & Diversity Office
Brock Hall, Room 1203
1874 East Mall, UBC
Vancouver, BC. V6T 1Z1
Email: disability.resource@ubc.ca
Tel: 604-822-6655
Fax: 604-822-9049
TTY: 604-822-9049

Additional Resources

Scholarships & Awards Home Page: http://students.ubc.ca/finance/awards


Top

All contents copyright , 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
À quel bureau du gouvernement fédéral dois-je m’adresser pour obtenir de l’information sur les programmes et services à l’intention des personnes handicapées?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Répertoire d'aide financière

University of British Columbia - Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique

Burrard Charitable Foundation Bourse pour personnes ayant une déficience visuelle

La Burrard Charitable Foundation, en collaboration avec la Crane Library, accorde une bourse d'études aux étudiant-e-s ayant une déficience visuelle.
Valeur : 750 $.

Bourse Harriet Sarah Byrne

Cette bourse est offerte à la mémoire de Harriet Sarah Byrne. Cette bourse est attribuée dans le but d'encourager un ou une étudiant-e ayant une déficience ou démontrant un intérêt et une aptitude à traiter de questions touchant les personnes handicapées. La bourse est accordée de préférence à une femme aux études dans le domaine des sciences de la santé.
Valeur : 1000 $.

Bourse Marion Copp

Cette bourse a été créée par la famille et les ami-e-s de Marion Copp qui a résidé pendant de nombreuses années dans le nord de la Colombie-Britannique et au Yukon. Cette bourse est accordée aux étudiant-e-s de région rurale et de préférence aux étudiant-e-s ayant une déficience visuelle ou physique, ou les deux. Les candidat-e-s seront choisis parmi ceux et celles qui ont fait une demande de bourse d'affiliation pour étudiant-e-s ayant une déficience visuelle ou physique, ou les deux.
Valeur : 515 $

Bourse Delta Gamma pour les aveugles

Une bourse versée à la Delta Gamma Fraternity sera accordée à un ou une étudiant-e aveugle ayant besoin d'une aide financière pour faire son entrée à l'université ou pour poursuivre des études plus avancées. Cette bourse est attribuée sur recommandation du Crane Library Awards Committee.
Valeur : 250 $

Bourse Alpha Province de la Delta Kappa Gamma Society

Une bourse disponible par le biais de la Delta Kappa Gamma Society International (Alpha Province, Colombie-Britannique), et de la Honour Society of Women Educators. Cette bourse vise à venir en aide aux étudiant-e-s ayant une déficience visuelle et sera accordée sur recommandation de la direction de la Crane Library. La priorité est accordée aux étudiant-e-s de la Colombie-Britannique.
Valeur : 1325 $

Bourse commémorative Robert C. Gibson

Une ou plusieurs bourses sont décernées à la mémoire de Robert C. Gibson. Cette bourse vise à venir en aide aux étudiant-e-s handicapé-e-s de la University of British Columbia.
Valeur approximative : 1850 $

Bourse de la promotion de 1970 (Graduating Class of 1970 Bursary)

Cette bourse, établie et constituée par les dons des diplômé-e-s de la promotion de 1970, est accordée annuellement à un ou des étudiant-e-s de toute discipline. Une considération particulière sera accordée aux étudiant-e-s présentant une déficience physique.
Valeur : 850 $

Bourses de recherches Rick Hansen "Man In Motion"

Deux bourses de recherche, les deux d'une valeur équivalante à une bourse de recherche accordée aux cycles supérieurs de l'université, sont offertes annuellement à un ou une étudiant-e de la Colombie-Britannique ayant une déficience physique et inscrit aux études à temps plein au 2e ou 3e cycle universitaire. Cette bourse est attribuée en l'honneur des réalisations de Rick Hansen, diplômé de la UBC. Les récipiendaires de cette bourse sont choisis par la faculté des études de 2e et 3e cycles parmi les mises en candidature présentées par le département de l'université.

