NEADS Logo - Home
Find us on: Facebook YouTube

Quick Question:
Is there funding available to pay for material production in alternate formats?


Upcoming Events

More Events

Link of the day

More Links

Donate Now to support NEADS! We need your support!
Donations are tax deductible and you will receive a charitable tax receipt for 100% of your gift.

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

High School Transition

Funding and Scholarship Programs

Quebec Student Financial Assistance

The Government of Quebec has not signed an EAPD agreement with the federal government, therefore post-secondary student financial aid in the province is delivered in a different fashion than elsewhere in Canada. Funding for post-secondary studies includes provincial and federal program funding. Financial assistance for students with a disability is divided into two sections, or degrees of functionality, as described below.

Major Functional Disability:

To be eligible for financial aid as a student with a disability in Quebec, you must qualify as having a Major Functional Disability (MFD). This classification covers four categories of disability - visual, hearing, medical and physical. Designation with a MFD depends on a medical professional’s degree of functionality assessment, or on the basis of hearing or vision impairment. (Note that certain disabilities, for example learning disabilities or attention deficit disorders, do not qualify under the guidelines).

If a student is deemed to have a MFD, he or she may take a minimum of six credits per semester and still receive the financial equivalent of a full-time bursary. It is important to note that the funding is in the form of bursary, with no loan component. The amount a student may receive is determined on the same basis as all students (parental income, personal income, etc). If deemed to have a MFD, a student can also apply for funding to cover special needs (note-takers, tutors, interpreters, equipment etc.)

Minor Functional Disability:

A student may, in some cases, be designated as having a minor functional disability. This classification recognizes that while the student is not severely limited enough to qualify for full financial aid, he or she may still have some disability-related requirements. As such, a student identi- fied as having a minor functional disability will be able to access funding to cover educational support services, such as tutors, computers and other adaptive devices.

The provincial government is generally very efficient with refunds, and funding limits are substantially higher than in other provinces. For example, deaf students can receive full funding for interpreters. Students may find more information on this funding either at the financial aid department of their prospective institution, or at the office of students with disabilities. Students transferring from CEGEP to university do not need to be reassessed for eligibility. They need simply request a transfer of institution (again, a student financial aid office can do this).

To obtain assistive devices and other equipment, students should contact the relevant rehabilitation centre. For example, visually impaired students in Montreal would contact the Montreal Association for the Blind.

Service de l’accueil et des renseignements
Aide financière aux études
Ministère de l’Éducation
1035, rue De La Chevrotière
Québec (Québec) G1R 5A5
Tel: (418) 646-5245 (outside of Quebec)
Interactive Telephone System:
(418) 646-4505 (Quebec City)
(514) 864-4505 (Montreal)
(888) 345-4505 (in Québec)
Web site www.afe.gouv.qc.ca


Top

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.

NEADS Logo - Accueil
Trouvez-nous sur : Facebook YouTube Twitter

QuestionQuestion:
À qui les étudiants ayant des troubles d’apprentissage peuvent-ils s’adresser afin de recevoir des fonds pour les aider à payer les frais d’évaluation de leur état?


Événements prochains

Voir d'autres événements

Autre site d'intérèt


Advertisement



Aller de l'avant

Programmes d'aide financière et de bourses d'études

Régime d'aide financière aux études du Québec

Le gouvernement du Québec n'a pas signé d'entente AEPH avec le gouvernement fédéral, donc l'aide financière aux étudiant-e-s du niveau postsecondaire de la province prend une autre forme que celle offerte partout ailleurs au Canada. L'aide financière aux étudiant-e-s handicapés comporte deux volets établis en fonction de la gravité de la déficience.

Déficience fonctionnelle majeure

Pour être admissible à une aide financière en tant qu'étudiant-e handicapé, vous devez avoir une invalidité fonctionnelle majeure (IFM). Cette classification comporte quatre catégories de déficience : visuelle, auditive, médicale et physique. La désignation d'une IFM dépend de l'évaluation du degré de fonctionnalité, ou du niveau de déficience auditive ou visuelle, effectuée par un ou une professionnelle de la santé. (Notez que certaines déficiences, comme les troubles d'apprentissage ou les troubles déficitaires de l'attention, ne se qualifient pas aux termes de ces directives).

Si l'on évalue qu'un étudiant-e a une IFM, il ou elle peut prendre au moins six crédits par session d'études et recevoir l'équivalent d'une bourse pour études à plein temps. Il est important de noter que le financement prend la forme d'une bourse qui ne comporte aucun élément de prêt. Le montant auquel l'étudiant-e a droit est déterminé en fonction des mêmes critères que ceux applicables à tous les étudiant-e-s (revenu des parents, revenu personnel, etc.). L'étudiant-e qui se qualifie peut également demander une aide financière pour ses besoins spéciaux (preneurs de notes, tuteurs, interprètes, équipement, etc.)

Déficience fonctionnelle mineure

Dans certains cas, l'étudiant-e peut être désigné comme ayant une invalidité fonctionnelle mineure. Selon cette classification, on reconnaît que l'étudiant-e, même s'il ou elle n'est pas suffisamment limitée pour obtenir une aide financière complète, a certains besoins particuliers en raison d'une déficience. Ainsi, l'étudiant-e qui a une invalidité fonctionnelle mineure aura accès à une aide financière pour couvrir des services de soutien à l'apprentissage comme des tuteurs, des ordinateurs et d'autres aides techniques adaptés.

Le gouvernement provincial est habituellement très efficace avec les remboursements et les limites de financement sont beaucoup plus généreuses que dans les autres provinces. Par exemple, les étudiant-e-s sourds peuvent obtenir le financement complet des services d'interprètes.

Les étudiant-e-s pourront obtenir plus d'information en s'adressant au service de l'aide financière de l'établissement où ils ont l'intention d'étudier ou au bureau des étudiant-e-s handicapés. Au moment de passer du cégep à l'université, ils et elles n'ont pas à être réévalués aux fins de l'admissibilité, et n'ont qu'à demander un transfert d'établissement (une fois de plus le bureau de l'aide financière aux études peut s'en occuper).

Pour obtenir des appareils fonctionnels et d'autre équipement, les étudiant-e-s devraient communiquer avec le centre de réadaptation approprié. Par exemple, les étudiant-e-s de Montréal ayant une déficience visuelle doivent contacter l'Association montréalaise pour les aveugles.

Pour plus d'information :

Service de l'accueil et des renseignements
Aide financière aux études
Ministère de l'Éducation
1035, rue De La Chevrotière
Québec (Québec) G1R 5A5
Tél. : (418) 646-5245 (à l'extérieur du Québec)
Pour le service téléphonique interactif :
(418) 646-4505 (Québec)
(514) 864-4505 (Montréal)
1-888-345-4505 (Ailleurs au Québec)


Haut

All contents copyright ©, 1999-2018, National Educational 
Association of Disabled Students. All rights reserved.