Bourse Rick Hansen Special Needs

Une ou plusieurs bourses sont décernées au nom de Rick Hansen. Ces bourses sont accordées aux étudiant-e-s présentant une déficience physique. Les fonds constituant la bourse pour besoins spéciaux Rick Hansen ont été recueillis lors d'une vente aux enchères et d'un concert de célébrités tenus au mois de mars 1987. La UBC Alma Mater Society y a également versé des fonds de contrepartie.
Valeur : 2100 $

Bourse commémorative Steve House

Cette bourse est offerte à la mémoire de Steve House, étudiant en commerce à la UBC qui est décédé à l'automne de 1981 alors qu'il tentait de terminer ses cours de comptable agréé. La bourse est attribuée à un ou une étudiant-e de la faculté de commerce, de préférence à un ou une étudiant-e handicapé-e. Le ou la récipiendaire de cette bourse est choisi sur recommandation de la faculté.
Valeur : 650 $

Bourse Douglas T. Kenny for Disabled Students

Une ou plusieurs bourses sont accordées annuellement à des étudiant-e-s handicapé-e-s en guise d'aide financière. Ces fonds sont destinés aux étudiant-e-s ayant une déficience physique qui nécessitent l'usage de fauteuil roulant ou d'autres aides techniques pour poursuivre leurs études universitaires.
Valeur : 1700 $

Bourse commémorative Patricia Ann Macdonald

Une bourse peut être accordée, en totalité ou en partie, à un ou une étudiant-e aveugle ou qui présente une déficience physique fréquentant la University of British Columbia. Le ou la récipiendaire doit être inscrit à un programme menant à un grade, doit démontrer une moyenne élevée et des objectifs précis. La bourse est offerte en mémoire de Patricia Ann Palmer MacDonald, étudiante à la UBC, qui était une musicienne, chanteuse, artiste et enseignante accomplie. La demande de bourse doit être présentée avant le 1er novembre par écrit à la direction de la Crane Library. Cette bourse est attribuée sur recommandation de la Crane Library.
Valeur : 2400 $

Bourse Isabel G. McMillan

Une bourse est accordée par le biais d'un fonds établi par Isabel G. McMillan qui a été membre de la première promotion à la University of British Columbia. Elle est attribuée annuellement à un ou des étudiant-e-s présentant une déficience visuelle et inscrits à la University of British Columbia.
Valeur : 1400 $

Bourse Cheryl McKay Bursary for Visually Impaired

Des bourses sont accordées par le biais d'un fonds établi par Cheryl McKay. Ce financement vise à venir en aide aux étudiant-e-s ayant une déficience visuelle.
Valeur : 1400 $

Bourse P.E.O. Sisterhood Chapter B. Bursary for The Blind

Une bourse offerte par le biais de Sisterhood est accordée à une femme aveugle inscrite à la University of British Columbia qui débute ou poursuit ses études en vue de l'obtention d'un grade universitaire. Cette bourse est attribuée en fonction des besoins financiers et du rendement scolaire. La sélection des récipiendaires de cette bourse est assurée par le Crane Library Awards Committee.
Valeur : 500 $

Bourse Fire Fighters' Union Local No. 18 Bursary

La Vancouver Fire Fighters' Union Local No. 18 accorde une bourse à un ou une étudiant-e débutant ou poursuivant des études à la University of British Columbia. Cette bourse est attribuée à un ou une étudiant-e ayant une déficience physique qui nécessite une aide financière.
Valeur : $700

Bourses University Women's Club of Vancouver Bursaries for Blind and Minimally Sighted Students

Une bourse est offerte par le University Women's Club of Vancouver à un ou une étudiant-e ayant une déficience visuelle. La bourse est attribuée sur recommandation du bibliothécaire et de la direction de la Crane Library et en fonction des besoins financiers et du rendement scolaire du ou de la récipiendaire.
Valeur : 1312 $

Bourse commémorative Steven Volrich

À la mémoire de leur camarade de classe Steven Volrich, les diplômé-e-s en droit de la promotion de 1984 ont créé une bourse attribuable à un ou une étudiant-e en droit ayant une déficience diagnostiquée ou une déficience physique.
Valeur : 190 $

Fonds commémoratif Leslie Anne Whitcutt

Ce prix est accordé sur recommandation de la direction de la Crane Library à un ou une étudiant-e aveugle. Cette aide financière est versée aux étudiant-e-s qui doivent faire usage d'appareils spéciaux pour leurs études.
Valeur : 800 $

Personne-ressource

Janet Mee
Director, Access & Diversity Office
Brock Hall, Room 1203
1874 East Mall, UBC
Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1
Courriel : disability.resource@ubc.ca
Tél. : 604-822-6655
Téléc. : 604-822-9049
ATS : 604-822-9049

Ressources supplémentaire

Scholarships & Awards Home Page: http://students.ubc.ca/finance/awards


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.